DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after June 25, 2023, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-18 in the reply filed on April 13, 2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on June 25, 2023, January 31, 2024, February 18, 2025, and April 29, 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Dimethyl ether and 1,2 dimethoxyethane are interchangeably used and referred to with acronym DME and is it not clear. Paragraph [0018] mentions dimethyl ether (DME), and flame-retardant electrolyte consisting of a mixture with DME.
Paragraphs [0021] mention DME as an ether solvent and is not clear.
Paragraph [0027] mentions DME as mixture with EC and is not defined.
Paragraph [0031] and Table 1 refers to DME as 1, 2-dimethoxyethane.
To overcome this objection, the applicant should clarify each element by providing a precise definition in the specification and ensuring proper antecedent basis in the claim language
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 15 recite that the fluorinated solvent is fluoroethylene carbonate, 1-Butyl-1-methylpyrrolidinium bis (trifluoromethylsulfonyl) imide. FEC is a solvent and [Pyrr14][TFSI] is an ionic liquid. It is not clear whether this claim is requiring that the fluorinated solvent can be either FEC or Pyrr14TFSI or if the fluorinated solvent is a mixture of FEC and Pyrr14TFSI. For purposes of compact prosecution, the claim is interpreted under its broadest reasonable interpretation as encompassing embodiments that include either FEC or Pyrr14TFSI as a fluorinated solvent.
Claims 8 and 16 recite that the specific solvent is a mixture of ethylene carbonate and dimethyl ether. Dimethyl ether is a highly flammable gas. It is unclear whether the claim is referring to the highly flammable compound dimethyl ether, the other recited DME in the specification (1,2-dimethoxyethane), or one of the other dimethyl ethers recited in claim 4 (i.e., diethylene glycol dimethyl ether, triethylene glycol dimethyl ether, and tetraethylene glycol dimethyl ether). The language does not provide sufficient guidance to determine the exact scope of the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)2 as being anticipated by He et al. (US20150024121A1).
Regarding claim 1, a flame-retardant electrolyte comprises (a non-flammable quasi-solid electrolyte for use in a lithium battery (Para [0031])):
a specific solvent (a first liquid solvent (Para [0031])) and (Table 2 R-1 discloses DMC as being used as a first liquid solvent (Para [0178]));
a lithium salt (mixing a lithium salt (Para [0031])) and (Table 2 R-1 discloses a lithium salt, LiTFSI as being used (Para [0178]));
and a fluorinated solvent (Para [0031]) and (Table 2 R-2 discloses a fluorinated solvent BEPyTFSI as being used (Para [0178]));
the specific solvent is carbonate solvent, ether solvent, succinonitrile, sulfolane, tetraglyme, ionic liquid or a combination thereof (the liquid solvent may be selected from the following: 1,3-dioxolane (DOL), 1,2-dimethoxyethane (DME), tetraethylene glycol dimethylether (TEGDME), poly(ethylene glycol) dimethyl ether (PEGDME), diethylene glycol dibutyl ether (DEGDBE), 2-ethoxyethyl ether (EEE), sulfone, sulfolane, ethylene carbonate (EC), dimethyl carbonate (DMC), methylethyl carbonate (MEC), diethyl carbonate (DEC), ethyl propionate, methyl propionate, propylene carbonate (PC), gamma-butyrolactone (γ-BL), acetonitrile (AN), ethyl acetate (EA), propyl formate (PF), methyl formate (MF), toluene, xylene, methyl acetate (MA), fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC), vinylene carbonate (VC), allyl ethyl carbonate (AEC), a hydrofloroether, a room-temperature ionic liquid solvent, and combinations thereof (Para [0032]).
