DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant' s arguments, see the Request for Pre-appeal Conference, filed on 02/12/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly identified prior art. Please see the rejections below. This action is made non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 2023/0217276), hereinafter “Chen“, in view of Yilmaz et al (US 2020/0267631), hereinafter “Chang“.
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a cell handover method (par [0050] teaches handover), performed by a source node (Figures 7-8) comprising:
sending Secondary Cell Group (SCG) suspend status information of a User Equipment (UE) to a target node (Figs. 7-8 & pars [0061-0063]),
wherein the target node (Figs. 7-8 show the SN (PSCell is the target node) comprises a network device (Figures 7-10 teach the network device), wherein the SCG suspended state comprises at least one of the following states (Figs. 7-8):
UE-initiated SCG suspend (pars [0102] [0114]), or dual connectivity capability disabling (pars [0102] [0114])
Chen does not explicitly teach to inform the target node that the UE is in an SCG suspended state,
Yilmaz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches to inform the target node that the UE is in an SCG suspended state (Fig. 14, pars [0118-0120] [0164], and [0189-0190] teach the UE receives from a network node: a first SCG configuration of a first Secondary Node, SN, and a second SCG configuration of a second SN, and an indication of whether or not the first/second SCG is to be configured as active or inactive that referred to as suspended state),
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Chen to Yilmaz, in order to provide dual connectivity for both LTE and NR to enhance the robustness and to avoid connection interruptions (as suggested by Yilmaz in paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Chen and Yilmaz teach the cell handover method according to claim 1, Chen further teaches wherein after the sending SCG suspend status information to a target node (pars [0062-0064], and [0068]), the method further comprises: sending a handover configuration message to the UE (pars [0067-0068] teach a configuration message through RRC signaling).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Chen and Yilmaz teach the cell handover method according to claim 2, Chen further teaches wherein the handover configuration message comprises at least one of the following: adding an SCG, modifying an SCG (pars [0065] [0070], and [0076] teach modifying an SCG), or releasing an SCG.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chen and Yilmaz teach the cell handover method according to claim 1, Chen further teaches wherein the SCG suspended state further comprises at least one of the following states: SCG disabling; dual connectivity capability suspend (par [0126]); SCG resource suspend; SCG resource disabling; SCG connection deactivation (par [0076]); and
Chen does not clearly teach SCG connection release.
Yilmaz, in the same field of endeavor teaches SCG connection release (pars [0152] [0247], and [0262]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Chen to Yilmaz, in order to provide dual connectivity for both LTE and NR to enhance the robustness and to avoid connection interruptions (as suggested by Yilmaz in paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Chen and Yilmaz teach the cell handover method according to claim 1, Chen further teaches wherein the SCG suspend status information is comprised in a handover request message (pars [0050] [0064], and [0068] teach the SCG suspend status and handover request message such as RRC connected state between a BS and a UE) or a secondary node status transfer message.
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches a cell handover method (par [0050] teaches handover & Figs. 7-8), performed by a target node (Figs. 7-8), comprising:
receiving Secondary Cell Group (SCG) suspend status information of a User Equipment (UE) sent by a source node (Figs. 7-8 & pars [0061-0063]),
wherein the target node comprises a network device (Figs 7-8 teach the network device),
wherein the SCG suspended state (Figs. 7-8) comprises at least one of the following states (pars [0063-0064] teach the SCG suspended state):
UE-initiated SCG suspend, or dual connectivity capability disabling.
Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the SCG suspend status information is used for notifying that the (UE) is in an SCG suspended state,
Yilmaz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the SCG suspend status information is used for notifying that the (UE) is in an SCG suspended state (Fig. 14, pars [0118-0120] [0164], and [0189-0190] teach the UE receives from a network node: a first SCG configuration of a first Secondary Node, SN, and a second SCG configuration of a second SN, and an indication of whether or not the first/second SCG is to be configured as active or inactive that referred to as suspended state),
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Chen to Yilmaz, in order to provide dual connectivity for both LTE and NR to enhance the robustness and to avoid connection interruptions (as suggested by Yilmaz in paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Chen and Yilmaz teach the cell handover method according to claim 6, Chen further teaches wherein after the receiving SCG suspend status information sent by a source node (pars [0061-0063]), the method further comprises: maintaining the UE in the SCG suspended state (pars [0064 [0070]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Chen and Yilmaz teach the cell handover method according to claim 6, Chen further teaches wherein the target node is a target master node (pars [0061-0063]), and after the receiving SCG suspend status information sent by a source node (pars [0061-0063]), the method further comprises:
Chen does not clearly teach notifying a target secondary node that the UE is in the SCG suspended state.
