DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 4-7, 9, 12-13, and 15 are amended. Claims 2, 8 and 10 are canceled. Claims 21 and 22 are added. As a result, claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11-15 and 21-22 remain under consideration.
The amendment to claim 6, 7, 13 and 15 obviates the previously indicated objections. The amendment to claim 13 obviates the previously indicated 112(b) rejection.
The terminal disclaimer filed on 8/11/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of the full statutory term of any patent granted on pending reference Application Number(s) has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded and the double patenting rejection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant contends that:
[…] Ota fails to describe or suggest that "the first end passes through the insulator and is attached to the at least one of the thin film or the upper plate," as claimed. Rather, Ota merely describes that "the temperature measuring contact 31' is pressed against the lower surface of the top plate 2." Ota, [0036]. Accordingly, Ota teaches, at most, direct contact between a thermocouple and the top plate. Moreover, Ota is entirely silent regarding "an insulator disposed between the bottom surface of the upper plate and the working coil," as recited in claim 1. Consequently, Ota also fails to teach or suggest that "each of the plurality of thermocouples comprises a first end that is connected to at least one of the thin film or the upper plate," where "the first end passes through the insulator and is attached to the at least one of the thin film or the upper plate."
[…] a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated, absent impermissible hindsight derived from the present application, to modify Keishima in view of Ota to arrive at the limitations of amended claim 1.
[…] the resulting combination would not necessarily yield the claimed configuration. Rather, consistent with the teachings of Keishima, a POSITA would have positioned the thermocouple on the upper side of the insulator, as shown in Keishima's FIG. 3, so as to maintain direct contact with the top plate in the manner disclosed by both Keishima and Ota.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the prior art provides no suggestion to combine, the Applicant is advised that suggestion or motivation to modify a prior art structure can be found in a reference, or reasoned from common knowledge in the art, scientific principles, art recognized equivalents, or legal precedent. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988) and In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, in order to substitute the temperature sensor of Keishima with the thermocouple of Ota without drastically changing the configuration and effectiveness of the insulator of Keishima, it is a necessity for the contact 31 of the thermocouples 30 to pass through the insulator of Keishima in order to contact the lower surface of the top plate. Additionally, Ota’s thermocouples, shown in Fig. 4 which includes “a thermocouple base 32 made of heat-resistant plastic fixed to the upper part of the coil base 9” (Ota, [0035]) would necessitate the thermocouple horizontal second end holding the wires to be configured below the insulator in order to be fixed to the heating coil, while the contacts 31 may extend in a vertical direction through the insulator in order to make contact with the top plate for correct and accurate temperature readings, which can only be realized when the contacts 31 have full access to the top plate for readings. The shape of the thermocouple base 32 as taught by Ota would be placed below the insulator of Keishima which is immediately below the top plate, but above the heating coil to which it would be attached. As such, the temperature probe of Keishima, when substituted with the thermocouples of Ota, would yield the claimed configuration as written.
For reasons detailed herein, the Examiner maintains, based on the preponderance of evidence that the rejections of claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11-15 and 21-22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keishima et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 20050205561 A1 and in view of Ota et al., JP Patent Application Publication No. 2009283205 A.
Claim 1. Keishima discloses an induction heating type cooktop, comprising:
an upper plate coupled to a top side of a case and configured to place an object to be heated on a top of the upper plate; (Keishima, Fig. 3 shows top plate 12, main body 11, and utensil 13 on top of the top plate 12.)
a thin film disposed on at least one of a top surface or a bottom surface of the upper plate; (Keishima, Fig. 3 shows electric conductor 17 corresponding to the claimed thin film situated on the bottom surface of the top plate 12.)
a working coil disposed inside the case and configured to generate a magnetic field; (Keishima, Fig. 3 shows a heating coil 14 inside the main body 11; and [0024] “Induction heating unit 15 including heating coil (hereinafter referred to as "coil") 14 is provided underneath top plate 12. Driving circuit 16 having an inverter supplies a high-frequency current of 40 kHz to 100 kHz to coil 14, which in turn generates high-frequency magnetic field to heat the bottom of utensil 13 by magnetic induction.”)
