DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Response
In Applicant’s response dated 01/25/2026, Applicant amended Claim 4, canceled Claims 19 and 20; added Claim 21 and argued against all objections and rejections previously set forth in the Office Action dated 10/06/2026.
In light of Applicant’s amendments and remarks, the previously set forth objections are withdrawn.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1 – 6, 9, 10, 14, 15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) and Claims 7, 8, 11 – 13, 16, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Examiner Note
The Examiner cites particular columns, line numbers and/or paragraph numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6, 9, 10, 14, 15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Verma et al. (US 2019/0342005) (hereinafter, Verma).
Regarding Claim 1, Verma teaches an industrial facility monitoring system (See Verma’s abstract and par 0131) comprising:
a matrix of radiofrequency (RF) mesh extenders fixed to building structures of a facility and located throughout an interior of the facility (Verma in par 0023 - 0024 and Fig. 1, teaches that a lighting system includes a communication system 104 of a light fixture 102-1. The Lighting system 100 can include one or more assets 198, a user 150, a network manager 180 and at least one other light fixture 102. The communication system 104 can include a transceiver 124. Verma in par 0067, further teaches that the transceiver 124 can use any of a number of signal types, including but not limited to radio frequency signals. Verma in par 0094, further teaches a lighting system 300 located in a volume of space 390. Figure 3 shows the system 300 in which the various light fixtures 302 are auto-commissioned. The lighting system 300 includes twelve light fixtures 302, where each light fixture 302 is substantially similar to the light fixture 102-1 of figure 1. Verma in par 0131, further teaches that the volume of space 490 of the system 400 can be any area in which light fixtures 402 can be disposed. Examples of a volume of space 490 can include, but are not limited to, a room, a building, a warehouse, a factory, a store room, a parking lot, a parking garage, a store, and a plant), each of the mesh extenders to receive signals from RF emitters coupled to facility occupants (Verma in par 0013, teaches that assets that can be located can include any of a number of devices (e.g., a badge, a cell phone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a digital camera) that are attached, coupled to, or otherwise associated with an asset (e.g., a person, a vehicle, a piece of equipment); and
a processing unit to receive signals from the RF mesh extenders and to determine coordinates of a facility occupant based upon a triangulation of the signals from the matrix of RF mesh extenders (Verma in par 0111, further teaches that network manager 180 can determine the location of each light fixture 302 using the data in the tables of the communication systems 304. To determine the location of each light fixture 302, one or more algorithms 133 can be performed. For example, one or more algorithms 133 can effectively use a triangulation method to determine a location (e.g., x,y,z coordinates) of each light fixture 302 in the volume of space 390. In some cases, a location of at least one light fixture 302 and/or other object (e.g., a wall, a door) is known before the algorithms 133 are run to determine the location of all other light fixtures 302 and/or other objects in the volume of space 390. Verma in par 0118, further teaches that each light fixture 402 can be stationary or mobile. If a light fixture 402 moves, then the auto-commissioning function can determine the precise location of the moved light fixture 402 in the volume of space 490. Verma in par 0123, further teaches that if an asset 498 incudes a light source, then the asset 498 can be considered a type of light fixture 402, since the light source can be configured to send visible light signals to one or more light fixtures 402 in the system 400. Verma in par 0134 – 0135, further teaches when the communication device 479 communicates with at least one communication system of a light fixture, the precise location of the corresponding asset can be precisely determined based on the precise known location of the light fixtures discovered during auto-commissioning. As a specific example in this case, after the light fixtures have located themselves within a volume of space during auto-commissioning, when the transceiver 524 of the communication device 479 is a mobile phone with a camera 571, and when the asset is a person, the VLC signals sent to the communication device 479 of the asset can provide the asset with his/her location within the volume of space using her/his mobile phone).
Regarding Claim 2, Verma teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Verma further teaches:
wherein the matrix of RF mesh extenders comprises a mesh extender mounted to a light fixture (Verma in par 0023 - 0024 and Fig. 1, teaches that a lighting system includes a communication system 104 of a light fixture 102-1. The Lighting system 100 can include one or more assets 198, a user 150, a network manager 180 and at least one other light fixture 102. The communication system 104 can include a transceiver 124. Verma in par 0096 and Fig. 3, further teaches that the location of the communication system 304 on the light fixture 302 can vary. Further, each communication system 304 includes a transceiver (e.g., transceiver 124), and each transceiver in this example transmits and receives radio frequency waves. These radio frequency waves provide the communication links 305 by which the light fixtures 302 (and, more specifically, the communication systems 304) communicate with each other).
Regarding Claim 3, Verma teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 2. Verma further teaches:
wherein the light fixture receives electrical power from a power grid and wherein the RF mesh extender is hardwired to the power grid to receive power from the power grid (Verma in par 0027, teaches that the user 150 can also interact with a network manager 180 and/or any of the other light fixtures 102 in the system 100. Interaction between the user 150 and the light fixtures 102 and/or the network manager 180 is conducted using communication links 105. Each communication link 105 can include wired and/or wireless technology. For example, a communication link 105 can be (or include) one or more electrical conductors that are coupled to the housing 103 of a light fixture 102. The communication link 105 can transmit signals (e.g., power signals, communication signals, control signals, data) between one or more light fixtures 102 and the user 150 and/or the network manager 180. Verma in par 0061, further teaches that the power module 112 can include one or more components (e.g., a transformer, a diode bridge, an inverter, a converter) that receives power (for example, through an electrical cable) from a source external to the light fixture 102-1 and generates power of a type (e.g., alternating current, direct current) and level (e.g., 12V, 24V, 120V) that can be used by the other components of the communication system 104 and/or by the power supply 140).
