DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (EP 3242505 B1, hereinafter “Zhou”) in view of Nambu (JP 2013168730 A).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a method of performing handover of one or more user equipment onboard a vehicle, by a first base station (fig. 4, ¶ [0047], the communication device may be a base station. The communication device includes a baseband apparatus 411 and multiple radio frequency apparatuses 412) comprising a distributed unit (411 of fig. 4) and at least one radio unit (figs. 2-6, ¶ [0038], a communications system that provides a wireless service for a user on a train. As shown in FIG. 2, a radio frequency apparatus 231 and a radio frequency apparatus 232 jointly provide coverage for a cell Cell 1, and a radio frequency apparatus 233 and a radio frequency apparatus 234 jointly provide coverage for a cell Cell 2. ¶ [0045], when the train arrives at a station (an intermediate station or a destination station), a terminal on the train may be handed over to another cell. Afterwards, when the train is restarted, a new cell is used to provide a service for the train. In addition, before arriving at a next station, the foregoing solution continues to be used, so as to ensure service quality of the terminal on the train. ¶ [0047], the communications device may be a base station. The communications device includes a baseband apparatus and multiple radio frequency apparatuses 412, where the radio frequency apparatuses 412. ¶ [0048]-¶ [0049]), the method comprising: determining, by the distributed unit, location information of vehicle (fig. 5, ¶ [0053], obtain movement information of the terminal cluster and position information of the terminal cluster. ¶ [0055], the position information may be absolute position information of the terminal cluster. The terminal cluster is a terminal cluster located on a vehicle (such as a train). Therefore, the position information may be the position information of the vehicle. ¶ [0056], ¶ [0057], the baseband apparatus may obtain the position information of the terminal cluster within the current time period according to transmit power (that is, strength) of uplink signal measurement information that is received by a radio frequency apparatus in the active state at different moments. ¶ [0060] ); performing, by the distributed unit, a forced handover of the one or more user equipment connected to the at least one radio unit from the first base station to a second base station based vehicle movement and location information wherein the second base station is within a proximity of the first vehicle station (figs. 1-4, ¶ [0045], ¶ [0047] ); and deactivating, by the distributed unit, the at least one radio unit for a first time period (¶ [0053], ¶ [0066], ¶ [0067], ¶ [0068], the baseband apparatus is further configured to deactivate a radio frequency apparatus).
Zhou does not explicitly teach the base station onboard the vehicle, comprising the distributed unit onboard the vehicle.
However, Zhou teaches the base station includes a baseband apparatus and multiple radio frequency apparatuses 412 (fig. 4, ¶ [0047]). A baseband apparatus provides an unchanged logical cell, so that the physical cell moves as the terminals/train moves, and the logical cell does not change (figs. 3, 4, ¶ [0039], [0041], For example, a train T1 is corresponding to a cell Cell 1, and a train T2 is corresponding to a cell Cell 2. As the train T1 moves, the cell Cell 1 also moves. That is, a radio frequency apparatus that provides coverage for a terminal on the train T1 is continuously switched, so that physical coverage corresponding to the cell dynamically changes. Similarly, as the train T2 moves, the cell Cell 2 also moves. That is, a radio frequency apparatus that provides coverage for a terminal on the train T2 is continuously switched, so that physical coverage corresponding to the cell dynamically changes. Therefore, in a moving process of a train, a cell does not change. ¶ [0071], In the prior art, a quantity of baseband apparatuses is B×(R÷A), where B indicates a quantity of baseband apparatuses occupied by each cell (Baseband Per Cell), R indicates a quantity of radio frequency apparatuses along a railway, and A indicates a quantity of radio frequency apparatuses required for covering one. In this embodiment of the present invention, because the baseband apparatus is in a one-to-one correspondence with the terminal cluster, a quantity of baseband apparatuses is B×T, where T indicates a quantity of trains simultaneously running on the railway (Train Num). Because a value of R÷A is generally greater than a value of T, a baseband resource can be reduced by using the communication method provided in this embodiment of the present invention. For example, when R=200, B=1, A=5, and T=4, 36 baseband apparatuses may be reduced. In other words, one baseband apparatus per train per logical cell that moves with the train. ¶ [0047], ¶ [0050]-¶ [0053], ¶ [0057]. ¶ [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that base station comprising the distributed unit is onboard the vehicle.
