DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 27, 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “a slit width of each of the plurality of slits is twice a wavelength of infrared light of less.” It is unclear what range the phrase “a wavelength of infrared light” refers to. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted the phrase “a wavelength of infrared light” as the range from 780 nm to 1 mm.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the electrode plate" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1, which claim 6 depends on, recites “a plurality of electrode plates” in line 2, but it is unclear whether “the electrode plate” of claim 6 refers to the “a plurality of electrode plates” of claim 1. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted “the electrode plate” of claim 6 as at least one of the “a plurality of electrode plates” of claim 1. Claim 7, which depends on claim 6, is similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2018/0212210 A1) in view of Takahashi (US 2013/0045402 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki discloses a power storage module (paragraph 0075 and Fig. 1, all-solid-state battery 100) comprising: an electrode assembly (paragraph 0075, all-solid-state battery element 70) including a plurality of electrode plates stacked in a stacking direction (paragraphs 0076-0079 and Fig. 1, unit cells 60a-60d); a resin sealing body for sealing an internal space formed between two adjacent electrode plates of the plurality of electrode plates (paragraphs 0075 and 0099 and Fig. 1, resin sealing body 80); and a terminal member provided to each of the plurality of electrode plates so as to protrude from the resin sealing body toward outside (paragraphs 0100-0102 and Figs. 1 and 2, negative electrode current collector layer protrusions 14a-14e and positive electrode current collector layer protrusions 54a-54d). Suzuki does not disclose wherein a portion of the terminal member protruding from the resin sealing body is provided with one or more through holes penetrating along the stacking direction.
Takahashi discloses wherein a portion of the terminal member protruding from the resin sealing body is provided with one or more through holes penetrating along the stacking direction (paragraph 0071 and Fig. 5, slits 153 formed on negative electrode tab 15 and paragraph 0068, joint part between positive electrode tab 14 and positive electrode collectors 11a and joint part between negative electrode tab 15 and negative electrode collectors 13a have similar structures).
Suzuki and Takahashi are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of power storage modules. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the terminal member of Suzuki with the teachings of Takahashi, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would allow for the relief of expansion and contraction of the current collectors during welding (Takahashi paragraph 0071).
Regarding claim 2, modified Suzuki discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the one or more through holes are configured in the form of a plurality of slits (Takahashi paragraph 0071 and Fig. 5, slits 153).
Regarding claim 3, modified Suzuki discloses the limitations of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the plurality of slits, when viewed in the stacking direction, are aligned in a direction crossing the protruding direction (Takahashi paragraph 0071 and see Takahashi Annotated Fig. 5 below, slits 153 aligned in a direction perpendicular to the protruding direction).
Takahashi Annotated Fig. 5
Regarding claim 4, modified Suzuki discloses the limitations of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the plurality of slits are provided so as to, when viewed in the stacking direction, extend along a protruding direction in which the terminal member protrudes from the resin sealing body and also be aligned in a direction crossing the protruding direction (Takahashi paragraph 0071 and see Annotated Fig. 5 above, slits 153 extend along protruding direction and aligned in a direction perpendicular to the protruding direction), and each end of the plurality of slits that is located closer to the electrode assembly in the protruding direction is embedded inside the resin sealing body (Takahashi paragraph 0071 and see Annotated Fig. 5 above, slits 153 and embedded slit portion overlapping negative electrode collector 13a). The corresponding electrode current collectors 10a-10e and 50a-50d of Suzuki are partially buried in resin sealing member 80 (Suzuki paragraphs 0100-0101 and Fig. 1). The combination of Suzuki and Takahashi would result in each end of the plurality of slits that is located closer to the electrode assembly in the protruding direction being embedded inside the resin sealing body.
Regarding claim 5, modified Suzuki discloses the limitations of claim 2. Suzuki discloses that the length of the negative electrode current collector layer protrusions 14a-14e and positive electrode current collector layers 54a-54d is preferably in the range of 0.3 mm to 3 mm (paragraphs 0123-0124). Takahashi discloses that the corresponding negative electrode tab 15 and positive electrode tab 14 may (paragraphs 0055 and 0059) may be extended to an arbitrary length, and that the width of slits 153 is preferably made greater than or equal to one-half of the distance between the conductors of conducting portion 153 and smaller than the length of the conductors of conducting portion 153 in the width direction (paragraph 0071). The combination of Suzuki and Takahashi would result in a slit width of each of the plurality of slits from 0.3 mm to 3 mm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2018/0212210 A1) in view of Takahashi (US 2013/0045402 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miyazaki et al. (US 2013/0130082 A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Suzuki discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the electrode plate is a bipolar electrode (Suzuki paragraph 0077-0080 and Fig. 1, all-solid-state battery element 70 is bipolar and each unit cell 60a-60d is bipolar comprising both negative electrode active material layers and positive electrode material active layers). Modified Suzuki does not disclose that the terminal member is a voltage detection terminal for detecting voltage between the two adjacent electrode plates.
Miyazaki et al. discloses that the terminal member is a voltage detection terminal for detecting voltage between the two adjacent electrode plates (Fig. 1, voltage detection terminals 21a-21d protruding from seal member 11).
Miyazaki et al. is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of power storage modules. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the terminal member of modified Suzuki with the teachings of Miyazaki et al., and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would allow the voltage of each unit cell to be measured and adjusted, preventing deterioration and extending battery life (Miyazaki et al. paragraphs 0002-0003).
Regarding claim 7, modified Suzuki discloses the limitations of claim 6, and further discloses wherein the voltage detection terminal provided to one of the two adjacent electrode plates and the voltage detection terminal provided to the other one of the two adjacent electrode plates are positioned in such a manner that overlapping is avoided when viewed in the stacking direction (Suzuki paragraph 0102 and Fig. 2, negative electrode current collector layer protrusions 14a-14d and positive electrode current collector layer protrusions 54a-54d are arranged alternately).
Conclusion
/J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 2 April 2026