DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a final office action in response to the amendment filed 23 October 2025. Claims 1-18 have been amended. Claims 1-18 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to claims 1-18 has been entered.
Applicant’s amendment is insufficient to overcome the pending 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection. the rejection remains pending and is updated below, as necessitated by amendment.
Applicant’s amendment is insufficient to overcome the pending 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection. The rejection remains pending and is updated below, as necessitated by amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the pending 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection have been fully considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendment to the claims because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references used in the current rejection detailed below.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the pending 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that the claims are no directed to an abstract idea because “the present invention allows for providing real-time updates to part cost estimations without the delays associated with conventional quoting approaches” in a manner that is beyond conventional and provides a practical application because the limitations are “directed to underlying technology and interaction between associated technical components with enable real-time part production analytics not achievable by conventional techniques.” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
While the amended claim limitations are directed to analyzing real-time data for an improved business process, the claim amendments are part of the abstract idea itself. The recited limitations for providing a graphical user interface with interface elements for obtaining and displaying part planning information real-time do not meaningfully limit the abstract idea by providing a practical application or improvement to the underlying data collection, processing, and displaying technologies used to implement the recited abstract idea of collecting, analyzing, and displaying manufacturing data. While the claims include limitations broadly related to user interaction with a graphical user interface, the recited limitations are data gathering and display steps that are analogous to those of ineligible Claim 2 of Example 40 wherein the claims are directed to data gathering steps that automate the comparison of data without significantly more than the recited insignificant extra solution activity and instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The recitation of the computer screen for displaying and the processor for extracting and analyzing data is insufficient to transform the exception into a patentable invention. The recited abstract idea is implemented using generic computer components performing generic computer functions at a high level of generality. To the extent that Applicant relies on providing the claimed “manufacturing data” in “real-time” as the practical application, Applicant is reminded that in most cases, relying on a computer to perform routine tasks more quickly or more accurately is insufficient to render a claim patent eligible. As a result, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection is proper and maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of collecting manufacturing data, processing it, and displaying the results, without significantly more. Independent claim 1 recites a system for providing real-time feedback for injection molded part planning and return on investment optimization.
Claim 1 recites the following limitations:
a first user interface element for obtaining part production information;
a second user interface element for obtaining part geometry information;
a third user interface element for obtaining part composition information;
a fourth user interface element displaying at least one of a cost per part estimate and a tooling cost estimate, the cost per part estimate and tooling cost estimate determined based on the information obtained from the first, second and third user interface elements;
a fifth user interface element displaying a projected cost as a function of projected part production lifespan for each of a plurality of different cavity options and/or a projected cost savings as a function of projected part production lifespan for a plurality of different cavity options, wherein each different cavity option provides a different number of parts per cycle during a manufacturing process; and
wherein obtaining new information via at least one of the first, second, and third user interface elements, results in displaying, in real-time, up to date estimated part cost information in the fourth, and fifth user interface elements;
a production analysis module operable to: automatically receive part information obtained via the display module;
automatically interface with real-time manufacturing data sources to extract production analytics information for cost estimation projections, wherein the production analytics information comprises at least one of market prices associated with materials, current and/or expected availability of manufacturer presses, capacity at which manufacturer presses are operating, or current and/or expected costs associated with manufacturer presses; and
automatically combine the part information received via the display module with the real-time manufacturing data to generate the estimated part cost information being displayed via the display module.
Under Step 1, independent claim 1 recites at least one step or act, including a step to receive part information. Thus the claims fall within one of the statutory categories of invention.
