DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Application Number 18/211,958 filed on 6/20/2023.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is made FINAL in response to the “Amendment” and “Remarks” filed on
9/16/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 10, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 sets forth the following limitation: “initiat[ing] a pairing process between a user device associated with the customer, a vehicle, and the UAV, wherein the pairing process allows delivery of the package only to the vehicle currently paired with the user device associated with the customer.” Claims 10, 16 contain similar limitations. Paragraph 24 of the Instant Specification teaches that “[w]hen the customer starts the vehicle or comes in the vicinity of the 5G connected vehicle, the user is prompted to pair the UE to the vehicle,” and “delivery is tied to the combination of the customer and the specific vehicle the customer is currently using.” The Examiner does not believe that this section, or any other section within the specification, teaches “wherein the pairing process allows delivery of the package only to the vehicle currently paired with the user device associated with the customer.” The Applicant should more clearly indicate where or how the Specification teaches the amended limitations within these claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 10-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennie (U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0108713 A1) in view of Chen (U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0249703 A1).
In regard to Claim 1, Bennie teaches computer-readable storage media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the processors to (see Figure 4, Paragraph 34 teaching a drone delivery system, wherein the drone has a processor 132 and a memory 134 that stores instructions executable by the processor):
Receive instructions, at an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), to deliver a package to a customer (see Figure 6, Paragraph 13 lines 3-10, teaching that a vehicle sends a fuel delivery request to the drone);
Initiate a pairing process between a user device associated with the customer, a vehicle, and the UAV, wherein the pairing process allows delivery of the package only to the vehicle currently paired with the user device associated with the customer (see Paragraph 73 teaching that computer 20 compiles a message payload that includes vehicle identifier data such as a VIN number, user account data such as an IP address or chipset of a mobile device that is paired with the vehicle’s communication module, and UAV data);
Establish a 5G connection with the vehicle (see Figure 4, Paragraph 58 lines 1-10 teaching that the vehicle 12, a wireless communication network 120, and the UAV 14 are in communication with each other via a wireless or LTE cellular network);
Receive data from the vehicle, the data comprising speed and direction (see Figure 4, Paragraph 57 lines 6-14 teaching that a vehicle computer 20 may provide vehicle speed and direction data to the UAV 14); and
Determine an optimal route to intercept the vehicle (see Paragraph 72 lines 3-11 teaching that vehicle computer 20 sends vehicle GPS data so that the UAV 14 may be able to locate the vehicle 12).
Bennie fails to teach initiating authorization communication to the customer to confirm the instructions; and
Receiving authorization from the customer, the authorization including a request for the UAV to follow a vehicle corresponding to the customer.
However, Chen teaches initiating authorization communication to the customer to confirm the instructions (see Paragraph 64 teaching an unmanned aerial vehicle control system wherein a user confirms a command to the UAV); and
Receiving authorization from the customer, the authorization including a request for the UAV to follow the customer (see Paragraph 64 teaching that the confirmation relates to a command for the UAV to enter a following mode while pursuing a target).
Bennie and Chen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of UAV control systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bennie’s invention to include a feature wherein a user can confirm a command for a UAV to follow a target as taught by Chen. Doing so could increase the accuracy of a UAV control system by providing a two-step process before the UAV is commanded to initiate movement according to a specific target. This could prevent accidental wastes of energy in situations in which the UAV is erroneously commanded to move towards or with the wrong target.
In regard to Claim 2, Bennie further teaches upon entering a predetermined range of the vehicle, determining how to deliver the package (see Paragraph 87 lines 6-11, Paragraph 90 lines 1-2, Paragraph 91 lines 1-4, Paragraph 95 lines 1-2 teaching that once the UAV 14 is proximate to vehicle 12, a docking procedure is initiated, wherein there are multiple docking procedures).
