Filing Receipt
A new filing receipt has been generated dated 07/22/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the interaction of the bump 1516 with the interior of the shell walls 1512 in order to provide haptic feedback as described in the specification. Specifically, Fig 15A shows the bump 1516 within the syringe barrel 1504. However, this configuration is not in any way structured to interact with the shell walls 1512. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Claim Objections
The previous objection to claim 24 (the claim states that the syringe barrel includes a window; however, both the drawings and the specification refer to the window 1410 being in the shell housing 1408) has been withdrawn in light of the cancellation of the claim in the amendment filed 07/17/2026.
The previous objection to claim 28 (these claims are duplicate claims) has been withdrawn in light of the cancellation of the claim in the amendment filed 07/17/2026.
The previous objection to claim 27 (both claims depend from claim 3 which has been cancelled) has been withdrawn in light of the amendment of the claim to depend from claim 23 the claim in the amendment filed 07/17/2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 14 and 20-21 of U.S. Patent No. 10,688,289 (“the ‘289 patent”) in view of US Pub. No. 2014/0074140 to Johnson et al. (“Johnson”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are a patentably non-distinct subcombination of the combination claimed in the ‘289 patent. See Table 1 below.
Claim Limitation
The instant claims
The ‘289 patent claims
An inflation and deflation device comprising:
21
1; 14, 20
a housing;
21
1 (a housing would be an obvious incorporation into the claim and is recited in claim 4); 14, 20
a syringe barrel,
21
1; 14, 20
having a fluid connection port,
21 (claims fluid connection port; 1 fluid connection port is a broader recitation)
1; 14, 20 (claims second fluid connection port)
the fluid connection port configured to be in fluid communication with a second fluid connection port on a second device;
21
1; 14, 20 (second fluid connection port in fluid connection with first fluid connection port of the delivery device)
the housing comprising a window configured to allow visualization of fluid in the syringe barrel
21
Obvious to incorporate in light of Johnson (see rejection below)
a plunger arranged to reversibly move a length within the syringe barrel; and
21
1; 14, 20
a locking mechanism configured to limit the length the plunger can depress within the syringe barrel.
21
1; 14, 20
wherein the locking mechanism comprises a pair of pawls configured to extend outward and physically interface with the housing
22
4; 21
wherein the second device is an applicator device comprising an expandable member.
23
1; 14
Table 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claim 30 recites the limitation “the locking mechanism uses a structure akin to a ball-point pen so that depression of the plunger past a predetermined distance leads to a haptic click.” First, it is assumed this claim limitation and related disclosure in the specification is referring to the extension and retraction mechanism of click pens and not the structure of the ball point pen tip. This imprecision of the claim/specification language itself already leads one skilled in the art to make an assumption about the structural mechanism referenced. Second, the claims cover an inflation and deflation device not a writing instrument. Specifically, the locking mechanism in the embodiment of Fig. 15A (the same embodiment with the disclosure of “a structure akin to a ball-point pen”) discloses a longitudinally reciprocating locking mechanism. However, a typical click pen makes the haptic clip due to rotation of the ink barrel and cam body. See USPN 3,205,863. There is no teaching of rotation of the locking mechanism in the embodiment of Fig. 15A. Further, there is no one standard click pen mechanism and multiple companies have developed different structural mechanisms for the extension and retraction and thereby click of the ink cartridge. Therefore, the breadth of the claims exceeds the scope of the enablement provided, requiring undue experimentation to fit an undisclosed rotating or other structure causing a haptic click into a longitudinally reciprocating mechanism. See MPEP 2164.04
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23, 25, 27, 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 2014/0074140 to Johnson et al. (“Johnson”).
Regarding claim 21, Johnson discloses an inflation and deflation device comprising a housing (860,960) a syringe barrel (880,990) having a fluid connection port (884,984), the fluid connection port configured to be in fluid communication with a second fluid connection port on a second device; a plunger (900,1000) arranged to reversibly move a length within the syringe barrel, and a locking mechanism (1006,1030) configured to limit the length the plunger can depress within the syringe barrel. See the embodiment of Figs. 18-21E.
Johnson meets the claim limitations as described above but Johnson does not teach a window in the embodiment of Figs. 18-21E. However, Johnson discloses a window (862) in the housing (860) of the embodiment of Figs. 13-17C.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to incorporate the housing of the embodiment of Figs. 13-17C into the embodiment of Figs. 18-21E. Having the housing extend to incorporate the syringe while still including a window to see the contents of the syringe would provide the embodiment of Figs. 18-21E with the protective outer covering of the housing and still enable visualization of the syringe contents. This would have been done in order to enhance the connection of the syringe to the locking mechanism.
Regarding claim 22, Johnson discloses the device of claim 21 and further teaches wherein the locking mechanism comprises a pair of pawls (1006) configured to extend outward and physically interface with the housing (860,960) as best seen in at least FIGS. 18-21 and as set forth in paras [0139-0156].
Regarding claim 23, Johnson discloses the device of claim 21 and further teaches wherein the second device is an applicator device (10) comprising an expandable member (14).
Regarding claims 25-26, Johnson discloses the device of claim 21 and further teaches that lock mechanism includes sawteeth (1006). The sawteeth (1006) are capable of making a clicking noise and feeling as the teeth transfer over pawl (1014). Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to construct the locking mechanism of Johnson so that the sawteeth click over the pawl in order to provide the user with a tactile sensation of increments of injection.
Regarding claims 27, Johnson discloses the device of claim 21 and further teaches wherein the device is configured to deliver fluid to expand the expandable member of the applicator device at a force of from about two to about 16 atmospheres. See para. [0074] 1 teaching the inflation of the dilator to a range of 10-12 atmospheres.
Regarding claim 29, Johnson discloses the device of claim 27 and further teaches wherein the device is configured to deliver fluid to expand the expandable member of the applicator device at a force of twelve atmospheres. See para. [0074] teaching the inflation of the dilator to a range of 10-12 atmospheres.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that one skilled in the art would not be motivated to incorporate the window of the embodiment of Johnson Figs. 13-17C to the embodiment of Johnson Figs. 18-21A since the housing in the embodiment of Figs. 18-21A specifically Fig. 21A does not cover the majority of the syringe barrel 980. See remarks filed 07/17/2026 pages 7-9.
However, applicant is not arguing the rejection as presented. The rejection of the claims presented in the non-final office action mailed 01/22/2026 page 9, incorporates the housing with window as shown in the embodiment of Figs. 13-17C into the embodiment of Figs. 18-21E. The motivation provided to incorporate the housing with window was provided stating, “[h]aving the housing extend to incorporate the syringe while still including a window to see the contents of the syringe would provide the embodiment of Figs. 18-21E with the protective outer covering of the housing and still enable visualization of the syringe contents. This would have been done in order to enhance the connection of the syringe to the locking mechanism.” Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive since the arguments do not address the combination as set forth in the rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CATHERINE S WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3993
1 This paragraph number has been corrected to identify the correct paragraph number in the publication. This correction does not amount to a new grounds of rejection since the rejection itself relies on the same teaching as in the non-final office action mailed 01/22/2026.