DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 1, in paragraph 0001, line 2: The phrase --and issued as U.S. Patent No. 11,865,058 on January 9, 2024,-- should be inserted after the phrase “December 19, 2022,”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 14, 15, 18 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
1) In claim 14, line 5 and in claim 18, line 5: The term “portions” should be changed to --portion--.
2) In claim 15, line 2 and in claim 19, line 2: The term --second-- should be inserted before the last instance of the term “side”.
3) In claim 15, line 3 and in claim 19, line 3: The phrase --periphery of the-- should be inserted after the last instance of the term “the”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,559,451. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is generic to all that is recited in claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,559,451. In other words, claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,559,451 fully encompass the subject matter of claim 1 and therefore
anticipate claim 1. Since claim 1 is anticipated by claims 1 and 10 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from claims 1 and 10. Thus the invention of claims 1 and 10 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of claim 1. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species, see In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claim 1 is anticipated (fully encompassed) by claims 1 and 10 of the patent, claim 1 is not patentably distinct from claims 1 and 10, regardless of any additional subject matter present in claims 1 and 10.
Claims 1-4, 6 and 8-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,865,058 in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0369038 to Bhimavarapu et al. With respect to claims 1-4, 6 and 8-12, claims 1, 2 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,865,058 are considered to disclose all of the limitations recited therein (i.e., the limitations primarily relating to the hanger assembly as recited in dependent claims 8-11) except for one or more of a first therapy and a second therapy provided to a patient via a controller operatively coupled to the user interface; and an indicator light operatively coupled to the controller and disposed beneath an indicator panel of the housing, the indicator light configured to illuminate one or more of a first symbol associated with the first therapy and a second symbol associated with the second therapy; wherein the indicator light is further defined as a first indicator light, the first indicator light being configured to illuminate the first symbol associated with the first therapy in response to the user providing input to operate the fluid supply device to provide the first therapy to the
patient; further comprising a second indicator light operatively coupled to the controller and disposed beneath the indicator panel, the second indicator light being configured to illuminate the second symbol associated with the second therapy in response to the user providing input to operate the fluid supply device to provide the second therapy to the patient; wherein the first symbol associated with the first therapy is further defined as a low air loss symbol and the second symbol associated with the second therapy is further defined as a turn assist symbol; further comprising a third indicator light operatively coupled to the controller and disposed beneath the indicator panel, the third indicator light being configured to illuminate a third symbol associated with a locking function in response to the user providing input to lock operation of the fluid supply device; and wherein the user interface comprises a display operatively coupled to the controller, the controller configured to generate and output on the display the one or more of the first symbol associated with the first therapy and the second symbol associated with the second therapy.
Bhimavarapu et al. ‘038 provides the basic teaching of a fluid source (100) for supplying fluid to a therapy device to provide one or more of a first therapy and a second therapy to a patient (as shown in Figure 2 and as described on page 2, in paragraphs 0018 & 0019), the fluid source comprising: a housing comprising an indicator panel (116) (as shown in Figure 3 and as described on page 4, in paragraph 0037); a fluid supply device disposed within the housing (as described on page 2, in paragraph 0018); a controller (102) operatively coupled to the fluid supply device to control operation of the fluid supply device (as shown in Figure 2 and as described on page 2, in paragraphs 0018-0022 and on page 3, in paragraph 0022); a user interface (110) operatively coupled to the controller (102) to enable a user to provide input to operate the fluid supply device to provide the one or more of the first therapy and the second therapy (as shown in Figures 1 & 2 and as described on page 4, in paragraphs 0033-0037); and an indicator light (126) operatively coupled to the controller (102) and disposed beneath the indicator panel (116), the indicator light configured to illuminate one or more of a first symbol associated with the first therapy and a second symbol associated with the second therapy (as shown in Figures 2 & 4-6 and as described on page 2, in paragraph 0017; page 4, paragraph 0038 and on page 5, in paragraph 0038); wherein the indicator light (126) is further defined as a first indicator light, the first indicator light being configured to illuminate the first symbol associated with the first therapy in response to the user providing input to operate the fluid supply device to provide the first therapy to the patient (as shown in Figures 4-6 and as described on page 4, in paragraph 0038 and on page 5, in paragraphs 0038 & 0039); further comprising a second indicator light (126) operatively coupled to the controller and disposed beneath the indicator panel (116), the second indicator light being configured to illuminate the second symbol associated