an insulator disposed between the bottom surface of the upper plate and the working coil; and (Keshima, Fig. 3 shows insulator 26 between the bottom of top plate 12 and the heating coil 14.)
a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least one of the thin film or the upper plate […], (Keishima, Fig. 3 shows temperature sensor 35 fixed on the underside of the top plate 12 to detect a temperature of top plate 12 (see [0024]).)
wherein an eddy current caused by the magnetic field generated by the working coil is applied to at least one of the thin film or the object to be heated so as to heat the object to be heated. (Keishima, [0024] “Induction heating unit 15 including heating coil (hereinafter referred to as "coil") 14 is provided underneath top plate 12. Driving circuit 16 having an inverter supplies a high-frequency current of 40 kHz to 100 kHz to coil 14, which in turn generates high-frequency magnetic field to heat the bottom of utensil 13 by magnetic induction.”)
Keishima does not explicitly disclose [a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least one of the thin film or the upper plate] by a plurality of thermocouples, […] wherein each of the plurality of thermocouples comprises a first end that is connected to at least one of the thin film or the upper plate, and wherein the first end passes through the insulator and is attached to the at least one of the thin film or the upper plate.
Ota discloses [a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least one of the thin film or the upper plate] by a plurality of thermocouples, (Ota, [0012] “The induction heating cooking is characterized in that the temperature measuring contact of the thermocouple is provided on the lower surface of the top plate and above the winding surface of the induction heating coil.”; Fig. 2 shows thermocouples 30 and 30’; and [0036] “A thermocouple 30 ′ having a temperature measuring contact 31 ′ is fixed to the central thermocouple base 37… Further, the temperature measuring contact 31 ′ is pressed against the lower surface of the top plate 2.”)
wherein each of the plurality of thermocouples comprises a first end that is connected to at least one of the thin film or the upper plate, and (Ota, Fig. 4 shows the plan view and front view of the thermocouples 30, where the temperature measuring contact 31 that is pressed against the lower surface of the top plate 2 corresponds with the claimed first end connected to the upper plate; and [0047] “The temperature measuring contact 31 is arranged so as to be in contact with the point to be measured…”)
wherein the first end passes through the insulator and is attached to the at least one of the thin film or the upper plate. (Ota, [0036] “Further, the temperature measuring contact 31 ′ is pressed against the lower surface of the top plate 2.”)
Keishima and Ota are analogous art because they are related to induction type cooktops with temperature sensors. Keishima does not explicitly disclose the type of temperature sensors used, however Ota discloses a plurality of thermocouples in contact with a top plate, where at least one thermocouple is disposed in the center of a heating area similar to Keishima’s temperature sensor configuration. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to simply substitute the temperature sensor disclosed by Keishima with the thermocouples disclosed by Ota. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that “the influence received from the magnetic flux generated in the induction heating coil can be reduced” through the use of the temperature measuring contact of the thermocouple, and the use of several thermocouples installed in the lower surface of a top plate enables the temperature of the cooking container to be detected correctly and accurately (see Ota, [0024]).
Furthermore, although Ota does not explicitly disclose an insulator between the top plate 12 and heating coil 14, in order for the temperature sensor of Keishima being substituted by the thermocouples of Ota achieve the configuration that requires it to be pressed against the lower surface of top plate 2 without changing the configuration and effectiveness of the insulator taught by Keishima, it is necessary for the contacts 31’ of the thermocouple 30’ to be positioned to pass through the insulator disposed on the lower surface of the top plate 12 of Keishima in order to contact the lower surface of the top plate. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to ensure correct and accurate temperature measurement of the top plate 12 of Keishima by the thermocouples of Ota.
