DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 4/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 6, 7, 13 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 2, the claim language lacks proper antecedent basis for the phrase “the bottom portion”;
Regarding claim 6, the word “thermocouple” should be “thermocouples”;
Regarding claim 7, the claim language lacks proper antecedent basis for the phrase “the second thin film”;
Regarding claim 13, the claim language “the first ends connected” lacks a verb such as “the first ends are connected”;
Regarding claim 15, the claim ends in a comma instead of a period (see MPEP § 608.01(m)).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim recites “wherein the first ends connected through a plurality of wire” but fails to specify what the first ends are connected to. It is unclear if the first ends are connected to the controller directly, the multiplexer, another component of the cooktop or to each other. Furthermore, the claim recites data is transferred to the controller through the wire after introducing a plurality of wire connected to the first ends, but does not specify which singular wire transfers data or if the plurality of wire collectively transfer data. As such, the structural relationship between the first ends, the plurality of wire and the rest of the apparatus cannot be determined, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keishima et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 20050205561 A1 and in view of Ota et al., JP Patent Application Publication No. 2009283205 A.
Claim 1. Keishima discloses an induction heating type cooktop, comprising:
an upper plate coupled to a top side of a case and configured to place an object to be heated on a top of the upper plate; (Keishima, Fig. 3 shows top plate 12, main body 11, and utensil 13 on top of the top plate 12.)
a thin film disposed on at least one of a top surface or a bottom surface of the upper plate; (Keishima, Fig. 3 shows electric conductor 17 corresponding to the claimed thin film situated on the bottom surface of the top plate 12.)
a working coil disposed inside the case and configured to generate a magnetic field, (Keishima, Fig. 3 shows a heating coil 14 inside the main body 11; and [0024] “Induction heating unit 15 including heating coil (hereinafter referred to as "coil") 14 is provided underneath top plate 12. Driving circuit 16 having an inverter supplies a high-frequency current of 40 kHz to 100 kHz to coil 14, which in turn generates high-frequency magnetic field to heat the bottom of utensil 13 by magnetic induction.”)
a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least one of the thin film or the upper plate […], (Keishima, Fig. 3 shows temperature sensor 35 fixed on the underside of the top plate 12 to detect a temperature of top plate 12 (see [0024]).)
wherein an eddy current caused by the magnetic field generated by the working coil is applied to at least one of the thin film or the object to be heated so as to heat the object to be heated. (Keishima, [0024] “Induction heating unit 15 including heating coil (hereinafter referred to as "coil") 14 is provided underneath top plate 12. Driving circuit 16 having an inverter supplies a high-frequency current of 40 kHz to 100 kHz to coil 14, which in turn generates high-frequency magnetic field to heat the bottom of utensil 13 by magnetic induction.”)
Keishima does not explicitly disclose [a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least one of the thin film or the upper plate] by a plurality of thermocouples.
Ota discloses [a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least one of the thin film or the upper plate] by a plurality of thermocouples. (Ota, [0012] “The induction heating cooking is characterized in that the temperature measuring contact of the thermocouple is provided on the lower surface of the top plate and above the winding surface of the induction heating coil.”; Fig. 2 shows thermocouples 30 and 30’; and [0036] “A thermocouple 30 ′ having a temperature measuring contact 31 ′ is fixed to the central thermocouple base 37… Further, the temperature measuring contact 31 ′ is pressed against the lower surface of the top plate 2.”)
Keishima and Ota are analogous art because they are related to induction type cooktops with temperature sensors. Keishima does not explicitly disclose the type of temperature sensors used, however Ota discloses a plurality of thermocouples in contact with a top plate, where at least one thermocouple is disposed in the center of a heating area similar to Keishima’s temperature sensor configuration. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to simply substitute the temperature sensor disclosed by Keishima with the thermocouples disclosed by Ota. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that “the influence received from the magnetic flux generated in the induction heating coil can be reduced” through the use of the temperature measuring contact of the thermocouple, and the use of several thermocouples installed in the lower surface of a top plate enables the temperature of the cooking container to be detected correctly and accurately (see Ota, [0024]).