Regarding Claim 4, Verma teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Verma further teaches:
wherein the RF mesh extender comprises:
a RF mesh extender chipset (Verma in par 0064, further teaches that the hardware processor 120 can be an integrated circuit, a central processing unit, a multi-core processing chip, SoC, a multi-chip module including multiple multi-core processing chips, or other hardware processor); and
a transformer configured to receive electrical power from the power grid at any voltage from 100 votes to 277 V and to transform the electrical power to a voltage for use by the RF mesh extender chipset (Verma in par 0061, further teaches that the power module 112 can include one or more components (e.g., a transformer, a diode bridge, an inverter, a converter) that receives power from a source external to the light fixture 102-1 and generates power of a type (e.g., alternating current, direct current) and level (e.g., 12V, 24V, 120V) that can be used by the other components of the communication system 104 and/or by the power supply 140. Verma in par 0075, further teaches that the power supply 140 can receive power from a source external to the light fixture 102-1. In addition, or in the alternative, the power supply 140 can be a source of power in itself. For example, the power supply 140 can be a battery, a localized photovoltaic power system, or some other source of independent power).
Regarding Claim 5, Verma teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 3. Verma further teaches:
wherein the RF mesh extender is wired to receive power from the light fixture (Verma in par 0023 - 0024 and Fig. 1, teaches that a lighting system includes a communication system 104 of a light fixture 102-1. The Lighting system 100 can include one or more assets 198, a user 150, a network manager 180 and at least one other light fixture 102. The communication system 104 can include a transceiver 124. Verma in par 0061, further teaches that the power module 112 can include one or more components that receives power from a source external to the light fixture 102-1 and generates power of a type and level (e.g., 12V, 24V, 120V) that can be used by the other components of the communication system 104 and/or by the power supply 140. The power module 112 can also protect the rest of the electronics (e.g., hardware processor 120, transceiver 124) in the light fixture 102-1 from surges generated in the line).
Regarding Claim 6, Verma teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 5. Verma further teaches:
wherein the mesh extender is further configured to control operation of the light fixture (Verma in par 0069, teaches that the transceiver 124 is used for commissioning the light fixture 102-1. In addition, or in the alternative, the transceiver 124 can be a device that receives a VLC signal, emitted as part of the light output generated by a light source of a different light fixture. Verma in par 0081, further teaches that the controller 106 is communicably coupled to the optional dimmer 145, the modulation circuit 157, the power supply 140, and the transceiver 124. The controller 106 can coordinate and control one or more of the components of the light fixture 102-1).
Regarding Claim 9, Verma teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 3. Verma further teaches:
wherein the RF mesh extender comprises at least one of a temperature RF emitter and a humidity RF emitter (Verma in par 0025, further teaches that a light fixture 102 (e.g., light fixture 102-1) can be any of a number of different types of light fixtures that use one or more light sources 142 to provide illumination to a user 150. Examples of a light fixture 102 can include, but are not limited to, a troffer light, a spot light, a down can light, an exit sign, an emergency egress light, a digital thermostat, a pendant, a floodlight, a spotlight, a hi-bay, landscape lighting, a street light, a parking lot light, and a digital wall display).
Regarding Claim 10, Verma teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Verma further teaches:
wherein the facility occupant comprises inventory (Verma in par 0013, teaches that assets that can be located can include any of a number of devices (e.g., a badge, a cell phone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a digital camera) that are attached, coupled to, or otherwise associated with an asset (e.g., a person, a vehicle, a piece of equipment. Verma in par 0137, further teaches that in addition to providing information to an asset, location and/or identification information about the asset can also be obtained, as when the transceiver 524 of the communication device 479 is also capable of sending signals. Such information can be useful, for example, to understand foot flow traffic through a store, the location of people during an emergency, the location of a piece of equipment, how long a person stays in a volume of space, and how often a particular person visits a volume of space).
Regarding Claim 14, Verma teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Verma further teaches:
wherein the facility occupant comprises a piece of manufacturing equipment (Verma in par 0013, teaches that assets that can be located can include any of a number of devices (e.g., a badge, a cell phone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a digital camera) that are attached, coupled to, or otherwise associated with an asset (e.g., a person, a vehicle, a piece of equipment. Verma in par 0026, further teaches that a user 150 may be any person that interacts with light fixtures. Examples of a user 150 can include, but are not limited to, an engineer, an electrician, an instrumentation and controls technician, a mechanic, an operator, a consultant, a network manager 180 (described below), a foreman, a labor scheduling system, a contractor, and a manufacturer's representative).
