DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Below is the Final Action on the Merit for claims 1 – 20.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the backflow preventor” in claim 6. The discussion in the specification regarding the backflow preventor includes a one-way valve that corresponds to the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 7, 13 – 17 and 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harting et al. (U. S. Patent Application No. 2019/0335968 A1) in view of Haijun (CN110448243 A) .
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Harting teaches a cleaning system (Fig. 1) comprising: a docking station (docking station, 100) including: a station suction inlet (Paragraph [0023]; Fig. 1) configured to be fluidly coupled to a vacuum cleaner (robotic vacuum cleaner, 102); a station dust cup (filet system, 115) configured to be removably fluidly coupled to the docking station (100; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0023]), the station dust cup (115) including a debris cavity (filter medium, 106); and a station suction motor (suction motor, 104) configured to cause air to flow into the station suction inlet and through the station dust cup (Paragraph [0023]).
Harting does not explicitly teach an odor control assembly fluidly coupled to the station dust cup; wherein the station suction motor is configured to generate an airflow through the odor control assembly and into the debris cavity.
Haijun, however, teaches a dust box assembly (10), an automatic moving cleaning device (Paragraph [0002]) and a station dust cup (dust box, 11); wherein an odor control assembly (odor diffusion component, 16) fluidly coupled to the station dust cup (11; Paragraph [0043]); wherein the station suction motor is configured to generate an airflow through the odor control assembly and into the debris cavity (Paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Harting to further include an odor control assembly fluidly coupled to the station dust cup; wherein the station suction motor is configured to generate an airflow through the odor control assembly and into the debris cavity, as taught by Haijun, to provide a device that is capable of dissipating odor in the system, thus providing a pleasant cleaning experience free of foul smells.
Regarding Claim 2, Harting, as modified, teaches the cleaning system (Fig. 1) of claim 1 as discussed above.
Harting does not teach the odor control assembly configured to receive ambient air, to transfer fragrance particles into the ambient air to form fragranced air, and to allow the fragranced air to flow into the debris cavity.
Haijun, however, teaches the odor control assembly (16) configured to receive ambient air (Paragraph [0043]), to transfer fragrance particles into the ambient air to form fragranced air (Paragraph [0043]), and to allow the fragranced air to flow into the debris cavity (Paragraph [0043] - Haijun further teaches the fragrance diffusing together with the airflow which is all housed in the body of the vacuum. As shown in Figure 6, there are no barriers preventing the fragrance from dissipating in the robot body and the dust box, 11 as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that gaseous molecules travel in many different directions. Further, Haijun explicitly teaches The odor dissipation component 16 further enhances the functionality of the dust box component 10 and effectively improves air quality (Paragraph [0044] – thus Haijun teaches “to allow the fragranced air to flow into the debris cavity” ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Harting to further include the odor control assembly configured to receive ambient air, to transfer fragrance particles into the ambient air to form fragranced air, and to allow the fragranced air to flow into the debris cavity, as taught by Haijun, to provide a device that is capable of dissipating odor in the system, thus providing a pleasant cleaning experience free of foul smells.
Regarding Claim 3, Harting, as modified, teaches the cleaning system of claim 1, as discussed above.
Harting does not teach the odor control assembly comprises: a scent puck; and a dial body configured to be removably secured to the station dust cup and configured to receive a scent puck, wherein the dial body at least partially defines a fragrance cavity configured to receive and generally enclose the scent puck.
Haijun, however, teaches the odor control assembly (16) comprises: a scent puck (Paragraph [0044] – solid fragrance); and a dial body (Paragraph [0044] – aromatherapy box) configured to be removably secured to the station dust cup (11) and configured to receive a scent puck (Paragraph [0044]), wherein the dial body at least partially defines a fragrance cavity configured to receive and generally enclose the scent puck (Paragraph [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Harting to further include a scent puck; and a dial body configured to be removably secured to the station dust cup and configured to receive a scent puck, wherein the dial body at least partially defines a fragrance cavity configured to receive and generally enclose the scent puck, as taught by Haijun, to provide a device that is capable of dissipating odor in the system, thus providing a pleasant cleaning experience free of foul smells.