Claim 2. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 1,
further comprising an insulator disposed between the bottom surface of the upper plate and the working coil, and (Keishima, Fig. 3 shows insulator 26 between the top plate 12 and the heating coil 14.)
wherein each of the plurality of thermocouples is positioned to pass through the bottom portion of the insulator. (Ota, [0036] “Further, the temperature measuring contact 31 ′ is pressed against the lower surface of the top plate 2.”)
Although Ota does not explicitly disclose an insulator between the top plate 12 and heating coil 14, in order for the temperature sensor of Keishima modified by the thermocouples of Ota to be pressed against the lower surface of top plate 2, it is necessary for the contacts 31’ of the thermocouple 30’ to be positioned to pass through the insulator disposed on the lower surface of the top plate 12 of Keishima in order to ensure correct and accurate temperature measurement of the top plate 12.
Claim 3. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 1,
wherein the temperature sensor is further configured to measure a first temperature of a portion of the at least one of the thin film or the upper plate, and (Keishima, [0024] “Temperature sensor 35 is fixed to the underside surface of top plate 12 in a space within aperture 18 of electric conductor 17, and it detects a temperature of top plate 12 or utensil 13 being heated.”)
wherein the temperature sensor is disposed at a central portion of the thin film with reference to a radial direction of the thin film. (Keishima, Fig. 3 shows the temperature 35 disposed central to the electric conductor 17; and [0046] mentions the change of the inner diameter of the electric conductor may be implemented “without impeding the mounting of the temperature sensor 35 to top plate 12.”)
Claim 4. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 1,
wherein the plurality of thermocouples comprise: at least one thermocouple that is disposed at a region corresponding to the thin film and that is configured to measure the temperature of the thin film; and (Ota, [0036] “Further, the temperature measuring contact 31 ′ is pressed against the lower surface of the top plate 2.”; and Fig. 3 shows a plurality of thermocouples 30 and 30’, where thermocouple 30’ is disposed in the center of the cooktop, and thermocouples 30 are disposed annularly above the heating coil.)
Although Ota does not explicitly disclose at least one thermocouple configured to measure the temperature of the thin film, Ota discloses a plurality of thermocouples 30 and 30’ disposed between the lower surface of the top plate 2 and the annularly shaped heating coil 6 shown in Ota, Fig. 2 and 3. The electric conductor 17 of Keishima is disposed between a top plate 12 and an inductive heating coil 14 similar to those of Ota’s top plate 2 and heating coil 6. Keishima’s electric conductor 17 is of a similar annular shape as the heating coil that thermocouples 30 are disposed above. Accordingly, the thermocouple configuration taught by Ota applied to the modified temperature sensor of Keishima would allow at least one thermocouple to measure the temperature of the thin film disposed under the top plate 12 of Keishima.
at least one plurality of thermocouple that is disposed at a region outside the thin film. (Ota, Fig. 3 shows a thermocouple 30’ located centrally on the heating area of the cooktop.)
Due to the annular shape of Keishima’s electric conductor 17, a centrally located thermocouple configuration taught by Ota would be disposed in a region outside the annularly shaped electric conductor 17.
Claim 5. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 1,
wherein the thin film has a ring shape having a central area that exposes the upper plate, and (Keishima, Fig. 1 shows an annularly shaped electric conductor 17 having a central area 30 that has an aperture 18 or inner perimeter 20; and Fig. 2 shows that the aperture 18 of the electric conductor 17 exposes the top plate 12.)
wherein at least one of the plurality of thermocouple disposed on the central area. (Ota, Fig. 3 shows a thermocouple 30’ located centrally on the heating area of the cooktop.)
Due to the annular shape of Keishima’s electric conductor 17, a centrally located thermocouple configuration taught by Ota would be disposed in a region outside the annularly shaped electric conductor 17.
