Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 13 and 14 recite, throughout the claim “a step of…”. It is not clear if applicant is intending to limit the claims to what is recited in the claim, or “a step of” is describing the step and would include limitations beyond what is recited in the claims. Limitations from the specification are not to be read into the claim.
It is suggested applicant remove “a step (Sxx) of” from each limitation. It is also noted the specific step number (S14), (S21), (S22), etc. does not impart any limitations on the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogawa et al (WO 2019/107460), with references made to English Equivalent (US 2021/0001695).
Ogawa discloses, regarding claim 1, A glass structure comprising: (See Figs 1-3) a light shielding treatment glass plate (See Fig 2, mask layer 4 and glass plate 1) including an optical device mounting region on which an optical device is to be mounted, (any region of the plate could be used to mount an optical device, also see Paragraph [0074], a measurement unit 5, such as a laser radar, that measures a distance between vehicles is attached to a position corresponding to the mask layer 4.) a light transmitting portion that is located within the optical device mounting region and through which light entering the optical device from the outside and/or light emitted from the optical device passes (The layer 1 outer glass, is considered to be the light transmitting portion), and a light shielding treatment portion that surrounds at least a portion of the light transmitting portion; (the mask portion 4 is considered the shielding portion which surrounds at least a portion of the light transmitting portion. See Paragraph [0110])
a light transmissive plate-like member that is thinner than the light shielding treatment glass plate and is mounted on a mounting surface for the optical device on the light shielding treatment glass plate so as to cover the light transmitting portion and a portion of the light shielding treatment portion; and (Light transmissive plate 2 is thinner than shielding treatment glass, layers 1 and 4, with Figures 3 and 6-8 showing it mounted on the mounting surface capable of receiving and optical device.)
a conductive pattern film including one or more electric heating wires, the conductive pattern laminated film being formed between the light shielding treatment glass plate and the light transmissive plate-like member, wherein (Fig 3 shows heating wires 3 being a conductive pattern film formed between layers 1 and 2, See Paragraph [0105], [0117])
the light transmissive plate-like member is bonded to the light shielding treatment glass plate with a bonding film interposed therebetween, (bonding layers 32, 33 and 311 are used for adhering the layers 1, 4 and 2 together)
the electric heating wires are formed in the bonding film (Fig 3 shows the wires 314 being formed in the bonding film), and
a pair of busbars for feeding electricity to the one or more electric heating wires are formed on the mounting surface of the light shielding treatment glass plate. (Fig 1 shows busbars 312 and 313 for feeding power to the heating wires 314. See Paragraphs [0117] and [0118])
Regarding claim 2, Fig 6 shows the busbars 312 and 313 overlapping the layer 1 in planview and the heating elements 314 in contact with the busbars. Regarding claim 3, Fig 6 shows the busbars 312 and 313 overlapping the layer 2 in planview and the heating elements 314 in contact with the busbars. Fig 3 shows the heating wires and busbars being in the conductive film pattern 3. Regarding claim 4 the busbars 312 and 313 are connected to connection terminals on the plate. (See Paragraph [0118]) Connection members 317 and 318 may also qualify as terminals. (See Paragraph [0156]) Regarding claim 5, the layer 1 is a laminated glass layer with the mask acting as shielding. (See Paragraph [0141]) Regarding claim 6, the layer 1 is a laminated glass layer with an intermediate layer 311 being shown as thinner than the bonding layers 32, 33. (See Paragraph [0140], [0141]) Regarding claim 7, the light transmissive layer 2 is glass. Regarding claim 8, the bonding film 32, 33 has a thickness of 0.1-2.0mm. (See Paragraph [0140]) Regarding claim 9, the thickness of the heating wires and bus bars is 3-20 μm. (See Paragraph [0140]) The thickness of the glass layer 2 is 0.8-1.3mm making the ratio 0.005 or greater. (See Paragraph [0105]) Regarding claim 11, the layer 2, or light transmissive plate has a thickness of 0.8-1.3 mm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al (WO 2019/107460), with references made to English Equivalent (US 2021/0001695).