Claim 3. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 1,
wherein the temperature sensor is further configured to measure a first temperature of a portion of the at least one of the thin film or the upper plate, and (Keishima, [0024] “Temperature sensor 35 is fixed to the underside surface of top plate 12 in a space within aperture 18 of electric conductor 17, and it detects a temperature of top plate 12 or utensil 13 being heated.”)
wherein the temperature sensor is disposed at a central portion of the thin film with reference to a radial direction of the thin film. (Keishima, Fig. 3 shows the temperature 35 disposed central to the electric conductor 17; and [0046] mentions the change of the inner diameter of the electric conductor may be implemented “without impeding the mounting of the temperature sensor 35 to top plate 12.”)
Claim 4. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 1,
wherein the plurality of thermocouples comprise: at least one thermocouple that is disposed at a region corresponding to the thin film and that is configured to measure the temperature of the thin film; and (Ota, [0036] “Further, the temperature measuring contact 31 ′ is pressed against the lower surface of the top plate 2.”; and Fig. 3 shows a plurality of thermocouples 30 and 30’, where thermocouple 30’ is disposed in the center of the cooktop, and thermocouples 30 are disposed annularly above the heating coil.)
Although Ota does not explicitly disclose at least one thermocouple configured to measure the temperature of the thin film, Ota discloses a plurality of thermocouples 30 and 30’ disposed between the lower surface of the top plate 2 and the annularly shaped heating coil 6 shown in Ota, Fig. 2 and 3. The electric conductor 17 of Keishima is disposed between a top plate 12 and an inductive heating coil 14 similar to those of Ota’s top plate 2 and heating coil 6. Keishima’s electric conductor 17 is of a similar annular shape as the heating coil that thermocouples 30 are disposed above. Accordingly, the thermocouple configuration taught by Ota applied to the modified temperature sensor of Keishima would allow at least one thermocouple to measure the temperature of the thin film disposed under the top plate 12 of Keishima.
at least one additional thermocouple that is disposed at a region outside the thin film. (Ota, Fig. 3 shows a thermocouple 30’ from the plurality of thermocouples located centrally on the heating area of the cooktop.)
Due to the annular shape of Keishima’s electric conductor 17, a centrally located thermocouple configuration taught by Ota would be disposed in a region outside the annularly shaped electric conductor 17.
Claim 5. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 1,
wherein the thin film has a ring shape having a central area that exposes the upper plate, and (Keishima, Fig. 1 shows an annularly shaped electric conductor 17 having a central area 30 that has an aperture 18 or inner perimeter 20; and Fig. 2 shows that the aperture 18 of the electric conductor 17 exposes the top plate 12.)
wherein at least one of the plurality of thermocouples is disposed on the central area. (Ota, Fig. 3 shows a thermocouple 30’ located centrally on the heating area of the cooktop.)
Due to the annular shape of Keishima’s electric conductor 17, a centrally located thermocouple configuration taught by Ota would be disposed in a region outside the annularly shaped electric conductor 17.
Claim 6. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 1,
wherein the thin film includes a plurality of sub-film spaced apart from each other to form a gap therebetween, and (Keishima, Fig. 1 shows the slit 22 on the annularly shaped electric conductor 17 forms a left and a right electric conductor with a gap between corresponding with the claimed sub-film spaced apart from each other.)
wherein at least one of the plurality of thermocouples is disposed on the gap. (Ota, Fig. 3 shows a plurality of thermocouples 30 and 30’, where thermocouple 30’ is disposed in the center of the cooktop, and thermocouples 30 are disposed annularly above the heating coil.)
Although Ota does not explicitly disclose the rotational orientation of the thermocouples, at least one of Ota’s annularly configured thermocouples 30 may be aligned with the gap between the left and right electric conductor of Keishima so as to be disposed on the gap as claimed.
Claim 7. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 1,
wherein the thin film includes a first thin film and a second thin film, and (Keishima, Fig. 1 shows the slit 22 on the annularly shaped electric conductor 17 forms a left and a right electric conductor corresponding with the claimed first and second thin film.)
wherein the plurality of thermocouples comprise an upper thermocouple connected to the first thin film and a lower thermocouple connected to the second thin film. (Ota, Fig. 3 shows thermocouples 30 disposed on the top, left, and right areas of the heating region.)