Claim 6. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 1,
wherein the thin film includes a plurality of sub-film spaced apart from each other to form a gap therebetween, and (Keishima, Fig. 1 shows the slit 22 on the annularly shaped electric conductor 17 forms a left and a right electric conductor with a gap between corresponding with the claimed sub-film spaced apart from each other.)
wherein at least one of the plurality of thermocouple disposed on the gap. (Ota, Fig. 3 shows a plurality of thermocouples 30 and 30’, where thermocouple 30’ is disposed in the center of the cooktop, and thermocouples 30 are disposed annularly above the heating coil.)
Although Ota does not explicitly disclose the rotational orientation of the thermocouples, at least one of Ota’s annularly configured thermocouples 30 may be aligned with the gap between the left and right electric conductor of Keishima so as to be disposed on the gap as claimed.
Claim 7. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 1,
wherein the thin film includes a first thin film and the second thin film, and (Keishima, Fig. 1 shows the slit 22 on the annularly shaped electric conductor 17 forms a left and a right electric conductor corresponding with the claimed first and second thin film.)
wherein the plurality of thermocouples comprise an upper thermocouple connected to the first thin film and a lower thermocouple connected to the second thin film. (Ota, Fig. 3 shows thermocouples 30 disposed on the top, left, and right areas of the heating region.)
Modified Keishima differs from the claimed invention only in that it does not explicitly disclose an upper thermocouple and a lower thermocouple connected to a first and second thin film. However, Ota teaches monitoring temperature at a given point using a plurality of thermocouples depicted in Ota, Fig. 3 located at the center, top, left and right areas of the heating region. The left and right thermocouples in particular may be oriented to coincide with the annularly shaped electric conductor 17 of Keishima that is split into a left and right electric conductor corresponding to the claimed first and second thin film. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the thermocouple orientations to monitor two separate electric conductors regardless of the electric conductors’ location on the apparatus. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to accurately monitor the temperatures of the inductive heating elements.
Claim 8. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 1,
wherein each of the plurality of thermocouples comprises a first end that is connected to the at least one of the thin film or the upper plate. (Ota, Fig. 4 shows the plan view and front view of the thermocouples 30, where the temperature measuring contact 31 that is pressed against the lower surface of the top plate 2 corresponds with the claimed first end connected to the upper plate; and [0047] “The temperature measuring contact 31 is arranged so as to be in contact with the point to be measured…”)
Claim 9. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 8, further comprising
a controller configured to control the working coil, (Keishima, Fig. 3 shows driving circuit 16; and [0024] “Driving circuit 16 having an inverter supplies a high-frequency current of 40 kHz to 100 kHz to coil 14, which in turn generates high-frequency magnetic field to heat the bottom of utensil 13 by magnetic induction.”)
wherein each of the plurality of thermocouples comprises a second end that is configured to transfer an electromotive force to the controller. (Ota, Fig. 4 shows metal wires 30a of the thermocouples; and [0047] “The temperature measuring contact 31 is arranged so as to be in contact with the point to be measured, and temperature at the point to be measured is measured using the thermoelectromotive force due to the Seebeck effect at the other end of the metal wire.”)
Modified Keishima differs from the claimed invention only in that it does not explicitly disclose the controller configured to receive a transfer of an electromotive force from the temperature sensors of Keishima modified with the thermocouples of Ota. Ota discloses a microcomputer 15 that controls the operation of the induction heating cooker similar to the controller of Keishima. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the controller of Keishima with the ability to receive a transfer of an electromotive force similar to the capabilities of the microcomputer discloses by Ota. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to use thermoelectromotive force to measure the temperature at a point taken by the temperature measuring contact 31 from the temperature sensor modified by thermocouples of modified Keishima.
