Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/15/2026 has been placed in the record and considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6,8-15 and 17-22 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6,8-15 and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rico Alvarino et al. (US 2019/0246244 A1; from IDS hereinafter "Rico"), in view of KIM et al. (US 2015/0327269 A1; hereinafter “KIM”).
Regarding claim 1, Rico teaches a terminal device (FIG. 3 UE 120), comprising a processor and a memory ([0007] memory and processor),
wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to perform operations ([0008] store instructions for wireless communication. when executed by one or more processors of a UE, causes the one or more processor) comprising:
transmitting, by the terminal device (FIG. 3 UE 120), first information to a network device (FIG. 3 BS 110) ([0060] In FIG. 3 reference number 340, the UE 120 transmits information identifying the capability), the first information being used to determine a maximum bandwidth capability supported by the terminal device ([0060] The information identifying the capability is shown by FIG. 3 reference number 350. As shown, the information identifying the capability identifies the maximum bandwidth); wherein the first information comprises at least one of: maximum bandwidth capability information of the terminal device on each of at least one frequency band ([0060] the UE capability information identifies a maximum bandwidth, such as 100 MHz at a 15-KHz numerology, for each of multiple, different frequency bands).
However, Rico does not teach wherein the maximum bandwidth capability information of the terminal device on a second frequency band comprises a plurality of sets of maximum bandwidth capability information, and each set of maximum bandwidth capability information corresponds to at least one frequency band combination comprising the second frequency band.
In an analogous art, KIM teaches wherein the maximum bandwidth capability information of the terminal device on a second frequency band comprises a plurality of sets of maximum bandwidth capability information ([0060]-[0064] the UE reports capability information including supported frequency-band combinations and maximum bandwidths for the frequency bands, [0154] multiple BCPs correspond to combinations [1+2], [1+3], and [1+2+3], each including Band 1, i.e., the second frequency band), and each set of maximum bandwidth capability information corresponds to at least one frequency band combination comprising the second frequency band ([0075] each band-combination information element represents a respective supported carrier-aggregation combination, [0154] the respective BCPs correspond to band combinations [1+2], [1+3], and [1+2+3], each comprising Band 1, i.e., the second frequency band).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a capability information as taught by KIM within the system of Rico. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance carrier aggregation support, thereby improving system efficiency (KIM [0045]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Rico and KIM, specifically Rico teaches wherein the first information further comprises at least one of: at least one piece of maximum bandwidth capability information ([0060] In FIG. 3 reference number 350, the information identifying the capability may identify the maximum bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz at 15 kHz numerology)); all bandwidths supportable by the terminal device; or indication information indicating whether the terminal device supports all bandwidths.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Rico and KIM, specifically Rico teaches wherein the at least one piece of maximum bandwidth capability information (FIG. 3 reference number 350) comprises maximum bandwidth capability information corresponding to each of at least one Sub-Carrier Spacing (SCS) ([0049] In FIG. 3 reference number 310, a UE 120 is associated with carriers having subcarrier spacings of 15 kHz, 7.5 kHz, and 1.25 kHz, [0060] identify the maximum bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz at 15 kHz numerology) the scaling factors associated with the 7.5 kHz numerology and the 1.25 kHz numerology).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Rico and KIM, specifically Rico teaches wherein the at least one piece of maximum bandwidth capability information (FIG. 3 reference number 350) ([0050] The maximum bandwidth capability is based at least a radio frequency (RF) throughput capability of the UE 120) comprises maximum uplink bandwidth capability information ([0040] On the uplink, at UE 120, a transmit processor 264 receives and process data and transmitted to BS 110. At BS 110, the uplink signals from UE 120 are processed to obtain decoded data and control information sent by UE 120) and/or maximum downlink bandwidth capability information ([0039] At UE 120, antennas 252a through 252r receives the downlink signals from BS 110, A receive processor 258 provides decoded data for UE 120 to a data sink 260, and decoded control information).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Rico and KIM, specifically KIM teaches wherein the first information further comprises: all bandwidths supportable by the terminal device on each of the at least one frequency band ([0064] the UE reports maximum bandwidths for frequency bands, [0071]-[0072] the capability information identifies the bandwidth classes supported in each frequency band and indicates that all combinations of the recorded bandwidth classes are supported by the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a capability information as taught by KIM within the system of Rico. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance carrier aggregation support, thereby improving system efficiency (KIM [0045]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Rico and KIM, specifically Rico teaches wherein the maximum bandwidth capability information (FIG. 3 reference number 350) of the terminal device on each frequency band comprises at least one piece of maximum bandwidth capability information each corresponding to one SCS ([0049] In FIG. 3, a UE 120 is associated with carriers having subcarrier spacings of 15 kHz, 7.5 kHz, and 1.25 kHz, [0060] the information identifying the capability may identify the maximum bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz at 15 kHz numerology)).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Rico and KIM, specifically Rico teaches wherein the first information further comprises maximum bandwidth capability information supported by the terminal device in at least one operation state ([0041] Controller/processor 240 of BS 110, controller/processor 280 of UE 120, and/or any other component(s) of FIG. 2 performs one or more techniques associated with carrier capability signaling with regard to multiple carrier numerologies, [0060] the information identifying the capability identifies the maximum bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz at 15 kHz numerology)).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Rico and KIM, specifically Rico teaches wherein the operation state comprises a Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO) operation state ([0039] A MIMO detector 256 may obtain received symbols from all R demodulators 254a through 254r, perform MIMO detection on the received symbols if applicable).
