DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, 10-11, 14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022079435 (to Wilson et al.) in view of WO 2023060201 A1 (to Al-Khuwaiter et al.) in view of Beasley et al. (US 20120301814 A1).
With respect to claims 1 and 6, Wilson teaches an aircraft (101) power plant (Figures 9 and 13) comprising:
source of ammonia/(first fuel tank (111a)) (para. [0020]-[0023], [0105], [0114])
an ammonia cracker in fluid communication with the source of ammonia/(first fuel tank (111a)) (para. [0020]-[0023], [0105], [0114]) onboard the aircraft (101) and in thermal transfer engagement/(via heat exchangers (141 & 142)) with the internal combustion engine/(main engine (104a)) (para. [0108]-[0114]), the ammonia cracker decomposing the ammonia catalytically from the source/(first fuel tank (111a)) of ammonia into hydrogen and nitrogen (para. [0020], [0105], [0114]) using heat from the internal combustion engine/(via engine air outlet) (para. [0108]-[0114]); and
a fuel cell in fluid communication with the “first outlet of the separator”/(outlet of the ammonia cracking device) (para. [0020]-[0023]),
Wilson further teaches a thermal engine/(another main engine) (104b) is fed ammonia and hydrogen (para. [0022]). Wilson is silent in regards to providing a separator but implies the presence of one when stating that the hydrogen is being fed to a fuel cell (para. [0023]).
Therefore, Wilson fails to teach a separator in fluid communication with the ammonia cracker, the separator separating the hydrogen and nitrogen from the ammonia cracker, the separator having a first outlet for a first output including hydrogen and a second outlet for a second output including hydrogen and nitrogen;
the fuel cell using the hydrogen of the first output of the separator and an oxidizing agent to generate electrical energy; and
the thermal engine/(another main engine) (104b) in fluid communication with the second outlet of the separator, the thermal engine/(another main engine) (104b) using the hydrogen of the “second output of the separator” to generate mechanical energy.
WO 2023060201 A1 to Al-Khowaiter et al. teaches an apparatus comprising an ammonia source connected to a membrane separator to catalytically convert the ammonia gas to nitrogen and hydrogen, similar to Wilson et al., and remove the hydrogen as a permeate, and a micro turbine to combust a retentate to generate energy (Abstract); wherein the retentate comprises hydrogen, nitrogen, and ammonia (para. [0013]), and wherein the hydrogen is fed to a fuel cell in order to provide a purified hydrogen stream to the fuel cell (para. [0013]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to provide a separator in fluid communication with the ammonia cracker in Wilson, or have the ammonia cracker of Wilson comprise a separator, the separator separating the hydrogen and nitrogen from the ammonia cracker, the separator having a first outlet for a first output including hydrogen and a second outlet for a second output including hydrogen and nitrogen; the fuel cell using the hydrogen of the first output of the separator to generate electrical energy, as taught by Al-Khowaiter, in order to provide a pure hydrogen stream to the fuel cell.
It would have been obvious to connect the second outlet of the separator taught by Al-Khowaiter to provide the retentate stream comprising hydrogen, nitrogen and unreacted ammonia to the thermal engine/(another main engine) (104b) in Wilson since Wilson does teach that ammonia and hydrogen can be fed to one of the main engines (see Wilson para. [0022]) in order to utilize the retentate stream as a fuel source for powering the thermal engine/(another main engine).
Wilson and Al-khuwaiter fail to teach wherein the fuel cell is connected to a source of oxygen. Beasely et al. teaches an apparatus comprising a hydrogen fuel cell (Figure 1, 19) downstream of an ammonia reformer that thermally splits ammonia into hydrogen and nitrogen (para. [0029]), wherein the fuel cell receives hydrogen from the ammonia reformer (para. [0030]) and receives oxygen from a source of oxygen (21) (as illustrated) in order to generate electricity (para. [0028]-[0031] and [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to connect the hydrogen fuel cell in Wilson with a source of oxygen, as taught by Beasely, in order to generate electricity.
With respect to claim 8, Wilson teaches wherein the ammonia/(fuel) in tank (111a) is in thermal transfer engagement with the thermal engine/(another main engine 104) for cooling the thermal engine/(another main engine 104) with the ammonia/(fuel) upstream of the ammonia cracker (para. [0108]-[0114]).
With respect to claim 10, Al-Khowaiter et al. further teaches wherein the separator includes a selectively permeable membrane having a plurality of pores sized and shape to select hydrogen as permeate and both nitrogen and ammonia as retentate (para. [0013]).
