DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response the communications filed on 07/06/2026 in which claims 1-2, 10-11 and 18-19 are amended, and claims 1-20 are pending.
--
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
-
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more
Step 1: Claims 1-9 recite a system. Claims 10-17 recite a method. Claims 18-20 recite a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium. Therefore, claims 1-9 are directed to a machine, claims 10-17 are directed to a process, and claims 18-20 are directed to a manufacture.
With respect to claims 1, 10 and 18:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites a judicial exception.
based on the interaction data and profile data associated with the user, predict a journey phase from multiple journey phases of a user journey for the user…, wherein each journey phase is indicative of a different level of user intent during a different time period of the user journey, the journey phase indicative of user intent to perform a first type of interaction with a first online platform; (mental process – evaluation or judgement,--- one can manually predict a journey phase indicative user intent based on interaction and profile data)
determine whether to cause the first piece of content to be presented to the user via the first online platform based on the score; and (mental process – evaluation or judgement,--- one can manually determine if the content to be presented to the user)
2A Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
(claim 1) at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform operations comprising (claim 18) A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions which, when implemented by one or more machines, cause the one or more machines to perform operations comprising (mere instructions to apply an exception, (2) Whether the claim invokes computers - MPEP 2106.05(f); generic computer components)
access interaction data regarding one or more interactions between a user and digital content presented on one or more online platforms (insignificant extra-solution activity – MPEP 2106.05(g), (3) data gathering and outputting)
by a phase determination machine learning model (mere instructions to apply an exception – MPEP 2106.05(f), (3) The particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception; using a machine learning model)
access a first piece of content presented on the first online platform (insignificant extra-solution activity – MPEP 2106.05(g), (3) data gathering and outputting)
feed the first piece of content into a generative artificial intelligence (GAI) model, the GAI outputting an embedding corresponding to the first piece of content, the embedding being a representation of a meaning of the content (mere instructions to apply an exception – MPEP 2106.05(f), (3) The particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception; using a GAI model that takes content as input and generates an embedding as output)
feed the journey phase and the embedding into a content recommendation machine learning model trained separately from the GAI model, the content recommendation machine learning model outputting a score for the first piece of content (mere instructions to apply an exception – MPEP 2106.05(f), (3) The particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception; using a machine learning model that takes the journey phase and the embedding as input and generates a score as an output)
cause presentation of the first piece of content on a user interface of the first online platform based on the determination. (insignificant extra-solution activity – MPEP 2106.05(g), (3) data gathering and outputting)
Since the claim as a whole, looking at the additional elements individually and in combination, does not contain any other additional elements that are indicative of integration into a practical application, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
(claim 1) at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform operations comprising (claim 18) A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions which, when implemented by one or more machines, cause the one or more machines to perform operations comprising (mere instructions to apply an exception, (2) Whether the claim invokes computers - MPEP 2106.05(f); generic computer components)
access interaction data regarding one or more interactions between a user and digital content presented on one or more online platforms (insignificant extra-solution activity – MPEP 2106.05(g), (3) data gathering and outputting, and WURC: receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 - MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)))
by a phase determination machine learning model (mere instructions to apply an exception – MPEP 2106.05(f), (3) The particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception; using a machine learning model)
access a first piece of content presented on the first online platform (insignificant extra-solution activity – MPEP 2106.05(g), (3) data gathering and outputting and WURC: receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 - MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)))
feed the first piece of content into a generative artificial intelligence (GAI) model, the GAI outputting an embedding corresponding to the first piece of content, the embedding being a representation of a meaning of the content (mere instructions to apply an exception – MPEP 2106.05(f), (3) The particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception; using a GAI model that takes content as input and generates an embedding as output)
feed the journey phase and the embedding into a content recommendation machine learning model trained separately from the GAI model, the content recommendation machine learning model outputting a score for the first piece of content (mere instructions to apply an exception – MPEP 2106.05(f), (3) The particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception; using a machine learning model that takes the journey phase and the embedding as input and generates a score as an output)
cause presentation of the first piece of content on a user interface of the first online platform based on the determination. (insignificant extra-solution activity – MPEP 2106.05(g), (3) data gathering and outputting, and WURC: iv. presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; - MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)))
Considering the additional elements individually and in combination, and the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claims 2, 11 and 19:
2A Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
wherein the content recommendation machine learning model takes as input one or more features corresponding to the user in addition to the embedding (mere instructions to apply an exception – MPEP 2106.05(f), (3) The particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception; claim 1 recites “feeding the journey phase and the embedding into a machine learning model,” which is mere instructions to apply an exception. Specifying more details about the input does not cause the limitation to integrate the exception into a practical application.)
