DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 16 and 20 are amended in view of applicant’s response filed 4/29/2026. Claims 2, 5 and 17 are canceled. New claims 21-23 are added. Therefore, claims 1, 3-4, 6-16 and 18-23 are currently under examination.
Status of Previous Rejections
The rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, has been withdrawn in view of applicant’s claim amendments in the response filed 4/29/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 20 is amended to recite “wherein the conversion comprises forming the recycled aluminum into an ingot, sheet, or strand”. Applicant submits that the amendment is fully supported by paragraph [0008] of the instant specification.
Paragraph [0008] of the instant specification discloses the following:
[0008] In some aspects, the recycled aluminum composition can be comprised in an ingot, layer, or a sheet. In some aspects, the recycled aluminum composition can be extruded, cast, rolled, and/or forged. In some aspects, the recycled aluminum composition can be comprised in an article of manufacture. In some aspects, the article can be computer part. The computer can be a desktop computer, laptop computer, notebook computer, computer monitor, computer periphery, cell phone, computer tablet, calculator or the like. In some aspects, the article of manufacture can be a computer chassis or chassis part, such as a desktop computer chassis or chassis part or a laptop computer chassis or chassis part or a monitor chassis or chassis part, and/or computer peripheral chassis or chassis part.
Nothing in paragraph [0008] of instant specification explicitly connects the claimed conversion of recycled aluminum to forming the recycled aluminum into an ingot, sheet or strand as amended in claim 1. Instead, paragraph [0008] of instant specification discloses shapes of the recycled aluminum composition and final products made of the recycled aluminum composition. Therefore, the amended feature “wherein the conversion comprises forming the recycled aluminum into an ingot, sheet, or strand” is new matter.
Claim 23 recites “wherein the production of the recycled aluminum composition results in CO2 emissions of no more than 3.6 tons of CO2 per ton of the recycled aluminum composition produced”. Fig. 2 of the instant specification only shows carbon emission in unit “Ton” as indicated vertically on the right side of Fig. 2. However, the instant specification does not provide support for claimed unit of “tons of CO2 per ton of the recycled aluminum composition produced”. Therefore, claim 23 includes new matter that is not fully supported by the instant specification.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-16 and 18-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, 6-16 and 18-23 of copending Application No. 18/213400 in view of Felberbaum et al. US 2019/0010592 (Felberbaum).
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-16 and 18-23 of copending Application No. 18/213400 a recycled aluminum composition that comprises primary aluminum and pre-consumer recycled aluminum 6063, a computer chassis comprising the recycled Al composition and a method of making the recycled aluminum or a method of making a computer chassis comprising the recycled Al composition.
However, the claims 1, 3-4, 6-16 and 18-23 of copending Application No. 18/213400 does not teach that the recycled aluminum is a 5252 Al alloy as claimed.
Felberbaum teaches an Al alloy made from at least 30% recycled aluminum (abstract, [0005]) and using the Al alloy to produce Chasis for electronics such as phones, computers and tablets[0081]. Felberbaum further teaches that suitable Al alloys includes 5052, 5252 and 6063[0072-0073]. In light of the teachings of Felberbaum, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have substituted the 6063 Al alloy as taught by claims of copending Application No. 18/213400 with 5252 Al alloy of Felberbaum with expected success since Felberbaum teaches Al alloy made of recycled 5252 Al alloy as just as suitable for computer chassis as 6063 Al alloy of copending Application No. 18/213400.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-16 and 18-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, 6-16 and 18-23 of copending Application No. 18/213419 in view of Felberbaum et al. US 2019/0010592 (Felberbaum).
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-16 and 18-23 of copending Application No. 18/213419 a recycled aluminum composition that comprises primary aluminum and pre-consumer recycled aluminum 5052, a computer chassis comprising the recycled Al composition and a method of making the recycled aluminum or a method of making a computer chassis comprising the recycled Al composition.
However, the claims 1, 3-4, 6-16 and 18-23 of copending Application No. 18/213419 does not teach that the recycled aluminum is a 5252 Al alloy as claimed.
Felberbaum teaches an Al alloy made from at least 30% recycled aluminum (abstract, [0005]) and using the Al alloy to produce Chasis for electronics such as phones, computers and tablets[0081]. Felberbaum further teaches that suitable Al alloys includes 5052, 5252 and 6063[0072-0073]. In light of the teachings of Felberbaum, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have substituted the 5052 Al alloy as taught by claims of copending Application No. 18/213419 with 5252 Al alloy of Felberbaum with expected success since Felberbaum teaches Al alloy made of recycled 5252 Al alloy as just as suitable for computer chassis as 5052 Al alloy of copending Application No. 18/213419.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-16 and 18-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Felberbaum et al. US 2019/0010592(Felberbaum), and further in view of Saevardottir et al. “Reducing the Carbon Footprint: Aluminum Smelting with Changing Energy Systems and the Risk of Carbon Leakage”, Light Metals 2020, pp 726-734, January 28, 2020(Saevardottir).