With respect to claims 11, 14 and 17, Wilson teaches an aircraft (101) power plant (Figures 9 and 13) comprising:
an internal combustion engine/(main engine (104a)) for propelling an aircraft (101);
an ammonia cracker in fluid communication with a source of ammonia/(first fuel tank (111a)) (para. [0020]-[0023], [0105], [0114]) onboard the aircraft (101) and in thermal transfer engagement/(via heat exchangers (141 & 142)) with the internal combustion engine/(main engine (104a)) wherein the engine exhaust exchanges heat with the ammonia in fuel tank (111a) (para. [0108]-[0114]), the ammonia cracker decomposing the ammonia catalytically from the source/(first fuel tank (111a)) of ammonia into hydrogen and nitrogen (para. [0020], [0105], [0114]) using heat from the internal combustion engine/(via engine air outlet) (para. [0108]-[0114]); and
a fuel cell in fluid communication with the “first outlet of the separator”/(outlet of the ammonia cracking device) (para. [0020]-[0023]),
Wilson further teaches a thermal engine/(another main engine) (104b) is fed ammonia and hydrogen (para. [0022]). Wilson is silent in regards to providing a separator but implies the presence of one when stating that the hydrogen is being fed to a fuel cell (para. [0023]).
Therefore, Wilson fails to teach a separator in fluid communication with the ammonia cracker, the separator separating the hydrogen and nitrogen from the ammonia cracker, the separator having a first outlet for a first output including hydrogen and a second outlet for a second output including hydrogen and nitrogen;
the fuel cell using the hydrogen of the first output of the separator and an oxidizing agent to generate electrical energy; and
the thermal engine/(another main engine) (104b) in fluid communication with the second outlet of the separator, the thermal engine/(another main engine) (104b) using the hydrogen of the “second output of the separator” to generate mechanical energy.
WO 2023060201 A1 to Al-Khowaiter et al. teaches an apparatus comprising an ammonia source connected to a membrane separator to catalytically convert the ammonia gas to nitrogen and hydrogen, similar to Wilson et al., and remove the hydrogen as a permeate, and a micro turbine to combust a retentate to generate energy (Abstract); wherein the retentate comprises hydrogen, nitrogen, and ammonia (para. [0013]), and wherein the hydrogen is fed to a fuel cell in order to provide a purified hydrogen stream to the fuel cell (para. [0013]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to provide a separator in fluid communication with the ammonia cracker in Wilson, or have the ammonia cracker of Wilson comprise a separator, the separator separating the hydrogen and nitrogen from the ammonia cracker, the separator having a first outlet for a first output including hydrogen and a second outlet for a second output including hydrogen and nitrogen; the fuel cell using the hydrogen of the first output of the separator to generate electrical energy, as taught by Al-Khowaiter, in order to provide a pure hydrogen stream to the fuel cell.
It would have been obvious to connect the second outlet of the separator taught by Al-Khowaiter to provide the retentate stream comprising hydrogen, nitrogen and unreacted ammonia to the thermal engine/(another main engine) (104b) in Wilson since Wilson does teach that ammonia and hydrogen can be fed to one of the main engines (see Wilson para. [0022]) in order to utilize the retentate stream as a fuel source for powering the thermal engine/(another main engine).
Wilson and Al-khuwaiter fail to teach wherein the fuel cell is connected to a source of oxygen. Beasely et al. teaches an apparatus comprising a hydrogen fuel cell (Figure 1, 19) downstream of an ammonia reformer that thermally splits ammonia into hydrogen and nitrogen (para. [0029]), wherein the fuel cell receives hydrogen from the ammonia reformer (para. [0030]) and receives oxygen from a source of oxygen (21) (as illustrated) in order to generate electricity (para. [0028]-[0031] and [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to connect the hydrogen fuel cell in Wilson with a source of oxygen, as taught by Beasely, in order to generate electricity.
With respect to claim 16, Wilson teaches a source of ammonia/(first fuel tank (111a)) (para. [0105], [0108]-[0114]) onboard the aircraft (101) and in thermal transfer engagement/(via heat exchangers (141 & 142)) with thermal engine/internal combustion engine/(main engine (104a & 104b)) (para. [0108]-[0114]), which would read on the recited limitations “cooling the thermal engine with the ammonia before decomposing the ammonia”.