Regarding Claim 15, Verma teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Verma further teaches:
when the facility occupant comprises facility personnel (Verma in par 0013, teaches that assets that can be located can include any of a number of devices (e.g., a badge, a cell phone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a digital camera) that are attached, coupled to, or otherwise associated with an asset (e.g., a person, a vehicle, a piece of equipment. Verma in par 0026, further teaches that a user 150 may be any person that interacts with light fixtures. Examples of a user 150 can include, but are not limited to, an engineer, an electrician, an instrumentation and controls technician, a mechanic, an operator, a consultant, a network manager 180 (described below), a foreman, a labor scheduling system, a contractor, and a manufacturer's representative).
Regarding Claim 17, Verma teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Verma further teaches:
further comprising a second matrix of RF mesh extenders fixed to fixed structures external to the building of the facility and configured to receive signals from RF emitters coupled to the facility occupants when external to the facility (Verma in par 0023 - 0024 and Fig. 1, teaches that a lighting system includes a communication system 104 of a light fixture 102-1. The Lighting system 100 can include one or more assets 198, a user 150, a network manager 180 and at least one other light fixture 102. The communication system 104 can include a transceiver 124. Verma in par 0067, further teaches that the transceiver 124 can use any of a number of signal types, including but not limited to radio frequency signals. Verma in par 0094, further teaches a lighting system 300 located in a volume of space 390. Figure 3 shows the system 300 in which the various light fixtures 302 are auto-commissioned. The lighting system 300 includes twelve light fixtures 302, where each light fixture 302 is substantially similar to the light fixture 102-1 of figure 1. Verma in par 0099, further teaches that the light fixtures 302 of the lighting system 300 of FIG. 3 are located within a volume of space 390. A volume of space 390 can be any interior and/or exterior space in which one or more light fixtures of a lighting system can be located. Verma in par 0131, further teaches that the volume of space 490 of the system 400 can be any area in which light fixtures 402 can be disposed. Examples of a volume of space 490 can include, but are not limited to, a room, a building, a warehouse, a factory, a store room, a parking lot, a parking garage, a store, and a plant), wherein the processing unit is to determine coordinates of the facility occupants external to the facility based upon a triangulation of signals from the second matrix of mesh extenders (Verma in par 0111, further teaches that network manager 180 can determine the location of each light fixture 302 using the data in the tables of the communication systems 304. To determine the location of each light fixture 302, one or more algorithms 133 can be performed. For example, one or more algorithms 133 can effectively use a triangulation method to determine a location (e.g., x,y,z coordinates) of each light fixture 302 in the volume of space 390. In some cases, a location of at least one light fixture 302 and/or other object (e.g., a wall, a door) is known before the algorithms 133 are run to determine the location of all other light fixtures 302 and/or other objects in the volume of space 390. Verma in par 0118, further teaches that each light fixture 402 can be stationary or mobile. If a light fixture 402 moves, then the auto-commissioning function can determine the precise location of the moved light fixture 402 in the volume of space 490. Verma in par 0123, further teaches that if an asset 498 incudes a light source, then the asset 498 can be considered a type of light fixture 402, since the light source can be configured to send visible light signals to one or more light fixtures 402 in the system 400. Verma in par 0134 – 0135, further teaches when the communication device 479 communicates with at least one communication system of a light fixture, the precise location of the corresponding asset can be precisely determined based on the precise known location of the light fixtures discovered during auto-commissioning. As a specific example in this case, after the light fixtures have located themselves within a volume of space during auto-commissioning, when the transceiver 524 of the communication device 479 is a mobile phone with a camera 571, and when the asset is a person, the VLC signals sent to the communication device 479 of the asset can provide the asset with his/her location within the volume of space using her/his mobile phone).
Regarding Claim 18, Verma teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 17. Verma further teaches:
wherein the RF mesh extenders of the second matrix are mounted to light fixtures external to the building of the facility (Verma in par 0023 - 0024 and Fig. 1, teaches that a lighting system includes a communication system 104 of a light fixture 102-1. The Lighting system 100 can include one or more assets 198, a user 150, a network manager 180 and at least one other light fixture 102. The communication system 104 can include a transceiver 124. Verma in par 0096 and Fig. 3, further teaches that the location of the communication system 304 on the light fixture 302 can vary. Further, each communication system 304 includes a transceiver (e.g., transceiver 124), and each transceiver in this example transmits and receives radio frequency waves. These radio frequency waves provide the communication links 305 by which the light fixtures 302 (and, more specifically, the communication systems 304) communicate with each other. Verma in par 0099, further teaches that the light fixtures 302 of the lighting system 300 of FIG. 3 are located within a volume of space 390. A volume of space 390 can be any interior and/or exterior space in which one or more light fixtures of a lighting system can be located).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verma in view of Marks et al. (US 20220405317) (hereinafter, Marks).
Regarding Claim 7, Verma teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 6.
Verma further teaches:
Verma in par 0076, further teaches that the dimmer 145 can be controlled remotely by a user 150.
However, Verma does not specifically disclose wherein the mesh extender comprises a proximity RF emitter and is configured to control operation of the light fixture based upon signals from the proximity RF emitter.
