aDETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8, 14-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 and 14-18 in the reply filed on 3/21/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakiuchi et al (U.S. Pub. 2019/0291437) in view of Chen et al (U.S. Pub. 2018/0281425) and Chen et al (U.S. Pub. 2017/0072692)
Regarding claim 1, an ink jet print head or member thereof, comprising: a component (Figures 1-2) having at least one internal cavity for printer ink, the at least one internal cavity accessible during materials processing (Abstract; Paragraphs 0047, 0050)
A protective coating (200) on the component and on a surface of the at least one internal cavity, the protective coating comprising a film of HfO2, ZrO2, or TiO2, as a conformal layer (Figures 2, 11; Paragraphs 0066, 0113)
Kakiuchi discloses the protective coating (200) comprising a film having a thickness in a range (Paragraph 0067). Kakicuhi does not expressly disclose the film having a thickness in a range that avoids formation of pinholes, thin spots and nodule growth, however Chen (‘425) discloses a film having a thickness in a range that avoids formation of pinholes, thin spots and nodule growth (Paragraph 0021, 0024)
Chen (‘692) discloses printheads which are formed from a die stack and nozzle palte bonded together including a step of applying a passivation layer by ALD, wherein the passivation layer may comprise HfO-2 (Paragraphs 0033, 0038); and applying a non-wetting layer onto outer surface of a print head Paragraphs 0023, 0033, 0038, Claims 3, 5)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Chen (‘692 and Chen (‘425) into the device of Kakiuchi, for the purpose of reducing defects in the film and preventing nozzles and preventing ink from puddling around nozzles of the print head
Regarding claim 2, wherein the thickness of the film of protective coating is between 10 nm and 50 nm, inclusive (Paragraph 0067)
Regarding claim 3, the component includes at least one from a group consisting of: multiple members bonded together with a bonding material, a portion of thermoset, a MEMS die, a wafer having dies attached thereto, a carrier having dies attached thereto, and a flexible circuit board having dies attached to (Paragraph 0065)
Regarding claim 4, wherein the bonding material comprises at least one selected from a group that comprises: glue, epoxy, adhesive, solder, and photoresist (Paragraph 0065)
Regarding claim 5, the film of HfO2 having at least one aperture exposing a metallic surface of an electrical contact region of the component (Paragraph 0122; surface of the circuit board and the drive circuit are not covered by the protective film)
Regarding claims 7-8, Kakiuchi discloses protective coating (200) on a internal cavity, the protective coating comprising a film of HfO2, ZrO2, TiO2, or a chemically resistant oxide or a nitride as a conformal layer (Figures 2, 11; Paragraphs 0066, 0113)
Chen (‘692) discloses printheads which are formed from a die stack and nozzle palte bonded together including a step of applying a passivation layer by ALD, wherein the passivation layer may comprise HfO-2 (Paragraphs 0033, 0038); and applying a non-wetting layer onto outer surface of a print head Paragraphs 0023, 0033, 0038, Claims 3, 5)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Chen (‘692 and Chen (‘425) into the device of Kakiuchi, for the purpose of reducing defects in the film and preventing nozzles and preventing ink from puddling around nozzles of the print head
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakiuchi et al (U.S. Pub. 2019/0291437) as modified by Chen et al (U.S. Pub. 2018/0281425) and Chen et al (U.S. Pub. 2017/0072692) and further in view of Silverbrook (U.S. Pub. 2002/0191051)
Regarding claim 6, Silverbrook discloses it is known in the art to use gold plated contacts to connect with a circuit board in a print head (Paragraph 0090), therefore it would have been obvious to incorporate gold contacts with the circuit board of Kakiuchi (Kakiuchi: element 121; Paragraph 0073)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Silverbrook into the device of Kakiuchi as modified by Chen (‘425) and Chen (‘692), for the purpose of providing data and power to the print head
Claim(s) 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakiuchi et al (U.S. Pub. 2019/0291437) in view of Chen et al (U.S. Pub. 2018/0281425), Silverbrook (U.S. Pub. 2002/0191051), Sugiura et al (U.S. Pat. 9,604,458) and Chen et al (U.S. Pub. 2017/0072692)
Regarding claim 14, an ink jet print head or member thereof, comprising: a component (Figures 1-2) having at least one internal cavity for printer ink, the at least one internal cavity accessible during materials processing (Abstract; Paragraphs 0047, 0050)
A protective coating (200) on the component and on a surface of the at least one internal cavity, the protective coating comprising a film of HfO2 as a conformal layer (Figures 2, 11; Paragraphs 0066, 0113)
Kakiuchi discloses the protective coating (200) comprising a film having a thickness in a range (Paragraph 0067) and wherein the film has aperture exposing an electrical contact region of the component (Paragraph 0122; surface of the circuit board and the drive circuit are not covered by the protective film)
Sugiura discloses a print head with a circuit board and a plurality of wiring members (Figure 5; Column 3, Lines 51-59), therefore it would be obvious to incorporate a print head with a plurality of wiring members which will include a plurality of apertures of the HfO2 film around the wiring members as disclosed by Kakiuchi (Kakiuchi: Paragraph 0122)
Silverbrook discloses it is known in the art to use gold plated contacts to connect with a circuit board in a print head (Paragraph 0090), therefore it would have been obvious to incorporate gold contacts with the circuit board of Kakiuchi (Kakiuchi: element 121; Paragraph 0073)
Chen (‘425) discloses a film having a thickness in a range that avoids formation of pinholes, thin spots and nodule growth (Paragraph 0021, 0024)
Chen (‘692) discloses printheads which are formed from a die stack and nozzle plate bonded together including a step of applying a passivation layer by ALD, wherein the passivation layer may comprise HfO-2 (Paragraphs 0033, 0038); and applying a non-wetting layer onto outer surface of a print head Paragraphs 0023, 0033, 0038, Claims 3, 5)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sugiura, Silverbrook, Chen (‘692) and Chen (‘425) into the device of Kakiuchi, for the purpose of reducing defects in the film and preventing nozzles and preventing ink from puddling around nozzles of the print head
Regarding claim 15, wherein the thickness of the film of protective coating is between 10 nm and 50 nm, inclusive (Paragraph 0067)
Regarding claim 16, the component includes at least one from a group consisting of: multiple members bonded together with a bonding material, a portion of thermoset, a MEMS die, a wafer having dies attached thereto, a carrier having dies attached thereto, and a flexible circuit board having dies attached to (Paragraph 0065)
Regarding claim 17, wherein the bonding material comprises at least one selected from a group that comprises: glue, epoxy, adhesive, solder, and photoresist (Paragraph 0065)
Regarding claim 18, Kakiuchi discloses protective coating (200) on a internal cavity, the protective coating comprising a film of HfO2, ZrO2, TiO2, or a chemically resistant oxide or a nitride as a conformal layer (Figures 2, 11; Paragraphs 0066, 0113)
Chen (‘692) discloses printheads which are formed from a die stack and nozzle plate bonded together including a step of applying a passivation layer by ALD, wherein the passivation layer may comprise HfO-2 (Paragraphs 0033, 0038); and applying a non-wetting layer onto outer surface of a print head Paragraphs 0023, 0033, 0038, Claims 3, 5)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sugiura, Silverbrook, Chen (‘692) and Chen (‘425) into the device of Kakiuchi, for the purpose of reducing defects in the film and preventing nozzles and preventing ink from puddling around nozzles of the print head
Conclusion
/JASON S UHLENHAKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 February 25, 2026