DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the amendment filed on August 07, 2026. Claims 1, 8-11, 21, and 22 are amended. Claims 1-22 are pending.
NOTE: Claims 16-19 were rejoined and fully examined for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104 as stated on page 2 of the Office action filed on June 04, 2026. However, Applicant still listed claims 16-19 as “Withdrawn” in the amendment filed on August 07, 2026. Correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings were received on August 07, 2026. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jian et al. (CN 217978189), and further in view of Robalino (U.S. Patent No.: 5,585,849).
Regarding claim 21:
Jian discloses a gimbal (FIGS. 1-7), comprising: a base, a tilt mechanism, a pan mechanism, and a spherical mechanism, wherein the base ((7), [0029]) is provided with an external connection portion (FIGS. 1, 2, the connector at the center of (7)) configured to connect a photographic device (for mounting a camera, [0029]); the tilt mechanism comprises a tilt body ((2), [0029]) and a first connection rod ((1), [0029]); the tilt body is connected to the base (FIGS. 1-3, all the parts are connected) and configured to tilt around the first connection rod ((2) is rotatably connected to (1), [0029]); the pan mechanism comprises a pan body ((6), [0029]) and a second connection rod (FIG. 2, the rod portion at the top of (2)); the pan body is configured to pan around the second connection rod ((61) rotatably connected to (21), [0032]); the second connection rod is connected to a side wall of the first connection rod (FIGS. 1-3, all the parts are connected); and a spherical mechanism comprises a fixed body ((111), [0031]) and a third connection rod (FIGS. 2, 3, the rod portion of (3), [0035]), the fixed body is connected to the pan body (FIGS. 1-3, all the parts are connected) and configured to rotate spherically on an upper end of the third connection rod (FIG. 3, [0031]); and a lower end of the third connection rod is configured to connect an external stand ((9), [0035]), and a support frame (FIGS. 2, 3, (91)/(92), [0035]), connected to an end of the third connection rod (lower end), wherein the end of the third connection rod is away from the fixed body (FIGS 2, 3); wherein a side wall of the fixed body is provided with a guide groove (indicated below), and the third connection rod is movable in the guide groove (the groove facilitates/guides the permissible movement/rotation of the rod portion of (3));
wherein the spherical mechanism further comprises a third control element ((51), ]0031]), and the third control element is rotatably connected ((51), ]0031]).
Jian does not specifically disclose that the third control element comprises a fixed ring and a lever, the fixed ring is sleeved on a periphery of the fixed body, the lever is rotatably connected to an outer side wall of the fixed ring and is rotatable relative to the fixed ring.
Robalino teaches a handle for portable video camera (FIGS. 3, 4), wherein a control element comprises a fixed ring ((20), C. 3 L. 17-22) and a lever ((22), C. 3 L. 27-35), the fixed ring is sleeved on a periphery of a fixed body (“spherical socket” (18) contains a guide groove “cutout” (28), C. 3 L. 9-22), the lever is rotatably connected to an outer side wall of the fixed ring and is rotatable relative to the fixed ring (C. 3 L. 27-39).
Since Jian already discloses the orientation of the third connection rod (i.e., the ball end is provided closer to the pan body, and the opposite end is configured to connect an external stand), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Robalino’s with the gimbal taught by Jian since it is well known in the art that a locking knob and a locking lever are obvious alternatives that achieve the same purpose.
Claim(s) 11, 12, 18-20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jian et al. (CN 217978189), and further in view of Lu (CN 201009225) and Robalino (U.S. Patent No.: 5,585,849).
Regarding claim 11:
Jian discloses a gimbal (FIGS. 1-7), comprising: a base ((7), [0029]), provided with an external connection portion (FIGS. 1, 2, the connector at the center of (7)) configured to connect a photographic device (for mounting a camera, [0029]); a tilt mechanism, comprising a tilt body ((2), [0029]) and a first connection rod ((1), [0029]), wherein the tilt body is connected to the base (FIGS. 1-3, all the parts are connected) and configured to tilt around the first connection rod ((2) is rotatably connected to (1), [0029]); and a rocker arm ((8), [0033, 0034]), connected to the tilt body (FIGS. 1, 2, [0033]), and comprising a functional assembly, wherein the functional assembly comprises a handle ((82), [0034]) and a tool ((85), [0034]); the handle is provided with a mounting chamber (FIG. 4, within (82), [0034]); the tool is provided in the mounting chamber (FIG. 4, [0034]); the tool is detachable from the mounting chamber ([0034]); a spherical mechanism, comprising a fixed body ((111), [0031]) and a third connection rod (FIGS. 2, 3, the rod portion of (3), [0035]), wherein the fixed body is configured to rotate spherically on an upper end of the third connection rod (FIG. 3, [0031]), and a lower end of the third connection rod is configured to connect an external stand ((9), [0035]); wherein a side wall of the fixed body is provided with a guide groove (indicated below), and the third connection rod is movable in the guide groove (the groove facilitates/guides the permissible movement/rotation of the rod portion of (3));
wherein the spherical mechanism further comprises a third control element ((51), ]0031]), and the third control element is rotatably connected ((51), ]0031]).