Claim 10. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 8, further comprising
an insulator disposed between the bottom surface of the upper plate and the working coil, (Keishima, Fig. 3 shows insulator 26 between the top plate 12 and the heating coil 14.)
wherein the first end passes through the insulator and is attached to the at least one of the thin film or the upper plate. (Ota, [0036] “Further, the temperature measuring contact 31 ′ is pressed against the lower surface of the top plate 2.”; and [0047] “The temperature measuring contact 31 is arranged so as to be in contact with the point to be measured…”)
Although Ota does not explicitly disclose an insulator between the top plate 12 and heating coil 14, in order for the temperature sensor of Keishima modified by the thermocouples of Ota to be pressed against the lower surface of top plate 2, it is necessary for the contacts 31’ of the thermocouple 30’ to be positioned to pass through the insulator disposed on the lower surface of the top plate 12 of Keishima in order to ensure correct and accurate temperature measurement of the top plate 12.
Claim 11. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 1,
further comprising a controller configured to control the working coil, (Keishima, Fig. 3 shows driving circuit 16; and [0024] “Driving circuit 16 having an inverter supplies a high-frequency current of 40 kHz to 100 kHz to coil 14, which in turn generates high-frequency magnetic field to heat the bottom of utensil 13 by magnetic induction.”)
wherein the controller is configured to measure a temperature of a thermocouple that is selected among the plurality of thermocouples based on a selection signal. (Ota, [0059] “The pan temperature detection circuit 40 includes four temperature detection circuits 41-1, 41-2, 41-3, and 41-4. Each of the temperature detection circuits 41-1, 41-2, 41-3, and 41-4 includes three thermocouples 30 disposed above the winding surface of the induction heating coil 6 and the winding surface of the induction heating coil 6. The thermoelectromotive force of one thermocouple 30 ′ arranged above the center of is amplified, converted into a voltage value proportional to temperature, and output.”; and Fig. 8 shows this detection circuit is connected to a microcomputer 15.)
Claim 12. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 11, further comprising: a multiplexer that is configured to receive the selection signal, that is configured to select the thermocouple based on the selection signal, and (Ota, Fig. 11 shows a selection circuit 59 corresponding to the claimed multiplexer; and [0066] “… the selection circuit 59 switches the connection between the (−) metal line terminal and the input of the OP amplifier 56. This switching is performed by the microcomputer 15 giving a selection signal to the thermocouple selection terminal 60.”)
that is configured to switch selection of the thermocouple among the plurality of thermocouples based on a predetermined cycle; and (Ota, [0066] “The connection of the thermocouple 30 is switched in a time division manner to measure the temperature… temperature measurement is performed while sequentially switching to thermocouples 30-1, 30-2, 30-3, 30-4, 30-1, 30-2,... Every second” corresponding to a switch selection based on a predetermined cycle.)
an amplifying circuit configured to amplify the electromotive force generated in the thermocouple that is selected by the multiplexer, (Ota, Fig. 11 shows OP amplifier 56.)
wherein the controller is further configured to receive information regarding the temperature of the selected thermocouple through the amplifying circuit. (Ota, [0066] “The connection of the thermocouple 30 is switched in a time division manner to measure the temperature…”)
Claim 13. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 9,
wherein the first ends connected through a plurality of wire, (Ota, Fig. 11 and 12 shows the metal wires 30a of the thermocouples 30-1, 30-2, 30-3, and 30-4 are connected to a terminal block 50, enabling connection to the microcomputer as described in the instant specification paragraph [00156].)
wherein a data on the electromotive force applied based on temperatures of portions in contact with the first ends is transferred to the controller through the wire. (Ota, [0069] “The temperature detection circuits 41-1, 41-2, 41-3, and 41-4 include temperature measuring contacts of the thermocouples 30-1, 30-2, 30-3, and 30-4 are connected. Next, each read voltage is converted as temperatures Ta1, Ta2, Ta3, and Tc of each temperature measuring contact (step S2).”; and [0070] “Then, the temperature difference at each temperature T is calculated as a temperature change rate ΔT, and this temperature change rate ΔT is stored in a register in the microcomputer 15 (step S4).”)