Felberbaum teaches an aluminum alloy comprising at least 30% recycled Al content[0005, 0034], wherein the recycled content may be materials recycled from Al manufacturing facility(i.e. pre-consumer recycled Al) and/or post-consumer sources(i.e. post-consumer recycled Al)[0035]. Felberbaum further teaches that the Al alloy may be 5xxx series Al alloy such as AA5252[0070, 0072].
However, Felberbaum does not teach the claimed primary aluminum comprising low carbon primary aluminum.
Saevardottir discusses alternative ways for producing primary aluminum (Abstract), wherein low-emission(i.e. low carbon) technologies, such as hydro, wind, solar and/or nuclear, are preferable in the primary aluminum industry to reduce carbon footprint(Abstract, Conclusion).
Regarding claims 1, 3-4 and 18, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill the in art to have incorporated the low emission(i.e. low carbon) technologies, such as hydro, wind, solar and/or nuclear as taught by Saevardottir into manufacturing the primary aluminum of Felberbaum in order to reduce carbon footprint as taught by Saevardottir.
Additionally, the, the Al alloy of Felberbaum in view of Saevardottir contains at least 30% recycled Al content, which implies less than 70% of the Al alloy comes from primary Al sources. Additionally, since the recycled Al as taught by Felberbaum in view of Saevardottir may be from Al manufacturing facility(pre-consumer recycled Al) or post-consumer sources, the examiner concludes that at least some to all of the recycled Al may come from pre-consumer and/or post-consumer recycled Al sources, which implies that the amount of pre-consumer recycled Al as taught by Felberbaum in view of Saevardottir encompasses the claimed amount of pre-consumer recycled Al. Furthermore, the amount of primary Al in the Al alloy of Felberbaum in view of Saevardottir overlaps the claimed amount of primary Al. Therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regard claim 6, Felberbaum further teaches, in Figs. 8-9, that the recycled aluminum composition has a tensile strength that’s greater than 205 MPa as claimed, a yield strength(in the T6 range in Fig. 8) that is greater than 170MPa as claimed, and an elongation of greater than 8% as claimed(see total elongation(TE)).
Regarding claims 7-8, the 5252 aluminum alloy(i.e. 2.2-2.8wt% Mg) of Felberbaum in view of Saevardottir is an Al alloy that reads on claimed 5252 Al alloy composition. The alloy composition for 5052 Al alloy is widely available online and in literature.
Regarding claims 9-10, the minor alloying elements in the 5252 aluminum alloy, such as claimed Fe, Si, Mn, Cu, Zn, are present in amounts that read on the claimed amounts of minor alloying elements.
Regarding claim 11, Felberbaum further teaches that the recycled aluminum alloy is cast product as claimed(abstract, [0021]).
Regarding claims 12-13, Felberbaum further teaches that the recycled Al alloy can be used in electronics application such as computer or tablet chassis[0081].
Regarding claim 14, since Felberbaum teaches that its recycled Al alloy is suitable for making computer or tablet chassis, which would have read on the claimed chassis having at least 10% comprising recycled Al composition.
Regarding claim 15, since recycled Al alloy of Felberbaum in view of Saevardottir is suitable for making computer chassis, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the recycled Al alloy in a process to make computer chassis with expected success.
Regarding claim 16, the recycled Al alloy of Felberbaum in view of Saevardottir comprises at least 30% recycled Al, which encompasses the claimed at least 70% recycled Al as claimed. Therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness sists. Wee MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 19, the recycled Al alloy as taught by Felberbaum in view of Saevardottir can be AA5252 and comprises at least 30% recycled Al content, where in the recycled Al comprises Al from Al manufacturing facility(pre-consumer recycled Al), the examiner concludes that the combined disclosure of Felberbaum in view of Saevardottir includes a method of making a recycled aluminum comprising combined low carbon primary aluminum with pre-consumer recycled AA 5252 and alloying the low carbon primary Al and pre-consumer recycled AA 5252 to form the recycled aluminum as claimed.
Regarding claim 20, Felberbaum teaches that the Al alloy is casted into an ingot[0057] which reads on conversion and fabrication of the recycled Al as claimed.
Regarding claim 21, although Felberbaum in view of Saevardottir do not explicitly teach that the low carbon primary aluminum comprises virgin aluminum, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have applied low carbon source technologies such as hydro, wind, solar and/or nuclear in the manufacturing of virgin aluminum, which is a type of primary aluminum, for the same purpose of reducing carbon footprint.
Regarding claim 22, Felberbaum in view of Saevardottir teaches the claimed low carbon sources such as hydro, wind, solar and/or nuclear.
Regarding claim 23, Saevardottir further teaches that nuclear or renewable power sources such as hydro, wind or solar produces practically zero carbon emission(Greenhouse Gas Emission Sources from Aluminum Production, pg. 727 left column, last bullet point), which reads on the claimed CO2 emission of no more than 3.6 tons of CO2 per ton of the recycled aluminum composition produced.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in response filed 4/29/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LOIS ZHENG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/LOIS L ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733