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022079435 (to Wilson et al.) in view of WO 2023060201 A1 (to Al-Khuwaiter et al.) in view of Beasley et al. (US 20120301814 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of WO 2019035718 (to Heggen).
With respect to claims 7 and 18, Wilson does teach providing a heat exchanger (141 & 142) facilitating heat transfer from a main engine (104a) to the ammonia/(in fuel tank) (111a), which would then in turn provide heat to the ammonia cracker as the heated ammonia flows therethrough (para. [0108]-[0114]). Wilson however fails to teach wherein the main engines can comprise a Wankel engine or a rotary engine. Heggen teaches that a propulsion engine can comprise a piston engine, a rotary engine, or a Wankel engine (page 10, lines 23-24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have the main engine in modified Wilson comprise a rotary engine or a Wankel engine as an obvious alternative to one another, depending on design needs and construction cost.
Claims 2-5, 9, 12-13, 15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022079435 (to Wilson et al.) in view of WO 2023060201 A1 (to Al-Khuwaiter et al.) in view of Beasley et al. (US 20120301814 A1), as applied to claims 1, 11 and 17 above, and further in view of Cocks et al. (US 20220162999 A1) (cited).
With respect to claims 2 and 12-13 and 20, modified Wilson discloses all claim limitations as set forth above but fails to teach wherein: the separator is a first separator; the power generation system includes a second separator in fluid communication with the second outlet of the first separator and downstream of the first separator; and the second separator separating ammonia in the second output from the hydrogen and nitrogen in the second output.
Cocks et al. teaches an ammonia cracking device (Figure 1, 74), onboard an aircraft, for splitting hydrogen and nitrogen, and a separation device (76) that yields first stream comprising a separated hydrogen stream (80), and a second stream comprising nitrogen, hydrogen and unconverted ammonia (82), and teaches providing the hydrogen stream (80) to a turbine engine (40) combustor (46), and teaches a further/second separation device (88) receiving the second stream (82) and yielding a first ammonia stream (86) and a second hydrogen/nitrogen stream (84) that is fed to the combustor (46), and wherein the first ammonia stream (86) is then returned to an ammonia storage tank (68) in order to reclaim any unconverted ammonia (para. [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to have the separator in the apparatus and method of modified Wilson comprise a first separator; and to have the power generation system include a second separator in fluid communication with the second outlet of the first separator and downstream of the first separator; and the second separator separating ammonia in the second output from the hydrogen and nitrogen in the second output, as taught by Cocks, in order to reclaim any unconverted ammonia.
With respect to claim 3, Cocks further teaches wherein a first outlet (86) of the second separator (88) is in fluid communication with the source of ammonia (68) to return the ammonia from the second separator (88) to the source of ammonia (68) (as illustrated).
With respect to claim 4, modified Wilson fails to teach wherein a second outlet of the second separator is in fluid communication with the first separator to return the hydrogen and nitrogen from the second separator to the first separator. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to connect the second outlet (84) of the second separator (88) in fluid communication with the first separator, in modified Wilson, to return the hydrogen and nitrogen from the second separator to the first separator in order to thereby provide a higher concentration of hydrogen to processes downstream thereof.
With respect to claim 5, Wilson in view of Cocks would provide wherein the second separator (88) would be operatively disposed between the first separator in Wilson and the thermal engine/(at least one of the main engines).
With respect to claims 9, 15 and 19, modified Wilson discloses all claim limitations as set forth above but fails to teach providing a turbo-expander in fluid communication with the first outlet of the separator, the turbo-expander using the hydrogen of the first output to generate mechanical energy.
Cocks et al. teaches an ammonia cracking device (Figure 3, 74), onboard an aircraft, for splitting hydrogen and nitrogen, and a separation device (76) that yields a first stream comprising a separated hydrogen stream (80), and a second stream comprising nitrogen, hydrogen and unconverted ammonia (82), and teaches providing the hydrogen stream (80) to a turbine engine (40) combustor (46), and providing another hydrogen stream to a turbo-expander (108) (as illustrated) in order to provide mechanical energy in support of engine (40) (para. [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to have the separator in the apparatus and method of modified Wilson comprise a turbo-expander in fluid communication with the first outlet of the separator, as taught by Cocks, in order for the turbo-expander to use the hydrogen of the first output to generate mechanical energy in support of the engine.
Modified Wilson in view of Cocks would provide that the turbo-expander would generate mechanical energy using the hydrogen of the first output upstream of the fuel cell (for claim 15).
Conclusion
/KAITY V CHANDLER/ 4/16/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725