Detailed Action
1. This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s communication filed on 05/23/2025. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-15 are currently pending in this Office Action.
Priority
3. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of continuation application from PCT/KR2021/013532 which claims KR foreign priority in ADS filed on 06/22/2023 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) or 37 CFR 1.78 is acknowledged.
Election/Restrictions
4. Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, i.e., claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 05/23/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the inventions I & II in Group I and Group II have common feature like “a housing”. This is not found persuasive because the inventions are patentably distinct such that manufacturing, preparing and forming steps in Invention II simply could not be rendered obvious by the same rationales applicable to the structures in Invention I.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
7. Claims 1-7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. Pub. No.: US 2015/0109170 A1 in view of Kim et al. Pub. No: US 2017/0302771 A1.
Claim 1
Kang discloses an electronic device (mobile terminal in fig. 1-12) comprising:
a communication module (202 having antenna 290 and radiation patterns P1-2 in fig. 4);
a printed circuit board (PCB) (251 in fig. 4) provided with the communication module (2nd cover 202, metallic frame 300 facilitates PCB 251 of fig. 4, see fig. 2-3); and
a housing supporting the PCB (fig. 2-4, combination of 1-3 covers, PCB and metallic frame; alternatively, see fig. 9 for metallic frame 300 in fig. 4 and fig. 8, as depicted in fig. 4, PCB 251-252 will be stacked in fig. 2-3, i.e., supporting the PCB), and comprising an inner supporter made of a conductive material (see MPEP 2111, with reasonably interpretation, par. 0144 reads on by describing that a metallic frame 300 supports inside of the mobile terminal, display module, an antenna device or module, and a main printed circuit board 251) and an outer casing supporting the inner supporter (outer rectangular frame of 300 in fig. 4, see fig. 2-3 & 8, see par. 0145 for stating that the metallic frame is exposed to outside of the mobile terminal and also to support devices or modules as explained in par. 0144), the inner supporter comprising:
a main body (metallic frame 300 in fig. 4 and see fig. 2-3 & 8), a bridge extended from a first outer edge of the main body in a certain direction (rectangular bridge extending from edge portion as depicted in fig. 8 and if referring to fig. 8, there’ll be four out edges at least metallic frame, see par. 0144 for receiving display module, PCB, batter and antenna device),
at least one antenna radiator (antenna 290 and P1-2 in fig. 4 connecting to fig. 8-9, 321-322 radiation pattern) extended from the bridge along a second outer edge of the housing (as depicted in fig. 8-9, radiation patterns 321 or 322 extend from one side to the second side, i.e., edges and see par. 0183),
a contact portion (conductive connection portion 342 in fig. 9 or conductive members in par. 0152) provided from the at least one antenna radiator and facing toward an inside of the housing (fig. 9 and par. 0184, the conductive connection portion 342 for connection of the radiation portion of the metallic frame 300, i.e., the housing), and
a connecting member (a plastic member at a metallic member in par. 0177 in view of fig. 4 & 8-9 or socket 219 in fig. 2-4 & 8-9) made of a non-conductive material (display module 210b in fig. 4) and fixing the at least one antenna radiator (plastic member explained in par. 0177).
Although Kang does not explicitly disclose: “a main body made of a conductive sheet”, the claim limitation is considered obvious by the following rationales.
In fact, Kang depicts fig. 9 for the metallic frame having PCB. But, Kang does not explicitly show that the main body of the metallic frame is a conductive sheet. However, Kang displaces the display unit could be a touch sheet (par. 0086), flexible PCB (fig. 7 & 9 and par. 0189-0190 & 0912) and the metallic frame supports the display module, the antenna and PCB (par. 0144). It means that in view of fig. 2-4 & 8-9 of Kang, metal frame has main body as a display module or PCB or both that are conductive sheet and thus, this teaching of Kang could have rendered the addressing claim limitation obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. To advance the prosecution, further evidence is provided herein. In particular, Kim teaches an electronic device having a metallic sheet (131 in fig. 1-2 and par. 0056, see fig. 4 and par. 0094 & 0097). Additionally, Kim teaches the antenna radiator (170 in fig. 1-2 and see par. 0081-0082) and a non-conductive plane (120 in fig. 1-2 and non-conductive member 160 in par. 0066).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a mobile terminal of Kang by providing an electronic device including antenna as taught in Kim. Such a modification would have provided an electronic device to include antenna so that the interference incurred from the antenna would be minimized and the performance would not be degraded as suggested in par. 0004-0006 in Kim.
