Application Data Sheet
The ADS should be updated to indicate that the previous application (18/877,146) has been abandoned. A request for corrected filing sheet should also be filed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the interaction of the bump 1516 with the interior of the shell walls 1512 in order to provide haptic feedback as described in the specification. Specifically, Fig 15A shows the bump 1516 within the syringe barrel 1504. However, this configuration is not in any way structured to interact with the shell walls 1512. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “mechanism for providing a click to indicate to a user to stop depressing the plunger” (claim 26) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim states that the syringe barrel includes a window; however, both the drawings and the specification refer to the window 1410 being in the shell housing 1408. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 27-28 are objected to because of the following informalities: these claims are duplicate claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 27-28 objected to because of the following informalities: both claims depend from claim 3 which has been cancelled. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 14 and 20-21 of U.S. Patent No. 10,688,289 (“the ‘289 patent”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are a patentably non-distinct subcombination of the combination claimed in the ‘289 patent. See Table 1 below.
Claim Limitation
The instant claims
The ‘289 patent claims
An inflation and deflation device comprising:
21
1; 14, 20
a housing;
21
1 (a housing would be an obvious incorporation into the claim and is recited in claim 4); 14, 20
a syringe barrel,
21
1; 14, 20
having a fluid connection port,
21 (claims fluid connection port; 1 fluid connection port is a broader recitation)
1; 14, 20 (claims second fluid connection port)
the fluid connection port configured to be in fluid communication with a second fluid connection port on a second device;
21
1; 14, 20 (second fluid connection port in fluid connection with first fluid connection port of the delivery device)
a plunger arranged to reversibly move a length within the syringe barrel; and
21
1; 14, 20
a locking mechanism configured to limit the length the plunger can depress within the syringe barrel.
21
1; 14, 20
wherein the locking mechanism comprises a pair of pawls configured to extend outward and physically interface with the housing
22
4; 21
wherein the second device is an applicator device comprising an expandable member.
23
1; 14
Table 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-23 and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pub. No. 2014/0074140 to Johnson et al. (“Johnson”).
Regarding claim 21, Johnson discloses an inflation and deflation device comprising a housing (860,960) a syringe barrel (880,990) having a fluid connection port (884,984), the fluid connection port configured to be in fluid communication with a second fluid connection port on a second device; a plunger (900,1000) arranged to reversibly move a length within the syringe barrel, and a locking mechanism (1006,1030) configured to limit the length the plunger can depress within the syringe barrel. See the embodiment of Figs. 18-21E
Regarding claim 22, Johnson discloses the device of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the locking mechanism comprises a pair of pawls (1006) configured to extend outward and physically interface with the housing (860,960) as best seen in at least FIGS. 18-21 and as set forth in paras [0139-0156].
Regarding claim 23, Johnson discloses the device of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the second device is an applicator device (10) comprising an expandable member (14).
Regarding claims 27-28, Johnson discloses the device of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the device is configured to deliver fluid to expand the expandable member of the applicator device at a force of from about two to about 16 atmospheres. See para. [0077] teaching the inflation of the dilator to a range of 10-12 atmospheres.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson. Johnson meets the claim limitations as described above for claim 21 but Johnson does not teach a window in the embodiment of Figs. 18-21E. However, Johnson discloses a window (862) in the housing (860) of the embodiment of Figs. 13-17C.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to incorporate the housing of the embodiment of Figs. 13-17C into the embodiment of Figs. 18-21E. Having the housing extend to incorporate the syringe while still including a window to see the contents of the syringe would provide the embodiment of Figs. 18-21E with the protective outer covering of the housing and still enable visualization of the syringe contents. This would have been done in order to enhance the connection of the syringe to the locking mechanism.
Regarding claims 25-26, Johnson discloses the device of claim 1 and further teaches that lock mechanism includes sawteeth (1006). The sawteeth (1006) are capable of making a clicking noise and feeling as the teeth transfer over pawl (1014). Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to construct the locking mechanism of Johnson so that the sawteeth click over the pawl in order to provide the user with a tactile sensation of increments of injection.
Conclusion
/CATHERINE S WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3993