DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed 3/2/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 9-12 are apparatus claims which depend from a method claim. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). See MPEP § 2173.05(p).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schafer (US 7,793,772) in view of Tokic (WO 2021099096 A1) [all citations to Tokic are directed toward U.S. equivalent US 2022/0397887] .
Regarding the independent claim 1 and dependent claims 9-11, Schafer discloses a process/system/computer program product/computer-readable medium for controlling a conveyor line for general cargo, wherein the conveyor line comprises a plurality of consecutive conveyor line portions (N+2, N+1, N, N-1, N-2), each of which is driven by a drive (12, 12’, 12”), and one or more sensors (10, 10’, 1”) for detecting general cargo are located on at least some of the consecutive conveyor line portions, the process comprising: controlling the drives by means of a computing unit repeatedly receiving input data comprising a vector of a fixed length (see col. 2, lines 29-30), each vector element being associated with a section of a conveyor line and indicating a current proportional occupancy of the respective section by an item of general cargo (see col. 3, lines 5-15), the conveyor line being split into a plurality of the sections of identical size (see col. 7, lines 20-25). Schafer discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not explicitly disclose that the computing unit uses a machine learning model. However, Tokic discloses a similar process which includes a computing unit which utilizes a machine learning model for the purpose of eliminating necessary sophistication for manual adjustment of control function (see U.S. equivalent US 2022/0397887, para 0014). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention, to utilize a machine learning model, as disclosed by Tokic, for the purpose of eliminating necessary sophistication for manual adjustment of control function.
Regarding dependent claim 2, Schafer discloses that the computing unit receives updated input data with a temporal clocking (see col. 7, lines 60-65), and with the same clocking outputs information about a speed to be set for each conveyor line portion (see col. 7, line 65 – col. 8, line 3). Schafer discloses all the limitations of the claims, but, as stated above, it does not explicitly disclose that the computing unit uses a machine learning model. However, Tokic discloses a similar process which includes a computing unit which utilizes a machine learning model for the purpose of eliminating necessary sophistication for manual adjustment of control function (see U.S. equivalent US 2022/0397887, para 0014). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention, to utilize a machine learning model, as disclosed by Tokic, for the purpose of eliminating necessary sophistication for manual adjustment of control function.
Regarding dependent claims 3, 4, and 6, Schafer discloses the current proportional occupancy is ascertained from measurement results from the one or more sensors and speeds of conveyor line portions (see col. 2, lines 29-45). The current proportional occupancy for a specified item of general cargo is ascertained over time by virtue of a sensor detecting the item of general cargo and assigning a measurement result to the respective section(s)containing an applicable position, computational ascertainment of the applicable position of the item of general cargo taking place up to a next sensor by using the speed of the respective conveyor line portion, and a computation result being assigned to the respective section(s) containing the applicable position, the next sensor detecting the item of general cargo and assigning the measurement result to the respective section(s) containing the applicable position (see col. 7, line 54 – col. 8, line 3). The input value comprises current measurement results from the one or more sensors (see col. 2, lines 45-55).
Regarding dependent claims 7 and 8, Schafer discloses employing a target function comprising the similarity of speeds of adjacent conveyor line portions (see col. 2, lines 29-45). Schafer discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose a machine learning model trained before the conveyor line is controlled or trained as reinforcement learning in which a reward or penalty is ascertained. However, Tokic discloses a similar process in which a machine learning model trained before the conveyor line is controlled (see U.S. equivalent US 2022/0397887, para 0040) and trained as reinforcement learning in which a reward or penalty is ascertained (see U.S. equivalent US 2022/0397887, paras 0041-0042) for the purpose of eliminating necessary sophistication for manual adjustment of control function (see U.S. equivalent US 2022/0397887, para 0014). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention, to utilize a a machine learning model trained before the conveyor line is controlled and trained as reinforcement learning in which a reward or penalty is ascertained, as disclosed by Tokic, for the purpose of eliminating necessary sophistication for manual adjustment of control function.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schafer (US 7,793,772) in view of Tokic (WO 2021099096 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schroader et al. (WO 2021011833 A1). The combination of Schafer and Tokic discloses all the limitations of the claim, but it does not disclose that each vector element indicates the current proportional occupancy using a non-binary value, using a numerical value between 0 and 1. However, Schroader discloses a similar process which includes using vector elements which indicate a current proportional occupancy of a conveyor line using a non-binary value, using a numerical value between 0 and 1 (see p. 18, lines 15-25) for the purpose of determining a percentage of occupancy. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention, to have each vector element indicate the current proportional occupancy using a non-binary value, using a numerical value between 0 and 1, as disclosed by Schroader, for the purpose of determining a percentage of occupancy.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant states that Schafer does not disclose “repeatedly receiving input data comprising a vector of a fixed length, each vector element being associated with a section of a conveyor line and indicating a current proportional occupancy of the respective section by an item of general cargo” as recited in claim 1. The examiner disagrees with the applicant. At least in col. 2, lines 29-30 and col. 3, lines 5-15, Schafer discloses “repeatedly receiving input data comprising a vector of a fixed length (see col. 2, lines 29-30), each vector element being associated with a section of a conveyor line and indicating a current proportional occupancy of the respective section by an item of general cargo (see col. 3, lines 5-15)”. The applicant appears to state that Schafer is only ever concerned with one section or vector of the conveying line. However, Schafer, in at least Figure 2 and col. 7, line 15 – col. 8, line 60, discloses repeatedly receiving input data from each vector and conveying section.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653