DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bowers et al. (Bowers), US publication no. 2017/00883062.
As per claim 1, Bowers discloses a self-service terminal [figures 1, 9c], comprising:
a first cavity configured as a first accommodating space of the self-service terminal; a second cavity configured as a second accommodating space of the self-service terminal [figure 8; para 101];
a temperature adjustment assembly [865, figure 8] disposed between the first cavity and the second cavity [para 103], wherein the temperature adjustment assembly is configured to adjust the temperature within at least one of the first cavity and the second cavity, and wherein the temperature adjustment assembly is further configured to physically partition the first cavity and the second cavity [figures 8, 9c; para 82, 83, 102-109, 121, 122].
Bowers teaches:
[0102] Air intake compartment 865 may enclose at least portions of temperature control subsystem 160. In some embodiments, air intake compartment 865 may enclose one or more fans, which may draw ambient air into the air intake area. In some embodiments, the one or more fans may also draw air into the air intake area from electronics compartment 840. The fans may move the air through display compartment 870 ( e.g., across one or more heat sinks), and the air may be discharged through an exhaust in communications compartment 880. In some embodiments, air intake compartment 865 may enclose one or more heaters.
[0103] In the example of FIG. 8, communications compartment 880 is located proximate to the top 805 of the PCS, display compartment 870 is disposed along an upper portion of the PCS and below communications compartment 880, and an air intake compartment 865 is located proximate to a middle portion of the PCS (in the direction of the PCS's height) and below display compartment 870. Mounting compartment 890 is located proximate a base 806 of the PCS, electronics compartment 840 is disposed along a lower portion of the PCS between mounting compartment 890 and air intake compartment 865, and user interface compartment
850 is disposed along a lower portion of the PCS adjacent to air intake compartment 865 and electronics compartment 840.
[0122] In some embodiments, temperature control system1300 includes a temperature control subsystem 160. Temperature control subsystem 160 may include a temperature control module 1302, an intake module 1320, a heater module 1330, and a heat sink 903. The temperature control module 1302 may determine the PCS's temperature (e.g., based on data provided by the temperature sensor(s) 1340 and/or other suitable data), and control the operation of PCS components (e.g., user interface subsystem 150, display subsystem 170, power distribution subsystem 110, intake
module 1320, heater module 1330, fans 1360, etc.) to keep the temperature of the PCS within a desired range, or to keep the temperatures of portions of the PCS within desired ranges. Intake module 1320 may include one or more fans adapted to circulate air within and/or through the PCS. Heater module 1330 may include one or more heating elements disposed within or on the PCS, which can heat the interior of the PCS. Techniques for controlling the PCS's temperature are described in further detail below.
As per claim 2, Bowers discloses the temperature adjustment assembly is configured such that the first cavity and the second cavity are sealed from each
other [figure 8; para 101, 103].
As per claim 3, Bowers discloses the temperature adjustment assembly comprises: a semiconductor temperature regulator, a first temperature regulating surface of the semiconductor temperature regulator faces the first cavity, and a second temperature regulating surface of the semiconductor temperature regulator faces the second cavity; a first fan for the first temperature regulating surface; and a second fan for the second temperature regulating surface [figure 9c; para 82, 83, 102, 109, 122].
As per claim 4, Bowers discloses a temperature control board within the second
cavity, wherein the temperature control board is configured to control an operation of the temperature adjustment assembly [figure 9c; para 82, 83, 101-103, 109, 122].
As per claim 5, Bowers discloses a terminal control module communicatively
connected to the temperature control board, wherein the terminal control module is provided in the first cavity, and wherein the terminal control module is configured to control an operation of a functional component within the first cavity [figure 7, 9c; para 95, 96,101-103, 121, 122].
As per claim 6, Bowers discloses the temperature control board comprises:
a first output configured to be connected to a first control port of the semiconductor temperature regulator; a first relay configured to selectively provide one of a first
high voltage level or a first low voltage level to the first output and to the first control port of the semiconductor temperature regulator; a second output configured to be connected to a second control port of the semiconductor temperature regulator; a second relay configured to selectively provide one of a second high voltage level or a second low voltage level to the second output and to the second control port of
the semiconductor temperature regulator; a control unit configured to: receive at least one of a first temperature measurement value of a first temperature sensor located in the first cavity and a second temperature measurement value of a second temperature sensor located in the second cavity; and output a control command based on at least one of the first temperature measurement value and the second temperature measurement value; a first drive circuit module configured to drive operating
states of the first relay and the second relay based on the control command,
wherein one of the first high voltage level and the first low voltage level is provided to the first output via the first relay, and wherein one of the second high voltage level
or the second low voltage level is provided to the second output via the second relay,
wherein when the first high voltage level is provided to the first output and the second low voltage level is provided to the second output, a first temperature regulating surface of the semiconductor temperature regulator is configured to function as a cooling surface and a second temperature regulating surface of the semiconductor temperature regulator is configured to function as a heating surface, and
when the first low voltage level is provided to the first output and the second high voltage level is provided to the second output, the first temperature regulating surface of the semiconductor temperature regulator is configured to function as the heating surface and the second temperature regulating surface of the semiconductor temperature regulator is configured to function as the cooling surface [figures 9c, 13; para 82, 83, 102-109, 121, 122, 130].