Zhou does not explicitly teach at least one radio unit onboard vehicle; determining location information of at least one radio unit onboard the vehicle; determining a distance to a first vehicle station based on the location information of the at least one radio unit onboard the vehicle; performing a forced handover of the one or more user equipment connected to the at least one radio unit from the first base station to a second base station based on the determined distance.
Nambu teaches determining location information of at least one radio unit onboard the vehicle (page 3, In the mobile station 200, the position information 211 calculates the position of the train 103a. The position information unit 211 sends the generated position information of the train 103a to the on-board device control unit 213… In the ground control apparatus 101, the base station reception unit 111 receives the position information of the train 103a transmitted from the base station 102a.); determining a distance to a handover point based on the location information of the at least one radio unit onboard the vehicle (page 3-4, in the handover determining unit 114, the current position information of the train 103a, the past position information of the train 103a, and the handover point are periodically compared, and the distance between the train 103a and the handover point are periodically compared); performing a forced handover of the one or more user equipment connected to the at least one radio unit from the first base station to a second base station based on the determined distance (page 4, if it is determined that the distance between the train 103a and the handover point is approaching a predetermined value or less, the channel control unit 115 informs the corresponding terminal of the radio of the handover destination base station 102b…the base station transmitter 116 transmits the handover information to the base station 102a and the base station 102b).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to perform a forced handover of the one or more user equipment connected to the at least one radio unit from the first base station to a second base station based on a distance, determined using location information of at least one radio unit onboard the vehicle, between the vehicle and the second base station approaching a predetermined value or less in the system of Zhou to further enhance system efficiency and reliability.
Regarding claim 2, Zhou in view of Nambu teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising activating, by the distributed unit onboard the vehicle, the at least one radio unit onboard the vehicle after the first time period (Zhou: ¶ [0054], ¶ [0059]-¶ [0069]).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou teaches a first base station for performing a handover of one or more user equipment on a vehicle (figs. 2-6, ¶ [0038], a communications system that provides a wireless service for a user on a train. As shown in FIG. 2, a radio frequency apparatus 231 and a radio frequency apparatus 232 jointly provide coverage for a cell Cell 1, and a radio frequency apparatus 233 and a radio frequency apparatus 234 jointly provide coverage for a cell Cell 2. ¶ [0045], when the train arrives at a station (an intermediate station or a destination station), a terminal on the train may be handed over to another cell. Afterwards, when the train is restarted, a new cell is used to provide a service for the train. In addition, before arriving at a next station, the foregoing solution continues to be used, so as to ensure service quality of the terminal on the train. ¶ [0047], the communications device may be a base station. The communications device includes a baseband apparatus and multiple radio frequency apparatuses 412, where the radio frequency apparatuses 412. ¶ [0048]-¶ [0049]), the first base station comprising: a plurality of radio units, each radio unit of the plurality of radio units being connected to the one or more user equipment on the vehicle (figs. 2-6); and a distributed unit connected to the plurality of radio units (fig. 4), wherein the distributed unit is configured to: determine location information of the vehicle (fig. 5, ¶ [0053], obtain movement information of the terminal cluster and position information of the terminal cluster. ¶ [0055], the position information may be absolute position information of the terminal cluster. The terminal cluster is a terminal cluster located on a vehicle (such as a train). Therefore, the position information may be the position information of the vehicle. ¶ [0056], ¶ [0057], the baseband apparatus may obtain the position information of the terminal cluster within the current time period according to transmit power (that is, strength) of uplink signal measurement information that is received by a radio frequency apparatus in the active state at different moments. ¶ [0060] ); perform a forced handover of the one or more user equipment connected to the first radio unit from the first base station to a second base station based on the determined vehicle movement and location information, wherein the second base station ss within a proximity of the first vehicle station (figs. 1-4, ¶ [0045], ¶ [0047]); and deactivate the plurality of radio units on the vehicle for a first time period (¶ [0053], ¶ [0066], ¶ [0067], ¶ [0068], the baseband apparatus is further configured to deactivate a radio frequency apparatus).
Zhou does not explicitly teach the base station onboard a vehicle including the distributed unit onboard the vehicle.
