DETAILED ACTION
In Reply filed on 02/26/2025, claims 11-23 are pending. Claims 11, 14-16, and 22 are currently amended. Claims 11-23 are considered in the current Office Action.
Status of Previous Objections/Rejections
Previous 35 USC 112(b) rejections are withdrawn based on the Applicant’s amendments.
35 USC 102 and 35 USC 103 rejections are maintained in view of the Applicant’s amendment. See Response to Argument below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-14, 17-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US2022/0143865 (“Huth et al” hereinafter Huth).
Regarding Claim 11, Huth teaches a method (abstract and [0121]), comprising:
dispensing a solidifiable material through a nozzle of a nozzle assembly (Figure 1 and [0064] the extruder nozzle has an in particular rectangular discharge opening 2 for the discharge of the strand ST of building material BS out of the extruder head 1, where the building material may be concrete which is solidifiable [0007]), the nozzle comprising a body comprising an inlet, an outlet, and a flow path extending between the inlet and the outlet (see annotated Figure 14 and [0126]-[0127]), the body including a longitudinal axis passing as a straight line through the inlet, the outlet, and the flow path (see annotated Figure 14);
depositing the solidifiable material onto a printing surface, thereby forming a deposited solidifiable material ([0064]); and
shaping the deposited solidifiable material using a tab (Figure 1, the combination of cover element 8 which comprises of 8a and 8b and rotary drive 218aD formed a tab) that is movable relative to the outlet of the nozzle ([0028], [0031], and [0090], as the cover element 8 is movable and covers the discharge opening 2, it shaped the material based on the amount of coverage by the cover element), and in a plane parallel to the printing surface (Figure 4, when the cover 8 completely coves the nozzle discharge opening 2, the cover and the rotary drive are in a plane parallel to the printing surface), a rotatable movement of the tab ([0106], at least one setting motor 218bE is connected in terms of movement of the cover 8 by means of the at least one rotary drive 218aD and [0114]) relative to the body is configured to adjust a cross-sectional shape at the outlet to achieve a shape of the solidifiable material that is different from the outlet of the body ([0114], as the cover rotate by the rotary drive, the cross-sectional shape of the outlet will change based on the degrees of rotation; thus, the shape of the material discharged from the outlet of the body will also change).
Regarding Claim 12, Huth teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising adjusting a location of the tab relative to the outlet of the nozzle ([0114] and Figure 9, setting motor 218aE for moving the at least one cover element 8a, 8b).
Regarding Claim 13, Huth teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising adjusting a location of the tab relative to the outlet of the nozzle ([0114]) wherein adjusting the location comprises moving the tab between a first position, in which the outlet is open ([0028], the at least one cover element may be designed to open the discharge opening), and a second position, in which the outlet is closed ([0029], in particular, the at least one cover element may be designed to completely cover the discharge opening).
Regarding Claim 14, Huth teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising adjusting a location of the tab relative to the outlet of the nozzle wherein adjusting the location of the tab ([0114]) comprises sliding a bracket along an axis perpendicular relative to the longitudinal axis of the nozzle, the bracket defining the tab (see annotated Figure 9, the cover element 8a and 8b are sliding through the setting motor 218aE for moving the at least one cover element 8a, 8b).
Regarding Claim 17, Huth teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising adjusting a location of the tab relative to the outlet of the nozzle ([0114]), wherein adjusting the location of the tab comprises rotating the body relative to the tab ([0123], the extruder head 1 is rotatable about a longitudinal axis of the pipe flange by means of an in particular electric motor and in particular a screw drive).
Regarding Claim 18, Huth teaches the method of claim 11, wherein shaping the solidifiable material comprises passing the solidifiable material through the flow path having a circular cross-sectional area at the inlet (Figure 14, the inlet is connected through a pipe that connects the pump to the inlet of the extruder [0042]; thus, it is implied that the inlet has a circular cross-sectional area) and a polygonal cross-sectional area at the outlet (Figure 14, the outlet is rectangular which is an example of polygonal).
Regarding Claim 19, Huth teaches the method of claim 11, wherein shaping the solidifiable material comprises passing the solidifiable material through a trapezoidal opening of the outlet (Due to lack of specific definition for the term trapezoidal, the Examiner is interpreting the term under broadest reasonable interpretation which is a quadrilateral that has at least one pair of parallel sides. Figure 14, the outlet is rectangular which is an example of trapezoidal).
Regarding Claim 20, Huth teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising rotating and translating the tab ([0021] and [0114], the cover element can be moved in z direction or rotate by means of a rotary drive) relative to the body and passing the solidifiable material through a triangular opening of the outlet to form a corner of deposited material ([0029], the at least one covered part may have a triangular shape).
Regarding Claim 21, Huth teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising rotating and translating the tab ([0021] and [0114], the cover element can be moved in z direction or rotate by means of a rotary drive) relative to the body and passing the solidifiable material through a triangular opening of the outlet to form a corner of deposited material ([0029], the at least one covered part may have a triangular shape), and moving the nozzle assembly in a direction of travel while dispensing the solidifiable material ([0031]), wherein the tab extends in a direction opposite the direction of travel (Figure 9).
