DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Girard et al., US Pg. Pub. No. (2021/0140338) referred to hereinafter as Girard.
As per claim 1, Girard teaches a method of operation, comprising: determining a parameter of an aircraft engine of an aircraft (see at least abstract, summary, Para 16. 20, 22, 39, 40, and figs. 3-4, 6-8); comparing the parameter to a threshold using a monitoring unit controller onboard the aircraft, the threshold established by an electrical resistance of a circuit component onboard the aircraft which is external to the monitoring unit controller (see at least abstract, summary, Para 16. 20, 22, 39, 40, and figs. 3-4, 6-8); and initiating an action using the monitoring unit controller where the parameter is greater than or equal to the threshold (see at least abstract, summary, Para 16. 20, 22, 39, 40, and figs. 3-4, 6-8).
As per claim 2, Girard teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the circuit component is discrete from the monitoring unit controller (see at least abstract, summary, Para 16. 20, 22, 39, 40, and figs. 3-4, 6-8).
As per claim 3, Girard teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the circuit component comprises an electronic configuration plug electrically coupled to the monitoring unit controller (see at least abstract, summary, Para 16. 20, 22, 39, 40, and figs. 3-4, 6-8).
As per claim 4, Girard teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the circuit component comprises a wire harness electrically coupled to the monitoring unit controller (see at least abstract, summary, Para 16. 20, 22, 39, 40, and figs. 3-4, 6-8).
As per claim 5, Girard teaches a method of claim 1, further comprising: changing the threshold by replacing the circuit component with a second circuit component (see at least abstract, summary, Para 16. 20, 22, 39, 40, and figs. 3-4, 6-8); wherein an electrical resistance of the second circuit component is different than the electrical resistance of the circuit component (see at least abstract, summary, Para 16. 20, 22, 39, 40, and figs. 3-4, 6-8).
As per claim 6, Girard teaches a method of claim 5, wherein the changing of the threshold comprises increasing the threshold (see at least abstract, summary, Para 16. 20, 22, 39, 40, and figs. 3-4, 6-8).
As per claim 7, Girard teaches a method of claim 5, wherein the changing of the threshold comprises decreasing the threshold (see at least abstract, summary, Para 16. 20, 22, 39, 40, and figs. 3-4, 6-8).
As per claim 8, Girard teaches a method of claim 5, wherein the action is initiated during an aircraft flight; and the threshold is changed following the aircraft flight during maintenance of the aircraft (see at least abstract, summary, Para 16. 20, 22, 39, 40, and figs. 3-4, 6-8).
As per claim 9, Girard teaches a method of claim 5, wherein the circuit component is replaced with the second circuit component without disassembling the monitoring unit controller (see at least abstract, summary, Para 16. 20, 22, 39, 40, and figs. 3-4, 6-8).
As per claim 10, Girard teaches a method of claim 5, wherein the circuit component is replaced with the second circuit component without removing the monitoring unit controller from the aircraft (see at least abstract, summary, Para 16. 20, 22, 39, 40, and figs. 3-4, 6-8).
As per claim 11, Girard teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the parameter comprises vibrations (see at least abstract, summary, Para 16. 20, 22, 39, 40, and figs. 3-4, 6-8).
As per claim 12, Girard teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the action comprises a notification to at least one of an operator of the aircraft engine or maintenance personnel (see at least abstract, summary, Para 16. 20, 22, 39, 40, and figs. 3-4, 6-8).
As per claim 13, Girard teaches a method of claim 1, further comprising: measuring a second parameter of the aircraft engine using a sensor (see at least abstract, summary, Para 16. 20, 22, 39, 40, and figs. 3-4, 6-8); and communicating a signal from the sensor to an engine controller for the aircraft engine, the signal indicative of the second parameter (see at least abstract, summary, Para 16. 20, 22, 39, 40, and figs. 3-4, 6-8); the action comprising altering the signal between the sensor and the engine controller using the monitoring unit controller to trigger a response by the engine controller (see at least abstract, summary, Para 16. 20, 22, 39, 40, and figs. 3-4, 6-8).
As per claim 14, Girard teaches a method of claim 13, wherein the response comprises initiating a notification to at least one of an operator of the aircraft engine or maintenance personnel (see at least abstract, summary, Para 16. 20, 22, 39, 40, and figs. 3-4, 6-8).
As per claim 15, Girard teaches a method of claim 13, wherein the response comprises altering operation of the aircraft engine (see at least abstract, summary, Para 16. 20, 22, 39, 40, and figs. 3-4, 6-8).
As per claims 16-20, the limitations of claims 16-20 are similar to the limitations of claims 1-15, therefore they are rejected based on the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Please refer to form 892 for cited references.
/MUSSA A SHAAWAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669