Status of the Claims
Claims 1-3 and 9-14 are pending in the application and are the subject of this office action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In claim 1: “the first and second antibodies are configured to form a complex comprising a pathogen, the nonmagnetic metal, and the magnetic object”
This limitation is interpreted under 112(f) because it recites a particular function associated with a particular element, wherein the structural description of the associated element is insufficient to support the recited function. That is, a generic first and second antibody are not necessarily capable of forming a complex comprising a pathogen, the nonmagnetic metal, and the magnetic object. As such, this limitation is interpreted in view of the associated structure provided in the instant specification. The instant specification indicates that formation of such a complex is facilitated by a first antibody which is capable of specifically binding to the pathogen, and a second antibody which is either capable of specifically binding to the pathogen or is capable of specifically binding to the Fc region of the first antibody (see instant specification Par. 9-10 and instant claims 2-3).
In claim 1: “the sample mixing chamber is configured to sequentially receive the first antibody coupled to the nonmagnetic metal and the second antibody coupled to the magnetic object according to a relative particle size of the first antibody coupled to the nonmagnetic metal and the second antibody coupled to the magnetic object”
This limitation is interpreted under 112(f) because it recites a particular function associated with a particular element, wherein the structural description of the associated element is insufficient to support the recited function. Further claim interpretation is discussed in the 112(b) section below.
In claim 1: “the complex configured to adhere to the electrode, wherein the nonmagnetic metal adheres to a surface of the electrode”
This limitation is interpreted under 112(f) because it recites a particular function associated with a particular element, wherein the structural description of the associated element is insufficient to support the recited function. That is, a generic nonmagnetic metal of the complex is not necessarily capable of adhering to a generic electrode, such that additional structure is required to facilitate this function. Further claim interpretation is discussed in the 112(b) section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-3 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Amended claim 1 recites: “the sample mixing chamber is configured to sequentially receive the first antibody coupled to the nonmagnetic metal and the second antibody coupled to the magnetic object according to a relative particle size of the first antibody coupled to the nonmagnetic metal and the second antibody coupled to the magnetic object” wherein the language “configured to” implies some specific structural arrangement or modification of the sample mixing chamber which facilitates the recited function of sequentially receiving different components based on relative particle size. However, the language of this limitation does not appear in the specification, and the disclosure does not support this limitation. The specification at Par. 57-58 instead describes introducing different components in sequence as a matter of intended use (i.e. sequential introduction of component based on relative particle size is a step in the method of using the system, but is not a structural feature of the system or the sample mixing chamber itself). As such, the disclosure does not support the recitation that the sample mixing chamber is specifically “configured” for this particular function. This is a new matter rejection.
Dependent claims 2-3 and 9-14 are rejected because they depend from a rejected claim and fail to remedy its deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-3 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “the sample mixing chamber is configured to sequentially receive the first antibody coupled to the nonmagnetic metal and the second antibody coupled to the magnetic object according to a relative particle size of the first antibody coupled to the nonmagnetic metal and the second antibody coupled to the magnetic object” in claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The language “configured to” implies some specific structural arrangement or modification of the sample mixing chamber which facilitates the recited function of sequentially receiving different components based on relative particle size. However, the language of this limitation does not appear in the specification, and the disclosure does not describe any particular physical structure or modification of the sample mixing chamber which is responsible for facilitating this recited function. The specification at Par. 57-58 instead describes introducing different components in sequence as a matter of intended use (i.e. sequential introduction of component based on relative particle size is a step in the method of using the system, but is not described as a structural feature of the system or the sample mixing chamber itself). Therefore, the structure required to facilitate the recited function is unclear, and moreover, whether or not the recitation actually requires any particular structure or modification beyond a generic sample mixing chamber is unclear. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “the complex configured to adhere to the electrode, wherein the nonmagnetic metal adheres to a surface of the electrode” in claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
As noted in the claim interpretation section above, a nonmagnetic metal as described in the instant claim is not inherently capable of adhering to a surface of the electrode as described in the instant claim. That is, the claim provides no structural description or detail that specifically denotes how the complex/nonmagnetic metal is “configured to” adhere to a surface of the electrode, such that the structural limitations applied by this recitation are unclear. The specification provides some discussion of an embodiment wherein the nonmagnetic metal adheres to the surface of an electrode (Par. 46) but it is not clear from the description what particular structural features of the complex, nonmagnetic metal, and/or the electrode facilitate this adherence. In light of this, and the disclosure as a whole, the particular structural features of the system that are responsible for facilitating the recited adherence with the surface of the electrode are unclear, and thus the metes and bounds of the limitation are unclear. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Dependent claims 2-3 and 9-14 are rejected because they depend from a rejected claim and fail to remedy its deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9-10, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lowe et al (US 2011/0053289 Al; IDS entered) in view of Mattingly (US 2009/0246800 Al; IDS entered).
