Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reznar (US 10,408,252) in view of Ueno (US 2012/0308328). Reznar discloses a fastener assembly (10) capable of securing first and second components comprising: a first stamped-metal retainer (12) having a body defining a recess and a flange (20); the body includes outer retaining legs (30) resiliently coupled to a sidewall configured to engage an opening and inner retaining legs (34) engaging a second retainer; the second retainer includes a stamped-metal retainer body (11) having a base (at 15) and a fixed sleeve (18); the second retainer sleeve receives a threaded fastener (52); wherein the second retainer is configured rotate about 90° within the recess from a first unfastened position (Fig. 4) to second fastened position (Fig. 10) and capable of sandwiching the components between. Reznar discloses the second retainer to have a peripheral edge with a generally rectangular profile but does not disclose a curved profile. Ueno discloses fastener assembly with a second retainer body (90) similar to Reznar and teaches it can have a curved edge profile (best seen in Fig. 4) as an alternative to a rectangular profile (see Fig. 18(b)). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to change the rectangular edge profile of Renzar to a curved edge profile as disclosed in Ueno because Ueno teaches them as alternatives for yielding the same results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 are allowable as a result of the amendments to claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant’s remarks have been considered but are now moot.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675