Under Step 2A Prong One, the limitations of claim 1 for receiving manufacturing data, and part information, and combining the part information and manufacturing data to generate the estimated part cost information for display via the display module, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, falls within the fundamental economic practices of certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract concepts because determining estimated cost information and part production bill of materials and related supply chain information is a form of economic activity by managing commercial transactions related to order fulfillment and procurement. Narrowing of commercial transactions to particular types of relationships or particular parts of that commercial transaction (e.g. order fulfillment) would not render the concept less abstract. Further, the recited limitations for receiving data and combining data sets for business decision making, reasonably fall within the metal processes grouping of abstract ideas because a project manager could obtain the manufacturing and part information to compile estimated part cost information using a pen and paper. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The steps for receiving manufacturing data and part information to extract production analytics information for cost estimation projections and display of combined data sets amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity because the receipt of data and display of processed data does not meaningfully limit the abstract idea. Steps for displaying and receiving data amount to mere data gathering because they merely provide input for the recited data processing steps, and thus constitute insignificant extra solution activity.
Under Step 2A Prong Two the judicial exception of claim 1 is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claimed computing system and graphical user interface are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor and display device for performing generic computer functions) and amount to no more than tools used to implement to recited data retrieval, processing, and display steps. See MPEP 2106.05(f). For example, Applicant’s specification at paragraph [0078-0082] states: “According to specific embodiments, at least some of the features or functionalities of the various embodiments disclosed herein may be implemented on one or more general-purpose computers associated with one or more networks, such as for example an end-user computer system, a client computer, a network server or other server system … CPU 12 may include one or more processors … the term "processor" is not limited merely to those integrated circuits referred to in the art as a processor, a mobile processor, or a microprocessor, but broadly refers to a microcontroller, a microcomputer, a programmable logic controller, an application-specific integrated circuit, and any other programmable circuit.” The Specification does not provide additional details about the computer system that would distinguish it from any generic processing devices that communicate with one another in a network environment. The interface is also recited at a high level of generality with the only required function of displaying, which is a generic function of interfaces. Adding generic computer components to perform generic functions, such as data gathering, performing calculations, and outputting a result would not transform the claim into eligible subject matter. See MPEP 2106.05(h). Here, there is no claimed improvement to technology or a technical field. Real-time customizable outputs are not technical improvements. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
he recited limitations are data gathering and display steps that are analogous to those of ineligible Claim 2 of Example 40 wherein the claims are directed to data gathering steps that automate the comparison of data without significantly more than the recited insignificant extra solution activity and instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The recitation of the computer screen for displaying and the processor for extracting and analyzing data is insufficient to transform the exception into a patentable invention. The recited abstract idea is implemented using generic computer components performing generic computer functions at a high level of generality. To the extent that Applicant relies on providing the claimed “manufacturing data” in “real-time” as the practical application, Applicant is reminded that in most cases, relying on a computer to perform routine tasks more quickly or more accurately is insufficient to render a claim patent eligible.
Under Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of a processor and storage device amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component which cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05.
Dependent claims 2-18 include the abstract idea of independent claim 1. The limitations of the dependent claims merely narrow the mental process/method of organizing human activity by describing the type of data received, processed, and displayed. The limitations of the dependent claims are not integrated into a practical application because none of the additional elements set forth any limitations that meaningfully limit the abstract idea implementation. There are no additional elements that transform the claim into a patent eligible idea by amounting to significantly more. The analysis above applies to all statutory categories of invention. Accordingly, claims 1 through 18 are ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King et al. (US 2022/0214668), in view of Philpott (US 2005/0120010), and in further view of McNamara et al. (US 2020/0065759).
