DETAILED ACTION
CLEANING ARTICLE HAVING COATED TOW FIBERS
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 11-24-2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11-24-2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant's argument that the prior art fails to teach a primary coat mix comprising castor oil ethoxylate, fatty alcohol ethoxylate, and fatty acid ester at the claimed ratios.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, prior art Tsuchiya discloses a mix that coats a cleaning tool, that includes a mixture of castor oil ethoxylate, fatty alcohol ethoxylate, and fatty acid ester equivalents. Tsuchiya discloses the composition of the mixture can include a polyoxyethylene hydrogenated castor oil which is ethoxylated castor oil which meets the castor oil ethoxylate limitation, poloxyethylene lauryl ether which is ethoxylated fatty alcohol which meets the fatty alcohol ethoxylate, mono myristic acid glyceryl which is a fatty acid ester.
Further, Tsuchiya discloses the composition of mixture can include two or more types, and also Tsuchiya further discloses the composition can be mixed to have specific percent by mass compositions (see para 0040-0044 of Tsuchiya).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Policicchio (US20190104909A1) cited in IDS in view of Tsuchiya (US20060048325A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Policicchio teaches a carrier sheet (12, figure 1a); and
a tow fiber bundle (29; para 0033-0042) joined to said carrier sheet, wherein said tow fiber bundle comprises tow fibers (14, figure 1-1a) at least partially coated with a primary coat mix (abstract).
Policicchio fails to teach castor oil ethoxylate, fatty alcohol ethoxylate, and fatty acid ester, wherein said castor oil ethoxylate and said fatty alcohol ethoxylate are present at a weight ratio of said castor oil ethoxylate to said fatty alcohol ethoxylate from about 2:1 to about 1:1, and wherein said fatty acid ester and said fatty alcohol ethoxylate are present at a weight ratio of said fatty acid ester to said fatty alcohol ethoxylate from about 5:1 to about 3:1.
However, Policicchio does disclose the coating may compromise a blend of oil, surfactant and that the concentration of a component within the coating can be adjusted to improve performance (para 0007-0008,0047, 0060,0064-0065, 0071-0075,0085).
Tsuchiya teaches a cleaning tool (abstract) that has a coating (para 0040,0055) that comprises castor oil ethoxylate fatty alcohol ethoxylate, and fatty acid ester (para 0040), wherein said castor oil ethoxylate and said fatty alcohol ethoxylate are present at a weight ratio of said castor oil ethoxylate to said fatty alcohol ethoxylate (para 0040)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Policicchio to include a coating that comprises castor oil ethoxylate, fatty alcohol ethoxylate, and fatty acid ester, wherein said castor oil ethoxylate and said fatty alcohol ethoxylate are present at a weight ratio of said castor oil ethoxylate to said fatty alcohol ethoxylate based on the teachings of Tsuchiya. This modification helps reduce antigenicity of allergy inducing matter collection (see Tsuchiya para 0008-0019).
Additionally, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date to use the teachings of Policicchio to have any desired ratio in an attempt to optimize the weight ratio of the primary coat mix in an attempt to have a desired cleaning performance, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp, and where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges.
Further, Examiner notes Applicant has not assigned any criticality to the specific value of the weight ratios of the primary coat mix, describing only generally “castor oil ethoxylate and said fatty alcohol ethoxylate are present at a weight ratio of said castor oil ethoxylate to said fatty alcohol ethoxylate from about 2:1 to about 1:1, and wherein said fatty acid ester and said fatty alcohol ethoxylate are present at a weight ratio of said fatty acid ester to said fatty alcohol ethoxylate from about 5:1 to about 3:1”, without explaining any criticality of the claimed ranges. Per MPEP 2144.05 II B, only result-effective variables can be optimized. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to select a value of the weight ratios of primary coat mix based on the particular application and operational parameters, including a percentage in the claimed ratio.
Regarding claim 2, modified Policicchio teaches from about 0.1% to about 2% by weight of said tow fibers of said primary coat mix (Policicchio discloses that moisture and coating weight percentage are correlated therefore if weight percentage of moisture is low primary coat mix can be between 0.1% to 2% see abstract, para 0088-0091)
Regarding claim 3, modified Policicchio teaches wherein said tow fiber bundle comprises a plurality of individual tufts (see Policicchio 29T, figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Policicchio teaches wherein said tow fibers (see Policicchio 14, figure 2) are positioned between two said carrier sheets (see Policicchio 12, figure 1a,3a,6) and a bond (see Policicchio 38, figure3a,5d) extends along a longitudinal axis (see Policicchio LA, figures 3a;5a-5c) of said cleaning article, wherein said tow fiber bundle extends from said bond.
