DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
11R
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al (US 20140147714 A1) in view of Choi (US 20160149221 A1) in view of Lin (US 20200144595 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kwak discloses a secondary battery (rechargeable battery 101 in Fig. 1; see entire disclosure and especially P36) comprising:
an electrode wound body including a positive electrode having a band shape (11 in Figs. 1-3) and a negative electrode having a band shape (12 in Figs. 1-3), the positive electrode and the negative electrode being stacked with a separator interposed therebetween (13 in Figs. 1-3; see entire disclosure and especially P36);
a positive electrode current collector (current collecting tap 42 in Fig. 2; see entire disclosure and especially P41);
a negative electrode current collector (current collecting tap 41 in Fig. 2; see entire disclosure and especially P41); and
a battery can containing the electrode wound body, the positive electrode current collector, and the negative electrode current collector (case 28 in Fig. 2; see entire disclosure and especially P36, 38), wherein
the positive electrode includes, on a positive electrode foil having a band shape (positive electrode current collector 122 formed of a thin plate metal foil in Figs. 3-4), a positive electrode active material covered part covered with a positive electrode active material layer (positive electrode coating portion 11a with positive active material layer 113 in Figs. 3-4), and a positive electrode active material uncovered part (positive electrode side end uncoated region 11b in Figs. 3-4; see entire disclosure and especially P47, 49),
the negative electrode includes, on a negative electrode foil having a band shape (negative electrode current collector 122 formed of a thin plate metal foil in Figs. 3-4), a negative electrode active material covered part covered with a negative electrode active material layer (negative electrode coating portion 12a with negative active material layer 123 in Figs. 3-4), a negative electrode active material uncovered part extending at least in a longitudinal direction of the negative electrode foil (negative electrode side end uncoated region 12b in Figs. 3-4; see entire disclosure and especially P50, 52),
the positive electrode active material uncovered part is coupled to the positive electrode current collector at one of end parts of the electrode wound body, and the negative electrode active material uncovered part is coupled to the negative electrode current collector at another of the end parts of the electrode wound body (see Figs. 3-4).
Kwak further discloses the negative electrode foil is made of copper (P50).
However, Kwak does not disclose an insulating layer provided between the negative electrode active material covered part and the negative electrode active material uncovered part, wherein the insulating layer includes a metal or metal compound having an X-ray shielding effect higher than a predetermined X-ray shielding effect.
In a similar field of endeavor, Choi teaches when an active material layer of a positive electrode or a negative electrode is separated from a current collector, charge and discharge efficiency is reduced (P13).
Choi teaches a rechargeable battery including an electrode assembly wherein a positive electrode, negative electrode, and separator are spiral-wound (P42). Choi teaches the negative electrode (12 in Figs. 5-6) includes a negative electrode current collector (122 in Figs. 5-6), a negative electrode active material layer (123 in Figs. 5-6), and a negative electrode uncoated region (12b in Figs. 5-6; P65-66).
Choi teaches a first negative protection tape (35 in Figs. 5-6) that covers part of the negative electrode uncoated region and part of the negative electrode active material layer (P67). Choi teaches the first negative electrode protection tape may be formed with a Teflon resin, a polypropylene resin, or a polyethylene resin (P68). Choi teaches when the first negative electrode protection tape is installed, an active material layer can be prevented from separating using one protection tape (P69).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Choi and provided to Kwak an insulating layer provided between the negative electrode active material covered part and the negative electrode active material uncovered part, given Choi teaches this can prevent an active material layer from separating to prevent the reduction of charge and discharge efficiency.
However, modified Kwak does not meet the limitation wherein the insulating layer includes a metal or metal compound having an X-ray shielding effect higher than a predetermined X-ray shielding effect.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lin teaches a cathode can include a current collector, active material layer, and insulating layer (P44). Lin teaches the insulating layer can include at least one of inorganic particles and polymers (P55). Lin teaches the inorganic particles can be yttrium oxide or barium sulfate, and the polymer can be polyethylene or polypropylene (P55).
While the insulating layer of Lin is utilized for a cathode rather than an anode, it is still an insulating layer having insulating properties; therefore, the materials used that provide the insulation would still be relevant to the insulating layer of modified Kwak. A rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (see MPEP §§ 2143 and 2143.02).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Lin and selected the materials of the insulating layer of modified Kwak to include inorganic particles of yttrium oxide or barium sulfate and a polymer of polyethylene or polypropylene, given Lin teaches these materials are known to be used in an insulating layer and the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Applicant’s instant specification states:
“A material of the negative electrode foil 22A is a metal foil including, for example, nickel, a nickel alloy, copper, or a copper alloy” (P21), and
“Furthermore, the insulating layer 22D includes a metal or metal compound having an X-ray shielding effect higher than a predetermined X-ray shielding effect. Specifically, the insulating layer 22D includes a metal having an X-ray shielding effect higher than that of the metal included in the negative electrode foil 22A (the metal mainly included in the negative electrode foil 22A), or a metal compound including a metal having an X-ray shielding effect higher than that of the metal included in the negative electrode foil 22A (the metal mainly included in the negative electrode foil 22A). More specifically, the insulating layer 22D includes particles of the above- described metal, or particles of the above-described metal compound. [0048] The metal having an X-ray shielding effect higher than that of the metal included in the negative electrode foil 22A includes one or more selected from the group consisting of tungsten (W), iridium (Ir), platinum (Pt), and gold (Au), for example. The metal compound including a metal having an X-ray shielding effect higher than that of the metal included in the negative electrode foil 22A includes one or more selected from the group consisting of a metal oxide, a metal sulfate compound, and a metal carbonate compound. The metal oxide includes one or more selected from the group consisting of yttrium oxide, hafnium oxide, tantalum pentoxide, and tungsten oxide, for example. The metal sulfate compound includes one or more selected from the group consisting of barium sulfate and strontium sulfate, for example. The metal carbonate compound includes strontium carbonate, for example” (P47-48).
