DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: control unit in claim 5; section-removal unit in claim 8; and sensor unit in claim 9.
Applicant’s disclosure as originally filed recites a control unit may be an electronic control unit, advantageously a programmable logic controller (PLC) and equivalents thereof. Applicant’s disclosure as originally filed recites a section-removal unit may be a hood and equivalents thereof. Applicant’s disclosure as originally filed recites a sensor unit may be one or more sensors and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Considering objective evidence present in Aki in view of Kim and Crivella renders obvious the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aki (JP 2012 096252) as provided by (JP 2012 096252) machine translation as an English language equivalent in view of Kim (US 2019/0070655 A1) and Crivella et al. (US 2021/0046601 A1).
Claim 1:
Aki discloses an application apparatus for applying a sealing profile to a body component ([0001]), comprising:
a hemming tool including a hem die (6) configured to, as a first station step, apply the sealing profile to a receiving surface of the body component (2), including a drilling unit (14), wherein the drilling unit (14) is configured to, as further station step, drill holes into the sealing profile (fig. 1, [0022] and [0024]).
Aki fails to disclose a roller head. Instead, Aki discloses a hemming tool for applying the sealing profile.
Kim discloses a roller hemming apparatus comprising a hemming bed and roller head (20) including a plurality of hemming rollers (figs. 1 and 5, [0018] and [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the hemming apparatus of Aki to employ the hemming rollers of Kim in place of, or in addition to, the hemming die of Aki, while retaining the drilling unit disclosed in Aki. See MPEP § 2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Such a modification would have been a predictable substitution of known hemming mechanisms, motivate by the known advantages of roller-based hemming, such as improved control of hemming forces, reduced tooling wear, and adaptability to varying panel geometries, as taught by Kim while maintaining the integrated drilling functionality already disclosed by Aki.
Aki in view of Kim fails to disclose a drilling unit having a drill bit. Instead, Aki in view of Kim discloses a punch for drilling holes (Aki, [0024]).
Crivella discloses a drilling tool (106) comprising a drill bit and a further teaches a drilling tool may include any other type of drilling tool including a tap, a die and/or the like (fig. 1, [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the punch of Aki in view of Kim to employ a drill bit-based drilling unit as taught by Crivella as a known alternative hole-forming mechanism. See MPEP § 2143 B which describes the prima facie obviousness of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim 2:
Aki in view of Kim and Crivella renders obvious the application apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the drilling unit (Crivella, 106) is assigned to an arrangement position which defines a drilling of the sealing profile as further station step prior to an application of the sealing profile. Claim 2 merely recites alternative operational timing of the drilling step relative to sealing and does not impose any additional structural limitations beyond those of claim 1.
Claim 3
Aki in view of Kim and Crivella renders obvious the application apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the drilling unit (Crivella, 106) is assigned to an arrangement position which defines a drilling of the sealing profile as further station step during an application of the sealing profile. Claim 3 merely recites alternative operational timing of the drilling step relative to sealing and does not impose any additional structural limitations beyond those of claim 1.
Claim 4:
Aki in view of Kim and Crivella renders obvious the application apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the drilling unit (Crivella, 106) is assigned to an arrangement position which defines a drilling of the sealing profile as further station step after an application of the sealing profile. Claim 4 merely recites alternative operational timing of the drilling step relative to sealing and does not impose any additional structural limitations beyond those of claim 1.
Claim 5:
Aki in view of Kim and Crivella renders obvious the application apparatus of Claim 1, wherein Aki in view of Kim and Crivella renders obvious the application apparatus is assigned a control unit (Kim, 41, 42) (Kim, fig. 13, [0074] and [0100]), wherein the control unit is configured to control the roller head and the drilling unit (Crivella, 106). Kim teaches a control unit for coordinating operation of hemming components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Kim controller to also control the drilling unit of a proposed combination of Aki, Kim and Crivella, as controllers in automated manufacturing systems are commonly used to coordinate multiple processing operations, including drilling. See MPEP § 2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 10:
Aki in view of Kim and Crivella renders obvious the application apparatus of Claim 1, further comprising an arrangement interface by way of which the application apparatus is arranged on a movable robot arm (Kim, 50) or on a station carrier (Kim, 25) (Kim, fig. 1, [0029] and [0070]).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aki in view of Kim and Crivella as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pringle, IV et al. (US 2019/0168388 A1).
Claim 6:
Aki in view of Kim and Crivella renders obvious the application apparatus of Claim 1; and Aki in view of Kim and Crivella fails to disclose the drill bit of the drilling unit is oriented along a drilling axis, wherein the drilling axis of the drill bit can be adjusted by means of an actuator unit of apparatus.
Pringle discloses an application apparatus (abstract) comprising a drilling unit ([0082]) wherein the drilling unit is oriented along a drilling axis, wherein the drilling axis of the drill unit can be adjusted by means of an actuator unit (wrist, 70) of the application apparatus (figs. 4-10, [0052] and [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the application apparatus of Aki in view of Kim and Crivella to provide an actuator unit as taught by Pringle in order to move the application apparatus a desired position within the workpiece ([0005]). See MPEP §2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 7:
Aki in view of Kim, Crivella and Pringle renders obvious the application apparatus of Claim 6, wherein the drilling axis of the drill bit can be adjusted in a first spatial direction (X) and/or in a second spatial direction (Y) and/or in a third spatial direction (Z) (Pringle, figs. 3-10, [0068]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aki in view of Kim and Crivella as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cai et al. (US 2018/0111701 A1).
Claim 8:
Aki in view of Kim and Crivella renders obvious the application apparatus of Claim 1; and, Aki in view of Kim and Crivella fails to disclose the drilling unit includes a suction-removal unit which is configured for suction removal of chips produced during the drilling of the sealing profile.
Cai discloses an application apparatus (abstract) comprising a drilling unit (50) including a suction-removal unit (44) which is configured for suction removal of chips produced during the drilling of the sealing profile (figs. 5-6, [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the application apparatus of Aki in view of Kim and Crivella by providing a suction-removal unit as taught by Cai in order to remove cutting debris including dust and chips from the drilling process (Cai, [0025]). See MPEP § 2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 9:
Aki in view of Kim and Crivella renders obvious the application apparatus of Claim 1; and, Aki in view of Kim and Crivella fails to disclose the drilling unit comprises at least one sensor unit which is configured to monitor a drilling operation carried out by the drill bit of the drilling unit.
Ozog discloses an application apparatus (abstract) comprising a drilling unit (70) including at least one sensor unit (280) which is configured to monitor a drilling operation carried out by the drill bit of the drilling unit (figs. 7A-7B, [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the application apparatus of Aki in view of Kim and Crivella by providing at least one sensor unit as taught by Ozog in order to measure the distance to the workpiece (Ozog, [0082]). See MPEP § 2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Koerbel (WO 2010/125057 A2) discloses a robot arm. Pedigo (US 11,192,245 B2) discloses systems for controlling robots and their end effectors. Erker et al. (US 2016/0279691 A1) discloses a steering roller head for hemming or seaming metal sheets.
/Lee A Holly/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726