As per claim 7, Bowers discloses the temperature control board comprises a second drive circuit module configured to drive the operation of at least one of the first fan and the second fan based on the control command, wherein activating at least one of the first fan and the second fan is performed earlier than activating the semiconductor temperature regulator by a predetermined period of time, and deactivating at least one of the first fan and the second fan is performed later than deactivating the semiconductor temperature regulator by a predetermined period of time [figures 9c, 13; para 82, 83, 102-109, 121, 122, 130].
As per claim 8, Bowers discloses a primary power supply, a secondary power
supply and a temperature regulating device for the secondary power supply, wherein the primary power supply, the secondary power supply, and the temperature regulating
device for the secondary power supply are provided in the second cavity, wherein the primary power supply has a first upper operating temperature threshold and a first lower operating temperature threshold, and the secondary power supply has a second upper operating temperature threshold and a second lower operating temperature
threshold, and wherein the first upper operating temperature threshold is higher than the second upper operating temperature threshold, and the first lower operating temperature threshold is lower than the second lower operating temperature threshold [figure 1; para 121-122, 130, 134, 135].
As per claim 9, Bowers discloses the temperature control board comprises a third drive circuit module configured to control operation of the temperature regulating device based on the control command, wherein when the second temperature measurement value is lower than the second lower operating temperature threshold and higher than the first lower operating temperature threshold, the temperature regulating device is configured to function as a heater, and wherein when the second temperature measurement value is higher than the second upper operating temperature threshold and lower than the first upper operating temperature threshold, the temperature regulating device acts is configured to function as a cooler [figure 1; para 121-122, 130, 134, 135].
As per claim 10, Bowers discloses an accommodating mechanism in the first cavity, and at least one of the terminal control module and a computer module are accommodated in the accommodating mechanism [figure 8; para 101-103].
As per claim 11, Bowers discloses an air guide within the first cavity, wherein the air guide is configured to direct heated or cooled air flow from the first fan to at least one of the terminal control module and the computer module, and wherein the air guide is constructed as a covering of the accommodating mechanism [figure 13; para 120-122].
As per claim 12, Bowers discloses the first cavity is bounded by metal plates laterally, and at least one of a thermal insulation layer and a reflective film is arranged
on an inner surface of the metal plates [figures 10a-10c; para 116].
As per claim 13, Bowers discloses the second cavity is configured to be in a negative pressure state [figures 13, 15; para 102, 128, 130].
As per claim 14, Bowers discloses a self-service terminal [figures 1, 9c], including: a first cavity configured as an upper layer space of the self-service terminal, and a terminal control module is provided in the upper layer space; second cavity configured as a lower layer space of the self-service terminal, and a temperature control board is provided in the lower layer space; and a temperature adjustment assembly arranged as an intermediate layer arranged between the first cavity and the
second cavity, wherein the temperature control board is configured to control operation of the temperature adjustment assembly, wherein operation of the temperature assembly comprises maintaining a temperature in the first cavity within a predetermined temperature range [figures 8, 9c; para 8, 82, 83, 101-109, 121, 122].
As per claim 15, Bowers discloses the temperature regulating component is configured to function as a cooler to lower the temperature in the first cavity when the temperature in the first cavity is higher than an upper temperature threshold and further configured to function as a heater to raise the temperature in the first cavity when the temperature in the first cavity is lower than a lower temperature threshold [figure 1; para 121-122, 130, 134, 135].
As per claim 16, Bowers discloses a power supply and a temperature regulating
device for the power supply, wherein the power supply and the temperature regulating device are located in the lower layer space, and wherein the temperature control
board is configured to control operation of the temperature regulating device to maintain temperature of the power supply within the predetermined temperature range [figure 1; para 121-122, 130, 134, 135].
As to claims 17-20, basically are the corresponding elements that are carried out the method of operating step in claims 1-13. Accordingly, claims 17-20 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1-13.
5. Examiner's note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. MPEP 2141.02 VI: “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS."
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Couvrette, US patent no. 4813475, discloses a temperature control system for a self-service terminal.
Conclusion
Sep. 5, 2025
/CHUN CAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115