DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-19 and 23 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. Entries in the information disclosure statement filed October 10, 2023, fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the entry has an incorrect document number (see items 191 and 192) or does not have a publication date (see item 173). It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially real time” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially real time” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the measurements tagged as ‘Other’". This term was not mentioned previously in the instant claim or in the claim from which it depends (claims 8 and 1). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim 1-12 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Worthington et al. (US 5,822,715) in view of Heller et al. (US 6,560,471) in view of Miller et al. (US Registration No. H2246 H).
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 23, Worthington, et al. teaches a method for treating diabetes mellitus that includes the steps of storing one or more components of the patient’s insulin dosage regimen (abstract, column 4, column 5, lines 60-67); drawing blood samples from the patient at a plurality of times (column 4, lines 21-32; column 9, lines 17-26); ascertaining the patient’s blood glucose-level measurements in the blood samples (column 9, lines 11-32); establishing the patient’s current blood glucose-level measurements relative to a desired glycemic range (column 4); determining from the patient’s blood-glucose level measurements whether and by how much to adjust at the at least one or more components of the patient’s present insulin dosage regimen to stay within said glycemic range and administer the lowest insulin dosage (column 4, column 5, lines 60-67); adjusting the at least one component in accordance to the determination (column 14, lines 1-18); performing the steps of the method until the insulin dosage regimen required to stay within the desired glycemic range is lowered to a predetermined level (column 4).
Worthington, et al. does not teach tagging measurements with identifiers reflective of when the measurements were obtained.
Heller et al. teaches storing event markers with data of a particular event which are generated automatically or through input by the patient, (column 59, lines 36-42) and storing the drug (column 61, lines 15-60).
While Worthington et al. and Heller et al. teach adjustments of insulin regimen and glucose thresholds over time, (Worthington, column 3, lines 54-64; Heller, columns 51-52), they do not expressly teach dampens or prevents unstable oscillations, and the regimen continues to decrease as the oscillations are reduced.
Miller et al. teaches a method of predicting the effectiveness of medication-based therapy in lowering average blood glucose levels and recommending a therapy on the basis of the arithmetic average of the relative minima, (abstract). Miller et al. shows the decrease of glucose oscillations over time, and the predictability of treatment effectiveness based on the amplitudes of the oscillations, suggesting that as oscillations decrease treatment decreases, (columns 3-5).
Regarding claim 2, Heller et al. teach where the adjustment to the patient’s insulin dosage regimen is performed in real time (column 61, lines 15-60; column 62, lines 33-40).
Regarding claim 3, Heller et al. teach where the insulin dosage regimen is provided by a physician or other healthcare professional (column 50, lines 12-24; column 61, lines 45-61)
Regarding claim 4, Heller et al. teach where the method is performed without any intervention from a doctor or healthcare professional (column 61, lines 45-61).
Regarding claim 5, Worthington et al. teach where the desired glycemic range changes over time and the adjustment to the patient’s insulin dosage regimen is to get within the desired glycemic range (column 11, lines 30-40).
Regarding claim 6, Heller et al. teach generating identifiers for particular events (column 59, lines 36-42). Worthington et al. teach that insulin is taken before breakfast and bedtime (column 2, lines 27-38). One of ordinary skill in art would expect that the particular events of Heller et al. may be meals as described by Worthington et al.
Regarding claim 7, Worthington et al. teach taking previous measurements and the elapsed time (column 9, lines 1-33).
Regarding claim 8, Worthington et al. teach where the glycemic range is between 85 mg/dL and 200 mg/dL (column 10, lines 5-15).
Regarding claim 9, Worthington et al. teach where the method achieves durable glycemic balance (column 13, lines 50-57).
Regarding claim 10, Worthington et al. teach where the dosage is adjusted to include a high dose (column 14, lines 1-17).
Regarding claim 11, Worthington et al. teach where the insulin dosage regime is adjusted such that insulin is no longer administered (column 14, lines 19-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine Heller et al. with Worthington et al., because each of the elements are known in the art and the art is in the same technology, i.e. are systems for controlling blood glucose and combinable. One of ordinary skill would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable, because Worthington et al. predicts future blood glucose values based on measured glucose values, and corrective actions if said values are outside a range, (abstract) and Heller et al. measures a level of analyte, i.e. blood glucose, and a delivery system to help alter the level of analyte based on the measured analyte, (abstract), thus all use methods to analyze blood glucose and provide a means of altering said glucose and are combinable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine Miller et al. with Worthington et al. and Heller et al., because each of the elements are known in the art and the art is in the same technology, i.e. are methods for analyzing blood glucose are combinable. One of ordinary skill would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable, because Worthington et al. predicts future blood glucose values based on measured glucose values, and corrective actions if said values are outside a range, (abstract), Heller et al. measures a level of analyte, i.e. blood glucose, and a delivery system to help alter the level of analyte based on the measured analyte, (abstract), and Miller et al. predicts the effectiveness of medication-based therapy in lowering blood glucose levels by monitoring the oscillation patterns of blood glucose over time, (abstract) thus all use methods to analyze blood glucose and are combinable.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1-19 and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 9,220,456. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The U.S. Patent requires the limitations of the instant claims with additional limitations. Thus, the subject matter of the instant claims encompasses the subject matter of the U.S. Patent, and they are not patentably distinct.
8. Claims 1-19 and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 10,624,577. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The instant claims requires the limitations of the U.S. Patent with additional limitations. Thus, the subject matter of the U.S. Patent encompasses the subject matter of the instant claims, and they are not patentably distinct.
9. Claims 1-19 and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-32 of U.S. Patent No. 8,457,901. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The U.S. Patent requires the limitations of the instant claims with additional limitations. Thus, the subject matter of the instant claims encompasses the subject matter of the U.S. Patent, and they are not patentably distinct.
10. Claims 1-19 and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 8,600,682. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The U.S. Patent requires the limitations of the instant claims with additional limitations. Thus, the subject matter of the instant claims encompasses the subject matter of the U.S. Patent, and they are not patentably distinct.
11. Claims 1-19 and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No.11,723,592. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The U.S. Patent requires the limitations of the instant claims with additional limitations. Thus, the subject matter of the instant claims encompasses the subject matter of the U.S. Patent, and they are not patentably distinct.
Contact Information
/JERRY LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1685