DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Wall portion in claim 4.
Deflector in claim 22.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 22 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 22, line 3, “wheel heel hub” should be changed to --wheel hub--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In the para. [0037], [0045], [0045], and [0057] talks about the lip sealing member of the seal being deflectable but the claims reads as if there is yet another part that is a deflector that the Applicant hasn’t told us what that is, pointed it out in the drawings or described the device this same way in the specification.
Claims 1-13, 18, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1 and 31, it is unclear what “pumping” means. It appears that Applicant is acting as their own lexicographer; however, what is required to be considered “pumping” is not specifically defined in the claim or the disclosure. “Pumping” normally applies to something that forcible moves a fluid, nothing in the record appears to indicate the use of a pumping feature that would forcibly move the fluid. Does Applicant mean that the seal simply redirects fluid back to where it came from and not actively moving it from one location to another?
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
In claim 18, the limitation “radially intermediate” is unclear as to what is required for a seal member to be “radially intermediate” the ring. Does it mean the parts have to be radial to another?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-12, 26-28, and 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dittmar (US 20110262063 A1).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Dittmar discloses (in fig. 2 and annotated fig. 2) an oil seal (3) for a wheel hub (9), the oil seal (3) comprising:
an annular seal (3) having a central opening to receive a vehicle spindle (5),
the annular seal (3) configured to inhibit the flow of oil through the annular seal (3);
an oil side (OS) of the annular seal (3) for being contacted by oil in the wheel hub (9);
an air side (AS) of the annular seal (3) opposite the oil side (OS);
a radially outer mounting portion (41 and 47) of the annular seal (3) configured to sealingly engage an interior surface (39) of the wheel hub (9) and permit rotation of the radially outer mounting portion (41 and 47) of the annular seal (3) with the wheel hub (9) around the vehicle spindle (5);
a sealing member (49) of the annular seal (3) having a contact portion (tip of 49) configured to form a dynamic seal with a running surface (51),
wherein one of the sealing member (49) and the running surface (51) is rotatable with the radially outer mounting portion (41 and 47) of the annular seal (3) relative to the other of the sealing member (49) and the running surface (51);
and the contact portion (tip of 49) of the sealing member (49) is configured to form a pressure profile with the running surface (51) that pumps oil toward the oil side (OS) of the annular seal (3) upon rotation of the radially outer mounting portion (41) of the annular seal (3) with the wheel hub (9) around the vehicle spindle (5).
Regarding claim 2, Dittmar discloses the oil seal (3) of claim 1 wherein the contact portion (tip of 49) of the sealing member (49) has an air side surface portion (right side of 49), an oil side surface portion (left side of 49), and a juncture (middle part of 49) therebetween; and wherein the air side surface portion (right side of 49) is configured to extend at a first angle relative to the running surface (51) and the oil side surface portion (left side of 49) is configured to extend at a second angle that is larger than the first angle (the second angle is at a right angle, which is larger than the first angle).
Regarding claim 3, Dittmar discloses the oil seal (3) of claim 1 wherein the annular seal (3) has a central axis (CA) and the radially outer mounting portion (41 and 47) is rotatable around the central axis (CA); and wherein the radially outer mounting portion (41 and 47) includes an annular, axial wall portion (41) configured to form a press-fit engagement with the interior surface (39) of the wheel hub (9).
Regarding claim 4, Dittmar discloses the oil seal (3) of claim 3 wherein the radially outer mounting portion (41 and 47) includes a wall portion (WP) extending toward the central axis (CA) from the annular, axial wall portion (41).
Regarding claim 5, Dittmar discloses the oil seal (3) of claim 1 wherein the radially outer mounting portion (41 and 47) is annular and has an outer diameter (OD) that is larger than an inner diameter (ID) of the inner surface (39) of the wheel hub (9) to form a press-fit engagement between the radially outer mounting portion (41 and 47) and the inner surface (39) of the wheel hub (9) that inhibits oil from passing between the radially outer mounting portion (41 and 47) and the inner surface (39) of the wheel hub (9).
