Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
03/12/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are
moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rico Alvarino et al. (US 2019/0246244 A1; from IDS hereinafter "Rico"), in view of SEO et al. (US 2017/0055264 A1; hereinafter “SEO”).
Regarding claim 1, Rico teaches a terminal device (FIG. 3 UE 120), comprising a processor and a memory ([0007] memory and processor),
wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to perform operations ([0008] store instructions for wireless communication. when executed by one or more processors of a UE, causes the one or more processor) comprising:
transmitting, by the terminal device (FIG. 3 UE 120), first information to a network device (FIG. 3 BS 110) ([0060] In FIG. 3 reference number 340, the UE 120 transmits information identifying the capability), the first information being used to determine a maximum bandwidth capability supported by the terminal device ([0060] The information identifying the capability is shown by FIG. 3 reference number 350. As shown, the information identifying the capability identifies the maximum bandwidth).
However, Rico does not teach wherein the first information comprising no maximum bandwidth capability information corresponding to a first frequency band indicates that a maximum bandwidth capability supported on the first frequency band is a specific bandwidth capability.
In an analogous art, SEO teaches wherein the first information comprising no maximum bandwidth capability information corresponding to a first frequency band ([0197] the UE omits capability information (including maximum bandwidth capability information) for a band, i.e., the first frequency band) indicates that a maximum bandwidth capability supported on the first frequency band is a specific bandwidth capability ([0197] the UE applies a rule to set the capability to an available value for the same band (the first frequency band), thereby indicating a specific bandwidth capability even when such information is not provided, [0199] and the capability information includes a maximum bandwidth associated with the UE capability).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a capability information as taught by SEO within the parameters of Rico. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance system efficiency by enabling capability determination even when capability information is omitted (SEO [0020]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Rico and SEO, specifically Rico teaches wherein the first information further comprises at least one of: at least one piece of maximum bandwidth capability information ([0060] In FIG. 3 reference number 350, the information identifying the capability may identify the maximum bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz at 15 kHz numerology)); all bandwidths supportable by the terminal device; or indication information indicating whether the terminal device supports all bandwidths.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Rico and SEO, specifically Rico teaches wherein the at least one piece of maximum bandwidth capability information (FIG. 3 reference number 350) comprises maximum bandwidth capability information corresponding to each of at least one Sub-Carrier Spacing (SCS) ([0049] In FIG. 3 reference number 310, a UE 120 is associated with carriers having subcarrier spacings of 15 kHz, 7.5 kHz, and 1.25 kHz, [0060] identify the maximum bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz at 15 kHz numerology) the scaling factors associated with the 7.5 kHz numerology and the 1.25 kHz numerology).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Rico and SEO, specifically Rico teaches wherein the at least one piece of maximum bandwidth capability information (FIG. 3 reference number 350) ([0050] The maximum bandwidth capability is based at least a radio frequency (RF) throughput capability of the UE 120) comprises maximum uplink bandwidth capability information ([0040] On the uplink, at UE 120, a transmit processor 264 receives and process data and transmitted to BS 110. At BS 110, the uplink signals from UE 120 are processed to obtain decoded data and control information sent by UE 120) and/or maximum downlink bandwidth capability information ([0039] At UE 120, antennas 252a through 252r receives the downlink signals from BS 110, A receive processor 258 provides decoded data for UE 120 to a data sink 260, and decoded control information).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Rico and SEO, specifically Rico teaches wherein the first information further comprises at least one of: maximum bandwidth capability information (FIG. 3 reference number 350) of the terminal device on each of at least one frequency band ([0060] the information identifying the capability identifies the maximum bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz at 15 kHz numerology) and the information identifying the capability identifies a maximum bandwidth for multiple, different bands); all bandwidths supportable by the terminal device on each of the at least one frequency band; or indication information indicating whether the terminal device supports all bandwidths on each of the at least one frequency band.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Rico and SEO, specifically Rico teaches wherein the maximum bandwidth capability information (FIG. 3 reference number 350) of the terminal device on each frequency band comprises at least one piece of maximum bandwidth capability information each corresponding to one SCS ([0049] In FIG. 3, a UE 120 is associated with carriers having subcarrier spacings of 15 kHz, 7.5 kHz, and 1.25 kHz, [0060] the information identifying the capability may identify the maximum bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz at 15 kHz numerology)).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Rico and SEO, specifically Rico teaches wherein the maximum bandwidth capability information (FIG. 3 reference number 350) of the terminal device on a second frequency band ([0060] a given frequency band for which the capability information identifies a maximum bandwidth, including maximum bandwidths for multiple, different bands) comprises a set of maximum bandwidth capability information ([0060] the information identifying the capability identifies the maximum bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz at 15 kHz numerology), and a maximum bandwidth for multiple, different bands), and the set of maximum bandwidth capability information corresponds to all frequency band combinations including the second frequency band ([0060] the information identifying the capability identifies a maximum bandwidth for multiple, different bands); or
the maximum bandwidth capability information of the terminal device on the second frequency band comprises a plurality of sets of maximum bandwidth capability information, and each set of maximum bandwidth capability information corresponds to at least one frequency band combination comprising the second frequency band.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Rico and SEO, specifically Rico teaches wherein the first information further comprises maximum bandwidth capability information supported by the terminal device in at least one operation state ([0041] Controller/processor 240 of BS 110, controller/processor 280 of UE 120, and/or any other component(s) of FIG. 2 performs one or more techniques associated with carrier capability signaling with regard to multiple carrier numerologies, [0060] the information identifying the capability identifies the maximum bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz at 15 kHz numerology)).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Rico and SEO, specifically Rico teaches wherein the operation state comprises a Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO) operation state ([0039] A MIMO detector 256 may obtain received symbols from all R demodulators 254a through 254r, perform MIMO detection on the received symbols if applicable).