Regarding claim 2, the flame-retardant electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the specific solvent comprises carbonate solvent and ether solvent, or the specific solvent consists of carbonate solvent and ether solvent (the solvent may be selected from the following: 1,3-dioxolane (DOL), 1,2-dimethoxyethane (DME), tetraethylene glycol dimethylether (TEGDME), poly(ethylene glycol) dimethyl ether (PEGDME), diethylene glycol dibutyl ether (DEGDBE), 2-ethoxyethyl ether (EEE), sulfone, sulfolane, ethylene carbonate (EC), dimethyl carbonate (DMC), methylethyl carbonate (MEC), diethyl carbonate (DEC), ethyl propionate, methyl propionate, propylene carbonate (PC), gamma-butyrolactone (γ-BL), acetonitrile (AN), ethyl acetate (EA), propyl formate (PF), methyl formate (MF), toluene, xylene, methyl acetate (MA), fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC), vinylene carbonate (VC), allyl ethyl carbonate (AEC), a hydrofloroether, a room-temperature ionic liquid solvent, and combinations thereof (Para [0032]).
Regrading claim 3, The flame-retardant electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the carbonate solvent is a cyclic carbonate and/or a chain carbonate, the cyclic carbonate is ethylene carbonate, propylene carbonate, or combinations thereof, and the chain carbonate is dimethyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, ethyl methyl carbonate, or combinations thereof (a less volatile solvent, relative to the ether-type, may be selected from the following: ethylene carbonate (EC), dimethyl carbonate (DMC), methylethyl carbonate (MEC), diethyl carbonate (DEC), ethyl propionate, methyl propionate, propylene carbonate (PC), gamma.-butyrolactone (γ-BL), acetonitrile (AN), ethyl acetate (EA), propyl formate (PF), methyl formate (MF), toluene, xylene, methyl acetate (MA), fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC), vinylene carbonate (VC), allyl ethyl carbonate (AEC), or a hydrofloroether (Para [0044]).
Regarding claim 4, the flame-retardant electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the ether solvent is 1,2-dimethoxyethane, diethylene glycol dimethyl ether, triethylene glycol dimethyl ether, tetraethylene glycol dimethyl ether, or a combination thereof (the more volatile solvent may be selected from ether-like or ether-based solvents, such as 1,3-dioxolane (DOL), 1,2-dimethoxyethane (DME), tetraethylene glycol dimethylether (TEGDME), poly(ethylene glycol) dimethyl ether (PEGDME), diethylene glycol dibutyl ether (DEGDBE), 2-ethoxyethyl ether (EEE), sulfone, and sulfolane. After processing, this more volatile solvent can be more readily removed to increase the effective lithium salt concentration (Para [0043])).
Regarding claim 5, the flame-retardant electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the concentration of the lithium salt in the flame-retardant electrolyte is in a range from 5 moles per kilogram to 7 moles per kilogram (concentration of a lithium salt in electrolyte…is greater than 3.5 M, more typically and preferably greater than 4 M, still more typically and preferably greater than 5 M, further more preferably greater than 7 M, and most preferably greater than 10 M (Para [0079]).
Regarding claim 6, the flame-retardant electrolyte of claim 5, wherein the lithium salt is lithium bis (trifluoromethanesulfonyl) imide, lithium bis (trifluoromethylsulfonyl) imide, lithium hexafluorophosphate, lithium tetrafluoroborate, or a combination thereof (In a lithium metal secondary cell or a lithium-ion cell, the lithium salt may be selected from lithium perchlorate (LiClO4), lithium hexafluoro phosphate (LiPF6), lithium borofluoride (LiBF4), lithium hexafluoroarsenide (LiAsF6), lithium trifluoro-metasulfonate (LiCF3SO3), bis-trifluoromethyl sulfonylimide lithium (LiN(CF3SO2)2), lithium bis(oxalato)borate (LiBOB), lithium oxalyldifluoroborate (LiBF2C2O4), lithium oxalyldifluoroborate (LiBF2C2O4), lithium nitrate (LiNO3), Li-Fluoroalkyl-Phosphates (LiPF3(CF2CF3)3), lithium bisperfluoro-ethysulfonylimide (LiBETI), lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulphonyl)imide, lithium bis(fluorosulphonyl)imide, lithium trifluoromethanesulfonimide (LiTFSI), an ionic liquid-based lithium salt, or a combination thereof (Para [0045]).