Since the claim as a whole, looking at the additional elements individually and in combination, does not contain any other additional elements that are indicative of integration into a practical application, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
wherein the content recommendation machine learning model takes as input one or more features corresponding to the user in addition to the embedding (mere instructions to apply an exception – MPEP 2106.05(f), (3) The particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception; claim 1 recites “feeding the journey phase and the embedding into a machine learning model,” which is mere instructions to apply an exception. Specifying more details about the input does not cause the limitation to be significantly more than the judicial exception.)
Considering the additional elements individually and in combination, and the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claims 3, 12 and 20:
2A Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
wherein the one or more features corresponding to the user are extracted from a user profile (mere instructions to apply an exception – MPEP 2106.05(f), (3) The particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception; claim 2 recites “the machine learning model takes as input one or more features” which is mere instructions to apply an exception. Specifying more details about the features does not cause the limitation to integrate the exception into a practical application.)
Since the claim as a whole, looking at the additional elements individually and in combination, does not contain any other additional elements that are indicative of integration into a practical application, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
wherein the one or more features corresponding to the user are extracted from a user profile (mere instructions to apply an exception – MPEP 2106.05(f), (3) The particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception; claim 2 recites “the machine learning model takes as input one or more features” which is mere instructions to apply an exception. Specifying more details about the features does not cause the limitation to be significantly more than the judicial exception.)
Considering the additional elements individually and in combination, and the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claims 4 and 13:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites a judicial exception.
wherein the operations further comprise recommending the first piece of content be displayed to the user based on a prediction of a likelihood that the user will interact with the first piece of content (mental process – evaluation or judgement,--- a human can manually recommend the content based on a prediction of a likelihood)
With respect to claims 5 and 14:
2A Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
wherein the GAI model is further utilized to generate a textual description of why the first piece of content was recommended to the user (mere instructions to apply an exception – MPEP 2106.05(f), (3) The particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception; high level recitation of using the GAI model to generate a description)
Since the claim as a whole, looking at the additional elements individually and in combination, does not contain any other additional elements that are indicative of integration into a practical application, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
wherein the GAI model is further utilized to generate a textual description of why the first piece of content was recommended to the user (mere instructions to apply an exception – MPEP 2106.05(f), (3) The particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception; high level recitation of using the GAI model to generate a description)
Considering the additional elements individually and in combination, and the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claims 6 and 15:
2A Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
wherein the feeding the first piece of content includes feeding the first piece of content and a list of categories into the GAI model, and the embedding represents a selection of a category from the list of categories, the category determined by the GAI model to be a closest match for the meaning of the content (mere instructions to apply an exception – MPEP 2106.05(f), (3) The particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception; claim 1 recites “feeding the first piece of content into a generative artificial intelligence (GAI) model… ,” which is mere instructions to apply an exception. Specifying more details about the input and output of the GAI model does not cause the limitation to integrate the exception into a practical application.)
Since the claim as a whole, looking at the additional elements individually and in combination, does not contain any other additional elements that are indicative of integration into a practical application, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
wherein the feeding the first piece of content includes feeding the first piece of content and a list of categories into the GAI model, and the embedding represents a selection of a category from the list of categories, the category determined by the GAI model to be a closest match for the meaning of the content (mere instructions to apply an exception – MPEP 2106.05(f), (3) The particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception; claim 1 recites “feeding the first piece of content into a generative artificial intelligence (GAI) model… ,” which is mere instructions to apply an exception. Specifying more details about the input and output of the GAI model does not cause the limitation to be significantly more than the judicial exception.)