Regarding claim 10, Rico teaches a network device (FIG. 3 BS 110), comprising a processor and a memory ([0011] memory and processor),
wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to perform operations ([0012] store instructions for wireless communication. when executed by one or more processors of a UE, causes the one or more processor) comprising:
receiving, by the network device (FIG. 3 BS 110), first information transmitted by a terminal device (FIG. 3 UE 120) ([0060] In FIG. 3 reference number 340, the BS 110 receives information identifying the capability),
the first information being used to determine a maximum bandwidth capability supported by the terminal device ([0060] The information identifying the capability is shown by FIG. 3 reference number 350. As shown, the information identifying the capability identifies the maximum bandwidth).
However, Rico does not teach wherein the first information comprising no maximum bandwidth capability information corresponding to a first frequency band indicates that a maximum bandwidth capability supported on the first frequency band is a specific bandwidth capability.
In an analogous art, SEO teaches wherein the first information comprising no maximum bandwidth capability information corresponding to a first frequency band ([0197] the UE omits capability information (including maximum bandwidth capability information) for a band, i.e., the first frequency band) indicates that a maximum bandwidth capability supported on the first frequency band is a specific bandwidth capability ([0197] the UE applies a rule to set the capability to an available value for the same band (the first frequency band), thereby indicating a specific bandwidth capability even when such information is not provided, [0199] and the capability information includes a maximum bandwidth associated with the UE capability).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a capability information as taught by SEO within the parameters of Rico. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance system efficiency by enabling capability determination even when capability information is omitted (SEO [0020]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Rico and SEO, specifically Rico teaches wherein the first information further comprises at least one of: at least one piece of maximum bandwidth capability information ([0060] In FIG. 3 reference number 350, the information identifying the capability may identify the maximum bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz at 15 kHz numerology)); all bandwidths supportable by the terminal device; and indication information indicating whether the terminal device supports all bandwidths.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Rico and SEO, specifically Rico teaches wherein the at least one piece of maximum bandwidth capability information (FIG. 3 reference number 350) comprises maximum bandwidth capability information corresponding to each of at least one Sub-Carrier Spacing (SCS) ([0049] In FIG. 3 reference number 310, a UE 120 is associated with carriers having subcarrier spacings of 15 kHz, 7.5 kHz, and 1.25 kHz, [0060] identify the maximum bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz at 15 kHz numerology) the scaling factors associated with the 7.5 kHz numerology and the 1.25 kHz numerology).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Rico and SEO, specifically Rico teaches wherein the at least one piece of maximum bandwidth capability information (FIG. 3 reference number 350) ([0050] The maximum bandwidth capability is based at least a radio frequency (RF) throughput capability of the UE 120) comprises maximum uplink bandwidth capability information ([0040] On the uplink, at UE 120, a transmit processor 264 receives and process data and transmitted to BS 110. At BS 110, the uplink signals from UE 120 are processed to obtain decoded data and control information sent by UE 120) and/or maximum downlink bandwidth capability information ([0039] At UE 120, antennas 252a through 252r receives the downlink signals from BS 110, A receive processor 258 provides decoded data for UE 120 to a data sink 260, and decoded control information).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Rico and SEO, specifically Rico teaches wherein the first information further comprises at least one of: maximum bandwidth capability information (FIG. 3 reference number 350) of the terminal device on each of at least one frequency band ([0060] the information identifying the capability identifies the maximum bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz at 15 kHz numerology) and the information identifying the capability identifies a maximum bandwidth for multiple, different bands); all bandwidths supportable by the terminal device on each of the at least one frequency band; and indication information indicating whether the terminal device supports all bandwidths on each of the at least one frequency band.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Rico and SEO, specifically Rico teaches wherein the maximum bandwidth capability information (FIG. 3 reference number 350) of the terminal device on each frequency band comprises at least one piece of maximum bandwidth capability information each corresponding to one SCS ([0049] In FIG. 3, a UE 120 is associated with carriers having subcarrier spacings of 15 kHz, 7.5 kHz, and 1.25 kHz, [0060] the information identifying the capability may identify the maximum bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz at 15 kHz numerology)).