Marks teaches that a remote control device for controlling devices in an environment can utilize an environment map and location information to accurately determine an intended device to provide control for multiple devices in an environment (See Marks’ Abstract).
Marks in par 0062, further teaches that a remote control device can include an ultra-wideband transceiver on each end of the handheld remote control device. The two ultra-wideband transceivers can be used to obtain UWB data for each end of the handheld remote control device, which can then be used to determine the orientation of the remote. The two ultra-wideband receiver handheld remote control device can use the UWB data from each transceiver to determine a distance between a controllable device and each end of the remote control device. The distances can then be compared to determine if the remote control device is pointing at that particular controllable device. The controllable device with the greatest change in distance between the two remote control device transceivers can be determined to be the intended device. The determination process may further include determining that a front remote control device transceiver is the closer of the two remote control device transceivers. Marks in par 0064, further teaches mapping can enable the environment system to understand the user's presence in a certain room/space and/or the proximity of devices in the space to provide a tailored experience.
Marks in par 0114, further teaches that the handheld remote control device 310 can include a plurality of sensors 320 configured to perform environment mapping and for receiving inputs. The handheld remote control device 310 may include one or more inertial sensors 322 (e.g., inertial measurement units (IMU)), one or more image sensors 324 (e.g., cameras), one or more audio sensors 326 (e.g., microphones), and/or one or more other sensors 328 (e.g., pressure sensors, accelerometers, proximity sensors, infrared sensors, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Marks with the teachings as in Verma to control the light fixtures of Verma based on distance and pointing direction from a remote control as disclosed in Marks. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a system that better understand the environment and allow accurate determination of the intended device the user wants to control (See Marks Abstract and par 0064).
Regarding Claim 8, Verma in view of Marks teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 7. Verma further teaches:
wherein the mesh extender comprises a light intensity RF emitter and is configured to control operation of the light fixture based upon signals from the light intensity RF emitter (Verma in par 0076, further teaches that the power supply 140 can include a dimmer 145. The optional dimmer 145 of the power supply 140, if included, can control the amount of power (adjusts the power signal) delivered by the power supply 140 to the light sources 142. The dimmer 145 can be controlled remotely by a user 150 and/or by some other source. By controlling the power signal delivered by the power supply 140 to the light sources 142, the dimmer 145 controls the amount of light output by the light sources 142. Verma in par 0078, further teaches that the dimmer 145 can set the intensity of the light source 142 by changing the amplitude of the current).
Claims 11 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verma in view of Jones et al. (US 2020/0219054) (hereinafter, Jones).
Regarding Claim 11, Verma teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Verma further teaches:
Verma in par 0013, teaches that assets that can be located can include any of a number of devices (e.g., a badge, a cell phone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a digital camera) that are attached, coupled to, or otherwise associated with an asset (e.g., a person, a vehicle, a piece of equipment).
However, Verma does not specifically disclose wherein the facility occupant comprises a pallet supporting inventory.
Jones teaches a tracking device that monitors the location of the pallet and provides location data to a back-end system over a communication channel either directly or via a local hub (See Jones’ Abstract). Jones in par 0003, further teaches that pallets are commonly used for transporting products and storing products in warehouse. Pallets are often moved using forklift.
Jones in par 0104 and Fig. 6, further teaches that pallet 620 may be located within a warehouse or other facility. Pallet 620 includes electronic tracking device 630 embedded within the pallet. The pallet 620 may be lifted and/or moved by forklift 610. The forklift tines 640 avoid the electronic tracking device 630. The electronic tracking device 630 is located such that the radio signals experience minimal interference, and the wall thickness of the wooden structure is such that the strength of the wooden structure is not significantly compromised. Electronic tracking device 630 determines the pallet location using either GPS or by triangulating with other devices, such as local hub 650.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Jones with the teachings as in Verma to have pallet with sensors as one of the assets in Verma. The motivation for doing so would have been effectively track the movement and location of pallets carrying products (See Jones’ abstract, par 0007 and 0097).
Regarding Claim 12, Verma in view of Jones teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 11. Jones further teaches:
further comprising a RF emitter, the RF emitter being embedded in the pallet (Jones in par 0104 and Fig. 6, further teaches that pallet 620 may be located within a warehouse or other facility. Pallet 620 includes electronic tracking device 630 embedded within the pallet. The pallet 620 may be lifted and/or moved by forklift 610. The forklift tines 640 avoid the electronic tracking device 630. The electronic tracking device 630 is located such that the radio signals experience minimal interference, and the wall thickness of the wooden structure is such that the strength of the wooden structure is not significantly compromised. Electronic tracking device 630 determines the pallet location using either GPS or by triangulating with other devices, such as local hub 650).
Regarding Claim 13, Verma teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Verma further teaches:
Verma in par 0013, teaches that assets that can be located can include any of a number of devices (e.g., a badge, a cell phone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a digital camera) that are attached, coupled to, or otherwise associated with an asset (e.g., a person, a vehicle, a piece of equipment).
However, Verma does not specifically disclose wherein the facility occupant comprises a forklift.