However, Zhou teaches the base station includes a baseband apparatus and multiple radio frequency apparatuses 412 (fig. 4, ¶ [0047]). A baseband apparatus provides an unchanged logical cell, so that the physical cell moves as the terminals/train moves, and the logical cell does not change (figs. 3, 4, ¶ [0039], [0041], For example, a train T1 is corresponding to a cell Cell 1, and a train T2 is corresponding to a cell Cell 2. As the train T1 moves, the cell Cell 1 also moves. That is, a radio frequency apparatus that provides coverage for a terminal on the train T1 is continuously switched, so that physical coverage corresponding to the cell dynamically changes. Similarly, as the train T2 moves, the cell Cell 2 also moves. That is, a radio frequency apparatus that provides coverage for a terminal on the train T2 is continuously switched, so that physical coverage corresponding to the cell dynamically changes. Therefore, in a moving process of a train, a cell does not change. ¶ [0071], In the prior art, a quantity of baseband apparatuses is B×(R÷A), where B indicates a quantity of baseband apparatuses occupied by each cell (Baseband Per Cell), R indicates a quantity of radio frequency apparatuses along a railway, and A indicates a quantity of radio frequency apparatuses required for covering one. In this embodiment of the present invention, because the baseband apparatus is in a one-to-one correspondence with the terminal cluster, a quantity of baseband apparatuses is B×T, where T indicates a quantity of trains simultaneously running on the railway (Train Num). Because a value of R÷A is generally greater than a value of T, a baseband resource can be reduced by using the communication method provided in this embodiment of the present invention. For example, when R=200, B=1, A=5, and T=4, 36 baseband apparatuses may be reduced. In other words, one baseband apparatus per train per logical cell that moves with the train. ¶ [0047], ¶ [0050]-¶ [0053], ¶ [0057]. ¶ [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the base station including a distributed unit is onboard the vehicle.
Zhou does not explicitly teach a plurality of radio units onboard the vehicle; determining location information of a first radio unit onboard the vehicle; determine a distance to a first vehicle station based on the location information of the first radio unit onboard the vehicle; perform a forced handover of the one or more user equipment connected to the first radio unit from the first base station onboard the vehicle to a second base station based on the determined distance.
Nambu teaches a plurality of radio units onboard the vehicle; determining location information of at least one radio unit onboard the vehicle (page 3, In the mobile station 200, the position information 211 calculates the position of the train 103a. The position information unit 211 sends the generated position information of the train 103a to the on-board device control unit 213… In the ground control apparatus 101, the base station reception unit 111 receives the position information of the train 103a transmitted from the base station 102a.); determining a distance to a handover point based on the location information of the at least one radio unit onboard the vehicle (page 3-4, in the handover determining unit 114, the current position information of the train 103a, the past position information of the train 103a, and the handover point are periodically compared, and the distance between the train 103a and the handover point are periodically compared); performing a forced handover of the one or more user equipment connected to the at least one radio unit from the first base station onboard the vehicle to a second base station based on the determined distance (page 4, if it is determined that the distance between the train 103a and the handover point is approaching a predetermined value or less, the channel control unit 115 informs the corresponding terminal of the radio of the handover destination base station 102b…the base station transmitter 116 transmits the handover information to the base station 102a and the base station 102b).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include a plurality of radio units onboard the vehicle, to perform a forced handover of the one or more user equipment connected to the first radio unit from the first base station to a second base station based on a distance, determined location information of the first radio unit onboard the vehicle, between the vehicle and the second base station approaching a predetermined value or less in the system of Zhou to further enhance system efficiency and reliability.
Regarding claim 6, Zhou in view of Nambu teaches the first base station of claim 5, wherein the plurality of radio units are connected to each other over a first wireless communication network and a second wired communication network, and wherein each radio unit of the plurality of radio units comprises: a first network interface connected to the first wireless communication network; and a second optical interface connected to the second wired communication network (Zhou: fig. 4, ¶ [0047], the communications device includes a baseband apparatus 411 and multiple radio frequency apparatuses 412, where the radio frequency apparatuses 412 are all connected to the baseband apparatus 411. A connection manner of the radio frequency apparatuses 412 and the baseband apparatus 411 may be a wired connection, such as an optical fiber, or may be a wireless connection. The multiple radio frequency apparatuses 412 provide wireless network linear coverage for the terminal cluster 420. ¶ [0048]-¶ [0049]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou in view of Nambu teaches the first base station of claim 6, wherein the deactivation of the plurality of radio units includes deactivation of the first network interface associated with the first wireless communication network of each radio unit of the plurality of radio units (Zhou: fig. 4, ¶ [0047], the multiple radio frequency apparatuses 412 are separately connected to the baseband apparatus 411, and provide wireless network linear coverage for the terminal cluster 420. ¶ [0066], all radio frequency apparatuses need to be kept in the active state, so as to be ready to receive at any moment a signal sent by the terminal cluster, ¶ [0067], ¶ [0068]).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Zhou in view of Nambu teaches the method of claim 1,
Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein the first time period is determined based on dwell time information associated with the first vehicle station.
