DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently under examination.
Claim Interpretation
The term “primary aluminum” is interpreted, based on [0031] of the instant specification, to mean previously unused aluminum (a.k.a. virgin aluminum) refined from Al-containing ores.
The term “low carbon primary aluminum” is interpreted, based on [0013] of the instant specification, to mean aluminum produced by a process that uses electricity from low carbon sources, including but not limited to wind, solar, hydro, tidal or nuclear.
The term “pre-consumer recycled aluminum” is interpreted to mean aluminum scrap recovered during a manufacturing process prior to reaching the consumer.
The term “post-consumer recycled aluminum” is interpreted to mean aluminum recovered from consumer products.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 20 recites “The method of claim 19, further comprising conversion and fabrication of the recycled aluminum”. However, there is no disclosure in the instant specification on what the claimed conversion entails. One of ordinary skill in the art would not have been able to understand what and how the conversion of the recycled aluminum should occur, and therefore, not able to performed the claimed conversion of the recycled aluminum.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites “The method of claim 19, further comprising conversion and fabrication of the recycled aluminum”. However, there is no disclosure in the instant specification on what the claimed conversion entails. Therefore, the scope of “conversion” is not clear. The instant claim is vague and indefinite.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/213400 in view of Felberbaum et al. US 2019/0010592(Felberbaum).
Claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/213400 a recycled aluminum composition that comprises primary aluminum and pre-consumer recycled aluminum 6063, a computer chassis comprising the recycled Al composition and a method of making the recycled aluminum or a method of making a computer chassis comprising the recycled Al composition.
However, the claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/213400 does not teach that the recycled aluminum is a 5052 Al alloy as claimed.
Felberbaum teaches an Al alloy made from at least 30% recycled aluminum (abstract, [0005]) and using the Al alloy to produce Chasis for electronics such as phones, computers and tablets[0081]. Felberbaum further teaches that suitable Al alloys includes 5052, 5252 and 6063[0072-0073]. In light of the teachings of Felberbaum, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have substituted the 6063 Al alloy as taught by claims of copending Application No. 18/213400 with 5052 Al alloy of Felberbaum with expected success since Felberbaum teaches Al alloy made of recycled 5052 Al alloy as just as suitable for computer chassis as 6063 Al alloy of copending Application No. 18/213400.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/213430 in view of Felberbaum et al. US 2019/0010592(Felberbaum).
Claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/213430 a recycled aluminum composition that comprises primary aluminum and pre-consumer recycled aluminum 5252, a computer chassis comprising the recycled Al composition and a method of making the recycled aluminum or a method of making a computer chassis comprising the recycled Al composition.
However, the claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/213430 does not teach that the recycled aluminum is a 5052 Al alloy as claimed.
Felberbaum teaches an Al alloy made from at least 30% recycled aluminum (abstract, [0005]) and using the Al alloy to produce Chasis for electronics such as phones, computers and tablets[0081]. Felberbaum further teaches that suitable Al alloys includes 5052, 5252 and 6063[0072-0073]. In light of the teachings of Felberbaum, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have substituted the 5252 Al alloy as taught by claims of copending Application No. 18/213430 with 5052 Al alloy of Felberbaum with expected success since Felberbaum teaches Al alloy made of recycled 5052 Al alloy as just as suitable for computer chassis as 5252 Al alloy of copending Application No. 18/213430.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1and 3-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Felberbaum et al. US 2019/0010592(Felberbaum).
Felberbaum teaches an aluminum alloy comprising at least 40% recycled Al content[0005, 0034], wherein the recycled content may be materials recycled from Al manufacturing facility(i.e. pre-consumer recycled Al) and/or post-consumer sources(i.e. post-consumer recycled Al)[0035]. Felberbaum further teaches that the Al alloy may be 5xxx series Al alloy such as AA5052[0070, 0072].
Regarding claims 1 and 3-5, the Al alloy of Felberbaum contains at least 40% recycled Al content, which implies less than 60% of the Al alloy comes from primary Al sources. Additionally, since the recycled Al as taught by Felberbaum may be from Al manufacturing facility(pre-consumer recycled Al) or post-consumer sources, the examiner concludes that at least some to all of the recycled Al may come from pre-consumer and/or post-consumer recycled Al sources, which implies that the amount of pre-consumer recycled Al as taught by Felberbaum encompasses the claimed amount of pre-consumer recycled Al. Furthermore, the amount of primary Al in the Al alloy of Felberbaum overlaps the claimed amount of primary Al. Therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regard claim 6, Felberbaum further teaches, in Figs. 8-9, that the recycled aluminum composition has a tensile strength that’s greater than 205 MPa as claimed, a yield strength(in the T6 range in Fig. 8) that is greater than 170MPa as claimed, and an elongation of greater than 8% as claimed(see total elongation(TE)).
Regarding claims 7-8, the 5052 aluminum alloy(i.e. 2.5-3.5wt% Mg, 0.15-0.25 wt% Cr) of Felberbaum is an Al alloy that has Si and Mg that are significantly overlap the claimed Mg and Cr amounts. Therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05. The alloy composition for 5052 Al alloy is widely available online and in literature.
Regarding claims 9-10, the minor alloying elements in the 5052 aluminum alloy of Felberbaum, such as claimed Fe, Si, Mn, Cu, Zn, are present in amounts that read on the claimed amounts of minor alloying elements.
Regarding claim 11, Felberbaum further teaches that the recycled aluminum alloy is cast product as claimed(abstract, [0021]).
Regarding claims 12-13, Felberbaum further teaches that the recycled Al alloy can be used in electronics application such as computer or tablet chassis[0081].
Regarding claim 14, since Felberbaum teaches that its recycled Al alloy is suitable for making computer or tablet chassis, which would have read on the claimed chassis having at least 10% comprising recycled Al composition.
Regarding claim 15, since Felberbaum’s recycled Al alloy is suitable for making computer chassis, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the recycled Al alloy in a process to make computer chassis with expected success.
Regarding claim 16, the recycled Al alloy of Felberbaum comprises at least 40% recycled Al, which encompasses the claimed at least 70% recycled Al. Therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MEPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 17-18, the instant claims are rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of claims 1 and 3 above.
Claim(s) 2 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Felberbaum, and further in view of WO 2009/081091(WO091).
The teachings of Felberbaum are discussed in section 12 above. However, Felberbaum does not explicitly teach that the primary aluminum is a low carbon primary aluminum.
WO091 teaches a method to make low-carbon primary aluminum(abstract). WO091 further teaches that its method is technically viable, economical and environmentally friendly(page 5, 3rd paragraph).
Regarding claims 2 and 19, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the low carbon primary aluminum as taught by WO091 into the recycled Al alloy of Felberbaum in order to provide primary aluminum that is technically viable, economical and environmentally friendly as taught by WO091. Additionally, since the recycled Al alloy of Felberbaum in view of WO091 comprises low carbon primary Al and pre-consumer recycled Al alloy 5052, the claimed steps of combining the low carbon primary Al and pre-consumer recycled Al alloy 5052 and the claimed step of alloy would have taken place in the process of manufacturing the recycled Al alloy of Felberbaum in view of WO091.
Regarding claim 20, Felberbaum teaches that the resulting Al alloy can be used in making computer or tablet chassis, which implies the presence of claimed conversion and fabrication of the recycled Al as claimed.
Conclusion
LOIS ZHENG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/LOIS L ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733