DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 10, 17, 19, 22, 25-29, 36, 40, 43, 54, and 56 are pending and examined.
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 10 recites the broad recitation “less than 10 mg,” and the claim also recites “less than 5 mg” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Claim 10 also recites between about 2.8 mg and about 5.6 mg and then also recites about 2.8 mg and about 5.6 mg separately. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
NOTE: The examiner did not make duplicative rejections under § 103 with patents that qualify as prior art that were applied in a Double Patenting Rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 10, 17, 19, 22, 25-29, 36, 40, 43, 54, and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris et al., (US2019/0175525), in view of Nebuloni et al., (US2019/0022030)(“Nebuloni2019”), in view of Nebuloni et al., (US2014/0336264) (“Nebuloni2014”), and in view of Choutka et al., “Unexplained post-acute infection syndromes,” Vol 28, May 2022, 911-923 Nature Medicine, as evidenced by Cook et al., “PROMIS measures of pain, fatigue, negative affect, physical function, and social function demonstrated clinical validity across a range of chronic conditions,” J Clin Epidemiol. 2016 May;73:89-102.
Harris teaches a eutectic complex of cyclobenzaprine HCl and mannitol for treating and preventing conditions including aggression, impairment of social functioning, akathisia, and others. See prior art claim 1. The composition can also contain a dibasic potassium salt, including potassium phosphate dibasic or dipotassium hydrogen phosphate. See par. 57 and Table 1. The cyclobenzaprine can be in an amount of 2.8 mg, 5.6 mg, 1 to 20 mg, and 0.1 to 30 mg. See prior art claim 5. The composition can be used to treat and prevent agitation, dementia, and neurodegenerative conditions. See prior art claim 1. It can be administered orally, sublingually, parenterally, and by most routes of administration. See prior art claims 23 and 24. The subject includes one experiencing or at-risk of psychosis, cognitive decline, and others. See prior art claim 34.
Nebuloni2014 teaches compositions for treating and preventing stress, sleep disorders, anxiety, depression, and other disorders, in humans. See Abstract and par. 104. The composition is eutectic comprising cyclobenzaprine HCl and mannitol, wherein the composition includes a basifying agent of dipotassium monohydrogen phosphate, disodium monohydrogen phosphate, and anhydrous trisodium citrate, and a concentration of 60-90% cyclobenzaprine and 10-40% mannitol. See priori art claim 1. Also see other basifying agents in par. 138. Components are milled/mixed in a granulator. Compositions can be administered on a daily basis. See par. 130. Conditions to be treated include sleep disorders and chronic pain. See par.’s 148 and 149. This includes insomnia. See par. 137. Treatment can be for weeks and up to 12 months or longer. See par. 130. Forms for administration include tablets, capsules, sprays, films, and others. See par.’s 128 and 129. Treatment of fatigue and chronic pain and widespread pain are recognized therapeutic uses. See par. 131. Pain can include joint swelling, headaches, fatigue, and other claimed forms of pain. See par. 132. Widespread pain is interpreted to not exclude pain in at least 4 regions of the body. See par. 131.
Nebuloni2019 teaches compositions comprising eutectic cyclobenzaprine HCl and mannitol at claimed concentrations wherein the mannitol is β-mannitol. See prior art claim 54. It is taught for same uses, including insomnia, pain, fatigue, and others. See par. 171. Further, the concentrations include 60-90% cyclobenzaprine and 10-40% mannitol. See par. 5.
Harris and Nebuloni do not teach these symptoms in a subject with PASC, e.g.
Choutka teaches a prominent subset of patients with PASC experience fatigue, headaches, myalgia, and cognitive and sensory disturbances. See p913. Symptoms can be new onset following initial recovery from acute COVID-19 or persist from the initial illness. See p913. Choutka teaches that the UK NIH considers post-COVID syndrome for people who still have symptoms for more than 12 weeks after the start of acute symptoms. See p913. The examiner interprets this to include those that teste positive for SARS-CoV-2 infection at least 3 months prior to treatment.
With regard to claim 17, the examiner notes that the claimed dosage amount is taught. There is not practical difference between administration of simultaneous or sequential doses as compared to a single dose when the amount administered is equivalent. See Clinical definitions.
With regard to claim 54, assessing a symptom based on a known scale does not alter the active steps of administration. Assessing a symptom can be a mental step of evaluation. As evidenced by Cook, PROMIS is a known scale for measuring pain, fatigue, negative affect, physical and social function, and others.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985); and Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See M.P.E.P. § 2144.05.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant application to arrive at the claimed methods in view of the cited prior art. One would be motivated to do so because the claimed eutectic composition comprising the claimed components at the claimed percentages and dosages and in the claimed forms are taught to treat claimed symptoms and conditions. Choutka teaches a prominent subset of patients with PASC experience fatigue, headaches, myalgia, and cognitive and sensory disturbances. Harris and Nebuloni teach treating subjects experiencing or at-risk of psychosis, cognitive decline, chronic pain, fatigue, insomnia, headaches, sleep disorders, and other symptoms taught be experienced by those with PASC. As such, there is a reasonable and predictable expectation of success that the compositions taught by the prior art to treat fatigue, insomnia, headaches, cognitive decline and other symptoms that are known to exist in a prominent number of subjects with PASC would treat those same symptoms when they arise from PASC, absent evidence to the contrary. The examiner interprets at-risk of PASC to include those that have or had a SARS-CoV-2 infection.