Jones teaches a tracking device that monitors the location of the pallet and provides location data to a back-end system over a communication channel either directly or via a local hub (See Jones’ Abstract). Jones in par 0003, further teaches that pallets are commonly used for transporting products and storing products in warehouse. Pallets are often moved using forklift.
Jones in par 0104 and Fig. 6, further teaches that pallet 620 may be located within a warehouse or other facility. Pallet 620 includes electronic tracking device 630 embedded within the pallet. The pallet 620 may be lifted and/or moved by forklift 610. The forklift tines 640 avoid the electronic tracking device 630. The electronic tracking device 630 is located such that the radio signals experience minimal interference, and the wall thickness of the wooden structure is such that the strength of the wooden structure is not significantly compromised. Electronic tracking device 630 determines the pallet location using either GPS or by triangulating with other devices, such as local hub 650).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Jones with the teachings as in Verma to monitor the forklift of Jones as disclosed in Verma. The motivation for doing so would have been effectively track the movement and location of assets of interest (See Jones’ abstract, par 0007 and 0097).
Claims 16, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verma in view of Zielke et al. (US 2021/0103709) (hereinafter, Zielke).
Regarding Claim 16, Verma teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Verma further teaches:
Verma in par 0049, further teaches that the controller 106 can interact with an inventory management system by ordering a replacement part for a light fixture 102 that the controller 106 has determined to fail or be failing. The controller 106 can interact with a workforce scheduling system by scheduling a maintenance crew to repair or replace the light fixture 102-1 when the controller 106 determines that the light fixture 102-1 or portion thereof requires maintenance or replacement.
However, Verma does not specifically disclose further comprising a RF emitter for coupling to a reel, the RF emitter detecting an amount of inventory wound about the reel.
Zielke teaches a modular material tracking system for tracking material stored on and drawn from a reel using a modular system. The modular material tracking system may include a detection element, digital logic components, location receiver, enclosure, analytic components, interface component, sensor module, and plate module (See Zielke’s Abstract).
Zielke in par 0164, further teaches that a sensor module 2200 may assist with tracking a length of a material wound on a reel, the material having known starting length and a known thickness, the reel having a reel core of known width and known volume, the reel further having reel flanges physically connected to the reel at opposite ends of the reel core such that the reel flanges rotate with the reel core, and the material being wound about the reel core between the reel flanges.
Zielke in par 0183, further teaches that the sensor module 2200 may retrieve a length value for the length of the material included by the reel identified by the reel identification index. As material is drawn from the reel, the sensor module 2200 connected to the plate module 2100 and installed to the reel may determine the cumulative forward rotations of the reel occurring subsequent to retrieving the length value. The cumulative forward rotations may be determined as the difference between the number of forward rotations and the number of revers rotations, without limitation. The sensor module 2200 may analyze the cumulative forward rotations to determine the length of the material drawn from the reel. The sensor module 2200 may then update the length value identified by the reel identification index to reflect the length of the material remaining on the reel after at least part of the material is drawn from the reel. Zielke in par 0186, further teaches that the sensor module may then be temporarily installed to the plate module while material is drawn from reel onto which the plate module is installed to gather data regarding the draw event and communicate such data to server to update a global inventory.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Zielke with the teachings as in Verma to use the sensors to monitory inventory in Verma as disclosed in Zielke. The motivation for doing so would have been to effectively monitor the use of materials and effectively communicate an update of the inventory (See Zielke’s Abstract and par 0186).
Regarding Claim 21, Verma teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1.
However, Verma does not specifically disclose wherein the signals from the matrix of RF mesh extenders that are triangulated to determine coordinates of a facility occupant further indicate a current amount of material, inventory or charge of the facility occupant.
Zielke teaches a modular material tracking system for tracking material stored on and drawn from a reel using a modular system. The modular material tracking system may include a detection element, digital logic components, location receiver, enclosure, analytic components, interface component, sensor module, and plate module (See Zielke’s Abstract).
Zielke in par 0183, further teaches that the sensor module 2200 may retrieve a length value for the length of the material included by the reel identified by the reel identification index. As material is drawn from the reel, the sensor module 2200 connected to the plate module 2100 and installed to the reel may determine the cumulative forward rotations of the reel occurring subsequent to retrieving the length value. The cumulative forward rotations may be determined as the difference between the number of forward rotations and the number of revers rotations, without limitation. The sensor module 2200 may analyze the cumulative forward rotations to determine the length of the material drawn from the reel. The sensor module 2200 may then update the length value identified by the reel identification index to reflect the length of the material remaining on the reel after at least part of the material is drawn from the reel. Zielke in par 0186, further teaches that the sensor module may then be temporarily installed to the plate module while material is drawn from reel onto which the plate module is installed to gather data regarding the draw event and communicate such data to server to update a global inventory.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Zielke with the teachings as in Verma to use the sensors to monitory inventory in Verma as disclosed in Zielke. The motivation for doing so would have been to effectively monitor the use of materials and effectively communicate an update of the inventory (See Zielke’s Abstract and par 0186).
Regarding Claim 22, Verma teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1.
However, Verma does not specifically disclose wherein the signals from the matrix of RF mesh extenders that are triangulated to determine coordinates of a facility occupant further indicate a current consumption rate of the facility occupant.
