DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/23/2023 was filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 3, claims 13-20 in the reply filed on 1/16/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-12 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 4,946,507) to Peng et al. (hereinafter Peng) in view of the teachings of the reference (US 4,876,355) to Hughes et al. (hereinafter Hughes).
Peng is directed toward imidazolines reacted with cyclic carbonates. Peng discloses at (C2, L35) that the primary amine with imidazoline is reacted with an alkylene carbonate adduct. Peng discloses at (C6, L35) that 2000g of imidazoline were reacted with 764g of propylene carbonate at 160F(72C) (2000/76=2.6), Applicants ratio is 1:0.05 to 1:2 (20 to 0.5) that is within the ratio range. Peng discloses at (C6, L25) that the imidazoline was preheated to 104F (40C). One skilled in the art would find 72C to be approximately 80C as the adduct reaction takes place at a similar temperature and no unexpected results would occur at 80C or by preheating to only 40C instead of 80C. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.).
Structure (i) and (ii) read on the above compound reacted with a propylene carbonate where R is C12-C16, which reads on Applicants R1 and R2 of C8-C22. Peng teaches each and every method step, but is silent regarding the step of obtaining from a fatty acid.
Hughes is directed toward imidazolines. Peng and Hughes are both directed toward imidazolines and it would be analogous art to look toward the source. Hughes discloses at (C2, L5) that imidazoline may be derived from a tall oil source. Hughes discloses at (C1, L23) that imidazolines are commercially made from a fatty acid and an amine such as DETA. One skilled in the art would be motivated to obtain imidazoline from renewable plant sources for lower environmental harm
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of Peng in view of the teachings of Hughes to provide the method of making a carbonate adduct using an imidazoline from a natural source, which forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 13-20.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766