However, Zhou teaches the time period is determined according to information associated with the vehicle movement speed and a state (moving or stationary) or according to information associated with time used by the vehicle into a coverage area of a radio frequency apparatus to moving out of the coverage area of the radio frequency apparatus (¶ [0054], A specific value of the "time period" and an obtaining manner of the value are not limited in this embodiment of the present invention. Specifically, the specific value of the "time period" may be determined according to information, such as a movement speed of the terminal cluster and a distance between adjacent radio frequency apparatuses on the linear movement route. In addition, the specific value of the "time period" may be determined according to information, such as time used by the terminal cluster from moving into a coverage area of a radio frequency apparatus to moving out of the coverage area of the radio frequency apparatus. ¶ [0055], The "movement information" may include one or more pieces of information, such as a movement direction, a movement speed, and a state (including a moving state and a stationary state) that the terminal cluster is in within a next time period.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to determine the first time period based on dwell time information associated with the first vehicle station in the system of Zhou in view of Nambu. The motivation for doing this is a matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 15, Zhou in view of Nambu teaches the first base station of claim 6, wherein the deactivation of the plurality of radio units includes maintaining activation of the second optical interface associated with the second wired communication network of each radio unit of the plurality of radio units (Zhou: fig. 4, ¶ [0047], the multiple radio frequency apparatuses 412 are separately connected to the baseband apparatus 411, and provide wireless network linear coverage for the terminal cluster 420. A connection manner of the radio frequency apparatuses 412 and the baseband apparatus 411 may be a wired connection, such as an optical fiber, or may be a wireless connection. ¶ [0066], all radio frequency apparatuses need to be kept in the active state, so as to be ready to receive at any moment a signal sent by the terminal cluster. Only target radio frequency apparatus in the target radio frequency apparatus group need to be in the active state within the next timer period, the other radio frequency apparatus may be in an inactive state. ¶ [0067], activating a radio frequency apparatus that in in inactive sate. ¶ [0068]. It is implicit that the radio frequency apparatus in an inactive state maintains a connection of the second optical interface to be selectively activated).
6. Claims 3 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Nambu and Vivanco et al. (US 11,290,928 B1, hereinafter Vivanco”).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou teaches a method of performing handover of one or more user equipment onboard a vehicle, by a first base station comprising at a distributed unit (fig. 4, ¶ [0047]) and least one radio unit (figs. 2-6, ¶ [0038], a communications system that provides a wireless service for a user on a train. As shown in FIG. 2, a radio frequency apparatus 231 and a radio frequency apparatus 232 jointly provide coverage for a cell Cell 1, and a radio frequency apparatus 233 and a radio frequency apparatus 234 jointly provide coverage for a cell Cell 2. ¶ [0045], when the train arrives at a station (an intermediate station or a destination station), a terminal on the train may be handed over to another cell. Afterwards, when the train is restarted, a new cell is used to provide a service for the train. In addition, before arriving at a next station, the foregoing solution continues to be used, so as to ensure service quality of the terminal on the train. ¶ [0047], the communications device may be a base station. The communications device includes a baseband apparatus and multiple radio frequency apparatuses 412, where the radio frequency apparatuses 412. ¶ [0048]-¶ [0049]), the method comprising: determining, by a distributed unit, location information of vehicle (fig. 5, ¶ [0053], obtain movement information of the terminal cluster and position information of the terminal cluster. ¶ [0055], the position information may be absolute position information of the terminal cluster. The terminal cluster is a terminal cluster located on a vehicle (such as a train). Therefore, the position information may be the position information of the vehicle. ¶ [0056], ¶ [0057], the baseband apparatus may obtain the position information of the terminal cluster within the current time period according to transmit power (that is, strength) of uplink signal measurement information that is received by a radio frequency apparatus in the active state at different moments. ¶ [0060] ); performing, by the distributed unit, a forced handover of the one or more user equipment connected to the at least one radio unit from the first base station to a second base station based vehicle movement and location information wherein the second base station is within a proximity of the first vehicle station (figs. 1-4, ¶ [0045], ¶ [0047] ); and deactivating, by the distributed unit, the at least one radio unit onboard the vehicle for a first time period (¶ [0053], ¶ [0066], ¶ [0067], ¶ [0068], the baseband apparatus is further configured to deactivate a radio frequency apparatus).