In regard to Claim 3, Bennie further teaches upon determining the vehicle is preparing to stop, preparing to deliver the package (see Paragraph 98 lines 5-11 teaching that the vehicle 12 may stop moving before attempting to dock the UAV 14 again if multiple moving-vehicle attempts have failed).
In regard to Claim 4, Bennie further teaches upon determining the vehicle is not preparing to stop, preparing to deliver the package (see Paragraph 90 teaching that the vehicle 12 may instruct the UAV 14 to stand by prior to docking until the vehicle can appropriately adjust its speed or until a straight stretch of roadway becomes available).
In regard to Claim 6, Bennie further teaches delivering the package to an interface of the vehicle (see Paragraph 67 lines 16-22, Paragraph 99 lines 1-2 teaching that the UAV 14 delivers a fuel parcel 140 to the vehicle).
In regard to Claim 10, Bennie further teaches a method for delivering goods to a connected vehicle using unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs), the method comprising (see Paragraph 67 lines 16-22, Paragraph 99 lines 1-2 teaching that the UAV 14 delivers a fuel parcel 140 to the vehicle):
Communicating, by the connected vehicle, a request to pair with a user device corresponding to a customer (see Paragraph 58 lines 14-23 teaching that the vehicle fuel delivery request may be sent to the UAV 14 via a mobile device, such as a smartphone, carried by a user of the vehicle 12);
Establishing a 5G connection with a UAV authorized to deliver a package to the customer (see Figure 4, Paragraph 51 lines 13-22, Paragraph 58 lines 1-10 teaching that the vehicle 12, a wireless communication network 120, and an authorized UAV 14 are in communication with each other via a wireless or LTE cellular network);
Communicating data corresponding to the connected vehicle to the UAV, the data comprising speed and direction (see Figure 4, Paragraph 57 lines 6-14 teaching that a vehicle computer 20 may provide vehicle speed and direction data to the UAV 14); and
Receiving, at an interface of the connected vehicle, the package (see Paragraph 37 lines 3-6, Paragraph 67 lines 16-22, Paragraph 99 lines 1-2 teaching that the UAV 14 delivers a fuel parcel 140 to a fuel-receiver 18 the vehicle).
The rest of Claim 10 is substantially similar to Claim 1 (initiating a pairing process between the user device associated with the customer, a vehicle, and the UAV, wherein the pairing process allows delivery of the package only to the vehicle currently paired with the user device associated with the customer). Please see the rejection of Claim 1 above for analysis.
In regard to Claim 11, Bennie further teaches receiving, by the connected vehicle, an indication the customer has authorized delivery of the package to the connected vehicle (see Paragraph 88 lines 1-4, Paragraph 89 lines 7-8, Paragraph 90 lines 1-2 teaching that after the vehicle 12 validates the type of fuel being carried by the UAV, a UAV docking procedure is coordinated).
In regard to Claim 12, Bennie further teaches determining the UAV is within a predetermined range of the connected vehicle (see paragraph 87 lines 6-11 teaching that the system determines when the UAV 14 is proximate to, or has line-of-sight of, the vehicle 12).
In regard to Claim 13, Bennie further teaches receiving an indication from the UAV indicating how the UAV will deliver the package (see Paragraph 99 lines 10-13 teaching that the UAV 14 sends a message to the vehicle 12 indicating that it is ready to dispense fuel into the vehicle chamber 22).
In regard to Claim 14, Bennie further teaches providing an indication to the UAV the connected vehicle is preparing to stop (see Figure 4, Paragraph 67 lines , 33-35, Paragraph 57 lines 6-14, Paragraph 98 lines 5-11 teaching that a vehicle computer 20 may provide vehicle speed and direction data to the UAV 14, which can execute a docking procedure while the vehicle 12 is stationary or moving, and wherein the procedure can be attempted after a number of failed moving-vehicle attempts).