Regarding claim 6, Dittmar discloses the oil seal (3) of claim 1 wherein the radially outer mounting portion (41 and 47) includes a metallic ring (47) and an elastomeric member (41) bonded to the metallic ring (47) for engaging the inner surface (39) of the wheel hub (9).
Regarding claim 7, Dittmar discloses the oil seal (3) of claim 1 wherein the annular seal (3) comprises: a first body (FB) configured to be mounted to a bearing cone (19) in the wheel hub (9); a second body (SB) rotatable relative to the first body (FB) and including the radially outer mounting portion (41 and 47); and wherein one of the first body and the second body (SB) includes the sealing member (49) and the other of the first body (FB) and the second body includes the running surface (51).
Regarding claim 8, Dittmar discloses the oil seal of claim 7 wherein the first body (FB) includes a sleeve portion (63) configured to form an oil-tight seal with the bearing cone (19).
Regarding claim 9, Dittmar discloses the oil seal of claim 1 wherein the annular seal (3) comprises a first body (SB) and a second body (FB) that are rotatable relative to one another about a central axis (CA) of the annular seal (3); wherein the first body (SB) includes a sleeve portion (47) for extending about a bearing cone (19) and a wall portion (WP) extending away from the sleeve portion (47) toward the central axis (CA).
Regarding claim 11, Dittmar discloses the oil seal (3) of claim 1 in combination with a bearing cone (19); wherein the annular seal (3) includes a first body (FB) configured to be mounted to the bearing cone (19) and a second body (SB) including the radially outer mounting portion (41 and 47); and wherein one of the first body and the second body (SB) includes the sealing member (49) and the other of the first body (FB) and the second body includes the running surface (51).
Regarding claim 12, Dittmar discloses the oil seal of claim 1 wherein the sealing member (49) comprises a lip seal (81).
Regarding claim 26, Dittmar discloses (in fig. 2 and annotated fig. 2) a method of assembling a wheel hub assembly (1), the method comprising:
advancing a first seal body (SB) of an oil seal into a bore of a wheel hub body (9) in an inboard direction toward an outer race (17) of an outboard bearing assembly (1) in the bore;
engaging a mounting portion (41 and 47) of the first seal body (SB) of the oil seal (3) with the wheel hub body (9) outboard of the outer race (17) of the outboard bearing assembly (11);
and arranging a sealing member (49) and a running surface (51) of the oil seal (3) so that the sealing member (49) and running surface (51) form a dynamic seal therebetween,
wherein one of the sealing member (49) and the running surface (51) rotates with the wheel hub body (9) relative to the other of the sealing member (49) and the running surface (51).
Regarding claim 27, Dittmar discloses the method of claim 26 further comprising: advancing a second seal body (FB) of the oil seal into the bore in the inboard direction; and positioning a sleeve portion (63) of the second seal body (FB) around an inner race (19) of the outboard bearing assembly (11).
Regarding claim 28, Dittmar discloses the method of claim 26 further comprising: advancing a second seal body (FB) of the oil seal (3) into the bore in the inboard direction; engaging the second seal body (FB) with an inner race (19) of the outboard bearing assembly (11); and wherein one of the first seal body (SB) and the second seal body includes the sealing member (49); and wherein the other of the first seal body and the second seal body (FB) includes the running surface (51).
Regarding claim 30, Dittmar discloses the method of claim 26 wherein engaging the mounting portion (41 and 47) of the first seal body (SB) with the body of the wheel hub (9) comprises forming a press-fit engagement between the first seal body (SB) and an annular inner surface (23) of the body of the wheel hub (9).
