DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This action is in response to the papers filed June 21, 2023. Currently, claims 1-18 are pending.
Priority
This application claims priority
Drawings
The drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112- Second Paragraph
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “the at least one protected nucleic acid comprises the target”. Claim 1 does not provide at least one protected nucleic acid. Thus, “the at least one protected nucleic acid lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-11, 14-16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carpenter et al. (WO2016/100955, June 23, 2016).
Carpenter teaches adding linkers to a sample (see Y-shaped linkers ligated). Carpenter teaches protecting target nucleic acid with a library of anti-human guide RNAs complexed with Cas9 (i.e. at least two Cas endonuclease complexes). Carpenter teaches using exonuclase III to degrade one DNA strand. Carpenter teaches a method of removing unwanted DNA after Cas9-mediated cleavage by using Exonuclase Bal-31 to degrade cleaved DNA while leaving the uncut DNA of interest intact (Example 8, page 68-69). Carpenter teaches “after” exonuclease Bal-31 incubation, the reaction is heat inactivated (i.e. deactivated) (page 69, para 259). Carpenter teaches that the unwanted DNA may account for nearly 95% of DNA (see Example 9, page 70). Carpenter also teaches that libraires may subjected to ligating adapters for downstream analysis. (page 67, para 250). Therefore Carpenter teaches each limitation of the claimed invention as illustrated below in Figure 8.
With respect to Claim 10-11, Carpenter teaches resiulting libraries may be subjected to sequencing or purification by column or PCR-ampflication (para 255).
With respect to Claims 14-15, Carpenter teaches the samples may be derived from human blood. With respect to Claim 16, Carpenter also teaches using mouse samples (para 43).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shuber et al. (US10,527,608, January 7, 2020) or Shuber et al (US 10,081,829, September 25, 2018) in view of in view of Carpenter et al. (WO2016/100955, June 23, 2016).
Shuber ‘608 teaches methods for rare event detection for detecting DNA by using binding proteins to protect those features of interest while digesting unprotected DNA in a sample. Shuber teaches protecting a segment of nucleic acid in a sample by introducing Cas endonuclease/guide RNA complexes that binds to targets, digest unprotected nucleic acid by exposing the unprotected nucleic acid to exonuclase and detecting the target (see Claim 1). Shuber teaches the Cas endonuclease/guide RNA target regions.
Shuber ‘829 teaches methods of detecting nucleic acid by protecting nucleic acids using a first and second Cas endonuclease and digesting unprotected nucleic acids with exonuclease (see Claim 1). Shuber ‘829 teaches the first and second Cas endonucleases are different. Shuber ‘829 teaches the target is a pathogen.
Neither Shuber teaches deactivating the exonuclease following digestion.
However, Carpenter teaches it is desirable to remove cut fragments prior to PCR amplification or sequencing. Carpenter teaches a method of removing unwanted DNA after Cas9-mediated cleavage by using Exonuclease Bal-31 to degrade cleaved DNA while leaving the uncut DNA of interest intact (Example 8, page 68-69). Carpenter teaches “after” exonuclease Bal-31 incubation, the reaction is heat inactivated (i.e. deactivated) (page 69, para 259). Carpenter teaches that the unwanted DNA may account for nearly 95% of DNA (see Example 9, page 70).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time the invention was made to have modified the Cas-9 detection method including removing unwanted DNA after the Cas-9 mediated cleavage with exonucleases as taught by Shuber and then deactivate the exonuclease for subsequent detection of the protected nucleic acids. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to have removed the unwanted DNA to remove background for the further processing of the DNA analysis and then deactivated the exonuclease before further detection such as PCR or sequencing.
Claim(s) 1-12, 14, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Church et al. (WO2017/72860, October 5, 2017) in view of Carpenter et al. (WO2016/100955, June 23, 2016).
Claim(s) 1-12, 14, 16-18 is/are under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Church et al. (US2019/0112599, published April 18, 2019 and priority March 31, 2016) in view of Carpenter et al. (WO2016/100955, June 23, 2016).
The disclosure of the WO and the US Publication are the same. The numbering refers to the PG Publication.
Church teaches method for single tube preparation of sequencing libraries using Cas9. As seen in Figure 1B below, double stranded DNA was combined with Cas9 pre-complexed with one or more pairs of fragmentation gRNAs, adapter oligonucleotides and DNA ligase. Figure 1B illustrates multiple 1a, 1b, 2a, 2b cas9 endonucleases with different guide RNAs (limitations of Claim 6-8)(see para 34-35). The targeted DNA was fragmented. The tube was denatured to 95C which removes Cas9 from the fragmented DNA (i.e. deactivating the exonuclease) and adding adapter oligonucleotides with ligase for detecting of the nucleic acid (para 12). The single tube/single reaction method is for preparation of next generation sequencing libraries and use in indexing PCR reactions (para 14).