Considering the additional elements individually and in combination, and the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claims 7 and 16:
2A Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
wherein the feeding the first piece of content includes additionally providing the GAI model with a text question about the first piece of content (mere instructions to apply an exception – MPEP 2106.05(f), (3) The particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception; claim 1 recites “feeding the first piece of content into a generative artificial intelligence (GAI) model… ,” which is mere instructions to apply an exception. Specifying more details about the input to the GAI model does not cause the limitation to integrate the exception into a practical application.)
Since the claim as a whole, looking at the additional elements individually and in combination, does not contain any other additional elements that are indicative of integration into a practical application, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
wherein the feeding the first piece of content includes additionally providing the GAI model with a text question about the first piece of content (mere instructions to apply an exception – MPEP 2106.05(f), (3) The particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception; claim 1 recites “feeding the first piece of content into a generative artificial intelligence (GAI) model… ,” which is mere instructions to apply an exception. Specifying more details about the input to the GAI model does not cause the limitation to be significantly more than the judicial exception.)
Considering the additional elements individually and in combination, and the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claim 8:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites a judicial exception.
wherein the journey phase is predicted by mapping behavioral signals into a time dimension and a signal strength dimension (mental process – evaluation or judgement,--- a human can manually predict the journey phase by mapping behavioral signals into a time dimension and a signal strength dimension)
With respect to claim 9:
2A Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
wherein the interaction data includes data regarding interactions with a plurality of different content types (insignificant extra-solution activity – MPEP 2106.05(g), (3) data gathering and outputting; claim 1 recites “accessing interaction data,” which is insignificant extra-solution activity. Specifying more details of the interaction data does not cause the limitation to integrate the exception into a practical application.)
Since the claim as a whole, looking at the additional elements individually and in combination, does not contain any other additional elements that are indicative of integration into a practical application, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
wherein the interaction data includes data regarding interactions with a plurality of different content types (insignificant extra-solution activity – MPEP 2106.05(g), (3) data gathering and outputting, and WURC: receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 - MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i); claim 1 recites “accessing interaction data,” which is insignificant extra-solution activity. Specifying more details of the interaction data does not cause the limitation to be significantly more than the judicial exception.)
Considering the additional elements individually and in combination, and the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claim 17:
2A Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
wherein the GAI model is trained to understand content from different domains (mere instructions to apply an exception – MPEP 2106.05(f), (3) The particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception; high level recitation of training the GAI model)
Since the claim as a whole, looking at the additional elements individually and in combination, does not contain any other additional elements that are indicative of integration into a practical application, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
wherein the GAI model is trained to understand content from different domains (mere instructions to apply an exception – MPEP 2106.05(f), (3) The particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception; high level recitation of training the GAI model)
Considering the additional elements individually and in combination, and the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christakopoulou ("Large Language Models for User Interest Journeys" 20230524) in view of Cui ("M6-Rec: Generative Pretrained Language Models are Open-Ended Recommender Systems" 20220519) in view of Xie ("Hidden State Variability of Pretrained Language Models Can Guide Computation Reduction for Transfer Learning" 20221019)
In regard to claims 1, 10 and 18, Christakopoulou teaches: access interaction data regarding one or more interactions between a user and digital content presented on one or more online platforms; (Christakopoulou, p. 4, 3 METHODS: JOURNEY SERVICE "The proposed journey service consists of two components, as illustrated in Figure 1: (1) Journey Extraction: Maps the sequence of noisy interactions a user had with items on the platform [interaction data between a user and digital content (items) on platforms] into coherent journey clusters.")