Regarding claim 10, Rico teaches a network device (FIG. 3 BS 110), comprising a processor and a memory ([0011] memory and processor),
wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to perform operations ([0012] store instructions for wireless communication. when executed by one or more processors of a UE, causes the one or more processor) comprising:
receiving, by the network device (FIG. 3 BS 110), first information transmitted by a terminal device (FIG. 3 UE 120) ([0060] In FIG. 3 reference number 340, the BS 110 receives information identifying the capability),
the first information being used to determine a maximum bandwidth capability supported by the terminal device ([0060] The information identifying the capability is shown by FIG. 3 reference number 350. As shown, the information identifying the capability identifies the maximum bandwidth) ); wherein the first information comprises at least one of: maximum bandwidth capability information of the terminal device on each of at least one frequency band ([0060] the UE capability information identifies a maximum bandwidth, such as 100 MHz at a 15-KHz numerology, for each of multiple, different frequency bands).
However, Rico does not teach wherein the maximum bandwidth capability information of the terminal device on a second frequency band comprises a plurality of sets of maximum bandwidth capability information, and each set of maximum bandwidth capability information corresponds to at least one frequency band combination comprising the second frequency band.
In an analogous art, KIM teaches wherein the maximum bandwidth capability information of the terminal device on a second frequency band comprises a plurality of sets of maximum bandwidth capability information ([0060]-[0064] the UE reports capability information including supported frequency-band combinations and maximum bandwidths for the frequency bands, [0154] multiple BCPs correspond to combinations [1+2], [1+3], and [1+2+3], each including Band 1, i.e., the second frequency band), and each set of maximum bandwidth capability information corresponds to at least one frequency band combination comprising the second frequency band ([0075] each band-combination information element represents a respective supported carrier-aggregation combination, [0154] the respective BCPs correspond to band combinations [1+2], [1+3], and [1+2+3], each comprising Band 1, i.e., the second frequency band).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a capability information as taught by KIM within the system of Rico. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance carrier aggregation support, thereby improving system efficiency (KIM [0045]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Rico and KIM, specifically Rico teaches wherein the first information further comprises at least one of: at least one piece of maximum bandwidth capability information ([0060] In FIG. 3 reference number 350, the information identifying the capability may identify the maximum bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz at 15 kHz numerology)); all bandwidths supportable by the terminal device; and indication information indicating whether the terminal device supports all bandwidths.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Rico and KIM, specifically Rico teaches wherein the at least one piece of maximum bandwidth capability information (FIG. 3 reference number 350) comprises maximum bandwidth capability information corresponding to each of at least one Sub-Carrier Spacing (SCS) ([0049] In FIG. 3 reference number 310, a UE 120 is associated with carriers having subcarrier spacings of 15 kHz, 7.5 kHz, and 1.25 kHz, [0060] identify the maximum bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz at 15 kHz numerology) the scaling factors associated with the 7.5 kHz numerology and the 1.25 kHz numerology).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Rico and KIM, specifically Rico teaches wherein the at least one piece of maximum bandwidth capability information (FIG. 3 reference number 350) ([0050] The maximum bandwidth capability is based at least a radio frequency (RF) throughput capability of the UE 120) comprises maximum uplink bandwidth capability information ([0040] On the uplink, at UE 120, a transmit processor 264 receives and process data and transmitted to BS 110. At BS 110, the uplink signals from UE 120 are processed to obtain decoded data and control information sent by UE 120) and/or maximum downlink bandwidth capability information ([0039] At UE 120, antennas 252a through 252r receives the downlink signals from BS 110, A receive processor 258 provides decoded data for UE 120 to a data sink 260, and decoded control information).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Rico and KIM, specifically KIM teaches wherein the first information further comprises all bandwidths supportable by the terminal device on each of the at least one frequency band ([0064] the UE reports maximum bandwidths for frequency bands, [0071]-[0072] the capability information identifies the bandwidth classes supported in each frequency band and indicates that all combinations of the recorded bandwidth classes are supported by the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a capability information as taught by KIM within the system of Rico. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance carrier aggregation support, thereby improving system efficiency (KIM [0045]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Rico and KIM, specifically Rico teaches wherein the maximum bandwidth capability information (FIG. 3 reference number 350) of the terminal device on each frequency band comprises at least one piece of maximum bandwidth capability information each corresponding to one SCS ([0049] In FIG. 3, a UE 120 is associated with carriers having subcarrier spacings of 15 kHz, 7.5 kHz, and 1.25 kHz, [0060] the information identifying the capability may identify the maximum bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz at 15 kHz numerology)).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Rico and KIM, specifically Rico teaches wherein the first information further comprises maximum bandwidth capability information supported by the terminal device in at least one operation state ([0041] Controller/processor 240 of BS 110, controller/processor 280 of UE 120, and/or any other component(s) of FIG. 2 performs one or more techniques associated with carrier capability signaling with regard to multiple carrier numerologies, [0060] the information identifying the capability identifies the maximum bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz at 15 kHz numerology)).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Rico and KIM, specifically Rico teaches wherein the operation state comprises a Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO) operation state ([0039] A MIMO detector 256 may obtain received symbols from all R demodulators 254a through 254r, perform MIMO detection on the received symbols if applicable).