Modified Keishima differs from the claimed invention only in that it does not explicitly disclose an upper thermocouple and a lower thermocouple connected to a first and second thin film. However, Ota teaches monitoring temperature at a given point using a plurality of thermocouples depicted in Ota, Fig. 3 located at the center, top, left and right areas of the heating region. The left and right thermocouples in particular may be oriented to coincide with the annularly shaped electric conductor 17 of Keishima that is split into a left and right electric conductor corresponding to the claimed first and second thin film. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the thermocouple orientations to monitor two separate electric conductors regardless of the electric conductors’ location on the apparatus. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to accurately monitor the temperatures of the inductive heating elements.
Claim 9. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 1, further comprising
a controller configured to control the working coil, (Keishima, Fig. 3 shows driving circuit 16; and [0024] “Driving circuit 16 having an inverter supplies a high-frequency current of 40 kHz to 100 kHz to coil 14, which in turn generates high-frequency magnetic field to heat the bottom of utensil 13 by magnetic induction.”)
wherein each of the plurality of thermocouples comprises a second end that is configured to transfer an electromotive force to the controller. (Ota, Fig. 4 shows metal wires 30a of the thermocouples; and [0047] “The temperature measuring contact 31 is arranged so as to be in contact with the point to be measured, and temperature at the point to be measured is measured using the thermoelectromotive force due to the Seebeck effect at the other end of the metal wire.”)
Modified Keishima differs from the claimed invention only in that it does not explicitly disclose the controller configured to receive a transfer of an electromotive force from the temperature sensors of Keishima modified with the thermocouples of Ota. Ota discloses a microcomputer 15 that controls the operation of the induction heating cooker similar to the controller of Keishima. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the controller of Keishima with the ability to receive a transfer of an electromotive force similar to the capabilities of the microcomputer discloses by Ota. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to use thermoelectromotive force to measure the temperature at a point taken by the temperature measuring contact 31 from the temperature sensor modified by thermocouples of modified Keishima.
Claim 11. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 1,
further comprising a controller configured to control the working coil, (Keishima, Fig. 3 shows driving circuit 16; and [0024] “Driving circuit 16 having an inverter supplies a high-frequency current of 40 kHz to 100 kHz to coil 14, which in turn generates high-frequency magnetic field to heat the bottom of utensil 13 by magnetic induction.”)
wherein the controller is configured to measure a temperature of a thermocouple that is selected among the plurality of thermocouples based on a selection signal. (Ota, [0059] “The pan temperature detection circuit 40 includes four temperature detection circuits 41-1, 41-2, 41-3, and 41-4. Each of the temperature detection circuits 41-1, 41-2, 41-3, and 41-4 includes three thermocouples 30 disposed above the winding surface of the induction heating coil 6 and the winding surface of the induction heating coil 6. The thermoelectromotive force of one thermocouple 30 ′ arranged above the center of is amplified, converted into a voltage value proportional to temperature, and output.”; and Fig. 8 shows this detection circuit is connected to a microcomputer 15.)
Claim 12. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 11, further comprising: a multiplexer that is configured to receive the selection signal, that is configured to select the thermocouple based on the selection signal, and (Ota, Fig. 11 shows a selection circuit 59 corresponding to the claimed multiplexer; and [0066] “… the selection circuit 59 switches the connection between the (−) metal line terminal and the input of the OP amplifier 56. This switching is performed by the microcomputer 15 giving a selection signal to the thermocouple selection terminal 60.”)
that is configured to switch selection of the thermocouple among the plurality of thermocouples based on a predetermined cycle; and (Ota, [0066] “The connection of the thermocouple 30 is switched in a time division manner to measure the temperature… temperature measurement is performed while sequentially switching to thermocouples 30-1, 30-2, 30-3, 30-4, 30-1, 30-2,... Every second” corresponding to a switch selection based on a predetermined cycle.)
an amplifying circuit configured to amplify electromotive force generated in the thermocouple that is selected by the multiplexer, (Ota, Fig. 11 shows OP amplifier 56.)