with the second therapy in response to the user providing input to operate the fluid supply device to provide the second therapy to the patient (also as shown in Figures 4-6 and as described on page 4, in paragraph 0038 and on page 5, in paragraphs 0038 & 0039); and wherein the first symbol associated with the first therapy is further defined as a low air loss symbol and the second symbol associated with the second therapy is further defined as a turn assist symbol (as shown in Figures 2 & 4-6 and as described on page 2, in paragraph 0017; page 4, paragraph 0038 and on page 5, in paragraph 0038); further comprising a third indicator light (LB) operatively coupled to the controller (102) and disposed beneath the indicator panel (116), the third indicator light being configured to illuminate a third symbol associated with a locking function in response to the user providing input to lock operation of the fluid supply device (as shown in Figure 6 and as described on page 10, in paragraph 0067); and wherein the user interface (110) comprises a display (114) operatively coupled to the controller (102), the controller configured to generate and output on the display the one or more of the first symbol associated with the first therapy and the second symbol associated with the second therapy (as shown in Figures 2-6 and as described on page 4, in paragraphs 0035-0037 and on page 5, in paragraphs 0038-0040). The skilled artisan would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the fluid source disclosed in claims 1, 2 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,865,058 with the operational arrangement taught in Bhimavarapu et al. ‘038 with a reasonable expectation of success because this would have achieved the desirable result of imparting and facilitating enhanced treatment of the patient.
Claims 2-4, 6 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,559,451 in view of Bhimavarapu et al. ‘038. With respect to claims 2-4, 6 and 12, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,559,451 does not specifically disclose wherein the indicator light is further defined as a first indicator light, the first indicator light being configured to illuminate the first symbol associated with the first therapy in response to the user providing input to operate the fluid supply device to provide the first therapy to the patient; further comprising a second indicator light operatively coupled to the controller and disposed beneath the indicator panel, the second indicator light being
configured to illuminate the second symbol associated with the second therapy in response to the user providing input to operate the fluid supply device to provide the second therapy to the patient; wherein the first symbol associated with the first therapy is further defined as a low air loss symbol and the second symbol associated with the second therapy is further defined as a turn assist symbol; further comprising a third indicator light operatively coupled to the controller and disposed beneath the indicator panel, the third indicator light being configured to illuminate a third symbol associated with a locking function in response to the user providing input to lock operation of the fluid supply device; and wherein the user interface comprises a display operatively coupled to the controller, the controller configured to generate and output on the display the one or more of the first symbol associated with the first therapy and the second symbol associated with the second therapy.
Bhimavarapu et al. ‘038 provides the basic teaching wherein the indicator light (126) is further defined as a first indicator light, the first indicator light being configured to illuminate the first symbol associated with the first therapy in response to the user providing input to operate the fluid supply device to provide the first therapy to the patient (as shown in Figures 4-6 and as described on page 4, in paragraph 0038 and on page 5, in paragraphs 0038 & 0039); further comprising a second indicator light (126) operatively coupled to the controller and disposed beneath the indicator panel (116), the second indicator light being configured to illuminate the second symbol associated with the second therapy in response to the user providing input to operate the fluid supply device to provide the second therapy to the patient (also as shown in Figures 4-6 and as described on page 4, in paragraph 0038 and on page 5, in paragraphs 0038 & 0039); and wherein the first symbol associated with the first therapy is further defined as a low air loss symbol and the second symbol associated with the second therapy is further defined as a turn assist symbol (as shown in Figures 2 & 4-6 and as described on page 2, in paragraph 0017; page 4, paragraph 0038 and on page 5, in paragraph 0038); further comprising a third indicator light (LB) operatively coupled to the controller (102) and disposed beneath the indicator panel (116), the third indicator light being configured to illuminate a third symbol associated with a locking function in response to the user providing input to lock operation of the fluid supply device (as shown in Figure 6 and as described on page 10, in paragraph 0067); and wherein the user interface (110) comprises a display (114) operatively coupled to the controller (102), the controller configured to generate and output on the display the one or more of the first symbol associated with the first therapy and the second symbol associated with the second therapy (as shown in Figures 2-6 and as described on page 4, in paragraphs 0035-0037 and on page 5, in paragraphs 0038-0040). The skilled artisan would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the fluid source disclosed in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,559,451 with the operational arrangement taught in Bhimavarapu et al. ‘038 with a reasonable expectation of success because this would have achieved the desirable result of imparting and facilitating enhanced treatment of the patient.