Regarding claim 31, as best understood, Dittmar discloses the method of claim 26 wherein the sealing member (49) and running surface (51) are configured to pump oil toward the outboard bearing assembly (11) in response to rotation of the wheel hub body (9) around a spindle (5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-19 and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittmar (US 20110262063 A1) in view of White (US 20070052287 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Dittmar discloses (in fig. 2 and annotated fig. 2) a wheel hub assembly (1) comprising:
a wheel hub body (9) and a bore extending therebetween to receive a vehicle spindle (5),
the wheel hub (9) extending around a central axis (CA);
an axially extending inner surface (39) of the wheel hub body (9) defining at least a portion of the bore of the wheel hub body (9);
an outboard bearing assembly (11) in the bore of the wheel hub body (9),
the outboard bearing assembly (11) including an inner race (19), an outer race (17),
and a plurality of bearings (13) between the inner and outer races (19, 17) that facilitate rotation of the outer race (17) around the inner race (19);
an oil seal (3) to inhibit oil from flowing in an outboard direction beyond the oil seal (3);
a mounting portion (41 and 47) of the oil seal (3) engaged with the inner surface (39) of the wheel hub body (9) outboard of the outer race (17) of the outboard bearing assembly (11);
and a sealing member (49) and a running surface (51) of the oil seal (3),
the sealing member (49) engaged with the running surface (51) to inhibit lubricant from traveling therebetween, wherein one of the sealing member (49) and the running surface (51) rotates with the mounting portion (41 and 47) upon rotation of the wheel hub (9) around the vehicle spindle (5) relative to the other of the sealing member (49) and the running surface (51).
Dittmar does not disclose all of the claimed wheel hub assembly structure wherein a wheel hub body having an inboard end, an outboard end, and a bore extending therebetween to receive a vehicle spindle, an inboard bearing assembly and the inboard bearing assembly includes an inner race and an outer race.
White teaches (in fig. 13) a wheel hub assembly with a hub body (unlabeled, but shown in Fig. 13) having a unitary, one piece construction, the hub body including a flange (unlabeled flange in Fig. 13 shown to be receiving wheel studs), the hub body including an inboard end (left end), an outboard end (right end), and a bore extending therebetween to receive a vehicle spindle (50), an inboard bearing assembly (56, 57) and the inboard bearing assembly (56, 57) includes an inner race (56) and an outer race (57).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wheel hub assembly of Dittmar by including all of the aforementioned claimed wheel hub assembly structure, such as taught by White, with a reasonable expectation of success of allowing the wheel hub assembly to be adequately attached to a wheel while providing sufficient support between the wheel hub and the spindle.
Regarding claim 15, Dittmar in view of White teaches (in Dittmar annotated fig. 2) the wheel hub assembly of claim 14 wherein the oil seal (3) comprises a first seal body (SB) including the mounting portion (41 and 47) and a second seal body (FB) mounted to the inner race (19) of the outboard bearing assembly (1); and wherein one of the first seal body (SB) and the second seal body includes the sealing member (49) and the other of the first seal body and the second seal body (FB) includes the running surface (51).
Regarding claim 16, Dittmar in view of White teaches (in Dittmar annotated fig. 2) the wheel hub assembly of claim 15 wherein the second seal body (FB) includes a sleeve portion (63) extending around and engaged with the inner race (19) of the outboard bearing (11).
Regarding claim 17, Dittmar in view of White teaches (in Dittmar annotated fig. 2) the wheel hub assembly of claim 14 wherein the oil seal (3) includes a first seal body (SB) including the mounting portion (41 and 47) and a second seal body (FB) secured to the inner race (19) of the outboard bearing assembly (11); wherein one of the first seal body (SB) and the second seal body includes the sealing member (49) and the other of the first seal body and the second seal body (FB) includes the running surface (51).
Dittmar does not teach the wheel hub assembly further comprising a spindle lock nut configured to be secured to the vehicle spindle and secure the second body to the inner race of the outboard bearing assembly.
White further teaches (in fig. 13) the wheel assembly further comprising a spindle lock nut (212) configured to be secured to the vehicle spindle (10) and secure the second body (bottom part of unlabeled seal) to the inner race (55) of the outboard bearing assembly (54, 57).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wheel hub assembly of Dittmar by having the spindle nut, as taught by White, with a reasonable expectation of success of providing sufficient support between the wheel hub and the spindle. The nut would further secure the second body of Dittmar to the inner race of the outboard bearing assembly.