Jian does not specifically disclose a screwdriver bit, a mounting port, and the functional assembly is detachable from the tilt body; and when the functional assembly is detached from the tilt body, the screwdriver bit is detached from the mounting chamber and mounted in the mounting port; and the third control element comprises a fixed ring and a lever, the fixed ring is sleeved on a periphery of the fixed body, the lever is rotatably connected to an outer side wall of the fixed ring and is rotatable relative to the fixed ring.
Lu teaches an arm (FIG. 1-3, (2)), connected to the main body ((1)), and comprising a functional assembly, wherein the functional assembly comprises a handle ((23)) and a screwdriver bit ((22), P. 4-5); the handle is provided with a mounting port ((23a), P. 4) and a mounting chamber ((23b), P. 5); the screwdriver bit is provided in the mounting chamber (P. 5); the functional assembly is detachable from the main body; and when the functional assembly is detached from the main body, the screwdriver bit is detached from the mounting chamber and mounted in the mounting port (P. 4-5).
Robalino teaches a handle for portable video camera (FIGS. 3, 4), wherein a control element comprises a fixed ring ((20), C. 3 L. 17-22) and a lever ((22), C. 3 L. 27-35), the fixed ring is sleeved on a periphery of a fixed body (“spherical socket” (18) contains a guide groove “cutout” (28), C. 3 L. 9-22), the lever is rotatably connected to an outer side wall of the fixed ring and is rotatable relative to the fixed ring (C. 3 L. 27-39).
Since Jian already discloses storing a tool in its handle assembly for convenience, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Lu’s with the gimbal taught by Jian for the purpose of providing a multifunctional device that is easy to carry and small in storage volume (Lu: P. 3).
Furthermore, since Jian already discloses the orientation of the third connection rod (i.e., the ball end is provided closer to the tilt body, and the opposite end is configured to connect an external stand), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Robalino’s with the gimbal taught by Jian and Lu since it is well known in the art that a locking knob and a locking lever are obvious alternatives that achieve the same purpose.
Regarding claim 12:
Jian, Lu, and Robalino disclose and teach of the gimbal according to claim 11, wherein together Jian and Lu further disclose that the rocker arm further comprises an end cover (Jian: (83), [0034]); and the end cover is configured to be connected to or detached from the handle (Jian: [0034]); and the end cover is provided with the screwdriver bit (Lu: wherein (24) keeps (22) stored within (23b), P. 5); when the end cover is connected to the handle (Lu: FIG. 5, (24) connected to (23), P. 5), the screwdriver bit is concealed in the mounting chamber to achieve storage of the screwdriver bit in the mounting chamber (Lu: (22) concealed in (23b), P. 5); and when the end cover is detached from the handle, the screwdriver bit is detached from the mounting chamber together with the end cover (Lu: once (24) is removed, (22) are no longer secured within (23b), P. 5).
Regarding claim 18:
Jian, Lu, and Robalino disclose and teach of the gimbal according to claim 11, wherein together Jian and Lu further disclose: a linkage rod (Lu: the (23a) end), wherein the linkage rod comprises two ends respectively connected to the tilt body (Jian: see claim 11) and the handle (Lu: (23)); and a first end of the handle is provided with the mounting port (Lu: (23a), P. 4-5), wherein the first end of the handle is adjacent to the linkage rod (Lu: the end closer to (23a)).
Regarding claim 19:
Jian, Lu, and Robalino disclose and teach of the gimbal according to claim 18, wherein Lu further discloses: a second end of the handle is provided with an opening (the end closer to (24) with cavity (23b), P. 4-5), wherein the second end of the handle is configured for the screwdriver bit to enter or exit the mounting chamber ((22) stored within (23b)); and the first end of the handle is provided with the mounting port ((22) inserted into (23a)), wherein the first end of the handle is away from the opening ((23a) and (24)/(23b) are at opposite ends).
Regarding claim 20:
Jian, Lu, and Robalino disclose and teach of the gimbal according to claim 11, wherein Lu further discloses: the functional assembly comprises a plurality of screwdriver bits, and the plurality of screwdriver bits have different specifications (FIGS. 9-12, (22), P. 4-5).
Regarding claim 22:
Claim 22 is similarly rejected as in claim 11 above, wherein Jian further discloses a support frame (FIGS. 2, 3, (91)/(92), [0035]), connected to an end of the first connection rod (FIGS. 1-3, all the parts are connected), wherein the end of the first connection rod is away from the base (FIGS. 1-3, the lower end of (1)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 1-10 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The primary reason for allowance of claims 1-10 is because the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest in combination the claim 1 limitation for a gimbal, wherein: the photographic device is provided at an upper end of the base, the base is provided at an upper end of the tilt mechanism, the tilt mechanism is provided at an upper end of the pan mechanism, and the pan mechanism is provided at an upper end of the spherical mechanism; wherein a side wall of the fixed body is provided with a guide groove, and the third connection rod is movable in the guide groove; wherein the spherical mechanism further comprises a third control element, and the third control element comprises a fixed ring and a lever, the fixed ring is sleeved on a periphery of the fixed body, the lever is rotatably connected to an outer side wall of the fixed ring and is rotatable relative to the fixed ring, in combination with all other claim limitations in total.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FANG-CHI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852