based on the interaction data and profile data associated with the user, predict a journey phase from multiple journey phases of a user journey for the user by a phase determination machine learning model, (Christakopoulou, p. 2, 1 INTRODUCTION "To this end, we propose to build a personalized user journey profile which 1) uses personalized clustering to uncover coherent user journeys, i.e., persisting user interests, needs, and goals, from a long sequence of user interaction logs, [based on the interaction data (interaction logs) and profile data (personalized user data, personalized journey clusters)] and 2) leverages the capabilities of LLMs [by a phase determination machine learning model] aligned to the user interest journey domain through prompt-tuning [27] and fine-tuning [60] on different data sources, to describe the extracted journeys with interpretable and nuanced names. [predict a journey phase (e.g. a journay name at time t_k) from multiple journey phases (extracted journeys)] Together, we make the following contributions: • A first demonstration of the capabilities of LLMs to uncover and describe in natural language the interests, needs, and goals users pursue, similar to how people would describe them, e.g., hydroponic gardening, playing the ukulele as a beginner, cooking italian recipes (Figure 1). We posit that this will unlock unique user experiences and enable recommenders to assist users throughout their journeys.")
wherein each journey phase is indicative of a different level of user intent during a different time period of the user journey, the journey phase indicative of user intent to perform a first type of interaction with a first online platform; (Christakopoulou, p. 4, 3 METHODS: JOURNEY SERVICE "Journeys. We first define journey as the umbrella term for user interests, needs, and goals: a user journey is a sequence of user-item interactions spanning different periods of time, coherent around a certain user interest, need or goal. [a different level of user intent (user interests/needs/goals) during a different time period of the user journey] Users can have multiple journeys at any time point, and the journeys can be interleaving. Journey-aware recommendation. We envision a journey-aware recommender system, capable of identifying personalized user interest journeys and making recommendations accordingly to assist these journeys. Here we focus on the foundation work of extracting and naming user interest journeys, referred to as journey service, and leave mapping these extracted and named journeys to recommendations for future works. The proposed journey service consists of two components, as illustrated in Figure 1: (1) Journey Extraction: Maps the sequence of noisy interactions a user had with items on the platform into coherent journey clusters. The journey clusters span different time periods, with singleton journeys (i.e., containing only a single user-item interaction) removed. (2) Journey Naming: Maps the extracted journey clusters to human-readable, nuanced journey names based on content metadata, such as hydroponic gardening, playing the ukulele as a beginner. [indicative of user intent to perform a first type of interaction with a first online
platform]")
Christakopoulou does not teach, but Cui teaches: A system comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform operations comprising: (Cui, p. 11, A APPENDIX "We train M6-Rec in a distributed manner on four machines, where each machine is equipped with eight Nvidia Tesla V100 GPUs.")
… based on the interaction data and profile data associated with the user, (Cui, p. 4, 3.2 Behavior Modeling as Language Modeling "We may put information about the user [profile data associated with the user] along with some basic facts between [BOS'] and [EOS'] if necessary."; see the above limitation for [the interaction data] between [BOS'] and [EOS']) predicting a journey phase of a user journey for the user, the journey phase indicative of user intent to perform a first type of interaction with a first online platform; (Cui, p. 3, Figure 3 "The figure showcases our implementation of late interaction for click-through rate (CTR) prediction. To support tasks that emphasize low-latency real-time inference, M6-Rec pre-computes and caches the first L' layers’ results, while computing the last L-L' layers for performing late interaction when the request arrives... we can dynamically incorporate the user’s latest activities. [real-time inference, latest activities, a journey phase of a user journey]"; p. 4 Zero-shot scoring tasks)
access a first piece of content presented on the first online platform; (Cui, p. 3, Figure 3 "The special token [BOS′] before the user feature text and the two special tokens [EOS′] [BOS] before the candidate feature text are omitted for clarity."; see Fig. 3, User Features. Candidate features. User-candidate cross features. [EOS] [a first piece of content], which includes products presented on the platform)
feed the first piece of content into a generative artificial intelligence (GAI) model, the GAI outputting an embedding corresponding to the first piece of content, the embedding being a representation of a meaning of the content; (Cui, p. 1, 1 Introduction "In this paper, we extend our existing generative pretrained language model M6 [28–30] and present M6-Rec, a foundation model for recommender systems."; p. 5, 3.3 Late Interaction for Low-Latency Inference "We illustrate the design of multi-segment late interaction in Figure 3 using CTR prediction as an example. The core idea is to precompute and cache the computation results of the Transformer’s first L' layers [the first L' layers of the Transformer, a generative artificial intelligence (GAI) model]... The first L' layers do not model the interaction among the segments of a request. We hence concatenate these segments’ results precomputed by the first L' layers to form a single sequence, [the GAI outputting an embedding]
and...")
