DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because: the claims lack the necessary physical articles or objects to constitute a machine or a manufacture within the meaning of 35 USC 101. They are clearly not a series of steps or acts to be a process nor are they a combination of chemical compounds to be a composition of matter. As such, they fail to fall within a statutory category. They are, at best, functional descriptive material per se.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Samplawski (US 11,288,542 B1), hereinafter “Samplawski”.
As per claim 1, Samplawski teaches a signal identifier comprising an inference model to:
“generate a latent variable in which a distribution for each class in a latent space is defined according to the class of classification” at Col. 3 line 1 to Col. 5 line 55 and Fig. 1;
(Samplawski teaches the image encoder 170 generating a plurality of latent factors based on the image pixels and estimating distribution of the latent factors in a latent space according to a class of classification, e.g., “California Gull”)
“and a second latent variable in which a distribution for each large classification in the latent space is defined according to the large classification of a broader concept of the class” at Col. 3 line 1 to Col. 5 line 55 and Fig. 1;
(Samplawski also teaches the attributes encoder 180 generating latent factors based on attributes of the image and estimating distribution of the latent factors in the latent space according to a larger classification of a supper class of the class, e.g., “Gull” or “Shore Birds”)
“the inference model is learned using teacher data to perform prediction on signal data of an unlearned class in accordance with a concept developed by human beings” at Col. 1 lines 25-60, Col. 7 lines 50-65 and Figs. 1-3;
(Samplawski teaches machine learning model is trained using training dataset to predict class of an image received for classification, according the concept/category developed by human beings (e.g., “Shore birds”, “Gull”, “California Gull”))
“wherein the learned inference model is used to perform signal information including signal identification of a radio wave signal acquired by a radar and identification of an image acquired by a camera” Col. 1 lines 25-60, Col. 7 lines 50-65 and Figs. 1-3.
(Samplawski teaches the model is used to perform classification based on signal received from a digital image)
As per claim 2, Samplawski teaches the signal identifier of claim 1, wherein “the inference model is learned using both the signal data and the teacher data, the teacher data including information of the class to which the signal data belongs and information of the broader concept of the class” at Col. 1 lines 25-60, Col. 3 lines 10-30.
(Samplawski teaches the machine learning model are trained using input images and labeled training data)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner respectfully traverses Applicant’s arguments.
Regarding claims 1-2, Applicant argued that Samplawski is silent as to “the inference model is learned using teacher data to perform prediction on signal data on an unlearned class in accordance with a concept developed by human beings”. On the contrary, Samplawski teaches at Col. 1 lines 25-60, Col. 7 lines 50-65 and Figs. 1-3 the machine learning model is trained using training dataset to predict class of an image received for classification, according the concept/category developed by human beings (e.g., “Shore birds”, “Gull”, “California Gull”))
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHANH B PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166
April 6, 2026