wherein the controller is further configured to receive information regarding the temperature of the selected thermocouple through the amplifying circuit. (Ota, [0066] “The connection of the thermocouple 30 is switched in a time division manner to measure the temperature…”)
Claim 13. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 9,
wherein the first ends of the plurality of thermocouples are respectively connected to a plurality of wires, and (Ota, Fig. 11 and 12 shows the metal wires 30a of the thermocouples 30-1, 30-2, 30-3, and 30-4 are connected to a terminal block 50, enabling connection to the microcomputer as described in the instant specification paragraph [00156].)
wherein a data on the electromotive force applied based on temperatures of portions in contact with the first ends is transferred to the controller through the plurality of wires. (Ota, [0069] “The temperature detection circuits 41-1, 41-2, 41-3, and 41-4 include temperature measuring contacts of the thermocouples 30-1, 30-2, 30-3, and 30-4 are connected. Next, each read voltage is converted as temperatures Ta1, Ta2, Ta3, and Tc of each temperature measuring contact (step S2).”; and [0070] “Then, the temperature difference at each temperature T is calculated as a temperature change rate ΔT, and this temperature change rate ΔT is stored in a register in the microcomputer 15 (step S4).”)
Claim 14. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 1,
wherein a magnitude of the eddy current applied to the thin film depends on a material of the object to be heated placed on the top of the upper plate. (Ota, [0056] “The reason for changing the operating frequency is to change the efficiency of induction heating by changing the frequency of the high-frequency current in accordance with the type of metal constituting the pan” and “The switching of the frequency is performed by the microcomputer 15 controlling the frequency control circuits 16R and 16L based on the determination of the pan type determination means (not shown).”)
Ota discloses a microcomputer 15 that controls the operation of the induction heating cooker similar to the controller of Keishima. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the controller of Keishima with the ability to change the operating frequency of the high-frequency current in accordance with the type of metal of the object to be heated. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to more efficiently inductively heat the object to be heated as different frequencies better heat different metals with varying resistivities.
Claim 15. Keishima discloses an induction heating type cooktop, comprising:
an upper plate coupled to a top side of a case and configured to place an object to be heated on a top of the upper plate; (Keishima, Fig. 13 shows top plate 12, main body 11, and utensil 13 on top of the top plate 12.)
a thin film coated on at least one of a top surface or a bottom surface of the upper plate; (Keishima, Fig. 3 shows electric conductor 17 corresponding to the claimed thin film situated on the bottom surface of the top plate 12.)
a working coil disposed inside the case and configured to inductively heat at least one of the object or the thin film; (Keishima, Fig. 3 shows a heating coil 14 inside the main body 11; and [0024] “Induction heating unit 15 including heating coil (hereinafter referred to as "coil") 14 is provided underneath top plate 12. Driving circuit 16 having an inverter supplies a high-frequency current of 40 kHz to 100 kHz to coil 14, which in turn generates high-frequency magnetic field to heat the bottom of utensil 13 by magnetic induction.”)
an insulator disposed between the bottom surface of the upper plate and the working coil; and
a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least one of the thin film or the upper plate by a plurality of thermocouples, (Keishima, Fig. 3 shows temperature sensor 35 fixed on the underside of the top plate 12 to detect a temperature of top plate 12 (see [0024]).)
Keishima does not explicitly disclose [a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least one of the thin film or the upper plate] by a plurality of thermocouples, wherein each of the plurality of thermocouples comprises a first end that is connected to at least one of the thin film or the upper plate, and wherein the first end passes through the insulator and is attached to the at least one of the thin film or the upper plate.
Ota discloses [a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least one of the thin film or the upper plate] by a plurality of thermocouples, (Ota, [0012] “The induction heating cooking is characterized in that the temperature measuring contact of the thermocouple is provided on the lower surface of the top plate and above the winding surface of the induction heating coil.”; Fig. 2 shows thermocouples 30 and 30’; and [0036] “A thermocouple 30 ′ having a temperature measuring contact 31 ′ is fixed to the central thermocouple base 37… Further, the temperature measuring contact 31 ′ is pressed against the lower surface of the top plate 2.”)