Zielke teaches a modular material tracking system for tracking material stored on and drawn from a reel using a modular system. The modular material tracking system may include a detection element, digital logic components, location receiver, enclosure, analytic components, interface component, sensor module, and plate module (See Zielke’s Abstract).
Zielke in par 0164, further teaches that a sensor module 2200 may assist with tracking a length of a material wound on a reel, the material having known starting length and a known thickness, the reel having a reel core of known width and known volume, the reel further having reel flanges physically connected to the reel at opposite ends of the reel core such that the reel flanges rotate with the reel core, and the material being wound about the reel core between the reel flanges.
Zielke in par 0183, further teaches that the sensor module 2200 may retrieve a length value for the length of the material included by the reel identified by the reel identification index. As material is drawn from the reel, the sensor module 2200 connected to the plate module 2100 and installed to the reel may determine the cumulative forward rotations of the reel occurring subsequent to retrieving the length value. The cumulative forward rotations may be determined as the difference between the number of forward rotations and the number of revers rotations, without limitation. The sensor module 2200 may analyze the cumulative forward rotations to determine the length of the material drawn from the reel. The sensor module 2200 may then update the length value identified by the reel identification index to reflect the length of the material remaining on the reel after at least part of the material is drawn from the reel. Zielke in par 0186, further teaches that the sensor module may then be temporarily installed to the plate module while material is drawn from reel onto which the plate module is installed to gather data regarding the draw event and communicate such data to server to update a global inventory.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Zielke with the teachings as in Verma to use the sensors to monitory inventory in Verma as disclosed in Zielke. The motivation for doing so would have been to effectively monitor the use of materials and effectively communicate an update of the inventory (See Zielke’s Abstract and par 0186).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim 1:
(1) Applicant argues: that claim 1 requires that a processing unit determine the coordinates of a facility occupant based upon triangulation of the signals from the matrix of RF mesh extenders. Again, the triangulation of the signals is used to determine the coordinates of the facility occupant. Verma fails to disclose, teach or suggest using a triangulation of signals from a matrix of RF mesh extenders “to determine the coordinates of the facility occupant”.
The office action has failed to establish a prima facie case of anticipation by failing to address the actual claim limitation. Claim 1 does not recite using triangulation of mesh extenders signals to determine the coordinates of a light fixture 302. In complete contrast, claim 1 requires triangulation of the matrix of RF mesh extenders signals to determine coordinates of the facility occupant. Although Verma discloses that it determines the coordinates of various items in the facility, Verma does not use triangulation of mesh extenders signals to determine the location of the facility occupants. Verma only discloses the use of triangulation to determine the location of the light fixture.
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Based on applicant disclosure par 0023, “The facility occupants may take many forms. For example, a facility occupant may comprise a dynamic facility occupant, and occupant that may move about or within the facility, such as facility personnel, inventory, and/or an inventory transport vehicle, such as a forklift or the like, portable manufacturing equipment or a pallet, box, been, portable tank or other portable container for supporting or containing inventory (articles or materials)”
Accordingly, the claim as recited is broad and not excluding any assets that move within a space.
Claim 1 recites “a processing unit to receive signals from the RF mesh extenders and to determine coordinates of a facility occupant based upon a triangulation of the signals from the matrix of RF mesh extenders”
As correctly indicated by the applicant, Verma discloses that it determines the coordinates of various items in the facility.
Verma in par 0096 and Fig. 3, teaches that each communication system 304 includes a transceiver (e.g., transceiver 124), and each transceiver in this example transmits and receives radio frequency waves. These radio frequency waves provide the communication links 305 by which the light fixtures 302 (and, more specifically, the communication systems 304) communicate with each other. Each transceiver of a communication system 304 has a range 385 (e.g., 10 meters) that defines a maximum area or volume of space 390 in which the transceiver can send and receive signals.
Verma in par 0110 - 0111, further teaches that communication system 304 can be placed on a wall or other object (e.g. cubicle wall 393) in the volume space to identify the locations of those walls and/or other objects relative to the light fixtures 302 in the system 300. In such a case, each wall and/or other object would have a unique identification number, and can be used to provide definition (e.g., location of walls, distance between walls, position of doors) to the volume of space 390. When all of the iterations have been performed, one or more of the communication systems 304 can determine the location of each light fixture 302 (as well as walls and/or other objects within the volume of space 390 using the results of the algorithms 133 performed by the communication systems 304. To determine the location of each light fixture 302, one or more algorithms 133 can be performed. For example, one or more algorithms 133 can effectively use a triangulation method to determine a location (e.g., x,y,z coordinates) of each light fixture 302 in the volume of space 390.
Verma in par 0118, further teaches that each light fixture 402 can be stationary or mobile. If a light fixture 402 moves, then the auto-commissioning function can determine the precise location of the moved light fixture 402 in the volume of space 490.
Verma in par 0123, further teaches that if an asset 498 incudes a light source, then the asset 498 can be considered a type of light fixture 402, since the light source can be configured to send visible light signals to one or more light fixtures 402 in the system 400.
