Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2019-0075721 (hereinafter KR ‘721) in view of Jeon et al (US 20200298161; hereinafter Jeon) or Yang et al (US 20200188827; hereinafter Yang).
As regarding claim 1, KR ‘721 discloses the claimed invention for an air cleaner (10) comprising: a first air cleaning module comprising a first body, a first suctioner (102) disposed at a lower portion of the first body, and a first discharger (105) disposed at an upper portion of the first body, wherein the first discharger is configured to discharge air that enters into the first suctioner and passes through a first filter module (120); and a second air cleaning module configured to be coupled to an upper end of the first air cleaning module and comprising a second body, a second suctioner (202) disposed at an upper portion of the second body, and a second discharger (305) disposed at a lower portion of the second body, wherein the second discharger is configured to discharge air that entered into the second suctioner and passes through a second filter module (220), (figs. 1-2 and 5; [0108], [0116], and [0154]-[0155]).
KR ‘721 does not disclose the second air cleaning module configured to be detachably coupled, via a coupling structure, to the upper end of the first air cleaning module. Jeon (or Yang) teaches the second air cleaning module configured to be detachably coupled, via a coupling structure {[0070], 193, 194 of figs. 3 and 8 or (Yang – [0039] and fig. 3)}, to the upper end of the first air cleaning module. Both KR ‘721 and Jeon (or Yang) are directed to air purification device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide the second air cleaning module configured to be detachably coupled, via a coupling structure, to the upper end of the first air cleaning module in order to enable modular scalability, flexible deployment, and simplified maintenance of the air cleaning apparatus.
KR ‘721 as modified does not disclose a third air cleaning module configured to be detachably coupled to an upper end of the second air cleaning module and comprising a third body, a third suctioner disposed at a lower portion of the third body, and a third discharger disposed at an upper portion of the third body, wherein the third discharger is configured to discharge air that enters into the third suctioner and passes through a third filter; wherein the second air cleaning module and the third air cleaning module are vertically stacked, and the direction from the second suctioner toward the second discharger is opposite to a direction from the third suctioner toward the third discharger; each of the third suctioner and the third discharger of the third air cleaning module are configured along the circumference of the corresponding body so that air is suctioned inward and discharged outward in a radial direction, wherein the first discharger is configured to discharge air from the first body to an area adjacent to the upper portion of the first body and the lower portion of the second body, wherein the second discharger is configured to discharge air from the second body to the area adjacent to the upper portion of the first body and the lower portion of the second body, wherein the second suctioner is configured to suction air into the second body from an area adjacent to the upper portion of the second body and the lower portion of the third body, and wherein the third suctioner is configured to suction air into the third body from the area adjacent to the upper portion of the second body and the lower portion of the third body. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a third air cleaning module configured as recited in amended claim 1 in order to enhance system performance, since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance, unless a new, critical and unexpected result is produced, since it involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
As regarding claim 2, KR ‘721 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘721 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein: the first suctioner (102) is disposed along a circumference of the first body (101) and suctions air inward in a radial direction within a 360o range toward an inside of the first body; and the first discharger (105) is disposed along the circumference of the first body and discharges air outward in the radial direction within the 360o range toward an outside of the first body ([0060]-[0066], [0218] and fig. 5).
As regarding claim 3, KR ‘721 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘721 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein: the second suctioner (202) is disposed along a circumference of the second body (201) and suctions air inward in the radial direction within the 360o range toward an inside of the second body; and the second discharger (305) is disposed along the circumference of the second body and discharges air outward in the radial direction within the 360o range toward an outside of the second body ([0070]-[0071], [0218] and fig. 5).
As regarding claim 4, KR ‘721 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘721 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein: the first body further comprises a first fan module (160); the first filter module (120) is disposed at the lower portion of the first body to correspond to the first suctioner; and the first fan module is disposed at the upper portion of the first body to correspond to the first discharger ([0080] and fig. 2).
As regarding claim 5, KR ‘721 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘721 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein: the second body further comprises a second fan module (260); the second filter module (220) is disposed at the upper portion of the second body to correspond to the second suctioner; and the second fan module is disposed at the lower portion of the second body to correspond to the second discharger.
As regarding claim 16, KR ‘721 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘721 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the coupling structure comprises a fastening groove (Jeon – 193, 198 of fig. 3).
As regarding claim 17, KR ‘721 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘721 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the coupling structure further comprises a fastening protrusion (Jeon – 194 of fig. 8).
Claims 18-19 are likewise rejected for substantially the same reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1. In particular, duplicating the air cleaning apparatus in KR ‘721 (fig. 5) would result in the claim features of claim 18-19.
Claim(s) 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2019-0075721 (hereinafter KR ‘721) in view of Jeon et al (US 20200298161; hereinafter Jeon) or Yang et al (US 20200188827; hereinafter Yang), applied supra, and further in view of KR 10-2016-0001543 (hereinafter KR ‘543).
As regarding claim 6, KR ‘721 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘721 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein: the first filter module comprises a cylindrical filter member comprising a hollow formed along a central axis thereof and a filter member configured to have a first surface disposed to cover one side of the hollow; wherein air introduced through a second surface of the filter member, the second surface of the filter member is disposed in a direction opposite to the first surface thereof, passes through the hollow and flows to the second fan module; and the central axis of the cylindrical filter member is disposed parallel to a direction in which the first suctioner and the first discharger are disposed and allows air introduced into the first suctioner to, from an outer side surface of the cylindrical filter member, pass through the hollow and flow to the first fan module ([0077]-[0084], figs. 2 and 5).
KR ‘721 as modified does not disclose a plate-shaped filter member. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a plate-shaped filter member in order to enhance air cleaner performance, since it was known in the art as shown in KR ‘543 (50 of fig. 2 and [0028]).