Claim 14. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 1,
wherein a magnitude of the eddy current applied to the thin film depends on a material of the object to be heated placed on the top of the upper plate. (Ota, [0056] “The reason for changing the operating frequency is to change the efficiency of induction heating by changing the frequency of the high-frequency current in accordance with the type of metal constituting the pan” and “The switching of the frequency is performed by the microcomputer 15 controlling the frequency control circuits 16R and 16L based on the determination of the pan type determination means (not shown).”)
Ota discloses a microcomputer 15 that controls the operation of the induction heating cooker similar to the controller of Keishima. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the controller of Keishima with the ability to change the operating frequency of the high-frequency current in accordance with the type of metal of the object to be heated. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to more efficiently inductively heat the object to be heated as different frequencies better heat different metals with varying resistivities.
Claim 15. Keishima discloses an induction heating type cooktop, comprising:
an upper plate coupled to a top side of a case and configured to place an object to be heated on a top of the upper plate; (Keishima, Fig. 13 shows top plate 12, main body 11, and utensil 13 on top of the top plate 12.)
a thin film coated on at least one of a top surface or a bottom surface of the upper plate; (Keishima, Fig. 3 shows electric conductor 17 corresponding to the claimed thin film situated on the bottom surface of the top plate 12.)
a working coil disposed inside the case and configured to inductively heat at least one of the object or the thin film; (Keishima, Fig. 3 shows a heating coil 14 inside the main body 11; and [0024] “Induction heating unit 15 including heating coil (hereinafter referred to as "coil") 14 is provided underneath top plate 12. Driving circuit 16 having an inverter supplies a high-frequency current of 40 kHz to 100 kHz to coil 14, which in turn generates high-frequency magnetic field to heat the bottom of utensil 13 by magnetic induction.”)
a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least one of the thin film or the upper plate by a plurality of thermocouples, (Keishima, Fig. 3 shows temperature sensor 35 fixed on the underside of the top plate 12 to detect a temperature of top plate 12 (see [0024]).)
Keishima does not explicitly disclose [a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least one of the thin film or the upper plate] by a plurality of thermocouples.
Ota discloses [a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least one of the thin film or the upper plate] by a plurality of thermocouples. (Ota, [0012] “The induction heating cooking is characterized in that the temperature measuring contact of the thermocouple is provided on the lower surface of the top plate and above the winding surface of the induction heating coil.”; Fig. 2 shows thermocouples 30 and 30’; and [0036] “A thermocouple 30 ′ having a temperature measuring contact 31 ′ is fixed to the central thermocouple base 37… Further, the temperature measuring contact 31 ′ is pressed against the lower surface of the top plate 2.”)
Keishima and Ota are analogous art because they are related to induction type cooktops with temperature sensors. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to simply substitute the temperature sensor disclosed by Keishima with the thermocouples disclosed by Ota. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that “the influence received from the magnetic flux generated in the induction heating coil can be reduced” through the use of the temperature measuring contact of the thermocouple, and the use of several thermocouples installed in the lower surface of a top plate enables the temperature of the cooking container to be detected correctly and accurately (see Ota, [0024]).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-5, 7-12 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-8, 16, and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11729867 B2 in view of Ota et al., JP Patent Application Publication No. 2009283205 A.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims disclose or render obvious elements of the pending claims as shown below.
Pending Claims
Reference Claims
Claim 1. An induction heating type cooktop, comprising:
an upper plate coupled to a top side of a case and configured to place an object to be heated on a top of the upper plate;
a thin film disposed on at least one of a top surface or a bottom surface of the upper plate;
a working coil disposed inside the case and configured to generate a magnetic field,
a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least one of the thin film or the upper plate by a plurality of thermocouples,
wherein an eddy current caused by the magnetic field generated by the working coil is applied to at least one of the thin film or the object to be heated so as to heat the object to be heated.
Claim 2. The induction heating type cooktop of claim 1, further comprising
an insulator disposed between the bottom surface of the upper plate and the working coil, and
wherein each of the plurality of thermocouples is positioned to pass through the bottom portion of the insulator.
