DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 12/02/2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US 12,368,011 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the door lever housing as recited in claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because the “,” in “pivotable, manner” on line 3 should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saarinen et al. [Saarinen hereinafter, US 7,589,291].
In regard to claim 1, Saarinen discloses [in Fig. 3] a module comprising: a housing [32] having a switch region; a switch [35] connected releasably to the switch region of the housing [32]; and an actuating flap [310], which is pivotally connected to the housing [32] and configured so as to be pivoted by a movement of a door lever [31], wherein the door lever [31] is separate from the actuating flap [310], wherein the actuating flap [310] is configured to be moved between a first position and a second position in which the switch [35] is activated by the actuating flap [310].
In regard to claim 2, Saarinen discloses [in Fig. 3] the module according to claim 1, wherein the switch [32] comprises an activating component [36] extending in a first direction, and wherein the actuating flap [310] is pivotable about a pivot axis, wherein the pivot axis extends substantially perpendicular to the first direction.
In regard to claim 3, Saarinen discloses [in Fig. 3] the module according to claim 1, wherein the actuating flap [310] comprises a curved cover region, which is configured so as to at least partially cover an activating component [36] of the switch [35].
In regard to claims 4 and 5, Saarinen discloses [in Fig. 3] the module according to claim 1, wherein the module comprises a first resetting element [col. 2, line 37 – col. 3, line 5], which biases the actuating flap [310] into the first position, wherein the first resetting element is configured so as to generate a haptic and/or audible signal when the actuating flap [310] is transferred into the second position of the actuating flap [310].
In regard to claims 6 and 13, Saarinen discloses [in Fig. 3] the module according to claim 1, wherein the module comprises a second resetting element [36], which is configured so as to act against further movement of the door lever [31] after the actuating flap [310] has been transferred into the second position of the actuating flap [310], wherein the second resetting element [36] is a resetting spring.
In regard to claim 7, Saarinen discloses [in Fig. 3] the module according to claim 1, wherein the actuating flap [310] comprises a protrusion [33], which projects over a surface of the actuating flap [310] facing away from the switch [35] and is configured to interact with the door lever [31] as the door lever [31] translates so as to transfer a substantially translational movement of the door lever [31] into a pivoting movement of the actuating flap [310].
In regard to claim 10, Saarinen discloses [in Fig. 3]a door lever housing [col. 2, lines 56-61] having a door lever [31] stored therein in a pivotable manner; and a module according to a module according to claim 1, wherein the module is connected to the door lever housing such that the actuating flap [310] is arranged between the door lever [31] and the switch [35].
In regard to claim 12, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647. It is noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saarinen et al. [Saarinen hereinafter, US 7,589,291]. Saarinen discloses [in Fig. 3] the module according to claim 7. Saarinen does not disclose that the protrusion comprises a ramp region and a shoulder region, wherein the ramp region preferably has a slope of 10° to 45°. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used any various shape, since selection and use of any known equivalent shape would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/LHEIREN MAE A CAROC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833