As such, no claim is allowed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 10, 17, 19, 22, 25-29, 36, 40, 43, 54, and 56 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,826,321, in view of Harris et al., (US2019/0175525), in view of Nebuloni et al., (US2019/0022030)(“Nebuloni2019”), in view of Nebuloni et al., (US2014/0336264) (“Nebuloni2014”), and in view of Choutka et al., “Unexplained post-acute infection syndromes,” Vol 28, May 2022, 911-923 Nature Medicine, as evidenced by Cook et al., “PROMIS measures of pain, fatigue, negative affect, physical function, and social function demonstrated clinical validity across a range of chronic conditions,” J Clin Epidemiol. 2016 May;73:89-102, for the reasons set forth above. Overall, the claims of the ‘321 patent teach a method for treating many of the claimed symptoms with cyclobenzaprine at the claimed dosages of 2.8 mg and 5.6 mg. As such, the secondary references indicate that the eutectic composition would also treat these same conditions. Thus, the API taught by the ‘321 patent would be known to be usable in treating the claimed conditions in view of the cited prior art and in view of the secondary references set forth above. For example, psychosis and cognitive decline are associated with symptoms of dementia and neurodegeneration described to be treatable with the same API, same dosage, and same route of administration.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 10, 17, 19, 22, 25-29, 36, 40, 43, 54, and 56 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,998,516, in view of Harris et al., (US2019/0175525), in view of Nebuloni et al., (US2019/0022030)(“Nebuloni2019”), in view of Nebuloni et al., (US2014/0336264) (“Nebuloni2014”), and in view of Choutka et al., “Unexplained post-acute infection syndromes,” Vol 28, May 2022, 911-923 Nature Medicine, as evidenced by Cook et al., “PROMIS measures of pain, fatigue, negative affect, physical function, and social function demonstrated clinical validity across a range of chronic conditions,” J Clin Epidemiol. 2016 May;73:89-102, for the reasons set forth above. Overall, the claims of the ‘516 patent are directed to treating fibromyalgia and depression, which is inclusive of many symptoms instantly claimed. This includes fatigue, sleep disturbances, and pain as described therein. Thus, the same API is taught to treat the same symptoms at a same dose through same routes of administration. In view of the cited prior art, the formulations taught by the secondary references would be understood as interchangeable for treating the same symptoms/conditions.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 10, 17, 19, 22, 25-29, 36, 40, 43, 54, and 56 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,839,594, in view of Harris et al., (US2019/0175525), in view of Nebuloni et al., (US2019/0022030)(“Nebuloni2019”), in view of Nebuloni et al., (US2014/0336264) (“Nebuloni2014”), and in view of Choutka et al., “Unexplained post-acute infection syndromes,” Vol 28, May 2022, 911-923 Nature Medicine, as evidenced by Cook et al., “PROMIS measures of pain, fatigue, negative affect, physical function, and social function demonstrated clinical validity across a range of chronic conditions,” J Clin Epidemiol. 2016 May;73:89-102, for the reasons set forth above. Overall, the claims of the ‘594 patent are directed to manufacturing a composition comprising a eutectic of cyclobenzaprine and β-mannitol at the claimed concentrations. In view of the secondary references above, it would be obvious to use the produced composition to treat the claimed subject population.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 10, 17, 19, 22, 25-29, 36, 40, 43, 54, and 56 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,864,175, in view of Harris et al., (US2019/0175525), in view of Nebuloni et al., (US2019/0022030)(“Nebuloni2019”), in view of Nebuloni et al., (US2014/0336264) (“Nebuloni2014”), and in view of Choutka et al., “Unexplained post-acute infection syndromes,” Vol 28, May 2022, 911-923 Nature Medicine, as evidenced by Cook et al., “PROMIS measures of pain, fatigue, negative affect, physical function, and social function demonstrated clinical validity across a range of chronic conditions,” J Clin Epidemiol. 2016 May;73:89-102, for the reasons set forth above. Overall, the claims of the ‘175 patent are directed to a composition comprising a eutectic of cyclobenzaprine and β-mannitol at the claimed concentrations. In view of the secondary references above, it would be obvious to use the composition described therein to treat the claimed subject population for the reasons set forth above.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 10, 17, 19, 22, 25-29, 36, 40, 43, 54, and 56 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-34 of U.S. Patent No. 10,117,936, in view of Harris et al., (US2019/0175525), in view of Nebuloni et al., (US2019/0022030)(“Nebuloni2019”), in view of Nebuloni et al., (US2014/0336264) (“Nebuloni2014”), and in view of Choutka et al., “Unexplained post-acute infection syndromes,” Vol 28, May 2022, 911-923 Nature Medicine, as evidenced by Cook et al., “PROMIS measures of pain, fatigue, negative affect, physical function, and social function demonstrated clinical validity across a range of chronic conditions,” J Clin Epidemiol. 