Claim 3. The induction heating type cooktop of claim 1, wherein
the temperature sensor is further configured to measure a first temperature of a portion of the at least one of the thin film or the upper plate, and wherein
the temperature sensor is disposed at a central portion of the thin film with reference to a radial direction of the thin film.
Claim 4. The induction heating type cooktop of claim 1, wherein
the plurality of thermocouples comprise: at least one thermocouple that is disposed at a region corresponding to the thin film and that is configured to measure the temperature of the thin film; and
at least one plurality of thermocouple that is disposed at a region outside the thin film.
Claim 5. The induction heating type cooktop of claim 1, wherein
the thin film has a ring shape having a central area that exposes the upper plate, and wherein
at least one of the plurality of thermocouple disposed on the central area.
Claim 6. The induction heating type cooktop of claim 1, wherein
the thin film includes a plurality of sub-film spaced apart from each other to form a gap therebetween, and wherein
at least one of the plurality of thermocouple disposed on the gap.
Claim 7. The induction heating type cooktop of claim 1, wherein
the thin film includes a first thin film and the second thin film, and wherein
the plurality of thermocouples comprise an upper thermocouple connected to the first thin film and a lower thermocouple connected to the second thin film.
Claim 8. The induction heating type cooktop of claim 1, wherein
each of the plurality of thermocouples comprises
a first end that is connected to the at least one of the thin film or the upper plate.
Claim 9. The induction heating type cooktop of claim 8, further comprising
a controller configured to control the working coil, wherein
each of the plurality of thermocouples comprises
a second end that is configured to transfer an electromotive force to the controller.
Claim 10. The induction heating type cooktop of claim 8, further comprising
an insulator disposed between the bottom surface of the upper plate and the working coil, wherein
the first end passes through the insulator and is attached to the at least one of the thin film or the upper plate.
Claim 11. The induction heating type cooktop of claim 1, further comprising
a controller configured to control the working coil, wherein
the controller is configured to measure a temperature of a thermocouple that is selected among the plurality of thermocouples based on a selection signal.
Claim 12. The induction heating type cooktop of claim 11, further comprising:
a multiplexer that is configured to receive the selection signal, that is configured to select the thermocouple based on the selection signal, and
that is configured to switch selection of the thermocouple among the plurality of thermocouples based on a predetermined cycle; and
an amplifying circuit configured to amplify the electromotive force generated in the thermocouple that is selected by the multiplexer, wherein
the controller is further configured to receive information regarding the temperature of the selected thermocouple through the amplifying circuit.
Claim 13. The induction heating type cooktop of claim 9, wherein
the first ends connected through a plurality of wire, wherein
a data on the electromotive force applied based on temperatures of portions in contact with the first ends is transferred to the controller through the wire.
Claim 14. The induction heating type cooktop of claim 1, wherein
a magnitude of the eddy current applied to the thin film depends on a material of the object to be heated placed on the top of the upper plate.
Claim 15. An induction heating type cooktop, comprising:
an upper plate coupled to a top side of a case and configured to place an object to be heated on a top of the upper plate;
a thin film coated on at least one of a top surface or a bottom surface of the upper plate;
a working coil disposed inside the case and configured to inductively heat at least one of the object or the thin film;
a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least one of the thin film or the upper plate by a plurality of thermocouples,
1. An induction heating type cooktop, comprising:
an upper plate coupled to a top side of a case and configured to place an object to be heated on a top of the upper plate;
a thin film disposed on at least one of a top surface or a bottom surface of the upper plate;
a working coil disposed inside the case and configured to inductively heat at least one of the object or the thin film;
an insulator disposed between the bottom surface of the upper plate and the working coil; and
a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least one of the thin film or the upper plate by a plurality of thermocouples,
wherein a thickness of the thin film is less than a skin depth of the thin film.
6. The induction heating type cooktop of claim 5, wherein the first end passes through the insulator and is attached to the at least one of the thin film or the upper plate.