Claim 2
Kang, in view of Kim, discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein at least one among the bridge, the at least one antenna radiator and the contact portion is formed by bending a strap extended outwards from the first outer edge of the main body (Kang, see antenna 290 and radiation patterns P1-2 of fig. 4 into fig. 9 and edge portion in fig. 8, and also see flexible PCBs and coaxial cable 261-263 in fig. 9 like a strap; Kim, the antenna radiator 170 in fig. 1-2 and fig. 20 shows the use of strap on smart watch and par. 0066-0067; for these reasons, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the combined prior art to perform equally well to the claim, see MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Claim 3
Kang, in view of Kim, discloses the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the at least one antenna radiator is extended being bent perpendicularly to a first sheet surface of the main body (Kang, antenna and radiation patterns in fig. 4 & 8-9; Kim, see fig. 4, 33metallic sheet 131 and the antenna radiator 170 in fig. 1-2, the antenna radiator may be spaced apart from the display panel in the vertical direction in par. 0081; accordingly, the combined prior art renders the claim obvious).
Claim 4
Kang, in view of Kim, discloses the electronic device of claim 3, wherein the contact portion is formed by transforming a second sheet surface of the at least one antenna radiator to protrude toward the main body (Kang, antenna and radiation patterns and see 1st, 2nd , 3rd covers and display module in fig. 4 & 8-9 and see protrusions in fig. 4 & 9; Kim, metallic sheet and antenna radiator 170 in fig. 1-2 and fig. 17 and see par. 0066 & 0100-0102; accordingly, one of the ordinary skill in the art would have expected the combined prior art to perform equally well to the claim, see MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale G).
Claim 5
Kang, in view of Kim, discloses the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the contact portion protrudes from the second sheet surface of the at least one antenna radiator toward the main body and is bent to have a third sheet surface parallel to the second sheet surface of the at least one antenna radiator (Kang, antenna and radiation patterns, flexible PCBs and see 1st, 2nd , 3rd covers and display module in fig. 4 & 8-9 and see protrusions in fig. 4 & 9; Kim, metallic sheet and antenna radiator 170 in fig. 1-2 and fig. 17 and see par. 0066 & 0100-0102; accordingly, one of the ordinary skill in the art would have expected the combined prior art to perform equally well to the claim, see MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale G; see protrusion in fig. 5A and par. 0069 in Cho et al. Pub. No.: US 2018/0310426 A1).
Claim 6
Kang, in view of Kim, discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein
the at least one antenna radiator comprises two or more antenna radiators (Kang, two radiators P1-P2 in fig. 4 and 321-322 in fig. 8-9; Kim, first, second and third radiators 371-373 in fig. 3A-B and par. 0084),
each of the two or more antenna radiators is provided with a first coupling unit (Kang, fig. 4 & 8-9 for non-metallic coupling 330 and the conductive coupling 291, a through hole 341 and a conductive connection portion 342 in fig. 9), and
the connecting member comprises a second coupling unit coupled to the first coupling unit (Kang, par. 0184-0185, the conductive connection portion 342 extends from an inner circumference of the through hole to the metallic frame 300 with second cover 202 in as depicted in fig. 4 & 8-9 for non-metallic coupling 330 and the conductive coupling 291; Kim, connecting member and coupling in par. 0135 and see fig. 3A-B for coupling radiator to feeding units and ground units in par. 0087; for these reasons, the combined prior art renders the claim obvious).
Claim 7
Kang, in view of Kim, discloses the electronic device of claim 6, wherein the first coupling unit is fused to the second coupling unit in a process of insert-injection molding the inner supporter into the outer casing (Kang, fig. 4 & 8-8 and par. 0184-0185, injection-molded synthetic resin in par. 0124 and the injected non-metallic coupling; Kim, an injection molding manner in par. 0065, 0235, 0242 & 0248; and thus, the combined prior art read on the claim).
Claim 9
Kang, in view of Kim, discloses the electronic device of claim 6, wherein one of the first coupling unit and the second coupling unit comprises a hook (Kang, fig. 4 & 8-9 for non-metallic coupling 330 and the conductive coupling 291; Kim, coupling for radiators are spaces apart in fig. 3A-B and par. 0140), and the other one of the first coupling unit and the second coupling unit comprises a hook holder to which the hook is hooked (Kang, coupling the covers and members in par. 0146-0147, screws are coupled to holes, as hooked; Kim, fig. 3A-3B; although the combined prior art does not explicitly show the use of hook, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the combined prior art to perform equally well to the claim, see MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F; see evidence for use of hook in par. 0044 & 0092 in Park et al. Pub. No.: US 2017/0055353 A1).