Regarding claim 18, as best understood, Dittmar in view of White teaches (in Dittmar annotated fig. 2) the wheel hub assembly of claim 14 wherein the mounting portion (41 and 47) of the oil seal (3) includes a ring (47) of a first material (metal) and a seal member (41) of a different, second material (elastomeric and rubber seal) radially intermediate the ring (47) and the inner surface (23) of the wheel hub body (9, para [0036] discloses the ring is made out of metal and seal member is made out of elastomeric or rubber material).
Regarding claim 19, Dittmar in view of White teaches (in Dittmar annotated fig. 2) the wheel hub assembly of claim 14 wherein the inner race (19) of the outboard bearing (11) includes: an inboard bearing support surface (37) that the bearings (13) travel along upon rotation of the wheel hub (9) about the vehicle spindle (5); and an outboard extension (EX) outboard of the inboard bearing support surface (37).
Regarding claim 22, as best understood, Dittmar in view of White teaches (in Dittmar annotated fig. 2) the wheel hub assembly of claim 14 wherein the seal (3) includes a deflector (end point of 49) between the sealing member (49) and the outboard bearing assembly (11) to direct lubricant away from the sealing member (49) as the wheel heel hub (9) rotates around the vehicle spindle (5).
Regarding claim 23, Dittmar in view of White teaches (in White fig. 3) the wheel hub assembly of claim 14 wherein the wheel hub body has a unitary, one-piece construction and includes a flange portion (unlabeled but shown to be receiving wheel studs) for mounting a wheel thereto.
Regarding claim 24, Dittmar in view of White teaches (in Dittmar annotated fig. 2) the wheel hub assembly of claim 14 wherein the sealing member (49) includes a lip seal (81).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittmar (US 20110262063 A1) in view of Schafer (DE 102016207225 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Dittmar discloses the oil seal of claim 1 but does not disclose the annular seal includes an air vent.
Schafer teaches (in fig. 4) the annular seal includes an air vent (30) for the purpose of eliminating the risk of heat buildup within the bearing assembly by balancing the pressure differential between the inside and outside of the bearing (para. [0017]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to modify the oil seal of Dittmar to have an air vent for the purpose of eliminating the risk of heat buildup within the bearing assembly by balancing the pressure differential between the inside and outside of the bearing (para. [0017]).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittmar (US 20110262063 A1) in view of White (US 20070052287 A1) and in further view of Schafer (DE 102016207225 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Dittmar in view of White teaches the wheel hub assembly of claim 14 but does not teach the oil seal includes an air vent.
Schafer teaches (in fig. 4) the annular seal includes an air vent (30) for the purpose of eliminating the risk of heat buildup within the bearing assembly by balancing the pressure differential between the inside and outside of the bearing (para. [0017]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to modify the oil seal of Dittmar to have an air vent for the purpose of eliminating the risk of heat buildup within the bearing assembly by balancing the pressure differential between the inside and outside of the bearing (para. [0017]).
Alternative rejection #1
Claim(s) 1-4, 10, 12, 14, and 19-24, 26, and 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Edelmann (US 20220048319 A1).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Edelmann discloses (in fig 2 and annotated fig. 2E) an oil seal (SL) for a wheel hub (35),
the oil seal (SL) comprising:
an annular seal (SL) having a central opening to receive a vehicle spindle (50),
the annular seal (SL) configured to inhibit the flow of oil through the annular seal (SL);
an oil side (OS) of the annular seal (SL) for being contacted by oil in the wheel hub (35);
an air side (AS) of the annular seal (3) opposite the oil side (OS);
a radially outer mounting portion (RMP) of the annular seal (SL) configured to sealingly engage an interior surface (35S) of the wheel hub (35) and permit rotation of the radially outer mounting portion (RMP) of the annular seal (SL) with the wheel hub (35) around the vehicle spindle (50);
a sealing member (SM) of the annular seal (SL) having a contact portion (CP) configured to form a dynamic seal with a running surface (RS), wherein one of the sealing member (SM) and the running surface is rotatable with the radially outer mounting portion (RMP) of the annular seal (SL) relative to the other of the sealing member (SM) and the running surface (RS);
and the contact portion (CP) of the sealing member (SMP) is configured to form a pressure profile with the running surface (RS) that pumps oil toward the oil side of the annular seal (SL) upon rotation of the radially outer mounting portion (RMP) of the annular seal (SL) with the wheel hub (35) around the vehicle spindle (50).