2. The induction heating type cooktop of claim 1, wherein
the temperature sensor is further configured to measure a first temperature of a portion of the at least one of the thin film or the upper plate, and
wherein
the temperature sensor is disposed at a central portion of the thin film with reference to a radial direction of the thin film.
3. The induction heating type cooktop of claim 2, wherein the plurality of thermocouples are disposed at regions corresponding to the thin film on the at least one of the top surface or the bottom surface of the upper plate.
4. The induction heating type cooktop of claim 2, wherein
the plurality of thermocouples comprise: at least one thermocouple that is disposed at a region corresponding to the thin film and that is configured to measure the temperature of the thin film; and
at least one thermocouple that is disposed at a region outside the thin film.
16. The induction heating type cooktop of claim 1, wherein
the thin film has a ring shape having a central area that exposes the upper plate, and
wherein the plurality of thermocouples comprise a first thermocouple connected to the thin film and a second thermocouple connected to the upper plate corresponding to the central area of the thin film.
18. The induction heating type cooktop of claim 1, wherein
the thin film comprises a first thin film attached to the top surface of the upper plate and a second thin film attached to the bottom surface of the upper plate,
wherein the thickness is a thickness of one of the first thin film or the second thin film,
wherein the skin depth is a skin depth of the one of the first thin film or the second thin film, and
wherein the plurality of thermocouples comprise an upper thermocouple connected to the first thin film and a lower thermocouple connected to the second thin film.
5. The induction heating type cooktop of claim 1, further comprising a controller configured to control the working coil, wherein
each of the plurality of thermocouples comprises:
a first end that is connected to the at least one of the thin film or the upper plate, and
a second end that is configured to transfer an electromotive force to the controller.
6. The induction heating type cooktop of claim 5, wherein the first end passes through the insulator and is attached to the at least one of the thin film or the upper plate.
7. The induction heating type cooktop of claim 5, wherein
the controller is configured to measure a temperature of a thermocouple that is selected among the plurality of thermocouples based on a selection signal.
8. The induction heating type cooktop of claim 7, further comprising:
a multiplexer that is configured to receive the selection signal, that is configured to select the thermocouple based on the selection signal, and that is configured to switch selection of the thermocouple among the plurality of thermocouples based on a predetermined cycle; and
an amplifying circuit configured to amplify the electromotive force generated in the thermocouple that is selected by the multiplexer,
wherein
the controller is further configured to receive information regarding the temperature of the selected thermocouple through the amplifying circuit.
1. An induction heating type cooktop, comprising:
an upper plate coupled to a top side of a case and configured to place an object to be heated on a top of the upper plate;
a thin film disposed on at least one of a top surface or a bottom surface of the upper plate;
a working coil disposed inside the case and configured to inductively heat at least one of the object or the thin film;
an insulator disposed between the bottom surface of the upper plate and the working coil; and
a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least one of the thin film or the upper plate by a plurality of thermocouples,
wherein a thickness of the thin film is less than a skin depth of the thin film.
Regarding pending claim 1, the reference application claims do not explicitly disclose [a working coil disposed inside the case and configured to] generate a magnetic field; and [wherein] an eddy current caused by the magnetic field generated by the working coil is applied to at least one of the thin film or the object to be heated so as to heat the object to be heated.
However, the reference claims disclose an induction heating type cooktop where a working coil, when energized, inherently generates a magnetic field which causes eddy currents that are responsible for heating objects in induction heating, and it has been held that a claim is anticipated if each element of the claim is found, either expressly described or under principles of inherency, in a single prior art reference, or that the claimed invention was previously know or embodied in a single prior art device or practice (see MPEP § 2112.01).
Regarding pending claim 2, the reference application claims do not explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of thermocouples is positioned to pass through the bottom portion of the insulator.
However, the reference claims disclose the first end of a thermocouple passing through the insulator and is attached to the at least one of the thin film or the upper plate, and the insulator itself being disposed on the bottom surface of the upper plate. In order for a thermocouple first end to reach the upper plate through the insulator disposed on the bottom surface of the upper plate, the first end must necessarily pass through the bottom portion of the insulator in order to ensure correct and accurate temperature measurement of the upper plate.