Regarding claims 1-2, 9-10, 13-14 Lowe teaches a system for detecting an analyte in a sample comprising:
A first antibody coupled to a nonmagnetic metal, wherein the nonmagnetic metal comprises gold, silver, aluminum, copper, lead, tin, titanium, zinc, brass, bronze, an alloy thereof, or a combination thereof (Par. 24-25: the second reagent may comprise a binding agent capable of binding to analyte in the first liquid. The binding agent of the second reagent may be capable of binding to a different epitope of the analyte than the binding agent of the first reagent. The binding agent of the second reagent may be an antibody. The second reagent may be conjugated to a second particle (e.g. a non-magnetic particle such as a sol particle (e.g. a gold sol)). The second particle may comprise at least one label; Par. 83,458,559,645);
A second antibody coupled to a magnetic object (Par. 23: the first reagent may comprise magnetically susceptible particles comprising a binding agent adapted to bind to an analyte in the first liquid. The first binding agent may be an antibody that binds specifically to the analyte; Par. 82);
First and second antibodies configured to form a complex comprising a pathogen, the nonmagnetic metal, and the magnetic object (Par. 80: the method may include forming complexes of magnetically susceptible particle, analyte and second binding agent; Par. 464, 23-25);
A sample mixing chamber (Par. 75: introducing a liquid sample to a first portion of a channel of a microfluidic device and contacting the liquid sample with the magnetic particles);
Regarding the limitation “wherein the sample mixing chamber is configured to sequentially receive…and the second antibody coupled to the magnetic object”, this is noted as a recitation of intended use, as described above, because there is no indication in either the claims or the specification of any particular structural feature or modification of the sample mixing chamber that specifically facilitates this function. Instead, the specification at Par. 57-58 indicates that sequential introduction of different components is a step in a process of using the claimed system. A recitation of intended use does not distinguish over the prior art in a claim to a product or system because a product is defined by what it is and not by what it does. As long as the prior art teaches all structural requirements of the product claim, it is understood to meet the instant claim, regardless of whether it explicitly teaches the same intended use. As such, because Lowe is understood to teach all structural requirements of the instant claim, as described herein, it is understood to meet this limitation of the instant claim.
A magnet positioned to be adjacent to the sample mixing chamber (Par. 75; Par. 98: positioning
the magnetic particles can be performed using a magnet located external to the channel);
An electrode in selective communication with the sample mixing chamber (Par. 54: any sensor
of the device may include at least one electrode; Par. 14: the device comprises an inlet in fluid connection with a first portion of a channel, the inlet configured to receive a liquid; a second portion of
the channel connected to the first portion at a junction and containing flowable media between the
junction and a detection zone is a second channel portion; Par. 18, 33, 423, 426-437, 479, 503);
the complex configured to adhere to the electrode, wherein the nonmagnetic metal adheres to a surface of the electrode (as best interpreted in view of the 112(b) issues discussed above) (Par. 108-109: the method may comprise magnetically moving the magnetic particle adjacent to or upon a sensor located in or juxtaposed to the second channel portion of the device. The particle may be magnetically retained adjacent to or upon the sensor for an amount of time sufficient for the sensor to detect a characteristic of the second liquid. The method may include magnetically positioning the magnetic particles adjacent to or upon the one or more electrode for the detection of the analyte). That is, the nonmagnetic metal is understood to be able to adhere with the electrode in the invention of Lowe in that the nonmagnetic metal is configured to form a complex with the analyte and the magnetic particles (via specific binding of the first antibody to the analyte) such that the complex (comprising the nonmagnetic metal) may be magnetically positioned onto the electrode for detection of the analyte.
A voltmeter in communication with the electrode, wherein adhesion of the nonmagnetic metal to the electrode changes a voltage measured by the voltmeter (Par. 336,447,471, 598).
Lowe teaches that the analyte is not particularly limited, but does not explicitly teach that the analyte is a pathogen (Par. 434: the analyte may be any analyte, and more particularly, any analyte to which a binding agent, such as an antibody, may be raised). Lowe teaches that it is particularly desirable to detect analytes which facilitate diagnosis of a pathological condition (Par. 411, 438).
Mattingly teaches a method of detecting a pathogen in a sample which comprises a sandwich format immunoassay comprising anti-pathogen antibodies (Abstract; Par. 105). Mattingly teaches that the analyte detected may be a pathogen, wherein detection of a pathogen may be useful in diagnosis or monitoring of disease (Par. 29, 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Lowe for the detection of a pathogen, as taught by Mattingly. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification because Lowe teaches that the system may be used for the detection of any analyte and that analytes which are useful for the detection of pathological conditions are of particular interest, while Mattingly teaches that pathogens may be detected by antibodies in an immunoassay and may be used to diagnose and monitor disease/pathological conditions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because Lowe teaches that the analyte may be any analyte that can be specifically bound by an antibody, and Mattingly teaches that pathogen analytes may be specifically bound and detected by antibodies.
Regarding claim 12, Lowe further teaches the system comprising a database configured to determine a concentration of the pathogen based on a presence of the nonmagnetic metal at the electrode (Par. 470-471, 597-604, 786-792, 838-844).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lowe et al (US 2011/0053289 Al; IDS entered) in view of Mattingly (US 2009/0246800 Al; IDS entered) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Thermo Fisher Scientific (Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc. Tech Tip #59: Choosing a secondary antibody: a guide to fragment specificity. 2007; previously cited).