2016 May;73:89-102, for the reasons set forth above. Overall, the claims of the ‘936 patent are directed to a composition comprising a eutectic of cyclobenzaprine and β-mannitol at the claimed concentrations and a method of making the same. In view of the secondary references above, it would be obvious to use the composition described and produced by the means described therein to treat the claimed subject population for the reasons set forth above. Similar uses are described in the disclosure of the same including treating insomnia, fatigue, anxiety, and pain.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 10, 17, 19, 22, 25-29, 36, 40, 43, 54, and 56 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 9,956,188, in view of Harris et al., (US2019/0175525), in view of Nebuloni et al., (US2019/0022030)(“Nebuloni2019”), in view of Nebuloni et al., (US2014/0336264) (“Nebuloni2014”), and in view of Choutka et al., “Unexplained post-acute infection syndromes,” Vol 28, May 2022, 911-923 Nature Medicine, as evidenced by Cook et al., “PROMIS measures of pain, fatigue, negative affect, physical function, and social function demonstrated clinical validity across a range of chronic conditions,” J Clin Epidemiol. 2016 May;73:89-102, for the reasons set forth above. Overall, the claims of the ‘188 patent are directed to a composition comprising a eutectic of cyclobenzaprine and β-mannitol at the claimed concentrations. In view of the secondary references above, it would be obvious to use the composition described therein to treat the claimed subject population for the reasons set forth above.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 10, 17, 19, 22, 25-29, 36, 40, 43, 54, and 56 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 9,636,408, in view of Harris et al., (US2019/0175525), in view of Nebuloni et al., (US2019/0022030)(“Nebuloni2019”), in view of Nebuloni et al., (US2014/0336264) (“Nebuloni2014”), and in view of Choutka et al., “Unexplained post-acute infection syndromes,” Vol 28, May 2022, 911-923 Nature Medicine, as evidenced by Cook et al., “PROMIS measures of pain, fatigue, negative affect, physical function, and social function demonstrated clinical validity across a range of chronic conditions,” J Clin Epidemiol. 2016 May;73:89-102, for the reasons set forth above. Overall, the claims of the ‘408 patent are directed to a composition comprising a eutectic of cyclobenzaprine and β-mannitol at the claimed concentrations. In view of the secondary references above, it would be obvious to use the composition described therein to treat the claimed subject population for the reasons set forth above.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 10, 17, 19, 22, 25-29, 36, 40, 43, 54, and 56 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,026,898, in view of Harris et al., (US2019/0175525), in view of Nebuloni et al., (US2019/0022030)(“Nebuloni2019”), in view of Nebuloni et al., (US2014/0336264) (“Nebuloni2014”), and in view of Choutka et al., “Unexplained post-acute infection syndromes,” Vol 28, May 2022, 911-923 Nature Medicine, as evidenced by Cook et al., “PROMIS measures of pain, fatigue, negative affect, physical function, and social function demonstrated clinical validity across a range of chronic conditions,” J Clin Epidemiol. 2016 May;73:89-102, for the reasons set forth above. Overall, the claims of the ‘898 patent are directed to a composition comprising a eutectic of cyclobenzaprine and β-mannitol at the claimed concentrations and a method of making the same. In view of the secondary references above, it would be obvious to use the composition described and produced by the means described therein to treat the claimed subject population for the reasons set forth above. Similar uses are described in the disclosure of the same including treating insomnia, fatigue, anxiety, and pain.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 10, 17, 19, 22, 25-29, 36, 40, 43, 54, and 56 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,357,465, in view of Harris et al., (US2019/0175525), in view of Nebuloni et al., (US2019/0022030)(“Nebuloni2019”), in view of Nebuloni et al., (US2014/0336264) (“Nebuloni2014”), and in view of Choutka et al., “Unexplained post-acute infection syndromes,” Vol 28, May 2022, 911-923 Nature Medicine, as evidenced by Cook et al., “PROMIS measures of pain, fatigue, negative affect, physical function, and social function demonstrated clinical validity across a range of chronic conditions,” J Clin Epidemiol. 2016 May;73:89-102, for the reasons set forth above. Overall, the claims of the ‘465 patent are directed to a composition comprising a eutectic of cyclobenzaprine and β-mannitol at the claimed concentrations and a method of making the same. In view of the secondary references above, it would be obvious to use the composition described and produced by the means described therein to treat the claimed subject population for the reasons set forth above. Similar uses are described in the disclosure of the same including treating insomnia, fatigue, anxiety, and pain.
Provisional Double Patenting Rejection:
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 10, 17, 19, 22, 25-29, 36, 40, 43, 54, and 56 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9-20, 35, and 36 of copending Application No. 18/265,525. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘525 application are directed to treating fibromyalgia or symptoms thereof, including pain and sleep disturbance and fatigue with the claimed composition. These symptoms are the same as those presently claimed for treatment. As such, it would be obvious to treat the same symptoms with the same composition with a reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
As such, no claim is allowed.
Conclusion
/JARED BARSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628