Zhou does not explicitly teach the distributed unit onboard the vehicle.
However, Zhou teaches the base station includes a baseband apparatus and multiple radio frequency apparatuses 412 (fig. 4, ¶ [0047]). A baseband apparatus provides an unchanged logical cell, so that the physical cell moves as the terminals/train moves, and the logical cell does not change (figs. 3, 4, ¶ [0039], [0041], For example, a train T1 is corresponding to a cell Cell 1, and a train T2 is corresponding to a cell Cell 2. As the train T1 moves, the cell Cell 1 also moves. That is, a radio frequency apparatus that provides coverage for a terminal on the train T1 is continuously switched, so that physical coverage corresponding to the cell dynamically changes. Similarly, as the train T2 moves, the cell Cell 2 also moves. That is, a radio frequency apparatus that provides coverage for a terminal on the train T2 is continuously switched, so that physical coverage corresponding to the cell dynamically changes. Therefore, in a moving process of a train, a cell does not change. ¶ [0071], In the prior art, a quantity of baseband apparatuses is B×(R÷A), where B indicates a quantity of baseband apparatuses occupied by each cell (Baseband Per Cell), R indicates a quantity of radio frequency apparatuses along a railway, and A indicates a quantity of radio frequency apparatuses required for covering one. In this embodiment of the present invention, because the baseband apparatus is in a one-to-one correspondence with the terminal cluster, a quantity of baseband apparatuses is B×T, where T indicates a quantity of trains simultaneously running on the railway (Train Num). Because a value of R÷A is generally greater than a value of T, a baseband resource can be reduced by using the communication method provided in this embodiment of the present invention. For example, when R=200, B=1, A=5, and T=4, 36 baseband apparatuses may be reduced. In other words, one baseband apparatus per train per logical cell that moves with the train. ¶ [0047], ¶ [0050]-¶ [0053], ¶ [0057]. ¶ [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the distributed unit is onboard the vehicle.
Zhou does not explicitly teach a first radio unit onboard the vehicle; determining location information of at least one radio unit onboard the vehicle; determining a distance to a first vehicle station based on the location information of the at least one radio unit onboard the vehicle; performing a forced handover of the one or more user equipment connected to the at least one radio unit from the first base station to a second base station based on the determined distance.
Nambu teaches determining location information of at least one radio unit onboard the vehicle (page 3, In the mobile station 200, the position information 211 calculates the position of the train 103a. The position information unit 211 sends the generated position information of the train 103a to the on-board device control unit 213… In the ground control apparatus 101, the base station reception unit 111 receives the position information of the train 103a transmitted from the base station 102a.); determining a distance to a handover point based on the location information of the at least one radio unit onboard the vehicle (page 3-4, in the handover determining unit 114, the current position information of the train 103a, the past position information of the train 103a, and the handover point are periodically compared, and the distance between the train 103a and the handover point are periodically compared); performing a forced handover of the one or more user equipment connected to the at least one radio unit from the first base station to a second base station based on the determined distance (page 4, if it is determined that the distance between the train 103a and the handover point is approaching a predetermined value or less, the channel control unit 115 informs the corresponding terminal of the radio of the handover destination base station 102b…the base station transmitter 116 transmits the handover information to the base station 102a and the base station 102b).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include a first radio unit onboard the vehicle, to perform a forced handover of the one or more user equipment connected to the first radio unit from the first base station to a second base station based on a distance, determined using location information of the first radio unit onboard the vehicle, between the vehicle and the second base station approaching a predetermined value or less in the system of Zhou to further enhance system efficiency and reliability.
Zhou in view of Nambu does not explicitly teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores instructions executable by one or more processor to perform the method of performing handover of one or more user equipment on a vehicle.
