DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, and the species drawn to azimuthally variable beam profile and beam center intensity having a lower light intensity, corresponding to claims 1-3, 5-7, 10, 18-19 in the reply filed on 12/29/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there does not exist a search and examination burden and examination of both groups, if nonelected claims were files separately, would require duplication of work. This is not found persuasive because the inventions of group I and II are drawn to different statutory classes of invention having different classification and requiring materially different search and examination, resulting in a serious search burden. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 4, 8-9, 11-17 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II and nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/29/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maeda (US 2022/0176630).
With respect to Claim 1, Maeda teaches a three-dimensional printer device/apparatus comprising, a platen having a surface to support a part during fabrication of the part, a nozzle to expel molten metal arranged above the surface of the platen (i.e. an ejector head), the ejector head configured to eject liquid build material toward the surface of the platen to fabricate the part, and a targeted laser heating system to heat a target portion of the part during the fabrication of the part to control the interfacial temperature thereby improving a bond/adhesion between the build material and the target portion of the part as well as improving build strength, porosity, and/or surface finish. (para. 40-45, 92; Figs. 1-6).
Maeda further teaches wherein the laser heating system may be configured to output a laser beam having a non-Gaussian beam profile, for example, a Top-Hat or multimode profile. (para. 55, 71). Accordingly, Maeda is deemed to teach a 3D printer with sufficient specificity to anticipate the instant claim.
With respect to Claims 2-3, Maeda teaches wherein the ejector head is to heat the build material to a molten build material and the build material is a molten metal. (para. 6, 42; Figs. 1-3, 6).
With respect to claim 10, Maeda teaches wherein the non-Gaussian beam profile is adjustable during the fabrication of the part, that is, the 3D printer is capable of adjusting the beam profile during fabrication of the part. (para. 43-48, 70-71, 82).
With respect to Claim 18, Maeda teach a laser heating system for a 3D printer comprising a laser to heat a target portion of a part during fabrication of the part by the 3D printer to improve a bond between build material ejected by the 3D printer and the target portion of the part, wherein the laser outputs a laser beam having a non-Gaussian beam profile. (see rejection of claims 1-3 above, incorporated here by reference).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda (US 2022/0176630) as applied to claim 1 above (with respect to claims 5 and 7) and as applied to claim 18 above (with respect to claim 19), in view of Thomson (US 2021/0129426).
With respect to Claims 5-7 and 19, Maeda teaches a 3D printer having a laser heating system that may be configured to output a laser beam having a non-Gaussian beam profile as in claims 1 and 18, such as a multimode beam profile (see para. 55, 71; rejection of claim 1 above); however, the reference is silent as to whether the multimode beam profile comprises an azimuthally variable beam profile (claims 5-6) and/or comprises a lower light intensity at a center point (claim 7).
Thomson teaches a laser beam system for scanning a laser beam across a working surface in an additive manufacturing process, wherein the laser beam is configured to output a laser beam having a non-Gaussian beam profile. (para. 1, 8-10, 17, 19). In particular, Thomson teaches wherein the beam profile is azimuthally variable and comprises a plurality of higher intensity portions surrounding the center having a lower light intensity compared to the highest light intensity, deemed to constitute a beam profile comprising a plurality of lobes (as required by claim 6). (para. 72; Figs. 10-11). The reference teaches that this non-Gaussian beam profile is desirable to reduce differential heating of build material across the profile, as a Gaussian profile may overheat build material portions exposed to the center of the beam profile. (para. 72).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the 3D printer apparatus of Maeda comprising a laser beam heating system capable of outputting a non-Gaussian laser beam profile, to comprise a laser beam heating system to output a laser beam having a non-Gaussian beam profile that is azimuthally variable comprising a plurality of lobes and/or exhibiting a lower light intensity at a center point as compared to the highest light intensity of the laser beam, as taught by Thomson, in order to reduce unwanted differential heating of the build material and thereby obtain more uniform heating and bonding of the build material and part.
Claim(s) 5-7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda (US 2022/0176630) as applied to claim 1 above (with respect to claims 5 and 7) and as applied to claim 18 above (with respect to claim 19), in view of Malinowski (US 2021/003103).
With respect to Claims 5-7 and 19, Maeda teaches a 3D printer having a laser heating system that may be configured to output a laser beam having a non-Gaussian beam profile as in claims 1 and 18, such as a multimode beam profile (see para. 55, 71; rejection of claim 1 above); however, the reference is silent as to whether the multimode beam profile comprises an azimuthally variable beam profile (claims 5-6) and/or comprises a lower light intensity at a center point (claim 7).