feed the journey phase and the embedding into a content recommendation machine learning model..., (Cui, p. 5, 3.3 Late Interaction for Low-Latency Inference "... run the Transformer’s last L-L' layers [a content recommendation machine learning model] in real time when a user request arrives. [the journey phase, user request in real-time (real- time inference)] We use L-L' ≤ 3 for low latency... It processes the segments individually, and caches the segments’ results for future reuse... We hence concatenate these segments’ results precomputed by the first L' layers to form a single sequence, [the embedding] and run the last L-L' layers of M6’s Transformer on the said sequence to take the interaction into account [the embedding (the sequence, precomputed) + the journey phase (real-time inference)].") the content recommendation machine learning model outputting a score for the first piece of content; (Cui, p. 4, Zero-shot scoring tasks "language models can estimate the likelihood of an event [the score] in a zero-shot manner, as long as the event is described in natural language."; zero-shot (real-time inference))
determine whether to cause the first piece of content to be presented to the user via the first online platform based on the score; and (Cui, p. 4, Zero-shot scoring tasks "language models can estimate the likelihood of an event [the score] in a zero-shot manner, as long as the event is described in natural language. For example, to estimate whether a user who clicks hiking shoes prefers trekking poles or yoga knee pads, [determining a recommendation decision based on the score] we can construct the following two sentences: [BOS′] A user clicks hiking shoes [EOS′] [BOS] also... M6-Rec sends each sentence into M6’s Transformer and obtains the probability of each token. Let... be the output probabilities [the score] corresponding to token 'trekking', 'poles', 'yoga'... respectively.")
cause presentation of the first piece of content on a user interface of the first online platform based on the determination. (Cui, p. 6, Figure 6 "Personalized product design for Taobao. M6-Rec generates the ideal product title based on a user’s past behaviors. The text-to-image synthesis pipeline of M6-UFC [63] is then used. M6-Rec predicts that this example user is a middle-aged housewife based on the user’s past behaviors."; see Fig. 6 the image of the recommended product is presented on the interface for Taobao)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Christakopoulou to incorporate the teachings of Cui by including techniques such as parameter sharing and late interaction. Doing so would achieve low-latency real-time inference and accelerate the inference speed. (Cui, p. 2, 1 Introduction "we implement a multi-segment variant of late interaction [19] when adapting M6-Rec to tasks that require low-latency real-time inference… we further employ techniques such as parameter sharing... to reduce the model size and accelerate the inference speed.")
Christakopoulou
and Cui does not teach, but Xie teaches: … a machine learning model trained separately from the GAI model (Xie, p. 4, Figure 2 "We present our strategies with a toy model of L = 5 layers and l∗ = 3. The green layers will be tuned (e.g. fine-tuned or adapter-tuned) during the task-specific training [a machine learning model trained separately] while the grey layers are not."; tuning only the last few layers)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Christakopoulou and Cui to incorporate the teachings of Xie by including layer-selecting strategies. Doing so would result in significant reduction of computation cost in fine-tuning. (Xie, p. 3, 3.2 Layer-Selecting Strategies "Only using the selected layers will result in significant reduction of computation cost: In fine-tuning, only the parameters of the selected layers will be updated.")
Claims 10 and 18 recite substantially the same limitation as claim 1, therefore the rejection applied to claim 1 also apply to claims 10 and 18. In addition, Christakopoulou does not teach, but Cui teaches: A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions which, when implemented by one or more machines, cause the one or more machines to perform operations comprising: (Cui, p. 11, A APPENDIX "We train M6-Rec in a distributed manner on four machines, where each machine is equipped with eight Nvidia Tesla V100 GPUs.")