Regarding Claim 4, Harting, as modified, teaches the cleaning system of claim 3, as discussed above.
Harting does not teach the cleaning system wherein the odor control assembly further comprises: one or more fragrance passageways, the one or more fragrance passageways configured to allow air to flow past the scent puck to transfer fragrance particles into the air to form fragranced air.
Haijun, however, teaches the cleaning system wherein the odor control assembly (16) further comprises: one or more fragrance passageways (Paragraph [0043]), the one or more fragrance passageways configured to allow air to flow past the scent puck to transfer fragrance particles into the air to form fragranced air (Paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Harting to further include wherein the odor control assembly further comprises: one or more fragrance passageways, the one or more fragrance passageways configured to allow air to flow past the scent puck to transfer fragrance particles into the air to form fragranced air, as taught by Haijun, to provide a device that is capable of dissipating odor in the system, thus providing a pleasant cleaning experience free of foul smells.
Regarding Claim 5, Harting, as modified, teaches the cleaning system of claim 4, as discussed above.
Harting does not teach the cleaning system wherein the docking station further comprises: a bleed hole disposed in an outer surface of the docking station, and configured to allow external air to be drawn into the docking station; and an inlet air path to fluidly couple the bleed hole with the one or more fragrance passageways.
Haijun, however, teaches the cleaning system wherein the docking station (10) further comprises: a bleed hole (passage cavity, 114) disposed in an outer surface of the docking station (10; Fig. 1), and configured to allow external air to be drawn into the docking station (Fig. 1); and an inlet air path (inlet duct, 1131) to fluidly couple the bleed hole with the one or more fragrance passageways (Paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Harting to further include a bleed hole disposed in an outer surface of the docking station, and configured to allow external air to be drawn into the docking station; and an inlet air path to fluidly couple the bleed hole with the one or more fragrance passageways, as taught by Haijun, to provide a device that is capable of dissipating odor in the system, thus providing a pleasant cleaning experience free of foul smells.
Regarding Claim 6, Harting, as modified, teaches the cleaning system of claim 5, as discussed above.
Harting does not teach the cleaning system wherein the inlet air path further comprises a backflow preventor, wherein the backflow preventor is configured to seal off the odor control assembly from atmospheric air to substantially prevent air from escaping from the inlet air path.
Haijun, however, teaches the cleaning system wherein the inlet air path (1131) further comprises a backflow preventor (valve; Paragraph [0045]), wherein the backflow preventor is configured to seal off the odor control assembly from atmospheric air to substantially prevent air from escaping from the inlet air path (Paragraph [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Harting to further include a bleed hole disposed in an outer surface of the docking station, and configured to allow external air to be drawn into the docking station; and an inlet air path to fluidly couple the bleed hole with the one or more fragrance passageways, as taught by Haijun, to provide a device that is capable of dissipating odor in the system, thus providing a pleasant cleaning experience free of foul smells.
Regarding Claim 7, Harting, as modified, teaches the cleaning system of claim 6, as discussed above.
Harting, as modified by Haijun teaches a valve wherein an opening direction of the valve is controlled but does not explicitly teach the backflow preventor includes a one-way valve.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Harting to further include a one-way valve, as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known component on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 13, Harting, as modified, teaches the cleaning system of claim 1, as discussed above.
Harting does not teach an odor control cavity at least partially disposed in a top surface of the station dust cup, the odor control cavity configured to at least partially receive the odor control assembly.
Haijun, however, teaches an odor control cavity (cavity formed in box, 11 to accommodate component, 16) at least partially disposed in a top surface of the station dust cup (11), the odor control cavity configured to at least partially receive the odor control assembly (Paragraphs [0043] and [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Harting to further include an odor control cavity at least partially disposed in a top surface of the station dust cup, the odor control cavity configured to at least partially receive the odor control assembly, as taught by Haijun, to provide a device that is capable of dissipating odor in the system, thus providing a pleasant cleaning experience free of foul smells.