Verma in par 0131, teaches that assets that can be located can include any of a number of devices (e.g., a badge, a cell phone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a digital camera) that are attached, coupled or otherwise associated with an asset (e.g., a person, a vehicle, a piece of equipment.
Verma in par 0139, further teaches that the system can identify assets within a volume of space and determine the location of each asset within the volume of space based on results of an auto-commissioning process.
Accordingly, Verma teaches a communication system comprising a plurality of assets, each transmitting and receiving radio frequency signals. The system include stationary or mobile light fixtures, and if a light fixture move, the system can determine the precise location. To determine the location of each light fixture 302, one or more algorithms 133 can be performed. For example, one or more algorithms 133 can effectively use a triangulation method to determine a location (e.g., x,y,z coordinates) of each light fixture 302 in the volume of space 390.
Therefore, Verma at least by using triangulation to determining a location of light fixtures that can be stationary or mobile within a facility, teaches “a processing unit to receive signals from the RF mesh extenders and to determine coordinates of a facility occupant based upon a triangulation of the signals from the matrix of RF mesh extenders” as claimed.
Claim 7:
(2) Applicant argues that neither Verma nor Marx alone or in combination, disclose, teach or suggest the industrial facility monitoring system of claim 7, wherein the mesh extender comprises a proximity RF emitter. The only disclosure of a proximity sensor by Marks if for its “handheld remote control device 310”. In contrast, claim 7 requires that the mesh extender comprise a proximity RF emitter. Marks does not disclose any mesh extender that comprises a proximity RF emitter.
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Marks teaches that a remote control device for controlling devices in an environment can utilize an environment map and location information to accurately determine an intended device to provide control for multiple devices in an environment (See Marks’ Abstract). Marks in par 0062, further teaches that a remote control device can include an ultra-wideband transceiver on each end of the handheld remote control device. Marks in par 0064, further teaches mapping can enable the environment system to understand the user's presence in a certain room/space and/or the proximity of devices in the space to provide a tailored experience.
Marks in par 0114, further teaches that the handheld remote control device 310 can include a plurality of sensors 320 configured to perform environment mapping and for receiving inputs. The handheld remote control device 310 may include one or more inertial sensors 322 (e.g., inertial measurement units (IMU)), one or more image sensors 324 (e.g., cameras), one or more audio sensors 326 (e.g., microphones), and/or one or more other sensors 328 (e.g., pressure sensors, accelerometers, proximity sensors, infrared sensors, etc.).
Marks in par 0129, further teaches that the handheld remote control device 310 can include one or more input devices(s) 346 and/or one or more output devices(s) 348. The output device(s) 348 can include hardware and/or software for visually or audibly producing signals. For instance, the output device(s) 348 can include one or more lighting elements (e.g., LED, ultrasound emitter, infrared emitter, etc.), display device, one or more speaker(s), etc.
Accordingly, Marks teaches a device (handheld remote control device 310) that include a plurality of sensors including a proximity sensor, furthermore, the handheld remote control device 310 may include output device(s) 348 can include hardware and/or software for visually or audibly producing signals. For instance, the output device(s) 348 can include one or more lighting elements (e.g., LED, ultrasound emitter, infrared emitter, etc.), display device, one or more speaker(s), etc.
Accordingly, Verma in view of Marks teaches or suggests “wherein the mesh extender comprises a proximity RF emitter and is configured to control operation of the light fixture based upon signals from the proximity RF emitter” as claimed.
Claim 8:
(3) Applicant argues: that although Verma may disclose a dimmer, as well known to those of ordinary skill in the art, standard dimmers are not RF emitter. Dimming the light intensity does not require RF emission. Standard wall dimmers are not designed to transmit RF signals. Thus, the Office Action’s reliance upon Verma is misplaced.
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The claim recites “wherein the mesh extender comprises a light intensity RF emitter and is configured to control operation of the light fixture based upon signals from the light intensity RF emitter”
Verma in par 0023, teaches that in addition to the communication system 104, the light fixture 102-1 can include a lighting circuit 135. The lighting circuit 135 can include a power supply 140 (which can include an optional dimer 145).
Verma in par 0067, further teaches that the transceiver 124 of the communication system 104 can send and/or receive control and/or communication signals. Specifically, the transceiver 124 can be used to transfer data between the communication system 104 and the user 150, the network manager 180, an asset 198, one or more other light fixtures 102, and/or the sensors 160. The transceiver 124 can use wired and/or wireless technology. The transceiver 124 can use any of a number of signal types, including but not limited to radio frequency signals. Verma in par 0076, further teaches that the power supply 140 can include a dimmer 145. The optional dimmer 145 of the power supply 140, if included, can control the amount of power (adjusts the power signal) delivered by the power supply 140 to the light sources 142. The dimmer 145 can be controlled remotely by a user 150 and/or by some other source. By controlling the power signal delivered by the power supply 140 to the light sources 142, the dimmer 145 controls the amount of light output by the light sources 142. Verma in par 0078, further teaches that the dimmer 145 can set the intensity of the light source 142 by changing the amplitude of the current).