Regarding claim 2, Edelmann discloses the oil seal (SL) of claim 1 wherein the contact portion (CP) of the sealing member (SM) has an air side surface portion (right side of SM), an oil side surface portion (left side of SM), and a juncture (middle part of SM) therebetween; and wherein the air side surface portion (right side of SM) is configured to extend at a first angle relative to the running surface (RS) and the oil side surface portion (left side of SM) is configured to extend at a second angle that is larger than the first angle (the angle on the right of SM is larger than the angle on the left side of SM).
Regarding claim 3, Edelmann discloses the oil seal (SL) of claim 1 wherein the annular seal (SL) has a central axis (CA) and the radially outer mounting portion (RMP) is rotatable around the central axis (CA); and wherein the radially outer mounting portion (RMP) includes an annular, axial wall portion (AWP) configured to form a press-fit engagement with the interior surface (35S) of the wheel hub (35)
Regarding claim 4, Edelmann discloses the oil seal (SL) of claim 3 wherein the radially outer mounting portion (RMP) includes a wall portion (WP) extending toward the central axis (CA) from the annular, axial wall portion (RMP).
Regarding claim 10, Edelmann discloses the oil seal (SL) of claim 1 in combination with a bearing cone (36), the bearing cone (36) including the running surface (RS).
Regarding claim 12, Edelmann discloses the oil seal of claim 1 wherein the sealing member (SM) comprises a lip seal (LS).
Regarding claim 14, Edelmann discloses (in fig. 2 and annotated fig. 2E) a wheel hub assembly (fig. 2) comprising:
a wheel hub body (35) having an inboard end (end at seal 68), an outboard end (38), and a bore extending therebetween to receive a vehicle spindle (50),
the wheel hub (35) extending around a central axis (CA);
an axially extending inner surface (35S) of the wheel hub body (35) defining at least a portion of the bore (BO) of the wheel hub body (35);
an inboard bearing assembly (56) and an outboard bearing assembly (54) in the bore (BO) of the wheel hub body (35),
each of the inboard and outboard bearing assemblies (56, 54) including an inner race (36, 52), an outer race (54OR, unlabeled but shown in fig. 2),
and a plurality of bearings (48) between the inner and outer races that facilitate rotation of the outer race (54OR, unlabeled but shown in fig. 2) around the inner race (36, 52);
an oil seal (SL) to inhibit oil from flowing in an outboard direction beyond the oil seal (SL);
a mounting portion (RMP) of the oil seal (SL) engaged with the inner surface (35S) of the wheel hub body (35) outboard of the outer race (54OR) of the outboard bearing assembly (54);
and a sealing member (SM) and a running surface (RS) of the oil seal (SL),
the sealing member (SM) engaged with the running surface (RS) to inhibit lubricant from traveling therebetween,
wherein one of the sealing member (SM) and the running surface (RS) rotates with the mounting portion (RMP) upon rotation of the wheel hub (35) around the vehicle spindle (50) relative to the other of the sealing member (SM) and the running surface (RS).
Regarding claim 19, Edelmann discloses the wheel hub assembly of claim 14 wherein the inner race (36) of the outboard bearing (54) includes: an inboard bearing support surface (46) that the bearings (48) travel along upon rotation of the wheel hub (35) about the vehicle spindle (50); and an outboard extension (36EX) outboard of the inboard bearing support surface (46).