In regard to claims 2, 11 and 19, Christakopoulou does not teach, but Cui teaches: wherein the content recommendation machine learning model takes as input one or more features corresponding to the user in addition to the embedding. (Cui, p. 5, Zero-shot scoring tasks "M6-Rec supports other zero-shot tasks, such as building tag-based user profiles [features corresponding to the user] in a zero-shot manner, in a similar vein."; structured prompt can include features from user profile by embedding structured metadata (e.g., using XML tags like <user_type> or <interests>); zero-shot (real-time inference))
The rationale for combining the teachings of Christakopoulou and Cui is the same as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
In regard to claims 3, 12 and 20, Christakopoulou does not teach, but Cui teaches: wherein the one or more features corresponding to the user are extracted from a user profile. (Cui, p. 5, Zero-shot scoring tasks "M6-Rec supports other zero-shot tasks, such as building tag-based user profiles [a user profile] in a zero-shot manner, in a similar vein."; structured prompt can include features from user profile by embedding structured metadata (e.g., using XML tags like <user_type> or <interests>); zero-shot (real-time inference))
The rationale for combining the teachings of Christakopoulou and Cui is the same as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
In regard to claims 4 and 13, Christakopoulou does not teach, but Cui teaches: wherein the operations further comprise recommending the first piece of content be displayed to the user based on a prediction of a likelihood that the user will interact with the first piece of content. (Cui, p. 4, Generation task "We can further send the title into a text-to-image [using image: displayed to the user] synthesis pipeline such as M6-UFC [63]."; p. 4, Zero-shot scoring tasks "language models can estimate the likelihood of an event [a prediction of a likelihood that the user will interact with the first piece of content] in a zero-shot manner, as long as the event is described in natural language. For example, to estimate whether a user who clicks hiking shoes prefers trekking poles or yoga knee pads, we can construct the following two sentences: [BOS′] A user clicks hiking shoes [EOS′] [BOS] also... M6-Rec sends each sentence into M6’s Transformer and obtains the probability of each token. Let... be the output probabilities corresponding to token 'trekking', 'poles', 'yoga'... respectively.")
The rationale for combining the teachings of Christakopoulou and Cui is the same as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
In regard to claims 5 and 14, Christakopoulou does not teach, but Cui teaches: wherein the GAI model is further utilized to generate a textual description of why the first piece of content was recommended to the user. (Cui, p. 4, Generation tasks "M6-Rec uses the following plain text format to support both personalized product design [18] and explainable recommendation [why the first piece of content was recommended to the user.] [61]: [BOS′]... [EOS′] [BOS] The user now purchases a product of category '...' named '...'. Product details: ... The user likes it because ...[EOS] ... The product description is included here to provide basic facts for drafting an explanation text when making a recommendation decision")
The rationale for combining the teachings of Christakopoulou and Cui is the same as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
In regard to claims 6 and 15, Christakopoulou does not teach, but Cui teaches: wherein the feeding the first piece of content includes feeding the first piece of content and a list of categories into the GAI model, and the embedding represents a selection of a category from the list of categories, the category determined by the GAI model to be a closest match for the meaning of the content. (Cui, p. 5, Retrieval tasks "M6-Rec feeds the information of a user into M6’s Transformer using the following format: [BOS′] December. Beijing, China. Cold weather. A male user in early twenties, searched 'winter stuff' 23 minutes ago, clicked a product of category 'jacket' named 'men’s lightweight warm winter hooded jacket' 19 minutes ago,... [EOS′] [BOS] [EOS] The output corresponding to [EOS′] is linearly projected into a 128-dimensional vector and l2-normalized to form the user’s vector representation x. [a selection of a category from the list of categories, closest match for the meaning of the content] An item’s text is fed into the model as follows: [BOS′] [EOS′] [BOS] A product of category 'boots' named 'waterproof hiking shoes mens outdoor'. High CTR among the top 5%. Product details:...[EOS] Again, the output at [EOS] is projected into a 128-dimensional vector and l2-normalized to serve as the item’s vector representation y. We use two different learnable matrices for linearly projecting user vectors and item vectors... "; embedding selection or token-level selection, fixed-length vector that summarizes the entire input)
