Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “cable or string [which] runs through an interior of [the] extension portion” (claims 7 and 20) and “one or more springs” (claim 3) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 136.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: SYSTEMS FOR SECURING OF FLAGPOLES AND OTHER ELONGATE ITEMS.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims contain minor typographical errors. “Interior of extension portion” should read “interior of the extension portion.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claims 5 and 14 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The use of the relative term renders the degree to which the tab portion covers the u-shaped section indefinite. For the purpose of examination, the term “substantially” is interpreted to refer to any degree of coverage which would render the u-shaped section a closed loop.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the receiver" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 9 is interpreted as being dependent on claim 8, which establishes antecedent basis for a receiver, rather than claim 6, which does not.
Claims 1, 3, 10, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are:
Regarding claim 1, the structural relationship between the “extension portion” and the rest of the apparatus is unclear. Furthermore, the structural relationship between the “guide” and the “grabber portion” is unclear. Furthermore, the means by which “the sliding member is biased toward the loading zone in an unactuated state” is not disclosed in the claim.
Regarding claim 3, the structural relationship between the “one or more springs” and the rest of the apparatus is unclear.
Regarding claim 10, the structural relationship between the “extension portion” and the rest of the apparatus is unclear. Furthermore, the means by which “the sliding member is biased toward the loading zone in an unactuated state” is not disclosed in the claim.
Regarding claim 11, the structural relationship between the “guide” and the “device” is unclear.
Regarding claim 17, the structural relationship between the “guide” and the “grabber portion” is unclear.
Claims 2-9 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected independent claim 1.
Claims 6-7 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected base claim 5.
Claims 11-20 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected independent claim 10.
Claims 15-20 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected base claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Christman (US 0747376 A).
Regarding claim 1, Christman teaches an apparatus comprising: a grabber portion (fig. member 2) having a loading zone (zone between fig. members 4 and 10) and a sliding member (fig. member 10); an actuator connected to the sliding member (fig. member 17); an extension portion comprising a pole (fig. member 1); and a guide removably attached to the grabber portion (fig. members 9); wherein the sliding member is biased toward the loading zone in an unactuated state (col. 2, lines 60-62), and the actuator is configured to move the sliding member so that the loading zone is open to receive an elongate item while the sliding member is in an actuated state (col 2, lines 75-80).
Regarding claim 2, Christman teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the actuator comprises a cable or string (fig. member 17).
Regarding claim 3, Christman teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the sliding member is biased toward the loading zone by one or more springs (fig. member 16).
Regarding claim 4, Christman teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the loading zone comprises a u-shaped section (zone between fig. members 7) and the sliding member comprises a tab portion (fig. members 15).
Regarding claim 10, Christman teaches a device for securing an elongate item comprising: a grabber portion (fig. member 2) having a loading zone (zone between fig. members 4 and 10) and a sliding member (fig. member 10); an actuator connected to the sliding member (fig. member 17); an extension portion comprising a pole (fig. member 1); and a reinforcing member connected to the loading zone (fig. member 14); wherein the sliding member is biased toward the loading zone in an unactuated state, and the actuator is configured to move the sliding member so that the loading zone is open to receive the elongate item while the sliding member is in an actuated state.
Regarding claim 11, Christman teaches the device of claim 10, further comprising a guide removably attached to the device (fig. members 9).
Regarding claim 13, Christman teaches the device of claim 10, wherein the loading zone comprises a u-shaped section (zone between fig. members 7) and the sliding member comprises a tab portion (fig. members 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christman as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kosta (US 9789506 B2).
Regarding claim 8 Christman teaches all limitations of claim 2, as shown above. Christman does not teach a guide comprising an extension arm and a receiver. Kosta teaches a guide comprising an extension arm and a receiver (fig. 2, member 46). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Christman by adding an extension arm and receiver to increase the stability of the device’s grip.
Regarding claim 12 Christman teaches all limitations of claim 11, as shown above. Christman does not teach a guide comprising an extension arm and a receiver. Kosta teaches a guide comprising an extension arm and a receiver (fig. 2, member 46). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Christman by adding an extension arm and receiver to increase the stability of the device’s grip.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christman and Kosta as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Moore (US 5769474 A).
Christman and Kosta teach all limitations of claim 8, as shown above. Christman and Kosta do not teach a receiver comprising a halved-pipe. Moore teaches a receiver comprising a halved-pipe (fig. 2, member 30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the device by comprising the receiver of a halved-pipe in order to engage and release the periphery of a flag staff.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 14, 16-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not disclose the sliding member with a tab portion which covers the u-shaped section while in an unactuated state of claims 5, 14, nor does it teach the cable or string which runs through an interior of the extension portion of claims 7, 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/TAYLOR J LINDENBUSCH/ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654