Here, and for Claim 15 below, the Examiner is interpreting the facts that the vehicle communicates speed and direction data to the UAV, the docking procedure can be carried out while the vehicle is in motion or stationary, and the vehicle can stop to conduct the docking procedure after attempting to conduct the procedure while moving, to mean that the vehicle provides indications to the UAV as to whether the next docking procedure will be carried out while the vehicle is in motion or while it is stationary.
In regard to Claim 15, Bennie further teaches providing an indication to the UAV the connected vehicle is not preparing to stop (see Figure 4, Paragraph 67 lines , 33-35, Paragraph 57 lines 6-14, Paragraph 98 lines 5-11 teaching that a vehicle computer 20 may provide vehicle speed and direction data to the UAV 14, which can execute a docking procedure while the vehicle 12 is stationary or moving, and wherein the procedure can be attempted after a number of failed moving-vehicle attempts).
In regard to Claim 16, Bennie further teaches a system for delivering goods to a connected vehicle using an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), the system comprising (see Paragraph 67 lines 16-22, Paragraph 99 lines 1-2 teaching that the UAV 14 delivers a fuel parcel 140 to the vehicle):
A cell site comprising a plurality of antennas in communication with the UAV and a connected vehicle, the cell site (see Figure 4, Paragraph 63 lines 1-4 teaching that the UAV 14 and the vehicle 12 may be in communication with a wireless communication network 120 and a land communications network 122):
Receiving a request from a user device corresponding to a customer, the request comprising instructions to deliver a package to the customer (see Figure 4, Paragraph 80 lines 1-4 teaching that the vehicle computer 20 sends a fuel delivery request to the server 116, which is integrated with either the wireless communication network 120 or the land communications network 122); and
Establishing a connection between the connected vehicle paired to the user device and the UAV authorized to deliver a package to an interface of the connected vehicle, the connection enabling data corresponding to the connected vehicle to be communicated to the UAV (see Paragraph 58 lines 14-18, Paragraph 80 lines 6-15, Paragraph 88 lines 1-4, Paragraph 89 lines 7-8, Paragraph 90 lines 1-2 teaching that the server 116 determines which UAV 14 to dispatch, wherein once the UAV is proximate the vehicle 12, the UAV sends a message to vehicle 12 advising the vehicle that it is present and has identified the vehicle, wherein the vehicle can validate the UAV’s fuel type to initiate the docking procedure, and wherein mobile device 110 is carried by the vehicle user).
The rest of Claim 16 is substantially similar to Claim 1 (initiating a pairing process between the user device associated with the customer, a vehicle, and the UAV, wherein the pairing process allows delivery of the package only to the vehicle currently paired with the user device associated with the customer). Please see the rejection of Claim 1 above for analysis.
In regard to Claim 17, Bennie further teaches wherein the data comprises speed and direction of the connected vehicle (see Figure 4, Paragraph 57 lines 6-14, Paragraph 63 lines 1-4 teaching that vehicle computer 20 may provide vehicle speed and direction data to the UAV 14 via the server 116).
In regard to Claim 18, Bennie further teaches determining an optimal route to intercept the connected vehicle (see Paragraph 63 lines 1-4, Paragraph 72 lines 3-11 teaching that vehicle computer 20 sends vehicle GPS data via the server 116 so that the UAV 14 may be able to locate the vehicle 12).
In regard to Claim 20, Bennie further teaches enabling the user to provide authorization to the UAV to deliver the package to the interface of the connected vehicle (see Paragraph 63 lines 1-4, Paragraph 88 lines 1-4, Paragraph 89 lines 7-8, Paragraph 90 lines 1-2 teaching that once the UAV is proximate the vehicle 12, the UAV sends a message to vehicle 12 advising the vehicle that it is present and has identified the vehicle, wherein the vehicle can validate the UAV’s fuel type to initiate the docking procedure, and wherein the communication is relayed via server 116).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennie (U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0108713 A1) in view of Chen (U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0249703 A1), in further view of Siegel (U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0370251 A1).