The rationale for combining the teachings of Christakopoulou and Cui is the same as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
In regard to claims 7 and 16, Christakopoulou does not teach, but Cui teaches: wherein the feeding the first piece of content includes additionally providing the GAI model with a text question about the first piece of content. (Cui, p. 4 "Generation task: conversational recommendation. M6-Rec supports this task by marking the speaker of each sentence:[BOS']... [EOS'] [BOS] USER: Hi! SYSTEM: What kind of movie do you like? USER: I like horror movies. SYSTEM: How about The Shining (1980)?... [a text question][EOS]")
The rationale for combining the teachings of Christakopoulou and Cui is the same as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
In regard to claim 9, Christakopoulou does not teach, but Cui teaches: wherein the interaction data includes data regarding interactions with a plurality of different content types. (Cui, p. 4, Scoring tasks"M6-Rec expresses an example sample for CTR prediction as follows and sends it into M6’s Transformer: [BOS′] December. Beijing, China. Cold weather. A male user in early twenties, searched 'winter stuff' 23 minutes ago, clicked a product of category 'jacket' named 'men’s lightweight warm winter hooded jacket' 19 minutes ago, clicked a product of category 'sweatshirt' named 'men’s plus size sweatshirt stretchy pullover hoodies' 13 minutes ago, clicked... [interactions with a plurality of different content types]")
The rationale for combining the teachings of Christakopoulou and Cui is the same as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
In regard to claim 17, Christakopoulou does not teach, but Cui teaches: wherein the GAI model is trained to understand content from different domains. (Cui, p. 1, Abstract "In this paper, we explore the possibility of developing a unified foundation model to support open-ended domains [understand content from different domains] and tasks in an industrial recommender system… we propose an improved version of prompt tuning [the GAI model is trained] that outperforms fine-tuning with negligible 1% task-specific parameters"; p. 1, 1 Introduction "we propose option tuning, [the GAI model is trained] an improved variant of prompt tuning [22], in place of fine-tuning. It adds negligible task-specific parameters and makes no modification to the pre-trained model’s parameters")
The rationale for combining the teachings of Christakopoulou and Cui is the same as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christakopoulou, Cui and Xie, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Cao ("Time-aware Prompting for Text Generation" 20221103)
In regard to claim 8, Christakopoulou, Cui and Xie do not teach, but Cao teaches: wherein the journey phase is predicted by mapping behavioral signals into a time dimension and a signal strength dimension. (Cao, p. 1, 1 Introduction "this work aims to study the effects of presenting temporal information to generation models. Concretely, to include timestamps in model inputs, we consider prepending two types of time aware prompts to the encoder or the decoder."; p. 3, Figure 2 "A linear prompt treats year/month/day as separate scalars [a time dimension] and projects them into continuous prompt vectors [a signal strength dimension] to be used on encoder or decoder. The vector’s scale reflects their temporal orderings.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Christakopoulou, Cui and Xie to incorporate the teachings of Cao by including temporal information with separate scalars in model inputs. Doing so would improve the generation quality. (Cao, p. 1, Abstract "we show that linear prompts on encoder and textual prompts improve the generation quality on all datasets. Despite having less performance drop… are less sensitive to the given timestamps…")
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
Argument: (p. 10-13) Revised Guidance Step 2A, Prong 1… For example, claim 1 recites "based on the interaction data and profile data associated with the user, predict a journey phase from multiple journey phases of a user journey for the user by a phase determination machine learning model, wherein each journey phase is indicative of a different level of user intent during a different time period of the user journey, the journey phase indicative of user intent to perform a first type of interaction with a first online platform." (Emphasis Added). The prediction operation is explicitly performed by a phase determination machine learning model. By definition the human mind is not a machine learning model. Rather, the phase determination machine learning model is computer software executing on computer hardware…
Response: Under Step 2A, Prong 1, the limitation "based on the interaction data and profile data associated with the user, predict a journey phase…" is mental process – evaluation or judgement. Further, the limitation “by a phase determination machine learning model” is evaluated under Step 2A, Prong 1 and step 2B as mere instructions to apply an exception – MPEP 2106.05(f).