Keishima and Ota are analogous art because they are related to induction type cooktops with temperature sensors. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to simply substitute the temperature sensor disclosed by Keishima with the thermocouples disclosed by Ota. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that “the influence received from the magnetic flux generated in the induction heating coil can be reduced” through the use of the temperature measuring contact of the thermocouple, and the use of several thermocouples installed in the lower surface of a top plate enables the temperature of the cooking container to be detected correctly and accurately (see Ota, [0024]).
wherein each of the plurality of thermocouples comprises a first end that is connected to at least one of the thin film or the upper plate, and (Ota, Fig. 4 shows the plan view and front view of the thermocouples 30, where the temperature measuring contact 31 that is pressed against the lower surface of the top plate 2 corresponds with the claimed first end connected to the upper plate; and [0047] “The temperature measuring contact 31 is arranged so as to be in contact with the point to be measured…”)
wherein the first end passes through the insulator and is attached to the at least one of the thin film or the upper plate. (Ota, [0036] “Further, the temperature measuring contact 31 ′ is pressed against the lower surface of the top plate 2.”)
Keishima and Ota are analogous art because they are related to induction type cooktops with temperature sensors. Keishima does not explicitly disclose the type of temperature sensors used, however Ota discloses a plurality of thermocouples in contact with a top plate, where at least one thermocouple is disposed in the center of a heating area similar to Keishima’s temperature sensor configuration. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to simply substitute the temperature sensor disclosed by Keishima with the thermocouples disclosed by Ota. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that “the influence received from the magnetic flux generated in the induction heating coil can be reduced” through the use of the temperature measuring contact of the thermocouple, and the use of several thermocouples installed in the lower surface of a top plate enables the temperature of the cooking container to be detected correctly and accurately (see Ota, [0024]).
Furthermore, although Ota does not explicitly disclose an insulator between the top plate 12 and heating coil 14, in order for the temperature sensor of Keishima being substituted by the thermocouples of Ota achieve the configuration that requires it to be pressed against the lower surface of top plate 2 without changing the configuration and effectiveness of the insulator taught by Keishima, it is necessary for the contacts 31’ of the thermocouple 30’ to be positioned to pass through the insulator disposed on the lower surface of the top plate 12 of Keishima in order to contact the lower surface of the top plate. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to ensure correct and accurate temperature measurement of the top plate 12 of Keishima by the thermocouples of Ota.
Claim 21. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating cooktop of claim 1, wherein the first end of each of the plurality of thermocouples extends through a top surface of the insulator in a vertical direction and is connected to the at least one of the thin film or the upper plate, and (Ota, Fig. 4 shows the plan view and front view of the thermocouples 30, where the temperature measuring contact 31 extends in a vertical direction and pressed against the lower surface of the top plate 2 corresponds with the claimed first end connected to the upper plate; and [0047] “The temperature measuring contact 31 is arranged so as to be in contact with the point to be measured…”)
wherein each of the plurality of thermocouples further comprises a second end that is disposed below the top surface of the insulator. (Ota, Fig. 4 shows metal wires 30a of the thermocouples corresponding to the claimed second end; Fig. 2 shows that they lie below the top plate and the contact 31.)
According to the configuration described in claim 1 of substituting the thermocouples of Ota with the temperature sensor of Keishima, where the contacts 31 extend vertically through the insulator, the horizontal part of the thermocouple holding the wires 30a shown in Fig. 4 may fall below the top surface of the insulator in order to further insulate the wires and other areas of the thermocouple that do not require contact with the top plate, from the heat of the top plate during use.
Claim 22. Modified Keishima discloses the induction heating type cooktop of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of each of the plurality of thermocouples extends through the insulator in a horizontal direction along the bottom surface of the upper plate. (Ota, Fig. 4 shows the shape of the thermocouples 30, including the contact which extends in a horizontal direction against the bottom surface of the upper plate, through the insulator as described in the substitution of claim 1.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Metz US 20170367529 A1 directed to a first and second temperature sensor monitoring a first and second plate respectively.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.B.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JUSTIN C DODSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761