Regarding claim 5, modified Policicchio teaches wherein said tow fiber bundle has less than about 4 weight percent moisture (see Policicchio para 0085-0090).
Regarding claim 6, modified Policicchio teaches wherein said primary coat mix is free of wax (see Policicchio para 0070).
Regarding claim 7, modified Policicchio teaches wherein said tow fiber bundle has less than about 4 weight percent moisture (see Policicchio para 0085-0090).
Regarding claim 8, modified Policicchio teaches wherein said primary coat mix is free of wax. (see Policicchio para 0070).
Regarding claim 9, modified Policicchio teaches wherein said tow fibers are at least partially coated with a secondary coating comprising mineral oil (see Policicchio para 0097,0152 and Tsuchiya para 0019-0021).
Regarding claim 10, modified Policicchio teaches wherein said primary coat mix is between said secondary coating (see Policicchio para 0060,0097,0152 and Tsuchiya para 0019-0021) and said tow fibers (see Policicchio 14, figures 1-6).
Regarding claim 11, modified Policicchio teaches wherein said tow fiber bundle comprises from about 1% to about 18% by weight of said tow fibers said secondary coating (see Policicchio para 0074).
Regarding claim 12, modified Policicchio teaches wherein said tow fibers (see Policicchio 14, figure 2) are positioned between (see Policicchio figure 6) two said carrier sheets (see Policicchio 12, figure 1a, 3a, 6) and a bond (see Policicchio 38, figure 3a, 5d) extends along a longitudinal axis (see Policicchio LA, figures 3a;5a-5c) of said cleaning article, wherein said tow fiber bundle extends from said bond.
Regarding claim 13, Policicchio as modified in claim 1 teaches wherein said castor oil ethoxylate and said fatty alcohol ethoxylate are present at a weight ratio of said castor oil ethoxylate to said fatty alcohol ethoxylate of about 1.5:1 and wherein said fatty acid ester and said fatty alcohol ethoxylate are present at a weight ratio of said fatty acid ester to said fatty alcohol ethoxylate of about 3.75:1 .( A person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp, and where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges.)
Regarding claim 14, modified Policicchio teaches wherein said tow fiber bundle comprises from about 0.1% to about 2% by weight of said tow fibers of said primary coat mix (Policicchio discloses that moisture and coating weight percentage are correlated therefore if weight percentage of moisture is low primary coat mix can be between 0.1% to 2% see abstract, para 0088-0091).
Regarding claim 15, modified Policicchio teaches wherein said tow fibers (see Policicchio 14, figure 2) are positioned between two said carrier sheets(see Policicchio 12, figure 1a,3a,6 and a bond (see Policicchio 38, figure3a,5d) extends along a longitudinal axis (see Policicchio LA, figures 3a;5a-5c) of said cleaning article,wherein said tow fiber bundle extends from said bond.
Regarding claim 16, modified Policicchio teaches wherein said tow fiber bundle comprises a plurality of individual tufts (see Policicchio 29T, figure 1).
Regarding claim 17, modified Policicchio teaches wherein said tow fibers are at least partially coated with a secondary coating comprising mineral oil (see Policicchio para 0097,0152 and Tsuchiya para 0019-0021.
Regarding claim 18, modified Policicchio teaches wherein said primary coat mix is between said secondary coating (see Policicchio para 0060,0097,0152 and Tsuchiya para 0019-0021 and said tow fibers (see Policicchio 14, figures 1-6).
Regarding claim 19, modified Policicchio teaches wherein said tow fiber bundle comprises from about 1% to about 18% by weight of said tow fibers said secondary coating (see Policicchio para 0074).
Regarding claim 20, modified Policicchio teaches wherein said tow fibers (see Policicchio 14, figure 2) are positioned between (see Policicchio figure 6) two said carrier sheets (see Policicchio 12, figure 1a, 3a, 6) and a bond (see Policicchio 38, figure 3a, 5d) extends along a longitudinal axis (see Policicchio LA, figures 3a;5a-5c) of said cleaning article,wherein said tow fiber bundle extends from said bond.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723