Regarding claim 13, Ogawa discloses, A method of manufacturing the glass structure according to claim 1, the method comprising:
a step (S11) of preparing a light shielding treatment glass plate with busbars in which the pair of busbars are formed on the light shielding treatment glass plate (Figs 1-6 show a light shielding treatment glass plate 1 and 4 with a pair of busbars 312, 313 formed on the layer 1);
a step (S 12) of preparing a resin film with a conductive pattern film in which the conductive pattern film is formed on a resin film for bonding (the heating layer, including the conductive pattern film 31, 32, 33 is formed in resin, See Paragraph [0132], where the resin would be prepared);
a step (S13) of preparing the light transmissive plate-like member; and a step (S14) of stacking the light shielding treatment glass plate with busbars, the resin film with the conductive pattern film, and the light transmissive plate-like member and bonding the light shielding treatment glass plate with busbars (Paragraphs [0152] - [0154[ describe how all the layers are placed together as shown in Figs 3 and 6 and bonded together) , the resin film with the conductive pattern film, and the light transmissive plate-like member through thermocompression bonding. (The elements are heated under vacuum suction. See Paragraph [0153]) Ogawa does not specifically state the elements are prepared and stacked. However, as they are formed together in the manner as in claim 1, it would have been obvious to prepare and stack each element in a method as the result would be the claimed structure.
Regarding claim 14, Ogawa discloses, A method of manufacturing the glass structure according to claim 1, the method comprising:
a step (S11) of preparing a light shielding treatment glass plate with busbars in which the pair of busbars are formed on the light shielding treatment glass plate (Figs 1-6 show a light shielding treatment glass plate 1 and 4 with a pair of busbars 312, 313 formed on the layer 1);
a step (S 12) of preparing a resin film with a conductive pattern film in which the conductive pattern film is formed on a resin film for bonding (the heating layer, including the conductive pattern film 31, 32, 33 is formed in resin, See Paragraph [0132], where the resin would be prepared);
a step (S13) of preparing the light transmissive plate-like member; and a step (S14) of stacking the light shielding treatment glass plate with busbars, the resin film with the conductive pattern film, and the light transmissive plate-like member and bonding the light shielding treatment glass plate with busbars (Paragraphs [0152] - [0154[ describe how all the layers are placed together as shown in Figs 3 and 6 and bonded together) , the resin film with the conductive pattern film, and the light transmissive plate-like member through thermocompression bonding. (The elements are heated under vacuum suction. See Paragraph [0153]) Ogawa does not specifically state the elements are prepared and stacked. However, as they are formed together in the manner as in claim 1, it would have been obvious to prepare and stack each element in a method as the result would be the claimed structure.
Regarding claim 10, Ogawa fails to disclose, an overlapping width of each of the busbars and the light transmissive plate-like member on the light shielding treatment glass plate is 2- 15 mm, as viewed in a plan view. However, it would have been obvious to overlap the busbars by 2 – 15 mm since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al (WO 2019/107460), with references made to English Equivalent (US 2021/0001695) in view of Sakadane et al (US 2019/0337270).
The teachings of Ogawa have been discussed above. Ogawa fails to disclose an inner surface of the light shielding treatment glass plate and an inner surface of the light transmissive plate-like member each have a radius of curvature of 1,000-20,000 mm.
Sakadane discloses a lamindated glass structure having glass shielding layer 220, 26, transparent layer with an interior layer 2, where the radius of curvature of the inner surface is between 1000 mm to 10000mm. (See Paragraphs [0023]- [0025])
It would have been obvious to adapt Ogawa in view of Sakadane to provide the claimed radius of curvature for achieving the desired diffuse reflection and condensing of light without wrinkling the pattern or bonding films.
Conclusion
/BRIAN W JENNISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 3/31/2026