DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I invention with species A2 (claim 1-9 and 12) in the reply filed on 03/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 10-11 and 13-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species and a non-elected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/09/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Berger (US 2019/0298621) in view of Klee (WO2021/122957) (for applicant’s convenience, equivalent US2023/0014155 has been used for citations) or in view of Sharma (US2018/0214247).
Berger teaches an anti-inflammatory filling composition comprising a radiopacifier (i.e. a radiopaque substance) wherein the radiopacifier most preferably being zirconium dioxide (para. [0018], [0021], [0038], [0040], [0041], claim 14). As for the claimed radiopaque substance can be absorbed within living tissue or inflammatory lesion, Berger teaches radiopacifier (i.e. a radiopaque substance) being zirconium dioxide, which is same or substantially the same as that of instantly claimed radiopaque substance, therefore, same or substantially the same property, i.e. such material can be absorbed within living tissue or inflammatory lesion as that of instantly claimed would be expected.
Regarding claim 1, Berger does not expressly each the radiopacifier having an average particle size being 0.1 to 1 micron.
Klee teaches a dental root canal filling composition comprising at least one radio-opaque particulate having an average particle size (i.e. D50) of from 0.005 to 100 μm, preferably of from 0.01 to 40 µm (para. [0111], [0112], claim 14).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such average particle size of radio-opaque particulate as shown by Klee to modify the radiopacifier material of Berger because applying such known technique of average particle size of radio-opaque particulate to modify a known radiopacifier material for improvement would yield predictable results (See MPEP §2143 KSR rationale D).
Sharma teaches suitable radio contrast agents (noted radio contrast agents are radiopaque substance) including (without limitation) zirconium dioxide etc. can be included in a root canal filling composition and such radio contrast agents can have a mean particle size less than 200 nm (i.e. less than 0.2 µm) (para. [0107]-[0111], [0114], [0151]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such average particle size of radio-opaque particulate as shown by Sharma to modify the radiopacifier material of Berger because applying such known technique of average particle size of radio-opaque particulate to modify a known radiopacifier material for improvement would yield predictable results (See MPEP §2143 KSR rationale D).
Regarding claim 2-5, such limitations have been met as discussed above.
Regarding claim 6-8, as for the claimed absorption occurs within one year, or within 6 months or within 4 months after the composition has been applied to the living tissue or inflammatory lesion, Berger teaches already teaches a same or substantially the same radiopacifier (i.e. a radiopaque substance) being zirconium dioxide (while Klee and Sharma discloses radiopacifier material size range being well-known), which is same or substantially the same as that of instantly claimed radiopaque substance, therefore, same or substantially the same property, i.e. absorption occurs within one year, or 6 months or within 4 months after the composition has been applied to the living tissue or inflammatory lesion as that of instantly claimed would be expected.
Regarding claim 9, Berger further teaches anti-inflammatory filling composition comprising a premixed cement putty which includes about 20 to 95% by weight of calcium silicates and 0 to 50% by weight of radiopacifier (para. [0038], [0040], [0041]) and the cement putty can be included in the anti-inflammatory filling composition from 30-95% by weight (para. [0046], [0047]), therefore, the radiopacifier content in the total composition can be from 0 to 47.5% (50%x95%=47.5%) by weight, such content overlapping with that of instantly claimed amount thus renders a prima facie case of obviousness (See MPEP §2144. 05 I)
Regarding claim 12, such limitation has been met as discussed above.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-8 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. US 11517508 in view of Sharma (US2018/0214247). US’508 teaches a composition comprising a radiopaque material selected from zirconium oxide etc. (claim 1 and 6), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art “obvious to try” zirconium oxide as radiopaque material because choosing zirconium oxide from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of radiopaque materials would have a reasonable expectation of success(See MPEP §2143 KSR rationale E). Since US’508 teaches a same or substantially the same radiopaque material as that of instantly claimed radiopaque substance, therefore, same or substantially the same property, i.e. such material can be absorbed within living tissue or inflammatory lesion as that of instantly claimed would be expected. US’508 does not teach such radiopaque material having an average particle size of 0.1 to 1.0 micron.
Sharma has been described as above. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such average particle size of radio-opaque particulate as shown by Sharma to modify the radiopacifier material of US’508 because applying such known technique of average particle size of radio-opaque particulate to modify a known radiopacifier material for improvement would yield predictable results (See MPEP §2143 KSR rationale D).
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. US11517508 in view of Sharma (US2018/0214247) as applied above, and further in view of Berger (US 2019/0298621). Regarding claim 9, US’508 does not expressly teach the radiopaque substance content as that of instantly claimed. Berger teaches such limitation as discussed above. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such well-known radiopaque substance content as shown by Berger to modify the endodontic filling composition of US’508 in view of Sharma because applying a known technique of such radiopaque substance material to a known endodontic filling composition (for root canal) for improvement would yield predictable results (See MPEP §2143 KSR rationale D).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, Jang (US2019/0321267)- patented as US patent No. 11517508, also English equivalent to KR 2018/0071201, teaches A single-paste type hydraulic endodontic filling composition, comprising: a calcium silicate component; and dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO) and radiopaque substance selected from barium titanate, bismuth titanate, barium zirconate, zirconium oxide, calcium tungstate, tantalum oxide, and mixtures of two or more of the foregoing.
/JUN LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732