Malinowski teaches a laser beam system for scanning a laser beam across a working surface, wherein the laser beam is configured to output a laser beam having a multimode non-Gaussian beam profile such as azimuthally variable beam profile comprising a plurality of lobes and/or exhibiting a lower light intensity at a center point as compared to the highest light intensity of the laser beam. (para. 38-39, 47, 48-62, 130; Fig. 2, 20). Malinowski teaches that it would be beneficial for an additive printing device (e.g. 3D printer) to have a laser system with the capability above-described, in order to allow for faster more uniform processing of larger areas. (para. 3). In other words, while a Gaussian beam profile is useful in a 3D printer to obtain small feature size (e.g. in a selective laser sintering device) a laser system utilized for more generalized heating, such as that Maeda, would benefit from the ability to alter the beam profile as taught by Malinowski.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the 3D printer of Maeda which comprises a laser heating system outputting a multimode laser beam profile, to output a multimode laser beam profile exhibiting an azimuthally variable beam profile comprising a plurality of lobes and/or exhibiting a lower light intensity at a center point as compared to the highest light intensity of the laser beam, as taught by Malinowski, in order to more quickly and uniformly heat larger targeted portions of a part.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 10, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herrmann (US 2021/0162493) in view of Thomson (US 2021/0129426).
With respect to Claims 1 and 5-6, Herrmann teaches a three-dimensional printer apparatus/system comprising, a platform (i.e. platen) having a surface to support a part during fabrication of the part, an ejector head arranged above the surface of the platen, the ejector had configured to eject liquid build material toward the surface of the platen to fabricate the part, and a laser beam system to heat the drop contact points on which each successive build material drop is deposited, including on previously fabricated portions of the part, in order to improve the bond strength and uniformity of the build material and target portion of the part and to improve part properties including lower porosity, higher yield strength, improved surface quality and appearance. (para. 2, 22-25, 29-32, 39-45, 49-52; Figs. 4, 6-7, 9). Thus, the reference teaches a laser heating system to heat a target portion of the part during the fabrication of the part to improve a bond between the build material and the target portion of the part, wherein the laser system includes a laser to output a laser beam. Herrmann is silent as to whether the laser system outputs a laser beam having a Gaussian or non-Gaussian beam profile.
Thomson teaches a laser beam system for scanning a laser beam across a working surface in an additive manufacturing process, wherein the laser beam is configured to output a laser beam having a non-Gaussian beam profile. (para. 1, 8-10, 17, 19). In particular, Thomson teaches wherein the beam profile is azimuthally variable and comprises a plurality of higher intensity portions surrounding the center having a lower light intensity compared to the highest light intensity, deemed to constitute a beam profile comprising a plurality of lobes (as required by claim 6). (para. 72; Figs. 10-11). The reference teaches that this non-Gaussian beam profile is desirable to reduce differential heating of build material across the profile, as a Gaussian profile may overheat build material portions exposed to the center of the beam profile. (para. 72).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the three-dimensional printing apparatus/system of Herrmann comprising a laser beam heating system, to comprise a laser beam heating system to output a laser beam having a non-Gaussian beam profile, in particular, a non-Gaussian beam profile that is azimuthally variable comprising a plurality of lobes, as taught by Thomson, in order to reduce unwanted differential heating of the build material and thereby obtain more uniform heating and bonding of the build material and part.
With respect to Claims 2-3, Herrmann teaches wherein the ejector head is to heat the build material to a molten build material and the build material is a molten metal. (para. 2, 22, 28-29, 32, 40-44, 49-52; Figs. 6-7).
With respect to Claim 7, Herrmann in view of Thompson teach wherein the non-Gaussian beam profile exhibits a lower light intensity at a center point of the laser beam compared to a high light intensity of the laser beam. (see Thompson, para. 72; Figs. 10-11; rejection of claims 1 and 5-6 above).
With respect to claim 10, Thompson teaches wherein the laser heating system may be dynamically adjusted during an additive fabrication process, for example, adjusting the focal length of the laser beam, the propagation distance of the laser beam to the working surface, or the power of the laser beam. (para. 16-17, 19-24). Thus, Thompson teaches wherein the non-Gaussian beam profile is adjustable during the fabrication of the part. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the 3D printer of Herrmann in view of Thompson to provide a laser heating system wherein the non-Gaussian beam profile is adjustable during the fabrication of the part, as taught by Thompson, in order to tailor the beam profile to the portion of the part being fabricated allowing for more precise control over the heating.
With respect to Claims 18-19, Herrmann in view of Thompson teach a laser heating system for a 3D printer comprising a laser to heat a target portion of a part during fabrication of the part by the 3D printer to improve a bond between build material ejected by the 3D printer and the target portion of the part, wherein the laser outputs a laser beam having a non-Gaussian beam profile, for example, an azimuthally variable beam profile. (see rejection of claims 1-3 and 5-6 above, incorporated here by reference).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 10, and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 12 of copending Application No. 19/236714 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: the instant and related claims are both drawn to a 3D printing device having a substrate/platen, ejector arranged above the substrate to eject a molten metal build material, and an adjustable laser heating system to heat a targeted portion of a fabricated part, wherein the laser may have a non-Gaussian beam profile. The related claims differ in that they are drawn to a method, however, the claims clearly set forth an “additive manufacturing device” and its related structure and functions and thus, teach or render obvious the same structural and functional elements of the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2022/0176618, having a similar disclosure to that of US 2022/0176630 above.
/JOHN A HEVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735