DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are amended to include when the main load unit operates normally at an operating voltage, the main load unit receives the supply voltage from the power supply directly without passing through the bypass unit.
However, there is no support in the specs for the amendment. Applicant is to provide paragraphs which teaches the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-14, 17-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pabon (US 2011/0057724).
Re Claims 1 and 13; Pabon discloses A power supply system (Fig. 6), comprising:
a power supply (602 and 604 and 606), configured to provide an adjustable supply voltage; (Par 0078)
a power receiving system, (power cables) electrically connected to the power supply through a port for receiving the supply voltage. (Fig. 6)
a main load unit (603), electrically connected to the power supply for receiving the supply voltage;
a DC-DC voltage conversion unit (608a), electrically connected to the power supply (Fig. 6);
a bypass unit (650A), electrically connected to the power supply; and
a controller (604)
at least one sub-load unit, (Not shown but would be coupled to 614B-N) electrically connected to the DC-DC voltage conversion unit and the bypass unit, (Fig 6)
wherein when the main load unit stops operating, the controller provides the power supply with a signal reflecting a required voltage of the sub-load unit, the power supply adjusts the supply voltage to be equal to the required voltage (Par 0046, 79,81, the controller actively monitors the operation of the load and controllers the power to the load accordingly) and provides the adjusted supply voltage to the sub-load unit through the bypass unit. (Par 0078-79, because the sensing nature of the circuit, the controller determines when the load is not present and disable the switch) and when the main load unit operates normally (first range) at an operating voltage, the main load unit receives the supply voltage from the power supply directly without passing through the bypass unit. (Par 0077 and 95)
wherein the controller determines whether the main load unit is operating according to an output current of the power supply. (Par 0078, 81)
Re Claims 5 and 17; Pabon discloses wherein when the main load unit operates, the supply voltage is converted by the DC-DC voltage conversion unit and then provided to the at least one sub-load unit. (Par 0078, 81 and Fig. 6)
Re Claims 6 and 18; Pabon discloses comprising N power modules and a plurality of said sub-load units, wherein N is an integer larger than 1, each of the N power modules comprises one said DC-DC voltage conversion unit and one said bypass unit, the first power module is electrically connected to the power supply, the first through Nth power modules are electrically connected in series sequentially, the plurality of sub- load units forms N sub-load unit assemblies each comprising at least one sub-load unit, the at least one sub-load unit of the first sub-load unit assembly is electrically connected to the power supply through the first power module, and the at least one sub-load unit of the (n+1)th sub-load unit assembly is electrically connected to the power supply through the first to (n+1)th power modules, where n is an integer larger than or equal to 1 and smaller than N. (Fig. 6)
Re Claim 7 and 19; Pabon discloses wherein in each of the N power modules, when a voltage received by the power module is equal to a required voltage of the sub-load unit connected to the power module, the voltage received by the power module is provided through the bypass unit of the power module to the sub-load unit connected to the power module. (Fig. 6)
Re Claim 8 and 20; Pabon discloses wherein in each of the N power modules, when a voltage received by the power module is not equal to a required voltage of the sub-load unit connected to the power module, the voltage received by the power module is converted by the DC-DC voltage conversion unit of the power module and then provided to the sub-load unit connected to the power module. (Par 0078, 81)
Re Claim 9 and 21; Pabon discloses wherein when a voltage received by the nth power module is equal to a required voltage of the sub- load unit of the nth sub-load unit assembly connected to the nth power module, the voltage received by the nth power module is provided through the bypass unit of the nth power module to the sub-load unit of the nth sub- load unit assembly and the (n+1)th power module. (Fig. 6)
Re Claim 10 and 22; Pabon discloses wherein when a voltage received by the nth power module is not equal to a required voltage of the sub-load unit of the nth sub-load unit assembly connected to the nth power module, the voltage received by the nth power module is converted by the DC-DC voltage conversion unit of the nth power module and then provided to the sub-load unit of the nth sub-load unit assembly and the (n+1)th power module. (Par 0078, 81)
Re Claims 11 and 23; Pabon discloses further comprising a controller, wherein when the main load unit stops operating, the controller provides the power supply with a signal reflecting required voltages of the plurality of sub-load units, the power supply adjusts the supply voltage according to the required voltages of the plurality of sub-load units. (Par 0078, 81)
Re Claim 12 and 24; Pabon discloses further comprising a controller, wherein when the main load unit and a part of the sub-load units stop operating, the controller provides the power supply with a signal reflecting required voltages of the other operational sub-load units, the power supply adjusts the supply voltage to be equal to a highest one of the required voltages of the other operational sub-load units. (Par 0078, 81)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant asserts that Pabon does not disclose a direct electrical connection between the power supply and the client device.
However, the Figs show that in Pabon’s high‑power state (as described in ¶[0007]), switch 650A is enabled, and the output of AC/DC converter 606 is provided to the client device 603.
The AC/DC converter 606 is the power supply in Pabon’s architecture. A switch in the path does not negate a “direct electrical connection,” as the claims do not exclude switching elements.
Thus, Pabon teaches a configuration in which the client device receives the supply voltage directly from the power supply during normal operation.
The applicant argues that Pabon always uses a bypass unit or switching module in the power path. However, the Fig show that bypass unit 618 is only used in certain modes.
In the high‑power state, Pabon explicitly disables the DC/DC converter output and enables switch 650A, bypassing the bypass unit entirely. This satisfies the claim requirement that no bypass unit is used in the power transmission path during normal operation.
The applicant argues that ¶[0007] shows that Pabon always uses converter 606 or 606B.
However, ¶[0007] describes two distinct modes: High‑power state: Switch 650A is enabled; DC/DC converter output is disabled. Power flows directly from AC/DC converter 606 to the client device. Low‑power state: Switch 650A is disabled; DC/DC converter output is enabled.
The high‑power state corresponds to normal operation of the client device. In that state, Pabon teaches the same “direct connection” the applicant claims is missing.
The applicant argues that Pabon’s controller does not determine operation based on output current.
However, the images show that controller 604 determines whether the client device is in a high‑power or low‑power state. Determining power state inherently involves evaluating load conditions, including current drawn from the power supply. A person of ordinary skill would understand that monitoring load current is a standard method for determining operating state.
Thus, Pabon teaches or suggests the claimed controller behavior.
The applicant asserts that Pabon always interposes switching or conversion circuitry between the power supply and the client device.
However, the claims do not exclude switching elements.
They only require that the main load unit receives the supply voltage directly during normal operation. The Fig show that Pabon’s high‑power state meets this requirement.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL KESSIE/
02/05/2026
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836