DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on February 11, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of species I in the reply filed on February 11, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is found persuasive.
The requirement as set forth in the Office action mailed on December 31, 2025 is hereby withdrawn, and claims 16-19 are hereby rejoined and fully examined for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "220" and "320" have both been used to designate the first connection rod in FIG. 1. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jian et al. (CN 217978189).
Regarding claim 1, Jian discloses a gimbal (FIGS. 1-7), comprising: a base ((7), [0029]), provided with an external connection portion (FIGS. 1, 2, the connector at the center of (7)) configured to connect a photographic device (for mounting a camera, [0029]); a tilt mechanism, comprising a tilt body ((2), [0029]) and a first connection rod ((1), [0029]), wherein the tilt body is connected to the base (FIGS. 1-3, all the parts are connected) and configured to tilt around the first connection rod ((2) is rotatably connected to (1), [0029]); a pan mechanism, comprising a pan body ((6), [0029]) and a second connection rod (FIG. 2, the rod portion at the top of (2)), wherein the pan body is configured to pan around the second connection rod ((61) rotatably connected to (21), [0032]), and the second connection rod is connected to a side wall of the first connection rod (FIGS. 1-3, all the parts are connected); and a spherical mechanism, comprising a fixed body ((111), [0031]) and a third connection rod (FIGS. 2, 3, the rod portion of (3), [0035]), wherein the fixed body is connected to the pan body (FIGS. 1-3, all the parts are connected) and configured to rotate spherically on an upper end of the third connection rod (FIG. 3, [0031]), and a lower end of the third connection rod is configured to connect an external stand ((9), [0035]).
Regarding claim 2, Jian further discloses the gimbal according to claim 1, wherein a side of the tilt body is provided with a groove (indicated below), wherein the side of the tilt body is away from the base (FIG. 2); and the first connection rod comprises two ends respectively abutted against a left side wall and a right side wall of the groove (indicated below), and the first connection rod is rotatable relative to the tilt body ((2) is rotatably connected to (1), [0029]).
Regarding claim 3, Jian further discloses the gimbal according to claim 2, wherein the tilt mechanism further comprises a first control element ((4), [0030]); the first control element is connected to an outer side wall of the tilt body and configured to control damping of the left side wall and/or the right side wall on the first connection rod ([0029, 0030]).
Regarding claim 5, Jian further discloses the gimbal according to claim 1, wherein the pan mechanism further comprises a second control element ((63), [0032]); and the second control element movably penetrates the pan body and is configured to be abutted against a side wall of the second connection rod (FIGS. 2, 3, [0032]).
Regarding claim 6, Jian further discloses the gimbal according to claim 1, wherein the spherical mechanism further comprises a spherical head (FIGS. 2, 3, the ball portion of (3), [0035]); the spherical head is connected to the upper end of the third connection rod (FIGS. 2, 3); an end of the fixed body, is provided with a holding space for holding the spherical head (FIG. 3, the cavity of (111), [0031]), wherein the end of the fixed body faces the third connection rod (FIGS. 2, 3); and the spherical head is rotatable in the holding space ([0029, 0031]).
Regarding claim 7, Jian further discloses the gimbal according to claim 6, wherein the end of the fixed body is provided with a socket (FIG. 3, the cavity of (111), [0031]); and a maximum diameter d of the socket is smaller than a diameter D of the spherical head (FIG. 3, especially when locked by (51), [0031]).
Regarding claim 8, Jian further discloses the gimbal according to claim 7, wherein a side wall of the fixed body is provided with a guide groove (indicated below); the guide groove is communicated with the socket (FIG. 3); and the third connection rod is rotatable along a length direction of the guide groove with the spherical head as a center (the groove facilitates/guides the permissible movement/rotation of the rod portion of (3)).
Regarding claim 9, Jian further discloses the gimbal according to claim 6, wherein the spherical mechanism further comprises a third control element ((51), ]0031]); the third control element is movably connected to the fixed body and configured to control at least partial damping of an inner side wall of the fixed body on the spherical head (FIG. 3, [0031]).
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 is similarly rejected as in claim 1 above, wherein Jian further discloses a support frame (FIGS. 2, 3, (91)/(92), [0035]), connected to an end of the third connection rod (lower end), wherein the end of the third connection rod is away from the fixed body (FIGS 2, 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 11, 12, 18-20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jian et al. (CN 217978189) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-9, and 21 above, and further in view of Lu (CN 201009225).
Regarding claim 4:
Jian discloses the gimbal according to claim 3, wherein the first control element comprises a rocker arm ((8), [0033, 0034]); the rocker arm comprises a handle ((82), [0034]) and a tool ((85), [0034]); the handle is provided with a mounting chamber (FIG. 4, within (82), [0034]); the tool is provided in the mounting chamber (FIG. 4, [0034]); the tool is detachable from the mounting chamber ([0034]).
Jian does not specifically disclose a screwdriver bit, a mounting port, the screwdriver bit is provided in the mounting chamber; the handle is detachable from the tilt body; and when the handle is detached from the tilt body, the screwdriver bit is detached from the mounting chamber and mounted in the mounting port.