Given modified Kwak includes a copper foil as the negative electrode current collector and an insulating layer including yttrium oxide or barium sulfate, modified Kwak would inherently meet the limitation “wherein the insulating layer includes a metal or metal compound having an X-ray shielding effect higher than a predetermined X-ray shielding effect”.
Regarding claim 2, modified Kwak meets the limitation wherein the insulating layer includes a metal having an X-ray shielding effect higher than an X-ray shielding effect of a metal included in the negative electrode foil, or includes a metal compound including a metal having an X-ray shielding effect higher than the X-ray shielding effect of the metal included in the negative electrode foil (yttrium oxide or barium sulfate for the insulating layer; copper for the negative electrode foil; see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kwak meets the limitation wherein the metal comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of tungsten, iridium, platinum, and gold, and the metal compound comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of a metal oxide, a metal sulfate compound, and a metal carbonate compound (yttrium oxide or barium sulfate; see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kwak meets the limitation wherein the metal oxide comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of yttrium oxide, hafnium oxide, tantalum pentoxide, and tungsten oxide, the metal sulfate compound comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of barium sulfate and strontium sulfate, and the metal carbonate compound comprises strontium carbonate (yttrium oxide or barium sulfate; see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kwak meets the limitation wherein the metal included in the negative electrode foil comprises copper (see the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Kwak discloses wherein the negative electrode further includes a negative electrode active material uncovered part at an end part in the longitudinal direction on each of a beginning side of winding and an end side of the winding (negative electrode inner uncoated region 12c and negative electrode outer uncoated region 12d in Figs. 3-4; see entire disclosure and especially P53)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al (US 20140147714 A1) in view of Choi (US 20160149221 A1) in view of Lin (US 20200144595 A1) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Lee (US 20060024572 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Kwak discloses wherein the electrode wound body has one or more flat surfaces in which the positive electrode active material uncovered part, the negative electrode active material uncovered part, or both are bent toward a central axis of the wound structure to form the one or more flat surfaces (see Figs. 3-4).
However, Kwak does not disclose a groove provided in each of the one or more flat surfaces.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee teaches batteries can be square or cylindrical (P7). Lee further teaches a cylindrical battery with a jellyroll configuration that has an electrode assembly comprising a positive electrode and negative electrode with a separator therebetween (see Figs. 1-2; P40-41). Lee teaches the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the electrode assembly according to the present embodiment have uncoated regions formed by not coating the active material over the collectors; the uncoated regions and are formed along one edge of the positive electrode and the negative electrode along the longitudinal direction of the positive electrode and the negative electrode, respectively (P42). Lee teaches the positive uncoated region includes a bent portion (110a in Fig. 2) that is able to be fixed to a positive collector plate (40 in Figs. 2; P45). Lee teaches the positive collector plate and the negative collector plate have the similar shape, and the fixing to the bent portions of the uncoated regions is carried out by a similar method (P48).
Lee further teaches the overall shape of the positive collector plate is a disk shape, and a hole of a ring shape is formed in its center (P49). Lee teaches protrusion portions (42 in Fig. 2) are arranged in a cross shape with respect to the hole, and the protrusion portions directly contact and are fixed by laser welding to the bent portion of the positive uncoated region (P49). Lee teaches the positive collector plate can be electrically connected to the positive uncoated region by these protrusion portions, and a groove is formed inside the protrusion portions (43 in Fig. 2; P49).
Lee further teaches corresponding to the shape of the positive collector plate, the bent portions of the positive uncoated region are also arranged in a cross shape with respect to the center of the electrode assembly (P50. Lee teaches such structure of the positive collector plate and the positive uncoated region allows the protrusion portions to be contacted and fixed to the bent portion of the positive uncoated region (P51). Lee teaches since the positive collector plate contacts and is fixed only to the bent portion of the positive uncoated region, the contact area of the present invention is much larger than the conventional one, and also the contact state between them can be stably maintained (P52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Lee and changed the form/shape of the battery of modified Kwak from a square wound battery to a cylindrical wound battery, and provide wherein the secondary battery of modified Kwak includes the current collector with protrusion portions described by Lee and the electrode assembly having bent portions that mate with the protrusion portions, given Lee teaches batteries can be made in different shapes, square or cylindrical, and since the positive collector plate contacts and is fixed only to the bent portion of the positive uncoated region, the contact area of the present invention is much larger than the conventional one, and the contact state between them can be stably maintained. Further, the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Therefore, modified Kwak meets the limitation wherein the electrode wound body has one or more flat surfaces, in which the positive electrode active material uncovered part, the negative electrode active material uncovered part, or both are bent toward a central axis of the wound structure to form the one or more flat surfaces, and a groove provided in each of the one or more flat surfaces.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al (US 20140147714 A1) in view of Choi (US 20160149221 A1) in view of Lin (US 20200144595 A1) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Ichikawa (US 20150159996 A1).
Regarding claims 7-8, modified Kwak does not meet the limitation wherein the secondary battery is used within electronic equipment or an electric tool.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ichikawa teaches a lithium secondary battery is widely used for a portable electronic equipment, a camera, a watch, an electric tool, a hybrid vehicle battery, etc. (P5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Ichikawa and used the secondary battery of modified Kwak within electronic equipment or an electronic tool, given Ichikawa teaches lithium secondary batteries are known to be used within them.
Conclusion
/MARY GRACE BYRAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1729