Regarding claim 20, Edelmann discloses the wheel hub assembly of claim 19 wherein the outboard extension (36EX) of the inner race (36) includes the running surface (RS).
Regarding claim 21, Edelmann discloses the wheel hub assembly of claim 19 wherein the oil seal (SL) includes a seal body (body of SL) mounted to the outboard extension (36EX) of the inner race (36); and wherein the seal body (body of SL) includes the running surface or the sealing member (SM).
Regarding claim 22, as best understood, Edelmann discloses the assembly of claim 14 wherein the seal (SL) includes a deflector (tip of SM) between the sealing member (SM) and the outboard bearing assembly (54) to direct lubricant away from the sealing member (SM) as the wheel heel hub (35) rotates around the vehicle spindle (50).
Regarding claim 23, Edelmann discloses the wheel hub assembly of claim 14 wherein the wheel hub body (35) has a unitary, one-piece construction and includes a flange portion (64) for mounting a wheel thereto (para. [0026]).
Regarding claim 24, Edelmann discloses the wheel hub assembly of claim 14 wherein the sealing member (SM) includes a lip seal (LS).
Regarding claim 26, Edelmann discloses (in annotated fig. 2 and fig. 2E) a method of assembling a wheel hub assembly (fig. 2), the method comprising:
advancing a first seal body (SL) of an oil seal (SL) into a bore (BO) of a wheel hub body (35) in an inboard direction toward an outer race (54OR) of an outboard bearing assembly (54) in the bore (BO);
engaging a mounting portion (RMP) of the first seal body (SL) of the oil seal (SL) with the wheel hub body (35) outboard of the outer race (54OR) of the outboard bearing assembly (54);
and arranging a sealing member (SM) and a running surface (RS) of the oil seal (SL) so that the sealing member (SM) and running surface (RS) form a dynamic seal therebetween,
wherein one of the sealing member (SM) and the running surface (RS) rotates with the wheel hub body (35) relative to the other of the sealing member (SM) and the running surface (RS).
Regarding claim 29, Edelmann discloses the method of claim 26 wherein the first seal body (SL) includes the sealing member (SM); wherein the outboard bearing assembly (54) comprises an inner race (36) that includes the running surface (RS); and wherein arranging the sealing member (SM) and the running surface (RS) comprises engaging a sealing member (SM) of the first seal body (SL) with the running surface (RS) of the inner race (36) of the outboard bearing assembly (54).
Regarding claim 30, Edelmann discloses the method of claim 26 wherein engaging the mounting portion (RMP) of the first seal body (SL) with the body of the wheel hub (35) comprises forming a press-fit engagement between the first seal body (SL) and an annular inner surface (35S) of the body of the wheel hub (35).
Regarding claim 31, as best understood, Edelmann discloses the method of claim 26 wherein the sealing member (SM) and running surface (RS) are configured to pump oil toward the outboard bearing assembly (54) in response to rotation of the wheel hub body (35) around a spindle (50).
Claim(s) 13 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edelmann (US 20220048319 A1) in view of Schafer (DE 102016207225 A1).
Regarding claim 13 and 25, Edelmann discloses the oil seal of claim 1 and the wheel hub assembly of claim 14 but does not disclose the annular/oil seal includes an air vent.
Schafer teaches (in fig. 4) the annular seal includes an air vent (30) for the purpose of eliminating the risk of heat buildup within the bearing assembly by balancing the pressure differential between the inside and outside of the bearing (para. [0017]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to modify the annular/oil seal of Edelmann to have an air vent for the purpose of eliminating the risk of heat buildup within the bearing assembly by balancing the pressure differential between the inside and outside of the bearing (para. [0017]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Edelmann (US 20170370415 A1) discloses a rolling element bearing unit in a wheel bearing assembly.
White (US 20140239597 A1) discloses a main seal for a heavy duty vehicle wheel assembly.
/AIMEE TRAN NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3617
/JOHN OLSZEWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3617