DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18, 22 and 23 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amendment filed 12/29/2025 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 6-10, 13, 14, 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 11, 12, 15, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al (US 2020/0092794 A1) in view of Kang et al (US 2021/0400562 A1) (hereinafter Kang562) in further view of Baek et al (US 2014/0130137 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches a first network entity (NE) (Kang: Fig. 4: eNB Operator 1) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the first NE to:
Transmit, to at least one user equipment (UE), a broadcasted system information message that indicates support associated with access to a restricted operator service is available at the first NE (Kang: Fig. 4-403; [0066]-[0067]) and
receive, in response to the broadcasted system information message and based on a radio resource control (RRC) connection establishment procedure for access to the restricted operator service, (Kang: Fig. 4:405-409; [0071]-[0072]), wherein:
attach request message includes a restricted operator service attach type (Kang: Fig. 4; [0075]-[0076], [0096]).
Kang does not explicitly disclose the RRCConnectionSetupComplete message includes a first information element corresponding to a non-access stratum (NAS) attach request and a second information element corresponding to a restricted operator service request.
Kang562 teaches the RRCConnectionSetupComplete message includes a first information element corresponding to a non-access stratum (NAS) attach request and a second information element corresponding to a restricted operator service request (Kang562: Claim 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kang wherein the RRCConnectionSetupComplete message includes a first information element corresponding to a non-access stratum (NAS) attach request and a second information element corresponding to a restricted operator service request as disclosed by Kang562 to provide a system for providing operator specific service (Kang: Abstract).
Kang teaches transmitting the NAS to an MME (second NE) (see Fig. 4:411), however Kang does not explicitly disclose restricted operator service request indicates a second first NE dedicated with the restricted operator service: and forward the NAS attach request message to the second NE.
Baek teaches the restricted operator service request indicates a second NE dedicated with the restricted operator service: and forward the NAS attach request message to the second NE (Baek: Figs. 12-14, [0228], restricted service sent to an MME/second NE).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kang in view of Kang562 wherein the restricted operator service request indicates a second NE associated with the restricted operator service: and forward the NAS attach request message to the second NE as disclosed by Baek to provide a system for device-to-device discovery (Baek: Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Kang teaches a method performed by a first network equipment (NE) (Kang: Fig. 4: eNB Operator 1), the method comprising:
transmitting, to at least one user equipment (UE) a broadcasted system information message that indicates support associated with access to a restricted operator service is available at the first NE (Kang: Fig. 4-403; [0066]-[0067]); and
receiving, in response top the broadcasted system information and based on a radio resource control (RRC) connection establishment procedure for access to the restricted operator service, an RRCConnectionSetupComplete message including an attach request message and a restricted operator service request (Kang: Fig. 4:405-409; [0071]-[0072]), wherein:
the attach request message includes a restricted operator service attach type (Kang: Fig. 4; [0075]-[0076], [0096]).
Kang does not explicitly disclose the RRCConnectionSetupComplete message includes a first information element corresponding to a non-access stratum (NAS) attach request and a second information element corresponding to a restricted operator service request.
Kang562 teaches the RRCConnectionSetupComplete message includes a first information element corresponding to a non-access stratum (NAS) attach request and a second information element corresponding to a restricted operator service request (Kang562: Claim 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kang wherein the RRCConnectionSetupComplete message includes a first information element corresponding to a non-access stratum (NAS) attach request and a second information element corresponding to a restricted operator service request as disclosed by Kang562 to provide a system for providing operator specific service (Kang: Abstract).
Kang teaches transmitting the NAS to an MME (second NE) (see Fig. 4:411), however Kang does not explicitly disclose restricted operator service request indicates a second NE dedicated with the restricted operator service: and forward the NAS attach request message to the second NE.
Baek teaches the restricted operator service request indicates a second NE dedicated with the restricted operator service: and forward the NAS attach request message to the second NE (Baek: Figs. 12-14, [0228], restricted service sent to an MME/second NE).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kang in view of Kang562 wherein the restricted operator service request indicates a second NE associated with the restricted operator service: and forward the NAS attach request message to the second NE as disclosed by Baek to provide a system for device-to-device discovery (Baek: Abstract).