As regarding claim 7, KR ‘721 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘721 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the first filter module comprises a first filter frame (figs. 2 and 5; no number) disposed to surround side surfaces of the plate-shaped filter member (KR ‘543 - 50) and the cylindrical filter member and couple the plate-shaped filter member and the cylindrical filter member to each other.
As regarding claim 8, KR ‘721 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘721 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein: the second filter module comprises a cylindrical filter member comprising a hollow formed along a central axis thereof; wherein air introduced through a second surface of a plate-shaped filter member (KR ‘543 - 50), the second surface of the plate-shaped filter member is disposed in a direction opposite to a first surface thereof, passes through the hollow and flows to a first fan module; and the central axis of the cylindrical filter member is disposed parallel to a direction in which the second suctioner and the second discharger are disposed and allows air introduced into the second suctioner to from an outer side surface of the cylindrical filter member, pass through the hollow and flow to the second fan module ([0120]-[0126], figs. 2 and 5).
As regarding claim 9, KR ‘721 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘721 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein: the cylindrical filter member comprises a plurality of cylindrical filter members (KR ‘543 – fig. 2); and the second filter module comprises a second filter frame disposed to surround side surfaces of the plurality of cylindrical filter members and couple the plurality of cylindrical filter members to each other.
As regarding claim 10, KR ‘721 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘721 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein: the first filter module and the first fan module are coupled and comprise the first body (figs. 2 and 5); and the first air cleaning module comprises a first case configured to surround a side surface of the first body, in which the first filter module and the first fan module are coupled, to form an exterior of the first air cleaning module, wherein the first case further comprises a first suction port corresponding to the first suctioner and a first discharge port corresponding to the first discharger (figs. 2 and 5; [0060] and [0098]-[0099]).
As regarding claim 11, KR ‘721 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘721 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein: the second filter module and the second fan module are coupled to constitute the second body; and the second air cleaning module comprises a second case (201) configured to surround a side surface of the second body, in which the second filter module and the second fan module are coupled, to form an exterior of the second air cleaning module, wherein the second case further comprises a second suction port corresponding to the second suctioner and a second discharge port corresponding to the second discharger ([0070], [0136]-[0137] and fig. 2).
Claim(s) 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2019-0075721 (hereinafter KR ‘721) in view of Jeon et al (US 20200298161; hereinafter Jeon) or Yang et al (US 20200188827; hereinafter Yang), applied supra, and further in view of CN 106813318 (hereinafter CN ‘318).
As regarding claim 12, KR ‘721 discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘721 discloses the claimed invention except for a fourth air cleaning module configured to be detachably coupled to an upper end of the third air cleaning module and comprise a fourth body, a fourth suctioner disposed at an upper portion of the fourth body, and a fourth discharger disposed at a lower portion of the fourth body, wherein the fourth discharger is configured to discharge air that enters into the fourth suctioner and then passes through a fourth filter, wherein the third air cleaning module is detachably coupled to an upper end of the second air cleaning module, wherein a third arrangement direction, that is a direction from a position at which the third suctioner is disposed toward a position at which the third discharger is disposed, is provided to be a direction from a bottom of the air cleaner toward a top thereof, and wherein a fourth arrangement direction, that is a direction from a position at which the fourth suctioner is disposed toward a position at which the fourth discharger is disposed, is provided to be the direction opposite to the third arrangement direction. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a fourth air cleaning module configured to be detachably coupled to an upper end of the third air cleaning module and comprise a fourth body, a fourth suctioner disposed at an upper portion of the fourth body, and a fourth discharger disposed at a lower portion of the fourth body, wherein the fourth discharger is configured to discharge air that enters into the fourth suctioner and then passes through a fourth filter, wherein the third air cleaning module is detachably coupled to an upper end of the second air cleaning module, wherein a third arrangement direction, that is a direction from a position at which the third suctioner is disposed toward a position at which the third discharger is disposed, is provided to be a direction from a bottom of the air cleaner toward a top thereof, and wherein a fourth arrangement direction, that is a direction from a position at which the fourth suctioner is disposed toward a position at which the fourth discharger is disposed, is provided to be the direction opposite to the third arrangement direction in order to enhance air cleaner performance, since it was known in the art as shown in CN ‘318 (fig. 7).
As regarding claim 13, KR ‘721 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘721 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein: the third suctioner is disposed along a circumference of the third body and suctions air inward in a radial direction within the 360o range toward an inside of the third body; and the third discharger is disposed along the circumference of the third body and discharges air outward in the radial direction within the 360o range toward an outside of the third body. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein: the third suctioner is disposed along a circumference of the third body and suctions air inward in the radial direction within the 360o range toward an inside of the third body; and the third discharger is disposed along the circumference of the third body and discharges air outward in a radial direction within the 360o range toward an outside of the third body in order to enhance air cleaner performance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As regarding claim 14, KR ‘721 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘721 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein: the fourth suctioner is disposed along a circumference of the fourth body and suctions air inward in the radial direction within the 360o range toward an inside of the fourth body; and the fourth discharger is disposed along the circumference of the fourth body and discharges air outward in the radial direction within the 360o range toward an outside of the fourth body. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein: the fourth suctioner is disposed along a circumference of the fourth body and suctions air inward in the radial direction within the 360o range toward an inside of the fourth body; and the fourth discharger is disposed along the circumference of the fourth body and discharges air outward in the radial direction within the 360o range toward an outside of the fourth body in order to enhance air cleaner performance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As regarding claim 15, KR ‘721 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘721 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein at least one of the first body, the second body, the third body, and the fourth body is a cylindrical shape (figs. 2 and 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773