With respect to Claims 12-13, DNA was precipitated and supernatant was discarded and pellets were washed (Para 53). This was performed prior to the DNA was inputted to single tube for Cas9 library preparation (para 54).
With respect to Claim 14, the sample was human genomic DNA extracted from a tumor biopsy or other clinical tissue ((para 89). Claim 16, Church teaches the sample may be mammalian (para 21) or bacterial or viral DNA (para 47).
Church does not teach adding an exonuclease to the sample to digest unprotected nucleic acids from the sample and then deactivating the exonuclease.
However, Carpenter teaches it is desirable to remove cut fragments prior to PCR amplification or sequencing. Carpenter teaches a method of removing unwanted DNA after Cas9-mediated cleavage by using Exonuclase Bal-31 to degrade cleaved DNA while leaving the uncut DNA of interest intact (Example 8, page 68-69). Carpenter teaches “after” exonuclease Bal-31 incubation, the reaction is heat inactivated (i.e. deactivated) (page 69, para 259). Carpenter teaches that the unwanted DNA may account for nearly 95% of DNA (see Example 9, page 70).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time the invention was made to have modified the single tube preparation of sequencing libraries of Church to remove unwanted DNA after the Cas-9 mediated cleavage. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to have removed the unwanted DNA to remove background for the further processing of the DNA analysis.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-23 of Shuber et al. (US 10,527,608, January 7, 2020) in view of in view of Carpenter et al. (WO2016/100955, June 23, 2016).
An obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but an examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined claim is either anticipated by or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claims 1-23 of Shuber ‘608 teaches methods for rare event detection for detecting DNA by using binding proteins to protect those features of interest while digesting unprotected DNA in a sample. Shuber teaches protecting a segment of nucleic acid in a sample by introducing Cas endonuclease/guide RNA complexes that binds to targets, digest unprotected nucleic acid by exposing the unprotected nucleic acid to exonuclase and detecting the target (see Claim 1). Shuber teaches the Cas endonuclease/guide RNA target regions.
Shuber does not claim deactivating the exonuclease following digestion.
However, Carpenter teaches it is desirable to remove cut fragments prior to PCR amplification or sequencing. Carpenter teaches a method of removing unwanted DNA after Cas9-mediated cleavage by using Exonuclease Bal-31 to degrade cleaved DNA while leaving the uncut DNA of interest intact (Example 8, page 68-69). Carpenter teaches “after” exonuclease Bal-31 incubation, the reaction is heat inactivated (i.e. deactivated) (page 69, para 259). Carpenter teaches that the unwanted DNA may account for nearly 95% of DNA (see Example 9, page 70).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time the invention was made to have modified the Cas-9 detection method including removing unwanted DNA after the Cas-9 mediated cleavage with exonucleases as taught by Shuber and then deactivate the exonuclease for subsequent detection of the protected nucleic acids. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to have removed the unwanted DNA to remove background for the further processing of the DNA analysis and then deactivated the exonuclease before further detection such as PCR or sequencing.
Claims 1-18 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-19 of Shuber et al (US 10,081,829, September 25, 2018) in view of in view of Carpenter et al. (WO2016/100955, June 23, 2016).
An obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but an examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined claim is either anticipated by or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claims 1-19 of Shuber ‘829 teaches methods of detecting nucleic acid by protecting nucleic acids using a first and second Cas endonuclease and digesting unprotected nucleic acids with exonuclease (see Claim 1). Shuber ‘829 teaches the first and second Cas endonucleases are different. Shuber ‘829 teaches the target is a pathogen.
‘829 does not teach deactivating the exonuclease following digestion.
However, Carpenter teaches it is desirable to remove cut fragments prior to PCR amplification or sequencing. Carpenter teaches a method of removing unwanted DNA after Cas9-mediated cleavage by using Exonuclease Bal-31 to degrade cleaved DNA while leaving the uncut DNA of interest intact (Example 8, page 68-69). Carpenter teaches “after” exonuclease Bal-31 incubation, the reaction is heat inactivated (i.e. deactivated) (page 69, para 259). Carpenter teaches that the unwanted DNA may account for nearly 95% of DNA (see Example 9, page 70).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time the invention was made to have modified the Cas-9 detection method including removing unwanted DNA after the Cas-9 mediated cleavage with exonucleases as taught by Shuber ‘829 and then deactivate the exonuclease for subsequent detection of the protected nucleic acids. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to have removed the unwanted DNA to remove background for the further processing of the DNA analysis and then deactivated the exonuclease before further detection such as PCR or sequencing.
Conclusion
No claims allowable over the art.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (Scientific Reports, Vol. 8, No. 14126, September 2018) teaches CRISPR typing PCR, a Cas9-based DNA detection method).
Zhang et al. (Analytical and Bioanalytical Chemistry, Vol. 410, pages 2889-2900, 2018) teaches detecting of target DNA with a novel Cas9-sgRNAs associated reverse PCR (CARP) technique.
/JEANINE A GOLDBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682
November 9, 2025