Lu teaches an arm (FIG. 1-3, (2)), connected to the main body ((1)), wherein the arm comprises a handle ((23)) and a screwdriver bit ((22), P. 4-5); the handle is provided with a mounting port ((23a), P. 4) and a mounting chamber ((23b), P. 5); the screwdriver bit is provided in the mounting chamber (P. 5); the handle is detachable from the main body; and when the handle is detached from the main body, the screwdriver bit is detached from the mounting chamber and mounted in the mounting port (P. 4-5).
Since Jian already discloses storing a tool in its handle assembly for convenience, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Lu’s with the gimbal taught by Jian for the purpose of providing a multifunctional device that is easy to carry and small in storage volume (Lu: P. 3).
Regarding claim 11:
Jian discloses gimbal (FIGS. 1-7), comprising: a base ((7), [0029]), provided with an external connection portion (FIGS. 1, 2, the connector at the center of (7)) configured to connect a photographic device (for mounting a camera, [0029]); a tilt mechanism, comprising a tilt body ((2), [0029]) and a first connection rod ((1), [0029]), wherein the tilt body is connected to the base (FIGS. 1-3, all the parts are connected) and configured to tilt around the first connection rod ((2) is rotatably connected to (1), [0029]); and a rocker arm ((8), [0033, 0034]), connected to the tilt body (FIGS. 1, 2, [0033]), and comprising a functional assembly, wherein the functional assembly comprises a handle ((82), [0034]) and a tool ((85), [0034]); the handle is provided with a mounting chamber (FIG. 4, within (82), [0034]); the tool is provided in the mounting chamber (FIG. 4, [0034]); the tool is detachable from the mounting chamber ([0034]).
Jian does not specifically disclose a screwdriver bit, a mounting port, and the functional assembly is detachable from the tilt body; and when the functional assembly is detached from the tilt body, the screwdriver bit is detached from the mounting chamber and mounted in the mounting port.
Lu teaches an arm (FIG. 1-3, (2)), connected to the main body ((1)), and comprising a functional assembly, wherein the functional assembly comprises a handle ((23)) and a screwdriver bit ((22), P. 4-5); the handle is provided with a mounting port ((23a), P. 4) and a mounting chamber ((23b), P. 5); the screwdriver bit is provided in the mounting chamber (P. 5); the functional assembly is detachable from the main body; and when the functional assembly is detached from the main body, the screwdriver bit is detached from the mounting chamber and mounted in the mounting port (P. 4-5).
Since Jian already discloses storing a tool in its handle assembly for convenience, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Lu’s with the gimbal taught by Jian for the purpose of providing a multifunctional device that is easy to carry and small in storage volume (Lu: P. 3).
Regarding claim 12:
Jian and Lu disclose and teach of the gimbal according to claim 11, wherein together Jian and Lu further disclose that the rocker arm further comprises an end cover (Jian: (83), [0034]); and the end cover is configured to be connected to or detached from the handle (Jian: [0034]); and the end cover is provided with the screwdriver bit (Lu: wherein (24) keeps (22) stored within (23b), P. 5); when the end cover is connected to the handle (Lu: FIG. 5, (24) connected to (23), P. 5), the screwdriver bit is concealed in the mounting chamber to achieve storage of the screwdriver bit in the mounting chamber (Lu: (22) concealed in (23b), P. 5); and when the end cover is detached from the handle, the screwdriver bit is detached from the mounting chamber together with the end cover (Lu: once (24) is removed, (22) are no longer secured within (23b), P. 5).
Regarding claim 18:
Jian and Lu disclose and teach of the gimbal according to claim 11, wherein together Jian and Lu further disclose: a linkage rod (Lu: the (23a) end), wherein the linkage rod comprises two ends respectively connected to the tilt body (Jian: see claim 11) and the handle (Lu: (23)); and a first end of the handle is provided with the mounting port (Lu: (23a), P. 4-5), wherein the first end of the handle is adjacent to the linkage rod (Lu: the end closer to (23a)).
Regarding claim 19:
Jian and Lu disclose and teach of the gimbal according to claim 18, wherein Lu further discloses: a second end of the handle is provided with an opening (the end closer to (24) with cavity (23b), P. 4-5), wherein the second end of the handle is configured for the screwdriver bit to enter or exit the mounting chamber ((22) stored within (23b)); and the first end of the handle is provided with the mounting port ((22) inserted into (23a)), wherein the first end of the handle is away from the opening ((23a) and (24)/(23b) are at opposite ends).
Regarding claim 20:
Jian and Lu disclose and teach of the gimbal according to claim 11, wherein Lu further discloses: the functional assembly comprises a plurality of screwdriver bits, and the plurality of screwdriver bits have different specifications (FIGS. 9-12, (22), P. 4-5).
Regarding claim 22:
Claim 22 is similarly rejected as in claim 11 above, wherein Jian further discloses a support frame (FIGS. 2, 3, (91)/(92), [0035]), connected to an end of the first connection rod (FIGS. 1-3, all the parts are connected), wherein the end of the first connection rod is away from the base (FIGS. 1-3, the lower end of (1)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Nakatani (U.S. Publication No.: 2016/0061377).
/FANG-CHI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852