Regarding Amended Claim 1, King et al. discloses a computing system for providing real-time feedback for injection molded part planning and return on investment optimization, the computing system comprising: ( a system is provided. The system can comprise a memory that can store computer executable components. The system can also comprise a processor, operably coupled to the memory, that can execute the computer executable components stored in the memory. The computer executable components can comprise a user interface component that can generate a manufacturability report regarding a product design in relation to a manufacturing process. King et al. [para. 0004-0006]. … non-limiting user interface components that can be employed to generate manufacturability reports, cost reports, collaboration displays, and/or tracking reports regarding one or more manufacturing quotes. King et al. [para. 0010, 0029, 0032, 0035; Fig. 1, 4]. … one or more entities can interact with the user interface component 110 to view, and/or otherwise receive, one or more outputs of the server 102. King et al. [para. 0042]. … FIG. 11 depicts … example manufacturability score 1104 (e.g., also generated by the manufacturability component 508) in which an injection molding (“IM”) manufacturing technique is employed. King et al. [para. 0101, 0124, 0194; Fig. 11, 15]);
a display module operable to display a graphical user interface comprising: a first user interface element for obtaining part production information; a second user interface element for obtaining part geometry information; a third user interface element for obtaining part composition information; a fourth user interface element displaying at least one of a cost per part estimate and a tooling cost estimate, the cost per part estimate and tooling cost estimate determined based on the information obtained from the first, second and third user interface elements; (… outputs can include, but are not limited to: insights regarding the given product design, a manufacturability analysis, an expected tolerance prediction, pre-production information and/or communications, technical information regarding the given part and/or part batches, manufacturing status of the given part, geometric measurements of the given part, three-dimensional (“3D”) scans of the given part, historical record of manufacturing requests, historical record of manufactured parts, price and purchase terms, distribution logistics, tracking information, cost analysis, a combination thereof, and/or the like. King et al. [para. 0042, 0106-0111]. … an entity can employ one or more input devices 106 to select one or more manufacturing characteristics, and thereby define various considerations of the manufacturing process (e.g., such as manufacturing technique, manufacturing locations, material selection, finish selection, tolerance selection, quantity selection, a combination thereof, and/or the like in accordance with the various embodiments described herein). King et al. [para. 0201-0203]);
While King et al. discloses a user interface to generate manufacturability reports, cost reports, collaboration displays, and/or tracking reports regarding one or more manufacturing quotes. King et al. [para. 0010, 0029, 0032; Fig. 1, 4]); , King et al. fails to explicitly disclose a fifth user interface element displaying a projected cost as a function of projected part production lifespan for each of a plurality of different cavity options and/or a projected cost savings as a function of projected part production lifespan for a plurality of different cavity options, wherein each different cavity option provides a different number of parts per cycle during a manufacturing process. Philpott et al. discloses this limitation. (… a design function 101 within an enterprise 100 uses a three-dimensional computer-aided design (CAD) system 102 to design a new manufacturable component. The design function 101 uses a design interface 109 of a costing system 104, in real time, to determine the most cost-effective method of producing the new manufacturable component. The system 104 may be used feature by feature, as the design function 101 designs the part; and cost estimates can be automatically computed within a second or two. … the embodiment of FIG. 1 provides a seamless integration of cost throughout the enterprise, encompassing the whole product life cycle from concept to disposal. It provides the enterprise with a fully integrated part and assembly model specification that contains embedded cost information that may be accessed and updated, all the way from design conception to manufacture, service, and disposal of the product. Philpott et al. [para. 0043-0046, 0078-0085, 0088-0090]. … The Cost Summary window shows the new or current cost in dollars per part and identifies the recommended process routing…. An embodiment according to the invention extracts cost drivers, applies mechanistic process models, computes all possible process routings, and rapidly presents new costs to the user. The user may select the lowest cost option to be displayed or may select a specific process routing. … FIG. 5 shows a screen display of the cycle time window, selectable from the costing dialog box 430 of FIG. 4, … Cycle Time 543 is the time in minutes that the machine takes to complete one part. … In some cases, the number of features is the cost driver (such as number of holes, edges, and different types of bends, etc.); and in other cases, measurable parameters of the feature may be a cost driver (such as perimeter length, part volume, surface area, etc.). In an embodiment according to the invention, feature extraction algorithms distinguish true manufacturing features--that is, features that directly effect cycle time and cost computation. Philpott et al. [para. 0062-0071]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of data management and part manufacturing and production management before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data displayed in the interface element of King et al. to include displaying at least one of a projected cost as a function of elapsed time for each of a plurality of different cavity options and a projected cost savings as a function of elapsed time for a plurality of different cavity options as disclosed by Philpott et al. to assists a designer to find the optimum routing to produce a given design, as design features are changed (Philpott et al. [para. 0016]), because the references are in the same field of invention and the combination would yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time.