Regarding claim 7, the flame-retardant electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the fluorinated solvent is fluoroethylene carbonate, 1-Butyl- methylpyrrolidinium bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide (liquid solvent may be fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) (Para [0098]).
Regarding claim 9, a lithium ion battery comprises (rechargeable lithium cell comprises (Para [0097])):
a positive electrode (a cathode having a cathode active material (Para [0097]));
a negative electrode (an anode having an anode active material (Para [0097]));
a flame-retardant electrolyte (a non-flammable quasi-solid electrolyte (Para [0097]));
and a composite solid electrolyte membrane (a porous separator separating the anode and the cathode (Para [0097]));
the flame-retardant electrolyte comprises a specific solvent, a lithium salt, and a fluorinated solvent, wherein the specific solvent is carbonate solvent, ether solvent, succinonitrile, sulfolane, tetraglyme, ionic liquid or a combination thereof (as disclosed in Table 2, R-1 teaches DMC as being a first liquid solvent, LiTFSI as the lithium salt, and R-2 is BEPyTFSI is a fluorinated solvent (Para [0178])).
Regarding claim 10, the lithium ion battery of claim 9, wherein the specific solvent comprises carbonate solvent and ether solvent, or the specific solvent consists of carbonate solvent and ether solvent (the solvent may be selected from the following: 1,3-dioxolane (DOL), 1,2-dimethoxyethane (DME), tetraethylene glycol dimethylether
(TEGDME), poly(ethylene glycol) dimethyl ether (PEGDME), diethylene glycol dibutyl ether (DEGDBE), 2-ethoxyethyl ether (EEE), sulfone, sulfolane, ethylene carbonate (EC), dimethyl carbonate (DMC), methylethyl carbonate (MEC), diethyl carbonate (DEC), ethyl propionate, methyl propionate, propylene carbonate (PC), gamma-butyrolactone (γ-BL), acetonitrile (AN), ethyl acetate (EA), propyl formate (PF), methyl formate (MF), toluene, xylene, methyl acetate (MA), fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC), vinylene carbonate (VC), allyl ethyl carbonate (AEC), a hydrofloroether, a room-temperature ionic liquid solvent, and combinations thereof (Para [0032]).
Regarding claim 11, the lithium ion battery of claim 9, wherein the carbonate solvent is a cyclic carbonate and/or a chain carbonate, the cyclic carbonate is ethylene carbonate, propylene carbonate, or combinations thereof, and the chain carbonate is dimethyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, ethyl methyl carbonate, or combinations thereof (a solvent, relative to the ether-type, may be selected from the following: ethylene carbonate (EC), dimethyl carbonate (DMC), methylethyl carbonate (MEC), diethyl carbonate (DEC), ethyl propionate, methyl propionate, propylene carbonate (PC), gamma.-butyrolactone (γ-BL), acetonitrile (AN), ethyl acetate (EA), propyl formate (PF), methyl formate (MF), toluene, xylene, methyl acetate (MA), fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC), vinylene carbonate (VC), allyl ethyl carbonate (AEC), or a hydrofloroether (Para [0044]).
Regarding claim 12, the lithium ion battery of claim 9, wherein the ether solvent is 1,2-dimethoxyethane, diethylene glycol dimethyl ether, triethylene glycol dimethyl ether, tetraethylene glycol dimethyl ether, or a combination thereof (ether-like or ether-based solvents, such as 1,3-dioxolane (DOL), 1,2-dimethoxyethane (DME), tetraethylene glycol dimethylether (TEGDME), poly(ethylene glycol) dimethyl ether (PEGDME), diethylene glycol dibutyl ether (DEGDBE), 2-ethoxyethyl ether (EEE), sulfone, and sulfolane (Para [0043])).