Yilmaz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches notifying a target secondary node that the UE is in the SCG suspended state (Fig. 14, pars [0118-0120] [0164], and [0189-0190] teach the UE receives from a network node: a first SCG configuration of a first Secondary Node, SN, and a second SCG configuration of a second SN, and an indication of whether or not the first/second SCG is to be configured as active or inactive that referred to as suspended state),
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Chen to Yilmaz, in order to provide dual connectivity for both LTE and NR to enhance the robustness and to avoid connection interruptions (as suggested by Yilmaz in paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Chen and Chang teach the cell handover method according to claim 8, Chen does not clearly teach wherein information for notifying the target secondary node that the UE is in the SCG suspended state is comprised in a secondary node addition request message.
Yilmaz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein information for notifying the target secondary node that the UE is in the SCG suspended state is comprised in a secondary node addition request message (Fig. 14, pars [0118-0120] [0164], and [0189-0190] teach the UE receives from a network node: a first SCG configuration of a first Secondary Node, SN, and a second SCG configuration of a second SN, and an indication of whether or not the first/second SCG is to be configured as active or inactive that referred to as suspended state),
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Chen to Yilmaz, in order to provide dual connectivity for both LTE and NR to enhance the robustness and to avoid connection interruptions (as suggested by Yilmaz in paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Chen and Chang teach the cell handover method according to claim 6, Chen further teaches wherein the SCG suspended state further comprises at least one of the following states: SCG disabling; dual connectivity capability suspend; SCG resource suspend; SCG resource disabling; SCG connection deactivation (pars [0025] [0076-0077]); or SCG connection release.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Chen and Chang teach the cell handover method according to claim 6, Chen further teaches wherein the SCG suspend status information is comprised in a handover request message (pars [0050] [0061-0062]) or a secondary node status transfer message.
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches a cell handover (par [0050] teaches handover & Figs. 7-8) method, performed by user equipment, comprising:
receiving, in a Secondary Cell Group (SCG) suspended (Figs. 7-8 & pars [0061-0063]),
performing, in the SCG suspended state (Figs. 7-8), an SCG operation process based on the handover configuration message (par [0050]), wherein the handover configuration message is sent by a source node to the user equipment after sending, by the source node (pars [0050] [0064], and [0068],
wherein the SCG suspended state comprises at least one of the following states: UE-initiated SCG suspend, or dual connectivity capability disabling;
performing, in the SCG suspended state (pars [0022-0024]), an SCG operation process based on the handover configuration message (par [0050]), wherein the process comprises one of the following: adding an SCG, modifying an SCG (pars [0065] [0076]), or releasing an SCG, and maintaining in the SCG suspended state (pars [0022-0024]).
Chen does not explicitly teach SCG suspension status information of the user equipment to a target node to inform the target node that the user equipment is in an SCG suspended state,
Yilmaz, in the same field of endeavor teaches, SCG suspension status information of the user equipment to a target node to inform the target node that the user equipment is in an SCG suspended state (Fig. 14, pars [0118-0120] [0164], and [0189-0190] teach the UE receives from a network node: a first SCG configuration of a first Secondary Node, SN, and a second SCG configuration of a second SN, and an indication of whether or not the first/second SCG is to be configured as active or inactive that referred to as suspended state),
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Chen to Yilmaz, in order to provide dual connectivity for both LTE and NR to enhance the robustness and to avoid connection interruptions (as suggested by Yilmaz in paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Chen and Chang teach the cell handover method according to claim 12, Chen further teaches wherein the SCG suspended state comprises at least one of the following states: SCG disabling; dual connectivity capability suspend (pars [0061-0062] teach dual connectivity suspend); SCG resource suspend; SCG resource disabling; SCG connection deactivation; or SCG connection release to request to deactivate, suspend, or release the dual connectivity mode or the SCG.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL T VU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641