wherein obtaining new information via at least one of the first, second, and third user interface elements, results in displaying, in real-time, up to date estimated part cost information in the fourth and fifth user interface elements. (… the cost component 1208 can determine a relationship between one or more product features included in the digital product design and the cost of the manufacturing quote, and the variable feature component 1202 can present the relationship in the cost report 314. … the one or more cost displays generated by the variable manufacturing component 1204 can be interactive (e.g., manipulated) via the one or more input devices 106. …altering one or more manufacturing details can alter the material cost, number of manufacturing operations, required manufacturing equipment, energy and/or labor requirements, shipping costs, a combination thereof, and/or the like; thereby altering the total cost of the manufacturing cost. King et al. [para. 0114-0115]).
a production analysis module operable to: automatically receive part information obtained via the display module; (… the one or more input devices 106 can be employed to enter various inputs into the system 100, which can be analyzed by the computation component 112. King et al. [para. 0037] … the one or more entities can interact with the user interface component 110 to view, and/or otherwise receive, one or more outputs of the server 102. King et al. [para. 0041-0042, 0179]. … auxiliary data sources 132 can be employed by the system 100 to collect and/or store auxiliary data 128. King et al. [para. 0050, 0108 (cost input values based on auxiliary data)]);
While Philpott et al. discloses real-time interaction with an active CAD session for business logic determination for real-time estimates (Philpott et al. [para. 0085; Fig. 21]), King et al. and Philpott et al. combined fail to explicitly disclose automatically interface with real-time manufacturing data sources to extract production analytics information for cost estimation projections. McNamara et al. discloses this limitation. ( … automated systems for product management and particularly to automated platforms for designing, manufacturing, supplying, distributing, and maintaining products. McNamara et al. [para. 0002, 0052 (automatic, without human input)]. … The resource management and reporting system can include three resource management computational layers, … and real-time information reporting layer. McNamara et al. [para. 0009-0014]. … A cost monitoring module can monitor long term contract and spot market prices and/or costs on a selected object, such as materials and/or parts and/or components and/or products, labor, physical facilities (rental and/or purchase prices), transportation or shipment. McNamara et al. [para. 0017-0021]. … a real-time information reporting system operable to provide, over an untrusted network, enterprise and/or supply chain information received from the physical infrastructure and end-to-end services reporting systems to one or more client communication devices. McNamara et al. [para. 0032, 0112-0114; Fig. 1, 3]. … The network accessible third party information source(s) 224 include any source of information relevant to supply chain and logistic tier members, raw materials, intermediate and end products and services, operations, and performance, including, without limitation, news sources and/or aggregators. McNamara et al. [para. 0129-0130]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of data management and part manufacturing and production management before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data retrieval and extraction functions of King et al. and Philpott et al. combined to include automatically interface with real-time manufacturing data sources to extract production analytics information for cost estimation projections as disclosed by McNamara et al. for managing, displaying, analyzing, coordinating, and optimizing innovation, engineering, manufacturing, and logistics infrastructures (McNamara et al. [para. 0008]), because the references are in the same field of invention and the combination would yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time.