Regarding claim 13, the lithium ion battery of claim 9, wherein the concentration of the lithium salt in the flame-retardant electrolyte is in a range from 5 moles per kilogram to 7 moles per kilogram (…dissolve a high concentration of a lithium salt in every type of commonly used battery-grade organic solvent to form a quasi-solid electrolyte suitable for use in a rechargeable lithium battery…this concentration is typically greater than 3.5 M, 4 M, 5 M, 7 M, and 10 M; specific molar ratios can be adjusted (Para [0079]).
Regarding claim 14, the lithium ion battery of claim 13, wherein the lithium salt is lithium bis (trifluoromethanesulfonyl) imide, lithium bis (trifluoromethylsulfonyl) imide, lithium hexafluorophosphate, lithium tetrafluoroborate, or a combination thereof (lithium metal secondary cell or a lithium-ion cell, the lithium salt may be selected from lithium perchlorate (LiClO4), lithium hexafluoro phosphate (LiPF6), lithium borofluoride (LiBF4), lithium hexafluoroarsenide (LiAsF6), lithium trifluoro-metasulfonate (LiCF3SO3), bis-trifluoromethyl sulfonylimide lithium (LiN(CF3SO2)2), lithium bis(oxalato)borate (LiBOB), lithium oxalyldifluoroborate (LiBF2C2O4), lithium oxalyldifluoroborate (LiBF2C2O4), lithium nitrate (LiNO3), Li-Fluoroalkyl-Phosphates(LiPF3(CF2CF3)3), lithium bisperfluoro-ethysulfonylimide (LiBETI), lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulphonyl)imide, lithium bis(fluorosulphonyl)imide, lithium trifluoromethanesulfonimide (LiTFSI), an ionic liquid-based lithium salt, or a combination thereof (Para [0045]).
Regarding claim 15, the lithium ion battery of claim 9, wherein the fluorinated solvent is fluoroethylene carbonate, 1-Butyl-1-methylpyrrolidinium bis (trifluoromethylsulfonyl) imide (solvent may be selected from the following: fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC), and combinations thereof (Para [0098]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US2015024121A1) in view of Yang et al. (US 20220045402 A1).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, He fails to teach the lithium-ion battery of claim 9, wherein the material of the composite solid electrolyte membrane comprises/consists of a lithium salt compound, polymer material, solid electrolyte, and plasticizer. He does teach a composite solid electrolyte membrane comprises a porous separator separating the anode and the cathode (Para [0097]), a polymer material (the porous thin-film separator may be selected from a porous polymer film, a porous mat, fabric, or paper made of polymer or glass fibers, or a combination thereof (Para [0064]), and a plasticizer may be selected from a polymeric nonwoven fabric, porous polyethylene film, porous polypropylene film, or porous PTFE film (Para [0142]).
However, Yang discloses all four components of a solid electrolyte membrane. The double layered hybrid solid electrolyte membrane is composed of a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) polymer, polyacrylonitrile (PAN) polymer, bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (LiTFSI) lithium salt, succinonitrile (SN) plasticizer and ion-doped Ga-F-LLZO all-solid-state lithium-ion conductive material (solid electrolyte) (Para [0072]). Yang further discloses that preparing a free standing double layered hybrid solid electrolyte membrane to have increased lithium ionic conductivity and to lower interfacial resistance resulting from poor contact between the solid electrolyte membrane and the electrode would improve the performance of lithium ion batteries (Para [0007]).
It would be obvious to any ordinary person skilled in the art to substitute He’s quasi-solid electrolyte to instead use Yang’s solid polymer electrolyte composite because Yang teaches that the solid electrolyte membrane would have an increased lithium ionic conductivity and lower interfacial resistance that would improve the performance of the lithium ion battery (Para. [0007]). Furthermore, the simple substitution of one known element for another (i.e., one electrolyte material for another) is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved [MPEP § 2143(B)].
Conclusion
/NAHEED IQBAL MANN/Examiner, Art Unit 1713
/JOSHUA L ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1713