Claim 10
Kang, in view of Kim, discloses the electronic device of claim 6, wherein the connecting member is made of a transparent material (Kang, stainless steel or titanium in par. 0124, rubber material in par. 0171; Kim, tempered glass in par. 0051, copper in par. 0056) and the first coupling unit is fused to the second coupling unit by a laser (Kang, fig. 4 & 7-8 and the use of laser sensor in par. 0100; Kim, 1-17; with these reasons, since claim requirement is found routine skill in the art for fusing two units by the laser unless claim further recites a particular method, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the claim to perform equally well with the combined prior art, see MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale G; see the fusing process or fusing the conductive pattern in par. 0110 and patterning with a laser beam in par. 0108 of Yoo et al. Pub. No.: US 2017/0244163 A1).
Claim 11
Kang, in view of Kim, discloses the electronic device of claim 6, wherein the first coupling unit is bonded to the second coupling unit by adhesive (Kang, fig. 4 for adhering layer and non-metallic coupling in par. 0169; Kim, connecting member and coupling in par. 0135 and see fig. 3A-B for coupling radiator to feeding units and ground units in par. 0087; accordingly, the combined prior art would have rendered the claim obvious).
Claim 12
Kang discloses an electronic device (mobile terminal in fig. 1-12) comprising:
a housing comprising (fig. 2-4, combination of 1-3 covers, PCB and metallic frame; alternatively, see fig. 9 for metallic frame 300 in fig. 4 and fig. 8, as depicted in fig. 4, PCB 251-252 will be stacked in fig. 2-3, i.e., supporting the PCB) an inner supporter made of a conductive material (see MPEP 2111, with reasonably interpretation, par. 0144 reads on by describing that a metallic frame 300 supports inside of the mobile terminal, display module, an antenna device or module, and a main printed circuit board 251) and an outer casing supporting the inner supporter (outer rectangular frame of 300 in fig. 4, see fig. 2-3 & 8, see par. 0145 for stating that the metallic frame is exposed to outside of the mobile terminal and also to support devices or modules as explained in par. 0144),
the inner supporter comprising:
a main body (metallic frame 300 in fig. 4 and see fig. 2-3 & 8),
a bridge extended from a first outer edge of the main body in a certain direction (rectangular bridge extending from edge portion as depicted in fig. 8 and if referring to fig. 8, there’ll be four out edges at least metallic frame, see par. 0144 for receiving display module, PCB, batter and antenna device),
at least one antenna radiator (antenna 290 and P1-2 in fig. 4 connecting to fig. 8-9, 321-322 radiation pattern) extended from the bridge along a second outer edge of the housing (as depicted in fig. 8-9, radiation patterns 321 or 322 extend from one side to the second side, i.e., edges and see par. 0183),
a contact portion (conductive connection portion 342 in fig. 9 or conductive members in par. 0152) provided from the at least one antenna radiator and facing toward an inside of the housing (fig. 9 and par. 0184, the conductive connection portion 342 for connection of the radiation portion of the metallic frame 300, i.e., the housing), and
a connecting member (a plastic member at a metallic member in par. 0177 in view of fig. 4 & 8-9) made of a non-conductive material and fixing the at least one antenna radiator (plastic member explained in par. 0177 and see fig. 4 connecting to fig. 8-9).
Although Kang does not explicitly disclose: “a main body made of a conductive sheet”, the claim limitation is considered obvious by the following rationales.
In fact, Kang depicts fig. 9 for the metallic frame having PCB. But, Kang does not explicitly show that the main body of the metallic frame is a conductive sheet. However, Kang displaces the display unit could be a touch sheet (par. 0086), flexible PCB (fig. 7 & 9 and par. 0189-0190 & 0912) and the metallic frame supports the display module, the antenna and PCB (par. 0144). It means that in view of fig. 2-4 & 8-9 of Kang, metal frame has main body as a display module or PCB or both that are conductive sheet and thus, this teaching of Kang could have rendered the addressing claim limitation obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. To advance the prosecution, further evidence is provided herein. In particular, Kim teaches an electronic device having a metallic sheet (131 in fig. 1-2 and par. 0056, see fig. 4 and par. 0094 & 0097). Additionally, Kim teaches the antenna radiator (170 in fig. 1-2 and see par. 0081-0082) and a non-conductive plane (120 in fig. 1-2 and non-conductive member 160 in par. 0066).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a mobile terminal of Kang by providing an electronic device including antenna as taught in Kim. Such a modification would have provided an electronic device to include antenna so that the interference incurred from the antenna would be minimized and the electronic device would not be degraded the performance as suggested in par. 0004-0006 in Kim.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/SAN HTUN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643