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Rico and SEO, specifically Rico teaches wherein the maximum bandwidth capability information (FIG. 3 reference number 350) of the terminal device on a second frequency band ([0060] a given frequency band for which the capability information identifies a maximum bandwidth, including maximum bandwidths for multiple, different bands) comprises a set of maximum bandwidth capability information ([0060] the information identifying the capability identifies the maximum bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz at 15 kHz numerology), and a maximum bandwidth for multiple, different bands), and the set of maximum bandwidth capability information corresponds to all frequency band combinations comprising the second frequency band ([0060] the information identifying the capability identifies a maximum bandwidth for multiple, different bands); or
the maximum bandwidth capability information of the terminal device on the second frequency band comprises a plurality of sets of maximum bandwidth capability information, and each set of maximum bandwidth capability information corresponds to at least one frequency band combination comprising the second frequency band.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Rico and SEO, specifically Rico teaches wherein the first information further comprises maximum bandwidth capability information supported by the terminal device in at least one operation state ([0041] Controller/processor 240 of BS 110, controller/processor 280 of UE 120, and/or any other component(s) of FIG. 2 performs one or more techniques associated with carrier capability signaling with regard to multiple carrier numerologies, [0060] the information identifying the capability identifies the maximum bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz at 15 kHz numerology)).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Rico and SEO, specifically Rico teaches wherein the operation state comprises a Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO) operation state ([0039] A MIMO detector 256 may obtain received symbols from all R demodulators 254a through 254r, perform MIMO detection on the received symbols if applicable).
Regarding claim 19, Rico teaches a wireless communication method (FIG. 3), comprising:
receiving, by a network device (FIG. 3 BS 110), first information transmitted by a terminal device (FIG. 3 UE 120) ([0060] In FIG. 3 reference number 340, the BS 110 receives information identifying the capability), the first information being used to determine a maximum bandwidth capability supported by the terminal device ([0060] The information identifying the capability is shown by FIG. 3 reference number 350. As shown, the information identifying the capability identifies the maximum bandwidth).
However, Rico does not teach wherein the first information comprising no maximum bandwidth capability information corresponding to a first frequency band indicates that a maximum bandwidth capability supported on the first frequency band is a specific bandwidth capability.
In an analogous art, SEO teaches wherein the first information comprising no maximum bandwidth capability information corresponding to a first frequency band ([0197] the UE omits capability information (including maximum bandwidth capability information) for a band, i.e., the first frequency band) indicates that a maximum bandwidth capability supported on the first frequency band is a specific bandwidth capability ([0197] the UE may omit capability information (including maximum bandwidth capability information) but applies a rule to set the capability to an available value for the same band, thereby indicating a specific bandwidth capability even when such information is not provided, [0199] and the capability information includes a maximum bandwidth associated with the UE capability).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a capability information as taught by SEO within the parameters of Rico. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance system efficiency by enabling capability determination even when capability information is omitted (SEO [0020]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Rico and SEO, specifically Rico teaches wherein the first information further comprises at least one of: at least one piece of maximum bandwidth capability information ([0060] In FIG. 3 reference number 350, the information identifying the capability may identify the maximum bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz at 15 kHz numerology)).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2020/0022131 A1 (LI et al.) discloses a signal transmission method and apparatus, and is applied to a multi-band communications system.
US 2020/0037303 A1 (Harada et al.) discloses a system where wide frequency bands are supported.
US 2024/0089704 A1 (SHRIVASTAVA et al.) discloses a method and apparatus for resource allocation in a wireless communication system supporting multicast and broadcast services (MBS).
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413