Argument: (p. 13-17) Revised Guidance Step 2A, Prong 2… For example, paragraph 15 of the Specification, identifies improvements in a generative artificial intelligence (GAI) model is used to generate embeddings, eliminating the need for a separately trained embedding model or layer. Spec. 15. At least the following limitations of the representative claim reflects the improvement, such as "feed the first piece of content into a generative artificial intelligence (GAI) model, the GAI outputting an embedding corresponding to the first piece of content, the embedding being a representation of a meaning of the content." This constitutes an improvement to how the machine learning model itself operates... The recited features therefore allow the system to improve upon current systems using a combination of three machine learning models, including a phase determination machine learning model, a content recommendation machine learning model, and a GAI model to generate an embedding for the content recommendation machine learning model. This results in an improvement in computer-related technologies.
Response: The claim recites three generic machine learning models (including a phase determination machine learning model, a GAI model, and a content recommendation machine learning model) used to process input data and generate output data. The combination of three models (or chaining three models) is still mere instructions to apply an exception – MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore, the feature does not integrate the exception into a practical application and is not sufficient to be significantly more than the judicial exception.
Argument: (p. 18) Revised Guidance Step 2B… However, the Office Action does not explain why the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the identified judicial exception.
Response: The examiner has provided explanation for all the claims in section 101 Rejection. (Also see 2106.05 Eligibility Step 2B “in Step 2B, examiners should: • Carry over their identification of the additional element(s) in the claim from Step 2A Prong Two; • Carry over their conclusions from Step 2A Prong Two on the considerations discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.05(a) - (c), (e) (f) and (h): • Re-evaluate any additional element or combination of elements that was considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity per MPEP § 2106.05(g)…”)
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are moot or not persuasive:
Argument: (p. 20-21) Claim 1 defines over the cited references for other reasons as well. For example, claim 1 recites "based on the interaction data and profile data associated with the user, predict a journey phase from multiple journey phases of a user journey for the user by a phase determination machine learning model." (Emphasis Added)…
Response: the arguments do not apply to the references (Christakopoulou) being used in the current rejection.
Argument: (p. 22-23) The Office Action attempts to read "GAI model" of claim 1 on the first L' layers of the M6-Rec model, and the "embedding" of claim 1 on the concatenated segments that form a single sequence. However, the concatenated segments are not fed into another machine learning model. The Office Action attempts to read "GAI model" of claim 1 on the first L' layers of the M6-Rec model, and the "embedding" of claim 1 on the concatenated segments that form a single sequence. However, the concatenated segments are not fed into another machine learning model… However, the machine learning model of Xie does not use an input embedding (4, 5, 5) generated by a GAI model. In fact the cited portions of Xie are completely silent on the origination of the input embedding used by its models. Conversely, the M6-Rec model of Cui does not generate an input embedding for a separately trained machine learning model. The last L-L' layers of the M6-Rec model are from the same model as the first L' layers. Therefore, the cited references cannot disclose "feed the journey phase and the embedding into a content recommendation machine learning model trained separately from the GAI model, the content recommendation machine learning model outputting a score for the first piece of content" as recited in claim 1.
Response: In both prior arts Cui and Xie, the model’s former layers (the first/former sub-model) map to the GAI model that generates an embedding, and its latter layers (the second/latter sub-model) map to a content recommendation machine learning model that outputs a score (in Cui) or is trained separately (in Xie). Further, the embeddings generated from the first/former sub-model are fed into the second/latter sub-model.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2146
/USMAAN SAEED/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2146