wherein the production analytics information comprises at least one of market prices associated with materials, current and/or expected availability of manufacturer presses, capacity at which manufacturer presses are operating, or current and/or expected costs associated with manufacturer presses; and (… the auxiliary data 128 can include the availability of one or more shipping carriers with regards to the defined shipping route … another example, the auxiliary data 128 can include market reports (e.g., international and/or regional) regarding the availability and/or cost of materials, labor, and/or energy. … the cost component 1208 can analyze the auxiliary data 128 for indications regarding whether the manufacturing facility 130 executing the manufacturing quote is located in a region experiencing a supply shortage of the material. King et al. [para. 0108-0112]);
automatically combine the part information received via the display module with the real-time manufacturing data to generate the estimated part cost information being displayed via the display module. (… the cost report component 404 can generate the one or more cost reports 314 based on one or more determinations by the computation component 112. … the one or more cost reports 314 generated by the cost report component 404 can be interactive via the one or more input devices 106 to display costs as a function of multiple different manufacturing details. King et al. [para. 0059-0062]. … cost inputs considered by the cost component 1208 can include, but are not limited to: engineering costs, management and/or administrative costs, equipment costs, labor costs, material costs, transportation costs, storage costs, warehousing costs, energy costs, overhead costs, manufacturing facilities 130 costs, maintenance costs, a combination thereof, and/or the like. King et al. [para. 0106, 0114-0115, 0179-0180]. … the collaboration component 406 can generate the collaboration display by aggregating outputs from the manufacturability report component 402, cost report component 404, manufacturing component 508, and/or cost component 1208 regarding the new manufacturing quote. Thus, the one or more collaboration displays generated by the collaboration component 406 can include the various features of the manufacturability report component 402, cost report component 404, manufacturing component 508, and/or cost component 1208 King et al. [para. 0142-0143]).
Regarding Amended Claim 2, King et al. and Philpott et al. combined disclose a computing system, wherein the part production information comprises at least one of a part quantity, a part production lifetime, and a projected number of cavities to be used for part production. (Additionally, the one or more manufacturing details can include: a desired order quantity, desired fulfillment time, a desired fulfillment location (e.g., where to ship the manufactured product), a desired fulfillment date, a preferred shipping method, a combination thereof, and/or the like. King et al. [para. 0067]. … The manufacturability component 508 can identify a manufacturing challenge where the digital product designs require internal voids or cavities where the chosen manufacturing technique requires the deposition of continuous material. King et al. [para. 0077-0084]).
Regarding Amended Claim 3, King et al. and Philpott et al. combined disclose a computing system, wherein the part geometry information comprises at least one of part dimensions, part volume, part wall thickness, and part profile area. (Example data that can be included in the order data 126 can include, but is not limited to: digital models of product designs (e.g., characterizing the product's size, shape, volume, color, and/or the like), required tolerances for the part or for specific features on the part, surface finish, post processing requirements or instructions, quality requirements. … Example types of data that can be included in the part data 126 can include, but are not limited to: product identification numbers, product dimensions, … material type, surface finish, required tolerance, measured tolerance, method of measurement and/or inspection, a combination thereof, and/or the like. King et al. [para. 0048-0050, 0065]).
Regarding Amended Claim 4, King et al. and Philpott et al. combined disclose a computing system, wherein the part geometry information is automatically extracted from a part file uploaded through the second user interface element. (The digital representation can be in the form of one or more computer aided design (“CAD”) files, three-dimensional models, point clouds, two-dimensional graphics or drawings, or other types of information known to those skilled in the art. King et al. [para. 0035, 0159]. … The manufacturability component 508 can analyze the geometry, dimensions, size, location, and/or spacing of the various features defined in the digital product design. … In one or more embodiments, the manufacturability component 508 can analyze the location, depth, contour, and/or angle of one or more holes defined by the digital product design in relation to one or more of the manufacturing details. King et al. [para. 0079-0081]).
Regarding Amended Claim 5, King et al. and Philpott et al. combined disclose a computing system, wherein part composition information comprises at least one of part material, part coating, material color, part texture, and material additives. (… the information provided via the one or more input devices 106 can also include other types of information about the design or the physical product that is intended to result from the design, such as material type, color, or associations with other types of information related to the design and manufacturing of the part or parts. King et al. [para. 0035, 0041, 0048, 0083-0084 (additive manufacturing techniques)]).
Regarding Amended Claim 6, King et al. and Philpott et al. combined disclose a computing system, wherein the part material comprises at least one of a house material, a standard material and a custom material. (… inputs entered into the system 100 via the one or more input devices 106, product material data (e.g., types of materials used in the product along with the physical and/or chemical properties of the materials). King et al. [para. 0048-0050]).