Regarding Independent Claim 14, Harting teaches a cleaning system (Fig. 1) comprising: a vacuum cleaner (robotic vacuum cleaner, 102); a docking station (docking station, 100), the vacuum cleaner (102) configured to dock with the docking station (100; Paragraph [0008]), the docking station (100) including: a station suction inlet (Paragraph [0023]; Fig. 1) configured to be fluidly coupled to a vacuum cleaner (robotic vacuum cleaner, 102); a station dust cup (filet system, 115) configured to be removably fluidly coupled to the docking station (100; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0023]), the station dust cup (115) including a debris cavity (filter medium, 106); and a station suction motor (suction motor, 104) configured to cause air to flow into the station suction inlet and through the station dust cup (Paragraph [0023]).
Harting does not explicitly teach an odor control assembly fluidly coupled to the station dust cup; wherein the station suction motor is configured to generate an airflow through the odor control assembly and into the debris cavity.
Haijun, however, teaches a dust box assembly (10), an automatic moving cleaning device (Paragraph [0002]) and a station dust cup (dust box, 11); wherein an odor control assembly (odor diffusion component, 16) fluidly coupled to the station dust cup (11; Paragraph [0043]); wherein the station suction motor is configured to generate an airflow through the odor control assembly and into the debris cavity (Paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Harting to further include an odor control assembly fluidly coupled to the station dust cup; wherein the station suction motor is configured to generate an airflow through the odor control assembly and into the debris cavity, as taught by Haijun, to provide a device that is capable of dissipating odor in the system, thus providing a pleasant cleaning experience free of foul smells.
Regarding Claim 15, Harting, as modified, teaches the cleaning system (Fig. 1) wherein the docking station (100) further comprises a base (Annotated Fig. 1), wherein the station dust cup (115) is configured to be removably secured to the base (Annotated Fig. 1), the base including the station suction motor (104; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 16, Harting, as modified, teaches the cleaning system of claim 1, as discussed above.
Harting does not teach the odor control assembly comprises: a scent puck; and a dial body configured to be removably secured to the station dust cup and configured to receive a scent puck, wherein the dial body at least partially defines a fragrance cavity configured to receive and generally enclose the scent puck.
Haijun, however, teaches the odor control assembly (16) comprises: a scent puck (Paragraph [0044] – solid fragrance); and a dial body (Paragraph [0044] – aromatherapy box) configured to be removably secured to the station dust cup (11) and configured to receive a scent puck (Paragraph [0044]), wherein the dial body at least partially defines a fragrance cavity configured to receive and generally enclose the scent puck (Paragraph [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Harting to further include a scent puck; and a dial body configured to be removably secured to the station dust cup and configured to receive a scent puck, wherein the dial body at least partially defines a fragrance cavity configured to receive and generally enclose the scent puck, as taught by Haijun, to provide a device that is capable of dissipating odor in the system, thus providing a pleasant cleaning experience free of foul smells.
Regarding Claim 17, Harting, as modified, teaches the cleaning system of claim 3, as discussed above.
Harting does not teach the cleaning system wherein the odor control assembly further comprises: one or more fragrance passageways, the one or more fragrance passageways configured to allow air to flow past the scent puck to transfer fragrance particles into the air to form fragranced air.
Haijun, however, teaches the cleaning system wherein the odor control assembly (16) further comprises: one or more fragrance passageways (Paragraph [0043]), the one or more fragrance passageways configured to allow air to flow past the scent puck to transfer fragrance particles into the air to form fragranced air that flows into the debris cavity (Paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Harting to further include wherein the odor control assembly further comprises: one or more fragrance passageways, the one or more fragrance passageways configured to allow air to flow past the scent puck to transfer fragrance particles into the air to form fragranced air, as taught by Haijun, to provide a device that is capable of dissipating odor in the system, thus providing a pleasant cleaning experience free of foul smells.
Regarding Claim 19, Harting, as modified, teaches the cleaning system (Fig. 1) wherein the vacuum cleaner is a robotic vacuum cleaner (102; Fig 1).