Regarding Claim 23, Huth teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising moving the tab to close the outlet of the nozzle and stop depositing the solidifiable material ([0029], in particular, the at least one cover element may be designed to completely cover the discharge opening).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2022/0143865 (“Huth et al” hereinafter Huth) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of KR101948547(“Joh et al” hereinafter Joh), machine translation provided.
Regarding Claim 15, Huth teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising adjusting a location of the tab relative to the outlet of the nozzle wherein adjusting the location of the tab ([0114]) comprises sliding a bracket along an axis perpendicular relative to the longitudinal axis of the nozzle, the bracket defining the tab (see annotated Figure 9, the cover element 8a and 8b are sliding through the setting motor 218aE for moving the at least one cover element 8a, 8b). Huth fails to teach the sliding the bracket comprising sliding the bracket along a rail of a cartridge to move the tab between the first position and the second position.
However, Joh teaches the sliding the bracket comprising sliding the bracket along a rail of a cartridge to move the tab between the first position and the second position (Figure 16, blocking member 21 slid along the rails 27 [0031] from one position to another).
Huth and Joh are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of 3D printing apparatus for forming a three-dimensional structure with a movable member adjusting the opening of the outlet of the nozzle. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the method of Huth such that it discloses all of the above discussed limitations as taught by Joh to slides and moves the bracket along the rail to change and adjust the size and shape of the discharge opening, thus, the amount of materials being discharged from the discharge opening ([0031]).
Regarding Claim 16, Huth teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising adjusting a location of the tab relative to the outlet of the nozzle wherein adjusting the location of the tab ([0114]) comprises sliding a bracket along an axis perpendicular relative to the longitudinal axis of the nozzle, the bracket defining the tab (see annotated Figure 9, the cover element 8a and 8b are sliding through the setting motor 218aE for moving the at least one cover element 8a, 8b), sliding the bracket to moves the tab (see annotated Figure 9, the cover element 8a and 8b are sliding through the setting motor 218aE for moving the at least one cover element 8a, 8b), wherein adjusting the location of the tab comprises rotating the cartridge relative to the body of the nozzle ([0123]). Huth fails to teach the sliding the bracket comprising sliding the bracket along a rail of a cartridge to move the tab between the first position and the second position.
However, Joh teaches the sliding the bracket comprising sliding the bracket along a rail of a cartridge between the first position and the second position (Figure 16, blocking member 21 slid along the rails 27 [0031] from one position to another).
Huth and Joh are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of 3D printing apparatus for forming a three-dimensional structure with a movable member adjusting the opening of the outlet of the nozzle. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the method of Huth such that it discloses all of the above discussed limitations as taught by Joh to slide and moves the bracket along the rail to change and adjust the size and shape of the discharge opening, thus, controlling the amount of materials being discharged from the discharge opening ([0031]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2022/0143865 (“Huth et al” hereinafter Huth).
Regarding Claim 22, Huth teaches the method of claim 11, the surface of the tab being non-planar relative to the outlet of the nozzle (Figure 9, the cover element 8 are non-planar relative to the discharge opening 2). Huth fails to explicitly teach wherein shaping the deposited solidifiable material comprises engaging the deposited solidifiable material with a surface of the tab to decrease a height of the deposited solidifiable material on the printing surface.
However, Huth discloses the at least one cover element is designed or configured to be in particular individually or separately, variably, in particular continuously, settable or adjustable, in particular movable, in particular in/counter to the first extent direction and/or the second extent direction, for the purposes of variably, in particular continuously, settably or adjustably covering, in particular at least and/or only, a part of the discharge opening for the purposes of variably ([0028]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that as the at least one cover element move toward the discharge opening, it shapes the deposited solidifiable material as the cover element partially covers/block the discharge opening. Thus, decreasing the height of the deposited solidifiable material on the printing surface as the at least one cover element contacts and shape the solidifiable materials.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues Huth fails to teach “dispensing a solidifiable material through a nozzle of a nozzle assembly, the nozzle comprising a body comprising an inlet, an outlet, and a flow path extending between the inlet and the outlet, the body including a longitudinal axis passing as a straight line through the inlet, the outlet, and the flow path" and nowhere does the use of "covers" as disclosed in Huth provide for "a rotatable movement of the tab relative to the body is configured to adjust the cross-sectional shape at the outlet to achieve a shape of the solidifiable material that is different from the outlet of the body."
The Examiner respectfully disagreed. Huth does discloses a deflecting device 9 located upstream of the discharge opening 2 (Figure 4 and [0100]). However the Examiner is interpreting the body of the nozzle as the portion downstream of the deflecting device 9, see Figure 4 and annotated Figure 14, which corresponds to the location of the extruder nozzle 5. Thus, Huth does teach the body including a longitudinal axis passing as a straight line through the inlet, the outlet, and the flow path (see annotated Figure 14). Furthermore, Huth also discloses at least one setting motor 218bE is connected in terms of movement of the cover 8 by means of the at least one rotary drive 218aD ([0106] and [0114]). As the cover rotate by the rotary drive, the cross-sectional shape of the outlet will change based on the degrees of rotation ([0114]).Therefore, Huth does teach all of the limitations of claim 11 and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
XINWEN (CINDY) YE
Examiner
Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754