Regarding claim 3, Lowe differs from the instant claim in that it does not explicitly teach the system wherein the first antibody is specific for the pathogen and the second antibody is specific for the Fc region of the first antibody.
Regarding claim 3, Thermo Fisher Scientific teaches that the use of labeled secondary antibodies which bind to the Fc region of a primary antibody-analyte complex is a well-known and common method of labeling and thereby detecting a primary antibody-analyte complex. Thermo Fisher Scientific teaches that the use of a secondary antibody that binds to a primary antibody can be advantageous (Pg. 1, Introduction, Sections A and C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Lowe such that the first antibody is specific for the pathogen and the second antibody is specific for the Fc region of the first antibody. One would be motivated to make this modification because the use of a secondary antibody that binds specifically to the Fc region of an anti-analyte primary antibody is well-known in the art, as taught by Thermo Fisher Scientific and has a number of advantages. For example, the use of a secondary antibody that binds to the primary antibody mitigates potential steric hindrance between a first and second antibody that both bind to the same analyte molecule; a secondary antibody only needs to be specific for binding to the host species of the primary antibody (rather than specific to a particular epitope of the target analyte), and as such, these reagents are more generally available and easy to obtain, and can be used in a broader range of applications (i.e. the same Fe-binding secondary antibody can be used in the detection of a number of different analytes, as long as it is capable of binding to the chosen primary antibody, whereas an analyte-specific second antibody can only be used in the detection of one analyte); because they have a broader range of applications and are more generally available, secondary antibodies that bind to the Fc region of a primary antibody are generally commercially available and can be purchased in a pre-labeled state. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because Lowe teaches that a target analyte can be detected by a complex comprising first and second antibodies, while Thermo Fisher Scientific teaches that first and second antibodies used in the detection of an analyte may comprise a primary antibody that binds to the target analyte and a secondary antibody that binds to the Fc region of the primary antibody, and that this is a well-known detection method in the art.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lowe et al (US 2011/0053289 Al; IDS entered) in view of Mattingly (US 2009/0246800 Al; IDS entered) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xu et al ( (2012), Disposable Electrochemical Immunosensor by Using Carbon Sphere/Gold Nanoparticle Composites as Labels for Signal Amplification. Chem. Eur. J., 18: 4994-4998.).
Regarding claim 11, Lowe in view of Mattingly differs from the instant claim in that it does not explicitly teach the system wherein the nonmagnetic metal is incorporated into a nonmagnetic carrier comprising a nonmetallic material.
Xu discloses systems and methods for detecting an analyte in a sample via electrochemical immunosensing (Abstract). Xu discloses the use of carbon sphere/gold nanoparticle composites as labels for signal amplification, wherein the nonmagnetic metal (gold) is incorporated into a nonmagnetic carrier comprising a nonmetallic material (carbon sphere) and teaches that these labels are useful in improving the specificity and sensitivity of electrochemical immunosensing (Pg. 4995, Col. 1, Par. 1; Conclusion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Lowe in view of Mattingly such that a gold label is incorporated into a nonmagnetic carrier comprising a nonmetallic material, as taught by Xu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification because Xu teaches that carbon sphere/gold nanoparticle composite labels can be used to increase specificity and sensitivity in electrochemical immunosensing. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because both Lowe and Xu are directed to electrode immunoassays for the detection of an analyte in a sample, wherein the immunoassay system comprises a gold label conjugated to a specific binding agent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 29 September 2026 have been fully considered.
Previous objections to the specification are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the specification.
Regarding the applicability of 112(f), Applicant states that the phrasing “means for” has not been employed in claim 1 and Applicant does not intend to be limited to the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 112(f), however, 112(f) interpretation has been applied, as described above, for recitations which link a particular element to a particular function, wherein the structure provided in the claim is insufficient to support the recited function.
Previous grounds of 112(b) rejection are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims. New grounds of 112(b) rejections which address the amended claims are presented above.
Regarding the 103 rejection, Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach the amended limitation “wherein the sample mixing chamber is configured to sequentially receive the first antibody coupled to the nonmagnetic metal and the second antibody coupled to the magnetic object according to a relative particle size of the first antibody coupled to the nonmagnetic metal and the second antibody coupled to the magnetic object”; Applicant indicates that this amendment is supported by Par. 57-58 of the specification.
This argument is not persuasive. As noted in the rejections above, Par. 57-58 appear to describe an intended method of using the claimed system wherein particular components are introduced to the sample mixing chamber sequentially, but the specification does not describe any particular structure or modification of the sample chamber that is responsible for facilitating this function. As such, the amended limitation appears to be a recitation of intended use which does not structurally limit the claimed system and which therefore does not distinguish the system over the prior art. Prior art which teaches all structural requirements of the claimed system is understood to meet the instant claim, regardless of whether it explicitly teaches the same intended use/method of using. As such, the cited prior art is understood to meet the amended claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELLIS FOLLETT LUSI/Examiner, Art Unit 1677
/CHRISTOPHER L CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1677