Regarding Independent Claim 20, Harting teaches a cleaning system (Fig. 1) comprising: a vacuum cleaner (robotic vacuum cleaner, 102); the vacuum cleaner (102) configured to dock with the docking station (docking station, 100), the docking station (100) including: a station suction inlet (Paragraph [0023]; Fig. 1) configured to be fluidly coupled to a vacuum cleaner (robotic vacuum cleaner, 102); a station dust cup (filet system, 115) configured to be removably fluidly coupled to the docking station (100; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0023]), the station dust cup (115) including a debris cavity (filter medium, 106); and a station suction motor (suction motor, 104) configured to cause air to flow into the station suction inlet and through the station dust cup (Paragraph [0023]).
Harting does not explicitly teach a first odor control assembly fluidly coupled to the vacuum cleaner; a second odor control assembly fluidly coupled to the station dust cup; wherein the station suction motor is configured to generate an airflow through the second odor control assembly and into the debris cavity.
Haijun, however, teaches a first odor control assembly (exhaust portion, 24; Paragraph [0051]; Fig. 8) fluidly coupled to the vacuum cleaner (20); a second odor control assembly (odor diffusion component, 16) fluidly coupled to the station dust cup (11; Paragraph [0043]); wherein the station suction motor is configured to generate an airflow through the second odor control assembly (16) and into the debris cavity through the odor control assembly and into the debris cavity (Paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Harting to further include a first odor control assembly fluidly coupled to the vacuum cleaner; a second odor control assembly fluidly coupled to the station dust cup; wherein the station suction motor is configured to generate an airflow through the second odor control assembly and into the debris cavity, as taught by Haijun, to provide a device that is capable of dissipating odor in the system, thus providing a pleasant cleaning experience free of foul smells.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harting et al. (U. S. Patent Application No. 2019/0335968 A1) in view of Haijun (CN110448243 A) and Buchholtz et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0109464 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Harting, as modified, teaches the cleaning system of claim 14 as discussed above.
Harting, does not teach the vacuum cleaner is a handheld vacuum cleaner.
Buchholtz, however, teaches the vacuum cleaner is a handheld vacuum cleaner (Paragraph [0056] - In accordance with an alternative exemplary embodiment, robot vacuum cleaner 115 is configured as another home robot or as a battery-powered vacuum cleaner or as a handstick or as a handheld).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Harting to further include a first odor control assembly fluidly coupled to the vacuum cleaner; a second odor control assembly fluidly coupled to the station dust cup; wherein the station suction motor is configured to generate an airflow through the second odor control assembly and into the debris cavity, as taught by Haijun, since these two cleaners are art-recognized
equivalents, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute a robotic cleaner for a hand-held cleaner (MPEP 2144.05).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Although Harting, as modified by Haijun teaches a cleaning system, the references, alone or in combination fail to teach, suggest or make obvious wherein the dial body includes: a puck cap; and a puck cartridge removably coupled to the puck cap at least partially forming the fragrance cavity and the one or more fragrance passageways, the puck cap including an entrance and an exit to the one or more fragrance passageways, wherein atmospheric air flows through the entrance, across the scent puck, and out of the exit.
Claims 9 – 12 are further objected to as being dependents of objected claim 8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated January 9, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 112( a) and (b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated January 9, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Therefore, the analysis is maintained. The back flow preventer is clearly the valve as discussed in the specification. Back flow preventor is the place holder.
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated January 9, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
Applicant argues “Haijun does not teach or suggest a “station suction motor that is configured to generate airflow through the odor control assembly and into the debris cavity”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, Haijun teaches the dust box, 11, disposed in the vacuum body - see Figure 6 below. Haijun further teaches the fragrance diffusing together with the airflow which is all housed in the body of the vacuum. As shown in Figure 6, there are no barriers preventing the fragrance from dissipating in the robot body and the dust box, 11 as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that gaseous molecules travel in many different directions. Further, Haijun explicitly teaches The odor dissipation component 16 further enhances the functionality of the dust box component 10 and effectively improves air quality (Paragraph [0044]).
To overcome the art, Examiner suggests amending claims to include the upstream configuration of the odor control assembly.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723