Accordingly, Verma teaches a communication system that use a transceiver that can communicate radio frequency signal to control a dimmer that is part of the circuit of the light fixture.
Accordingly, the examiner maintain that Verma teaches “wherein the mesh extender comprises a light intensity RF emitter and is configured to control operation of the light fixture based upon signals from the light intensity RF emitter” a claimed.
Claim 16:
(4) Applicant argues: that claim 16 requires a RF emitter that detects the amount of inventory wound about the reel. Claim 16 does not merely recite any sensor or sensor module that happens to detect the amount of inventory wound about the reel. Claim 16 explicitly recites an RF emitter that detect the inventory about the reel. The office action fails to even assert that Zielke tech such an RF emitter, Simply modifying Verma to include the sensor module of Zielke would fail to satisfy the actual limitations of claim 16.
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Claim 16 recites “further comprising a RF emitter for coupling to a reel, the RF emitter detecting an amount of inventory wound about the reel”.
Zielke is not disclosing merely a sensor. Zielke in par 0011, teaches that sensor module may include a radio frequency transmitter to communicate at least part of the sensor module memory contents. The sensor module may include a sensor module battery that may power at least the sensor module processor, the sensor module memory, the sensor, and the radio frequency transmitter. Zielke in par 0164, further teaches that a sensor module 2200 may assist with tracking a length of a material wound on a reel, the material having known starting length and a known thickness, the reel having a reel core of known width and known volume, the reel further having reel flanges physically connected to the reel at opposite ends of the reel core such that the reel flanges rotate with the reel core, and the material being wound about the reel core between the reel flanges.
Accordingly, Zielke discloses the use of a sensor that include a radio frequency transmitter to communicate the corresponding information. Therefore, Verma in view of Zielke teaches or suggests “further comprising a RF emitter for coupling to a reel, the RF emitter detecting an amount of inventory wound about the reel” as claimed.
New Claims 21 and 22:
(5) Applicant argues: that the prior art of record, alone or in combination, fails to disclose, teach or suggest that the signals from the matrix of RF mesh extenders that ate triangulated to determine coordinates of a facility occupant further indicate a current amount of material, inventory or charge of the facility occupant.
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As indicated above (1) Verma teaches a communication system comprising a plurality of assets, each transmitting and receiving radio frequency signals. The system include stationary or mobile light fixtures, and if a light fixture move, the system can determine the precise location. To determine the location of each light fixture 302, one or more algorithms 133 can be performed. For example, one or more algorithms 133 can effectively use a triangulation method to determine a location (e.g., x,y,z coordinates) of each light fixture 302 in the volume of space 390.
Furthermore, as disclose above (4)
Zielke in par 0011, teaches that sensor module may include a radio frequency transmitter to communicate at least part of the sensor module memory contents. The sensor module may include a sensor module battery that may power at least the sensor module processor, the sensor module memory, the sensor, and the radio frequency transmitter. Zielke in par 0164, further teaches that a sensor module 2200 may assist with tracking a length of a material wound on a reel, the material having known starting length and a known thickness, the reel having a reel core of known width and known volume, the reel further having reel flanges physically connected to the reel at opposite ends of the reel core such that the reel flanges rotate with the reel core, and the material being wound about the reel core between the reel flanges.
Accordingly, Verma in view of Zielke teaches wherein the signals from the matrix of RF mesh extenders that are triangulated to determine coordinates of a facility occupant further indicate a current amount of material, inventory or charge of the facility occupant as claimed.
(6) Applicant argues that the prior art of record, alone or in combination, fails to disclose, teach or suggest the facility monitoring system of Claim 22, wherein the signals from the matrix of Rf mesh extenders that are triangulated to determine coordinates of a facility occupant further indicate a current consumption rate of the facility occupant.
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As indicated above (1) Verma teaches a communication system comprising a plurality of assets, each transmitting and receiving radio frequency signals. The system include stationary or mobile light fixtures, and if a light fixture move, the system can determine the precise location. To determine the location of each light fixture 302, one or more algorithms 133 can be performed. For example, one or more algorithms 133 can effectively use a triangulation method to determine a location (e.g., x,y,z coordinates) of each light fixture 302 in the volume of space 390.
Furthermore, as disclose above (4) Zielke in par 0011, teaches that sensor module may include a radio frequency transmitter to communicate at least part of the sensor module memory contents. The sensor module may include a sensor module battery that may power at least the sensor module processor, the sensor module memory, the sensor, and the radio frequency transmitter. Zielke in par 0164, further teaches that a sensor module 2200 may assist with tracking a length of a material wound on a reel. Accordingly, Zielke teaches discloses the use of a sensor that include a radio frequency transmitter to communicate the corresponding information associated with the tracking of the material wound on a reel.
Therefore, Verma in view of Zielke teaches or suggests “wherein the signals from the matrix of RF mesh extenders that are triangulated to determine coordinates of a facility occupant further indicate a current consumption rate of the facility occupant” as claimed.
Applicant's remaining arguments with respect to claims are substantially encompassed in the arguments above, therefore examiner responds with the same rationale.
For at least the foregoing reasons, Examiner maintains prior art rejections.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARIEL MERCADO-VARGAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118