DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8, and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ortelt et al. (US 2018/0162991, “Ortelt”).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 13, Ortelt teaches a product (e.g., [0006]) made from a two-component curable composition comprising a partially (meth)acrylated epoxy resin ([0032] – [0043], may include, e.g., glycidyl methacrylate and/or additional epoxy components; the Examiner notes that the claims do not strictly require the inclusion of an additional epoxy compound). Ortelt additionally teaches the inclusion of a second component comprising a polyamine having at least two amine hydrogens that are reactive to epoxide groups ([0025] – [0028], [0045] – [0075]). Ortelt additionally teaches that the ratio of epoxy/acrylate groups to amine hydrogen equivalent groups may be on the range of from 0.5 to 1 to 1:1.1 ([0025] – [0029], [0043]). While Ortelt generally teaches the ratio of epoxy groups to the reactive functional groups of amine, because the ratio of acrylate to epoxy may be 1:1 (e.g., [0040], glycidyl methacrylate), the ratio of stoichiometric ratio epoxy/acrylate to amine may also be considered to be within the claimed range and it further would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to adjust the ratio of reactive components in order to provide a suitably reactive resin composition. Ortelt additionally teaches that the above may be the only components in the composition (see generally [0032] – [0075], and thus the composition may be considered only to consist of the above). The Examiner notes, with regard to the ratio of amine hydrogen equivalent components to the reactive epoxy or acrylate groups, that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Please see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Ortelt additionally teaches that the first component may comprise from 90 to 100 wt% of a partially (meth)acrylated epoxy resin (e.g., [0040], where, for example, the entirety of the epoxy resin may be this (meth)acrylated component).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Ortelt additionally teaches that the ratio of epoxide to (meth)acrylate groups in the partially (meth)acrylated epoxy resin may be on the range of 1:1 ([0040], glycidyl methacrylate, which has an epoxide to acrylate ratio of 1:1).
Regarding claim 7, Ortelt additionally teaches that the (meth)acrylated component may comprise a diepoxide having an epoxide equivalent weight of less than 500 g/eq ([0033], [0034]).
Regarding claim 8, Ortelt additionally teaches that the at least one partially (meth)acrylated resin may be, for example, a bisphenol A type digycidyl ether([0034], [0035]).
Regarding claim 10, Ortelt additionally teaches that the at least one polyamine has one primary and at least one secondary amino group ([0050] – [0052]; [0044] – [0048]).
Regarding claim 12, Ortelt additionally teaches that the ratio of epoxy/acrylate groups to amine hydrogen equivalent groups may be on the range of from 0.5 to 1 to 1:1.1 ([0025] – [0029], [0043]).
Claim(s) 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ortelt as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Ushiyama et al. (US 2019/0330464, “Ushiyama”).
Regarding claim 6, Ortelt fails to specifically teach the viscosity of the (meth)acrylated epoxy resin. However, in the same field of endeavor of curable resin compositions, particularly for use with reinforced products ([0001] – [0010]), Ushiyama teaches that an epoxy resin having a viscosity on the range of from 0.1 to 300 Pa.s (100 to 300,000 cps, [0057]) provides the resin with good workability and thus adjusting the viscosity of the (meth)acrylated epoxy resin of Ortelt to within this range would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing (see Ushiyama, [0057]).
Regarding claim 9, Ortelt fails to specifically teach the polyamine has an amine hydrogen equivalent weight of not more than 150 g/eq. However, Ushiyama teaches that such polyamines are known and useful in the creation of resins for use in reinforced plastic materials and that by using materials having these properties the elastic modulus, toughness and heat resistance of the cured resin product may be controlled to fall within favorable ranges (e.g., [0003] – [0005], [0099] – [0101]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have used such a polyamine as those described by Ushiyama in order to provide favorable elastic modulus, toughness and heat resistance of the cured resin product (e.g., [0003] – [0005], [0099] – [0101]).
Conclusion
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782