Regarding claim 22, Kang teaches a user equipment (UE) (Kang: Fig. 4: UE), for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
receive, from a first network entity (NE) a broadcasted system information message that indicates support associated with access to a restricted operator service (Kang: Fig. 4-403; [0066]-[0067]); and
transmit, in response to the broadcasted system information based on a radio resource control (RRC) connection establishment procedure for access to the restricted operator service (Kang: Fig. 4:405-409; [0071]-[0072]), an RRCConnectionSetupComplete message including an attach request message and a restricted operator service request ((Kang: Fig. 4; [0075]-[0076], [0096]).
Kang does not explicitly disclose the RRCConnectionSetupComplete message includes a first information element corresponding to a non-access stratum (NAS) attach request and a second information element corresponding to a restricted operator service request.
Kang562 teaches the RRCConnectionSetupComplete message includes a first information element corresponding to a non-access stratum (NAS) attach request and a second information element corresponding to a restricted operator service request (Kang562: Claim 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kang wherein the RRCConnectionSetupComplete message includes a first information element corresponding to a non-access stratum (NAS) attach request and a second information element corresponding to a restricted operator service request as disclosed by Kang562 to provide a system for providing operator specific service (Kang: Abstract).
Kang teaches transmitting the NAS to an MME (second NE) (see Fig. 4:411), however Kang does not explicitly disclose restricted operator service request indicates a second NE dedicated with the restricted operator service: and forward the NAS attach request message to the second NE.
Baek teaches the restricted operator service request indicates a second NE dedicated with the restricted operator service: and forward the NAS attach request message to the second NE (Baek: Figs. 12-14, [0228], restricted service sent to an MME/second NE).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kang in view of Kang562 wherein the restricted operator service request indicates a second NE associated with the restricted operator service: and forward the NAS attach request message to the second NE as disclosed by Baek to provide a system for device-to-device discovery (Baek: Abstract).
Regarding claim 23, Kang teaches method performed by a user equipment (UE) (Kang: Fig. 4: UE), comprising:
receiving, from a first network entity (NE) a broadcasted system information message that indicates support associated with access to a restricted operator service (Kang: Fig. 4-403; [0066]-[0067]); and
transmitting, in response to the broadcasted system information based on a radio resource control (RRC) connection establishment procedure for access to the restricted operator service (Kang: Fig. 4:405-409; [0071]-[0072]), an RRCConnectionSetupComplete message including an attach request message and a restricted operator service request ((Kang: Fig. 4; [0075]-[0076], [0096]).
Kang does not explicitly disclose the RRCConnectionSetupComplete message includes a first information element corresponding to a non-access stratum (NAS) attach request and a second information element corresponding to a restricted operator service request.
Kang562 teaches the RRCConnectionSetupComplete message includes a first information element corresponding to a non-access stratum (NAS) attach request and a second information element corresponding to a restricted operator service request (Kang562: Claim 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kang wherein the RRCConnectionSetupComplete message includes a first information element corresponding to a non-access stratum (NAS) attach request and a second information element corresponding to a restricted operator service request as disclosed by Kang562 to provide a system for providing operator specific service (Kang: Abstract).
Kang teaches transmitting the NAS to an MME (second NE) (see Fig. 4:411), however Kang does not explicitly disclose restricted operator service request indicates a second first NE associated with the restricted operator service: and forward the NAS attach request message to the second NE.
Baek teaches the restricted operator service request indicates a second NE associated with the restricted operator service: and forward the NAS attach request message to the second NE (Baek: Figs. 12-14, [0228], restricted service sent to an MME/second NE).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kang in view of Kang562 wherein the restricted operator service request indicates a second NE associated with the restricted operator service: and forward the NAS attach request message to the second NE as disclosed by Baek to provide a system for device-to-device discovery (Baek: Abstract).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Kang teaches wherein the at least of first NE processor is further configured to cause the first NE to: perform the RRC connection establishment procedure using a public land mobile network (PLMN) of a selected cell; and receive information of restricted operator service access to the selected PLMN (Kang: Fig. 1 and 4; [0031], [0071] Operator is a mobile network operator/ PLMN).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Kang teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the first NE to perform the RRC connection establishment procedure in response to receiving an attach request indicating an attachment is for restricted operator service access (Kang: Fig. 4; [0071]-[0076], [0096]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478