DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 11 it is unclear how the aperture is defined. Claim 11 recites that the insert comprising a plurality of body members are configured to be mounted to each other to define the first aperture for receiving a cable, however claim 1, from which claim 11 depends, also recites that the insulating liner is arranged in the aperture. As seen in figure 11 of the present application, the insulating liner is located outside the insert, and not within the aperture defined by the insert. As such it is unclear how the aperture is meant to be structured and arranged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frizzell(US9551438).
[claim 1] Frizzell teaches a cable retaining apparatus comprising: a body(10) defining at least one first aperture(central space in fig 1) for receiving a respective cable(12); an insulating liner(62) arranged in the, or each, first aperture for preventing electrical conduction from a cable to a surface of the body facing the cable; and at least one insulation member(flange portion of 62, A in annotated fig 1 below) configured for preventing electrical conduction from a cable to a surface of the body facing away from the cable(outer face of 18, fig 1), wherein the at least one insulation member extends from the insulating liner and protrudes from the first aperture in which the insulating liner is arranged(as seen in figure 1 reproduced below, the insulating liner A formed as a flange on the insulating member 62, protrudes outside the first aperture) to lengthen an electrical conduction path from a cable to the surface of the body facing away from the cable and wherein the at least one insulation member is angled away from a cable at an angle in use(fig 1). Frizzell however may not teach that the angle is an acute angle. As shown in figure 1 below, the insulation member is angled away from the aperture, and any cable received therein, at what appears to be a right angle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to make the angle an acute angle, i.e. less that 90 degrees, as without undue experimentation, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to select a desired angle for the insulation member as a matter of simple design choice.
[claim 10] wherein the at least one insulation member extends beyond edges of the body in a direction of a longitudinal axis of the at least one aperture(as seen in fig 1, insulation member A extends beyond edges of body member 18).
Claim(s) 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frizzell as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dodd et al.(US5742982).
[claim 11] Frizzell teaches an apparatus as detailed above, Frizzell may not teach that the apparatus comprises at least one insert comprising a plurality of body members configured to be mounted to each other to define said first aperture for receiving a cable, wherein each body member of the plurality of body members comprises an engaging device configured to engage a corresponding engaging device on another body member of the plurality of body members to prevent electrical conduction from a cable received in the first aperture to a body of the cable retaining apparatus. Dodd teaches a similar cable retaining apparatus comprising at least one insert(106,108,110,112,114,116) comprising a plurality of body members(upper and lower halves of each insert) configured to be mounted to each other to define a said aperture for receiving a cable, wherein each body member of the plurality of body members comprises an engaging device(136) configured to engage a corresponding engaging device(138) on another body member of the plurality of body members to prevent electrical conduction from a cable received in the aperture to a body of the cable retaining apparatus. The inserts allowing the apparatus to accommodate cables of different diameters(C4 L44-59). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use the insert of Dodd with the apparatus of Frizzell, as this would allow the apparatus to accommodate cables of different diameters as taught by Dodd.
[claim 12] wherein the engaging device comprises at least one protrusion(136) and/or first recess(138) configured to engage a corresponding first recess(138) and/or protrusion(136) on the another body member.
[claim 13] further comprising at least one flange portion(130) extending from a respective end portion of each body member of the plurality of body members.
[claim 14] wherein at least one said body member defines a respective second recess(124) for receiving an elongate member arranged adjacent the cable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/23/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,10-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/BRADLEY DUCKWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632