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,559,451 in view of Bhimavarapu et al. ‘038 in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0259410 to Zerhusen et al., or
alternatively, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,865,058 in view of Bhimavarapu et al. ‘038 in view of Zerhusen et al. ‘410. Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,559,451 as modified by Bhimavarapu et al. ‘038, or alternatively, claims 1, 2 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,865,058 as modified by Bhimavarapu et al. ‘038, do not specifically disclose conditions wherein the first symbol and the second symbol are etched into the indicator panel (116) to be illuminated by the first and second indicator light, and wherein the third symbol is etched into the indicator panel to be illuminated by the third indicator light. Zerhusen et al. ‘410 provides the basic teaching of a patient support device (10) comprising a housing (120) comprising an indicator panel (101-104, 122, 124, 126); a plurality of indicator lights (78, 80) operatively coupled to a controller (72) and disposed beneath the indicator panel (101-104, 122, 124, 126), the indicator lights configured to illuminate one or more symbols on the indicator panel, wherein the one or more symbols are “printed, such as being screen printed, or etched” into the indicator panel (see Figures 1, 3-6 & 27; page 5, paragraphs 0067 & 0068; page 7, paragraphs 0078-0083; page 8, paragraph 0093; page 9, paragraphs 0093-0099). The skilled artisan would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the fluid source disclosed in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,559,451 as modified by Bhimavarapu et al. ‘038, or alternatively, claims 1, 2 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,865,058 as modified by Bhimavarapu et al. ‘038, with the symbol configuration taught in Zerhusen et al. ‘410 with a reasonable expectation of success because this would have achieved the desirable result of providing a
simple and alternative light display arrangement which is well-known in the art as taught by Zerhusen et al. ‘410.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bhimavarapu et al. ‘038. With respect to claim 1, Bhimavarapu et al. ‘038 shows the claimed
limitations of a fluid source (100) for supplying fluid to a therapy device to provide one or more of a first therapy and a second therapy to a patient (as shown in Figure 2 and as described on page 2, in paragraphs 0018 & 0019), the fluid source comprising: a housing comprising an indicator panel (116) (as shown in Figure 3 and as described on page 4, in paragraph 0037); a
fluid supply device disposed within the housing (as described on page 2, in paragraph 0018); a controller (102) operatively coupled to the fluid supply device to control operation of the fluid supply device (as shown in Figure 2 and as described on page 2, in paragraphs 0018-0022 and on page 3, in paragraph 0022); a user interface (110) operatively coupled to the controller (102) to enable a user to provide input to operate the fluid supply device to provide the one or more of the first therapy and the second therapy (as shown in Figures 1 & 2 and as described on page 4, in paragraphs 0033-0037); and an indicator light (126) operatively coupled to the controller (102) and disposed beneath the indicator panel (116), the indicator light configured to illuminate one or more of a first symbol associated with the first therapy and a second symbol associated with the second therapy (as shown in Figures 2 & 4-6 and as described on page 2, in paragraph 0017; page 4, paragraph 0038 and on page 5, in paragraph 0038).
With respect to claims 2-4, the reference further discloses the claimed limitations wherein the indicator light (126) is further defined as a first indicator light, the first indicator light being configured to illuminate the first symbol associated with the first therapy in response to the user providing input to operate the fluid supply device to provide the first therapy to the patient (as shown in Figures 4-6 and as described on page 4, in paragraph 0038 and on page 5, in paragraphs 0038 & 0039); further comprising a second indicator light (126) operatively coupled to the controller and disposed beneath the indicator panel (116), the second indicator light being configured to illuminate the second symbol associated with the second therapy in response to the user providing input to operate the fluid supply device to provide the second therapy to the patient (also as shown in Figures 4-6 and as described on
page 4, in paragraph 0038 and on page 5, in paragraphs 0038 & 0039); and wherein the first symbol associated with the first therapy is further defined as a low air loss symbol and the second symbol associated with the second therapy is further defined as a turn assist symbol (as shown in Figures 2 & 4-6 and as described on page 2, in paragraph 0017; page 4, paragraph 0038 and on page 5, in paragraph 0038).