Regarding Amended Claim 7, King et al. and Philpott et al. combined disclose a computing system, wherein the third user interface element displays at least one of part material cost, part coating cost, material color cost, part texture cost, and material additive cost. (… the manufacturability report 312 can include manufacturing details such as, for example, the type of manufacturing process, material, color, shipping details, strength requirements, tolerance requirements, size requirements, and/or finish requirements to be employed in manufacturing the given digital product design. … the one or more cost reports 314 generated by the cost report component 404 can be interactive via the one or more input devices 106 to display costs as a function of multiple different manufacturing details. King et al. [para. 0052, 0059-0063]).
Regarding Amended Claim 8, King et al. and Philpott et al. combined disclose a computing system, wherein the lifetime part cost analysis information comprises at least one of a recommended number of cavities and a plurality of projected costs, each of the plurality of projected costs associated with a different number of cavities. (… non-limiting computer-implemented method regarding an analysis of the cost of one or more digital product designs in conjunction with one or more manufacturing details. King et al. [para. 0024, 0052; Fig. 25]. … the one or more cost reports 314 generated by the cost report component 404 can be interactive via the one or more input devices 106 to display costs as a function of multiple different manufacturing details. King et al. [para. 0062]. … The manufacturability component 508 can identify a manufacturing challenge where the digital product designs require internal voids or cavities where the chosen manufacturing technique requires the deposition of continuous material. King et al. [para. 0078]. … the manufacturability component 508 can further generate one or more recommendations. The recommendations can identify, for example, specific features that should be altered to make the product manufacturable, to avoid potential defects, and/or to achieve desired tolerances. King et al. [para. 0087-0089, 0108-0110]).
Regarding Amended Claim 9, King et al. and Philpott et al. combined disclose a computing system, wherein the recommended number of cavities is associated with a projected minimum lifetime cost. (… the cost component 1208 can determine a relationship between one or more product features included in the digital product design and the cost of the manufacturing quote, and the variable feature component 1202 can present the relationship in the cost report 314. For instance, removing one or more features can alter the material cost, number of manufacturing operations, required manufacturing equipment, energy and/or labor requirements, a combination thereof, and/or the like; thereby altering the total cost of the manufacturing cost. By enabling an entity to analyze the product design as a function of total cost, the entity can finalize a product design that optimizes the intended function in view of one or more cost considerations. King et al. [para. 0114-0116, 0119-0122]).
Regarding Amended Claim 10, King et al. and Philpott et al. combined disclose a computing system, wherein the tooling factors comprise at least one of lead time, mold length, mold width, mold size, and estimated delivery date. (the data included in the one or more data repositories 108 can include one or more references tables regarding manufacturing conditions (e.g., lead times, energy requirements, machining employed, tolerance values achieved) associated with one or more manufacturing processes and/or techniques. King et al. [para. 0051-0052]. … Additionally, the one or more manufacturing details can include: a desired order quantity, desired fulfillment time, a desired fulfillment location (e.g., where to ship the manufactured product), a desired fulfillment date, a preferred shipping method, a combination thereof, and/or the like. King et al. [para. 0067]. …the tracking component 2102 can generate one or more tracking displays regarding the progress of a manufacturing quote and/or the lead time associated with a manufacturing quote. King et al. [para. 0178]).
Regarding Amended Claim 11, King et al. and Philpott et al. combined disclose a computing system, wherein the material factors comprise part mass or weight, projected material mass or weight needed, projected material cost, and projected packaging cost. (Example data that can be included in the order data 126 can include, but is not limited to: … product material data (e.g., types of materials used in the product along with the physical and/or chemical properties of the materials). King et al. [para. 0048-0050, 0106 (cost data), 0120-0121]. … the manufacturability report 312 can include a summary of manufacturing details paired with one or more digital product designs. As shown in FIG. 3, the manufacturability report 312 can include manufacturing details such as, for example, the type of manufacturing process, material, color, shipping details, strength requirements, tolerance requirements, size requirements, and/or finish requirements to be employed in manufacturing the given digital product design. King et al. [para. 0059]. … , the one or more manufacturing details can include post processing instructions such as: assembly instructions, packaging instructions, painting instructions, polishing instructions, heat treatment instructions, a combination thereof, and/or the like. King et al. [para. 0067-0068]. … third example cost display 1404 (e.g., generated by cost component 1208 and depicted in the second example cost report 314b by at least variable manufacturing component 1204) can be a function of manufacturing material cost versus manufacturing material type. King et al. [para. 0121-0122]).