In regard to Claim 5, Bennie fails to teach maintaining a constant speed, accelerating, or decelerating, based on the data communicated by the vehicle.
However, Siegel teaches maintaining a constant speed, accelerating, or decelerating, based on the data communicated by the vehicle (see Paragraph 25 lines 16-28 teaching a drone-to-vehicle delivery system wherein the drone and the vehicle communicate directly in order to match the drone’s speed with that of the vehicle).
Bennie and Siegel are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of drone-to-vehicle delivery systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bennie’s invention to include a feature wherein the drone can adjust its speed based on information from the vehicle as taught by Siegel. Doing so could increase safety and reliability of the system, by creating better condition in which the drone could land on, or attach to, the vehicle
Claims 7-9, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennie (U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0108713 A1) in view of Chen (U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0249703 A1), in further view of Ali (U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0280074 A1).
In regard to Claim 7, Bennie fails to teach providing a notification to the user indicating the package has been delivered to the interface.
However, Ali teaches providing a notification to the user indicating the package has been delivered to the interface (see Paragraph 7 teaching an unmanned aerial vehicle delivery system wherein a UAV sends a delivery confirmation report to a UAV server or controller after delivering a package).
Bennie and Ali are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of UAV delivery systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bennie’s invention to include a delivery report as taught by Ali. Doing so could increase the reliability of the system by ensuring that the user receives confirmation of delivery.
The rest of Claim 7 is substantially similar to Claim 1 (that the package is delivered to a vehicle). Please see the rejection of Claim 1 above for analysis.
In regard to Claim 8, Bennie fails to teach wherein the notification comprises an identification of the recipient.
However, Ali teaches wherein the notification comprises an identification of the recipient (see Paragraph 7 teaching that the delivery report is generated based on recipient identification data).
Bennie and Ali are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of UAV delivery systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bennie’s invention to include a feature wherein delivery reports are based on user identification data as taught by Ali. Doing so could increase the reliability of the system by ensuring that delivery reports are sent to the corresponding user or recipient.
The rest of Claim 7 is substantially similar to Claim 1 (that the package is delivered to a vehicle). Please see the rejection of Claim 1 above for analysis.
In regard to Claim 9, Bennie fails to teach wherein the notification comprises an image of the package delivered to the interface.
However, Ali teaches wherein the notification comprises an image of the package delivered to the interface (see Paragraph 7 teaching that the delivery report includes an image of the package in the receiving zone).
Bennie and Ali are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of UAV delivery systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bennie’s invention to include a delivery report including an image of the package at the delivery site as taught by Ali. Doing so could increase the reliability of the system by ensuring that the user receives confirmation of delivery, and can use the image to visually validate that the package was delivered.
The rest of Claim 7 is substantially similar to Claim 1 (that the package is delivered to a vehicle). Please see the rejection of Claim 1 above for analysis.
Claim 19 is substantially similar to Claim 7 (the bulk of both claims). Please see the rejection of Claim 7 above for analysis.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments and remarks with regard to the 35 USC § 103 rejections of Claims 1-20 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
The Examiner asserts that the amended limitations within Claims 1, 10, 16 are taught by the primary reference (Bennie) used in the previous office action. Please see the 35 USC § 103 rejection of Claim 1 above, starting at the section beginning with “Initiate a pairing process” for analysis.
New 35 USC § 112(a) rejections of Claims 1, 10, 16 have been introduced in light of the amendments.
Claims 2-9, 11-15, 17-20 remain rejected under the rationales provided in the previous office action.
The Applicant’s amendments, arguments, and remarks do not overcome these prior art rejections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the Applicant's disclosure:
Kantor (U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0196525 A1) teaches system wherein a UAV receives a request to travel to a location associated with a mobile device (see Abstract).
Kimchi (U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0058965 A1) teaches an aerial vehicle delivery system that autonomously delivers items to various locations (see Abstract).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/PAUL W ARELLANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3667B
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3667
December 1, 2025