Regarding pending claim 5, there reference application claims do not explicitly disclose at least one of the plurality of thermocouple disposed on the central area.
However, the reference claims disclose a second thermocouple connected to the upper plate corresponding to the central area of the thin film which correspond with the orientation of at least one thermocouple as claimed by the pending claims.
Regarding pending claim 6, the reference application claims do not explicitly disclose wherein the thin film includes a plurality of sub-film spaced apart from each other to form a gap therebetween, and wherein at least one of the plurality of thermocouple disposed on the gap.
However, the reference claims disclose the thin film comprises a first thin film attached to the top surface of the upper plate and a second thin film attached to the bottom surface of the upper plate. Due to the nature of the orientation of the first and second thin films being attached to the top and bottom of the upper plate respectively, the space that the upper plate occupies between the first and second thin films corresponds to the pending claim gap formed therebetween the plurality of sub-film.
Furthermore, the reference claims disclose the object to be heated is located on a top of the upper plate where a first thin film is also disposed. In order for a thermocouple to reliably measure a temperature of the first thin film as positioned on the top of the upper plate where it aids in heating the object to be heated, the thermocouple may be positioned below the first thin film in the area referred to as the gap by the reference claims. Therefore a plurality of thermocouples disposed on the gap is a mere rearranging of parts of a prior art structure that involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.04 VI C).
Regarding pending claim 13, the reference claims do not explicitly disclose wherein the first ends connected through a plurality of wire, wherein a data on the electromotive force applied based on temperatures of portions in contact with the first ends is transferred to the controller through the wire.
However, the reference claims disclose a multiplexer configured to switch selection of the thermocouple among the plurality of thermocouples and a controller that is further configured to receive information regarding the temperature of the selected thermocouple through the amplifying circuit. For the plurality of thermocouples to be electrically coupled to the controller through the multiplexer and amplifying circuit, it follows that utilizing a plurality of wire to electrically connect the components and transfer data is merely the application of a well-known and standard electrical connection method to achieve signal transmission.
Regarding pending claim 14, the reference claims do not explicitly disclose wherein a magnitude of the eddy current applied to the thin film depends on a material of the object to be heated placed on the top of the upper plate.
However, the magnitude of the eddy current applied to the thin film depends on the material of the object to be heated and the variation of magnitude of the eddy current applied to the thin film is an inherent property of the claimed induction heating device as this will depend on the magnetic impedance of the material of the object being heated. For example, when the object to be heated is a magnetic material such as iron, which may be lower than the impedance of the thin film depending on its material, then electricity takes the path of least resistance resulting in the eddy current applied to the object to be heated being greater than the magnitude of an eddy current applied to the thin film. Similarly, if the impedance of the thin film is higher than the impedance of the material of the object being heated, such as when the object to be heated is a non-magnetic glass pot or similar, the magnitude of eddy current applied to the thin film may be greater than the magnitude applied to the object to be heated. As such, a claim is anticipated if each element of the claim is found, either expressly described or under principles of inherency, in a single prior art reference, or that the claimed invention was previously know or embodied in a single prior art device or practice (see MPEP § 2112.01).
Furthermore, Ota discloses changing the operating frequency of induction heating by changing the frequency of the high-frequency current in accordance with the type of metal constituting the pan based on the determination of the pan type determination means.
Ota discloses a microcomputer 15 that controls the operation of the induction heating cooker similar to the controller of Keishima. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the controller of Keishima with the ability to change the operating frequency of the high-frequency current in accordance with the type of metal of the object to be heated. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to more efficiently inductively heat the object to be heated as different frequencies better heat different metals with varying resistivities.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Metz US 20170367529 A1 directed to a first and second temperature sensor monitoring a first and second plate respectively.
/K.B.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JUSTIN C DODSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761