Regarding Amended Claim 12, King et al. and Philpott et al. combined disclose a computing system, wherein the material factors comprise at least one material factor displayed as a per year value. (… the one or more reference tables of the data repositories 108 can include attributes related to the cost of a product such as labor cost, machine cost, material usage, material waste, and the like. … the computation component 112 can further employ one or more machine learning models to identify one or more trends from the data of the one or more data repositories 108. King et al. [para. 0052-0053]. … one or more of the cost inputs can vary as the product quantity, product features, and/or manufacturing details vary, where the cost component 1208 can determine and/or track said variations of the cost inputs. King et al. [para. 0106-0107]. … the tracking component 2102 can generate one or more tracking displays that include member activity over a defined period of time (e.g., a defined period of days, months, and/or years)…. the tracking component 2102 can track and/or record a list of products (e.g., previously manufactured and/or currently being manufactured), orders, manufacturability reports 312 (e.g., previously manufactured and/or currently being manufactured), and/or cost reports 314 associated with the collaboration group. King et al. [0183-0184, 0187]).
Regarding Amended Claim 13, King et al. and Philpott et al. combined disclose a computing system, wherein the labor factors comprise at least one of cycle time, projected press run time, minimum press force requirement, projected press cost rate, projected total press cost, and projected press labor cost. (… the one or more reference tables of the data repositories 108 can include attributes related to the cost of a product such as labor cost, machine cost, material usage, material waste, and the like. … the one or more reference tables of the data repositories 108 can include attributes related to the cost of a product such as labor cost, machine cost, material usage, material waste, and the like. King et al. [para. 0052-0053]. … cost inputs considered by the cost component 1208 can include, but are not limited to: engineering costs, management and/or administrative costs, equipment costs, labor costs, material costs, transportation costs, storage costs, warehousing costs, energy costs, overhead costs, manufacturing facilities 130 costs, maintenance costs, a combination thereof, and/or the like. King et al. [para. 0106-0107]. … the cost component 1208 can define the cost of the part as a function of the order quantity by considering, for instance, the batch size, cycle time, cost of machine time, consumables, and/or assumed yield loss. King et al. [para. 0109]).
Regarding Amended Claim 14, King et al. and Philpott et al. combined disclose a computing system, wherein the labor factors comprise at least one labor factor displayed as a per year value. (the computation component 112 can further employ one or more machine learning models to identify one or more trends from the data of the one or more data repositories 108. King et al. [para. 0052-0053]. … one or more of the cost inputs can vary as the product quantity, product features, and/or manufacturing details vary, where the cost component 1208 can determine and/or track said variations of the cost inputs. King et al. [para. 0106-0107]. … the tracking component 2102 can generate one or more tracking displays that include member activity over a defined period of time (e.g., a defined period of days, months, and/or years)…. the tracking component 2102 can track and/or record a list of products (e.g., previously manufactured and/or currently being manufactured), orders, manufacturability reports 312 (e.g., previously manufactured and/or currently being manufactured), and/or cost reports 314 associated with the collaboration group. King et al. [0183-0184, 0187]).
Regarding Amended Claim 15, King et al. and Philpott et al. combined disclose a computing system, wherein the estimated annual part cost comprises a sum of material and labor costs relative to a projected years of part production. (… the one or more reference tables of the data repositories 108 can include attributes related to the cost of a product such as labor cost, machine cost, material usage, material waste, and the like. King et al. [para. 0052-0053]. … one or more of the cost inputs can vary as the product quantity, product features, and/or manufacturing details vary, where the cost component 1208 can determine and/or track said variations of the cost inputs. King et al. [para. 0106-0107]. … the tracking component 2102 can generate one or more tracking displays that include member activity over a defined period of time (e.g., a defined period of days, months, and/or years)…. the tracking component 2102 can track and/or record a list of products (e.g., previously manufactured and/or currently being manufactured), orders, manufacturability reports 312 (e.g., previously manufactured and/or currently being manufactured), and/or cost reports 314 associated with the collaboration group. King et al. [0183-0184, 0187]).