Regarding claim 19, Rico teaches a wireless communication method (FIG. 3), comprising:
receiving, by a network device (FIG. 3 BS 110), first information transmitted by a terminal device (FIG. 3 UE 120) ([0060] In FIG. 3 reference number 340, the BS 110 receives information identifying the capability), the first information being used to determine a maximum bandwidth capability supported by the terminal device ([0060] The information identifying the capability is shown by FIG. 3 reference number 350. As shown, the information identifying the capability identifies the maximum bandwidth); wherein the first information comprises at least one of: maximum bandwidth capability information of the terminal device on each of at least one frequency band ([0060] the UE capability information identifies a maximum bandwidth, such as 100 MHz at a 15-KHz numerology, for each of multiple, different frequency bands).
However, Rico does not teach wherein the maximum bandwidth capability information of the terminal device on a second frequency band comprises a plurality of sets of maximum bandwidth capability information, and each set of maximum bandwidth capability information corresponds to at least one frequency band combination comprising the second frequency band.
In an analogous art, KIM teaches wherein the maximum bandwidth capability information of the terminal device on a second frequency band comprises a plurality of sets of maximum bandwidth capability information ([0060]-[0064] the UE reports capability information including supported frequency-band combinations and maximum bandwidths for the frequency bands, [0154] multiple BCPs correspond to combinations [1+2], [1+3], and [1+2+3], each including Band 1, i.e., the second frequency band), and each set of maximum bandwidth capability information corresponds to at least one frequency band combination comprising the second frequency band ([0075] each band-combination information element represents a respective supported carrier-aggregation combination, [0154] the respective BCPs correspond to band combinations [1+2], [1+3], and [1+2+3], each comprising Band 1, i.e., the second frequency band).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a capability information as taught by KIM within the system of Rico. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance carrier aggregation support, thereby improving system efficiency (KIM [0045]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Rico and KIM, specifically Rico teaches wherein the first information further comprises at least one of: at least one piece of maximum bandwidth capability information ([0060] In FIG. 3 reference number 350, the information identifying the capability may identify the maximum bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz at 15 kHz numerology)).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Rico and KIM, specifically KIM teaches wherein the first information further comprises maximum bandwidth capability information of the terminal device on each of at least one frequency band combination, each frequency band combination including at least two frequency bands ([0062] the UE reports supported frequency-band combinations, [0064] the capability information includes maximum bandwidths for the frequency bands, [0154] the reported BCPs correspond to combinations [1+2], [1+3], and [1+2+3], each including at least two frequency bands).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a capability information as taught by KIM within the system of Rico. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance carrier aggregation support, thereby improving system efficiency (KIM [0045]).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Rico and KIM, specifically KIM teaches wherein the first information further comprises maximum bandwidth capability information of the terminal device on each of at least one frequency band combination, each frequency band combination including at least two frequency bands ([0062] the UE reports supported frequency-band combinations, [0064] the capability information includes maximum bandwidths for the frequency bands, [0154] the reported BCPs correspond to combinations [1+2], [1+3], and [1+2+3], each including at least two frequency bands).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a capability information as taught by KIM within the system of Rico. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance carrier aggregation support, thereby improving system efficiency (KIM [0045]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2020/0120488 A1 (LIU et al.) discloses a communication method for bandwidth part switching, user equipment, a network device, and a communications system.
US 2020/0045671 A1 (Hapsari et al.) discloses user equipment and a camping-on method.
US 2023/0089990 A1 (FENG et al.) discloses a capability information reporting method and apparatus.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413