Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I in the reply filed on 2/2/2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly claim 14-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dzus (US 2,474,799). In the embodiment shown in Figs. 4 and 7, Dzus disclose a threadless positioning retainer (37) comprising: first and second spaced apart end surfaces (read as the upper and lower surfaces of the member 37); an exterior; and a cylindrical threadless interior surface (38) with a single cube shaped key (39) extending from the interior surface adjacent the first end surface.
Claims 6, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Warkentin (US 4,911,726). In the embodiment shown in Fig. 10, Warkentin disclose a threadless positioning retainer (90) comprising: first and second spaced apart end surfaces (read as the upper and lower surfaces of the retainer); an exterior having a hexagonal shape (96); and a cylindrical threadless interior surface with a cube shaped key (93) extending from the interior surface adjacent the first end.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5 and 11-13 are allowable. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: in the context of the claimed invention, prior art does not disclose a positioning pin having a head end, an opposite pilot end with a point and taper leading to a positioning shank and a relatively enlarged retainer shank, wherein a keyway is in both shanks including a longitudinal portion and a circumferential portion in the retainer shank.
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. McCandless (US 2011/0262224), Droppleman (US 7,232,376), Carruthers (US 5,915,482), Gregory (US 1,091,212) and Bierwith (US 8,127,476) are cited to teach a positioning pin with a bayonet type catch. Wang (US 9,841,044) and Matsui (US 4,640,639), are cited to teach bayonet type catches. Ewen (US 4,398,322) teaches another example of hexagonal exterior. The additional references cited are of general interest.
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675