Regarding Amended Claim 16, King et al. and Philpott et al. combined disclose a computing system, further comprising an eighth user interface element displaying at least one of tooling costs relative to total part costs, and the sum of material and labor costs relative to total part costs. (… the cost component 1208 can determine a relationship between one or more product features included in the digital product design and the cost of the manufacturing quote, and the variable feature component 1202 can present the relationship in the cost report 314. For instance, removing one or more features can alter the material cost, number of manufacturing operations, required manufacturing equipment, energy and/or labor requirements, a combination thereof, and/or the like; thereby altering the total cost of the manufacturing cost. By enabling an entity to analyze the product design as a function of total cost, the entity can finalize a product design that optimizes the intended function in view of one or more cost considerations. King et al. [para. 0114-0116]).
Regarding Amended Claim 17, King et al. and Philpott et al. combined disclose a computing system, wherein the display of relative costs comprises at least one of a pie chart or bar chart. (The variable manufacturing component 1204 can generate the one or more cost displays that characterize the one or more cost curves as graphs, text, charts, tables, diagrams, bar charts, line graphs, pie charts, a combination thereof, and/or the like. King et al. [para. 0114-0116]).
Regarding Amended Claim 18, King et al. and Philpott et al. combined disclose a computing system, wherein the display of relative costs comprises a display of relative costs for a plurality of different cavity options. (… the cost component 1208 can determine a relationship between one or more product features included in the digital product design and the cost of the manufacturing quote, and the variable feature component 1202 can present the relationship in the cost report 314. For instance, removing one or more features can alter the material cost, number of manufacturing operations, required manufacturing equipment, energy and/or labor requirements, a combination thereof, and/or the like; thereby altering the total cost of the manufacturing cost. By enabling an entity to analyze the product design as a function of total cost, the entity can finalize a product design that optimizes the intended function in view of one or more cost considerations. King et al. [para. 0114-0116]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Bao et al. (US 2022/0343275) - a platform that integrates manufacturing and logistics information, efficiencies and capacity utilization of various providers can be improved. As another example, by providing businesses that operate in the hub's ecosystem with trusted real-time information, efficient process automation can be achieved.
Betsche et al. (US 8,463,422) - injection molding machine with user-specifically monitoring and regulating processing of plastic materials includes a material feed, a plasticizer, and a mold. A process input variable, e.g. cost of the apparatus, raw material, power, and processed quantity, can be inputted with an input device and transmitted to a controller. A process monitoring variable, e.g. the duration of a product cycle, product cost, raw material used/power consumed per product cycle, expected purchase price for a given quantity of a product, and number of product cycles until maintenance, can be determined in real time from a process control variable and/or process input variable.
Lukis et al. (US 2003/0126038) - system provides the customer with a quotation form, that allows the customer to select several parameters, such as number of cavities, surface finish and material, which an independent of the shape of the part. The quotation module then provides the customer with the cost to manufacture the mold or a number of parts. The quotation is based in part upon mold manufacturing time as automatically assessed from the part drawings and based in part on the independent parameters selected by the customer.
Willis et al. (US 5,515,269) - a method utilizing component-to-attribute relationships resulting in a bill of materials documenting the specific structure of the configuration of an end product. Attributes and their values together with option attributes which describe the end product are input to a database. Components are selected to satisfy the specific structure of the configuration of the end product. Part numbers and nomenclature are created to identify the configuration just created. A bill of materials is created to document the specific structure of the end product together with price/cost of the end product.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.G.K/Examiner, Art Unit 3623 /RUTAO WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3623