Vivanco teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores instructions executable by one or more processor to perform the method of performing handover (col. 3, lines 1-15).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium to store instructions executable by one or more processors to perform the method of Zhou in view of Nambu to further improve industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 10, Zhou in view of Nambu and Vivanco teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 9, wherein the instructions further comprise activating, by the distributed unit onboard the vehicle, the first radio unit onboard the vehicle after the first time period (Zhou: ¶ [0054], ¶ [0059]-¶ [0069]).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Zhou in view of Nambu teaches the method of claim 1.
Zhou does not explicitly teach further comprising determining, by the distributed unit onboard the vehicle, a frequency range associated with the second base station prior to performing the forced handover.
Vivanco teaches determining a frequency range associated with the second base station prior to performing the forced handover (col. 10, lines 6- 35, col. 13, line 61- col. 14, line 22).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to determine, by the distributed unit onboard the vehicle, a frequency range associated with the second base station prior to performing the forced handover in the system of Zhou in view of Nambu to select a sufficient base station for an effective and reliable handover (col. 10, lines 30-32 of Vivanco).
7. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Nambu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Adjakple et al. (US 2013/0003697 A1, “Adjakple”).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou in view of Nambu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one radio unit is connected to the network via a wayside network (Zhou: figs. 1-5, ¶ [0045], ¶ [0048]).
Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one radio unit belongs to a home network associated with the second base station.
Adjakple teaches performing a handover from a first base station to a second base station, where the first base station and the second base station are associated with a home network (fig. 3, 4, ¶ [0070], ¶ [0200], ¶ [0218], ¶ [0219]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, connect the at least one radio unit to a home network via wayside network where the first base station (comprising at least one radio unit) and second base station are associated with the home network in the system of Zhou in view of Nambu to utilize conventional techniques in the art.
8. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Nambu as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Salahuddeen et al. (US 2021/0007039 A1, hereinafter “Salahuddeen”).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou in view of Nambu teaches the first base station of claim 5.
Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein the distributed unit onboard the vehicle is further configured to: receive one or more packets for transmission to a first user equipment of the one or more user equipment; and append a special header to the one or more packets, wherein the special header is indicative of a radio unit of the plurality of radio units, the radio unit being associated with the first user equipment.
Salahuddeen teaches the distributed unit is further configured to: receive one or more packets for transmission to a first user equipment of the one or more user equipment; and append a special indicator to the one or more packets, wherein the special indicator is indicative of a radio unit of the plurality of radio units, the radio unit being associated with the first user equipment (figs. 1A, 6A, 7, 14A-15, ¶ [0096], ¶ [0097], Each RU 106 serving a given sector can be assigned a unique identifier (“RUid”). For example, each RU 106 serving a given sector can be assigned an RUid that is an integer between 0 and the number of RUs serving that sector (“nRUs”) minus 1 (that is, between 0 and nRUs−1), ¶ [0113], ¶ [0120], at least one processor adds an indicator, based on the mapping, to each set of data, each indicator indicating each RU 106 that the respective set of data is intended for. ¶ [0121], ¶ [0122], an RUid bitmask 602 may be included inside each C-Section 604 and U-Section 606. Alternatively, the additional data (e.g., RUid bitmask) may be associated with the C-plane data and U-plane data in some other way, e.g., appended to. ¶ [0196], ¶ [0006], ¶ [0077]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to receive, at the distribution unit onboard the vehicle, one or more packets for transmission to a first user equipment of the one or more user equipment; and append a special header, indicative of a radio unit of the plurality of radio units associated with the first user equipment, to the one or more packets in the system of Zhou in view of Nambu to identify the intended radio unit.
9. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Nambu and Vivanco as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Adjakple.
Regarding claim 12, Zhou in view of Nambu and Vivanco teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 9, wherein the at least one radio unit is connected to the network via a wayside network (Zhou: figs. 1-5, ¶ [0045], ¶ [0048]).
Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein the first radio unit belongs to a home network associated with the second base station.
Adjakple teaches performing a handover from a first base station to a second base station, where the first base station and the second base station are associated with a home network (fig. 3, 4, ¶ [0070], ¶ [0200], ¶ [0218], ¶ [0219]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, connect the at least one radio unit to a home network via wayside network where the first base station (comprising at least one radio unit) and second base station are associated with the home network in the system of Zhou in view of Nambu to utilize conventional techniques in the art.
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant's arguments filed on October 10, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner indicated that Zhou in view of Nambu render obvious the amended claims, 1, 5 and 9, as set forth above.
Conclusion
11. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANDISH K RANDHAWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477