With respect to claims 6 and 12, the reference further discloses a third indicator light (LB) operatively coupled to the controller (102) and disposed beneath the indicator panel (116), the third indicator light being configured to illuminate a third symbol associated with a locking function in response to the user providing input to lock operation of the fluid supply device (as shown in Figure 6 and as described on page 10, in paragraph 0067); and wherein the user interface (110) comprises a display (114) operatively coupled to the controller (102), the controller configured to generate and output on the display the one or more of the first symbol associated with the first therapy and the second symbol associated with the second therapy (as shown in Figures 2-6 and as described on page 4, in paragraphs 0035-0037 and on page 5, in paragraphs 0038-0040).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhimavarapu et al. ‘038 in view of Zerhusen et al. ‘410. Bhimavarapu et al. ‘038 does not specifically disclose conditions wherein the first symbol and the second symbol are etched into the indicator panel (116) to be illuminated by the first and second indicator lights (126), and wherein the third symbol is etched into the indicator panel to be illuminated by the third
indicator light (126). Zerhusen et al. ‘410 provides the basic teaching of a patient support device (10) comprising a housing (120) comprising an indicator panel (101-104, 122, 124, 126); a plurality of indicator lights (78, 80) operatively coupled to a controller (72) and disposed beneath the indicator panel (101-104, 122, 124, 126), the indicator lights configured to illuminate one or more symbols on the indicator panel, wherein the one or more symbols are “printed, such as being screen printed, or etched” into the indicator panel (see Figures 1, 3-6 & 27; page 5, paragraphs 0067 & 0068; page 7, paragraphs 0078-0083; page 8, paragraph 0093; page 9, paragraphs 0093-0099). The skilled artisan would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the fluid source disclosed in Bhimavarapu et al. ‘038 with the symbol configuration taught in Zerhusen et al. ‘410 with a reasonable expectation of success because this would have achieved the desirable result of providing a simple and alternative light display arrangement which is well-known in the art as taught by Zerhusen et al. ‘410.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The examiner respectfully asserts that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluid source of Bhimavarapu et al. ‘038 to include the distinct structural arrangement of the watershed region as explicitly recited in dependent claims 13-16.
Claims 17 and 20 are allowed. The examiner respectfully asserts that none of the prior art, taken either singly or in combination, is seen to teach or suggest the use of a fluid source comprising the particular structural configuration of and cooperation between the housing, the fluid supply device disposed within the housing, the controller operatively coupled to the fluid supply device, the user interface operatively coupled to the controller, and the watershed region “peripherally surrounding the user interface and including at least one raised portion shaped to allow any liquid that reaches the user interface to fall by gravity off the user interface and past the watershed region”, as explicitly recited in independent claim 17.
Claims 18 and 19 are objected to due to the informalities as indicated above in paragraph 3 of this Office action, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome these informalities and in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: Zerhusen et al. ‘203, Zerhusen et al. ‘524, Zerhusen et al. ‘249, Zerhusen et al. ‘190, Bhimavarapu ‘304, Zerhusen et al. ‘090, Bhimavarapu ‘667, Paul et al. ‘936, Zerhusen et al. ‘700, Zerhusen et al. ‘692, Bhimavarapu et al. ‘875, Bhimavarapu et al. ‘812, Bhimavarapu ‘577, Zerhusen et al. ‘382, Zerhusen et al. ‘546, Zerhusen et al. ‘562, Zerhusen et al. ‘625, Zerhusen et al. ‘491, Zerhusen et al. ‘574, Zerhusen et al. ‘368, Zerhusen et al. ‘465, Zerhusen et al. ‘562,
Zerhusen et al. ‘798, Zerhusen et al. ’670 A1, Zerhusen et al. ‘670 B1, Zerhusen et al. ‘080 A1, Zerhusen et al. ‘080 B1, Zerhusen et al. ‘212 A1 and Zerhusen et al. ‘212 B1.
/ROBERT G SANTOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673