Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In virtue of the RCE filed on 03/10/2026, requesting entry of the Amendment filed 02/13/2026 in which claims 1, 3, 13, 15, 18, 20 are amended, claims 9-10 are cancelled, 1-8, 11-20 remain pending, wherein claims 1, 13, 18 are recited in independent form. The present Application is a Continuation of PCT/CN2021/140292 with a filing date of 12/22/2021 and Claims Foreign Priority to CN202011568751.5 with a filing date of 12/25/2020.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, without importing limitations from the specification. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “or” would incorporate only a single option from the list of options which follow. At least one of following under the broadest reasonable interpretation would include only one of the plurality of options and any dependent claims which further modify an option not part of a broadest reasonable interpretation would also not be part of a broadest reasonable interpretation which incorporates a different option.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8, 11-20 have been considered but are moot because the Examiner has addressed the Amendments to the claims by presenting a new grounds of rejection which addresses the limitations in question using prior art not addressed by the Applicant. Regarding the limitation “wherein the terminal is a multi-SIM terminal comprising a first user equipment (UE) and a second UE” and “for a multi-SIM purpose” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 disclose techniques in the field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d1 para. 0001), in connection with SCG (see d1 para. 0097) implemented as a method in system (see d1 Fig. 8) with at least terminal devices (see d1 Fig. 11, para. 0125-0129) which execute the method via a processor, memory and program stored in the memory and executed by the processor cause the devices to perform a method (see d1 para. 0133-0134); controlling a secondary cell group (SCG) (see d1 Fig. 8 as described in para. 0094-0109); d1 discloses a UE initiating an RRC connection reestablishment procedure, the UE selects a cell which is to be a PCell on a new master node (MN) (see d1 Fig. 8 step S807 para. 0102); d1 discloses that if the selected cell is one of cells belonging to a cell list, the UE suspends all SCG radio bearer configuration without releasing the SCG radio bearer configuration (see d1 Fig. 8 step S809; para. 0103), and the UE sends a suspend indication message to a secondary node (SN) (see d1 Fig. 8 step S811 para. 0103); d1 also discloses that after the RRC connection reestablishment on the selected cell is successfully completed, the UE sends an RRC connection re-establishment complete message and also sends a resume indication to the suspended SCG for resuming all SCG DRBs and SCG transmission for split to the secondary node (see d1 Fig. 8 step S817 para. 0108); SCG/SCell activation/deactivation (see d2 para. 0205) d2 discloses a plurality of indication information (see d2 Tables 4-5) as well as first indication which includes SCG suspend preference or SCG release preference, and second indication information which includes SCG resume preference or SCG addition preference (see d2 Figs. 17-20 para. 0437-0449); waiting to receive a network response message, wherein the network response message corresponds to the first indication information (see d2 para. 0541), and SCG suspend message; an SCG release message (see d2 para. 0437-0449); a network response message corresponds to the first indication information (see d3 para. 0024, 0142-0143, 0203), and SCG suspend message (see d3 para. 0024, 0043, 0089, 0121, 0124, 0160); an SCG release messages (see d3 para. 0029, 0043, 0091, 0143-0144, 0208, 0222, 0331). Therefore, all the remains to be taught is a multi-SIM terminal comprising a first UE and a second UE and teaching of a multi-SIM purpose. It is noted that d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses a wireless terminal operating in Multi- Radio Dual Connectivity (MR-DC)(see d2 para. 0217), however it may not be disclosed that the indication is transmitted for a multi-SIM purpose, nor does d2 describe any multi-SIM architecture comprising a first UE and a second UE within the same terminal. For such teaching Examiner turns to US-20210022209 to Singh et al (hereafter d4) which discloses in the field of wireless communication (see d4 para. 0001) a multi-SIM architecture comprising a first UE and a second UE within the same terminal (see d4 Figs. 2, 5, 6) wherein the multiple SIMs constitute the UEs of the terminal, and transmitting for a multi SIM purpose (see d4 Fig. 8, para. 0094-0105) to a network side device (see d4 para. 0043).
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 with d4 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least improved performance (see d4 paras. 0057, 0067). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (wireless communication coordination) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d4 to the implementation of d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d4 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication US-20200045764 to Kim et al (hereinafter d1) in view of United States Patent Application Publication US-20230308905 (fully supported by Provisional Application 63/059,512, copy of which is provided as an Office Action Appendix) to Teyeb et al (hereinafter d2) in view of US-20230262501 to Rugeland et al (hereinafter d3) in view of US-20210022209 to Singh et al (hereafter d4).
Regarding claim 1, as to the limitations “A method for controlling a secondary cell group (SCG), performed by a terminal, comprising:” d1 discloses techniques in the field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d1 para. 0001), in connection with SCG (see d1 para. 0097) implemented as a method in system (see d1 Fig. 8) with at least terminal devices (see d1 Fig. 11, para. 0125-0129) which execute the method via a processor, memory and program stored in the memory and executed by the processor cause the devices to perform a method (see d1 para. 0133-0134);
as to the limitation “sending first indication information to a network- side device, wherein the first indication comprises SCG suspend preference or SCG release preference” d1 discloses controlling a secondary cell group (SCG) (see d1 Fig. 8 as described in para. 0094-0109); d1 discloses a UE initiating an RRC connection reestablishment procedure, the UE selects a cell which is to be a PCell on a new master node (MN) (see d1 Fig. 8 step S807 para. 0102); d1 discloses that if the selected cell is one of cells belonging to a cell list, the UE suspends all SCG radio bearer configuration without releasing the SCG radio bearer configuration (see d1 Fig. 8 step S809; para. 0103), and the UE sends a suspend indication message to a secondary node (SN) (see d1 Fig. 8 step S811 para. 0103); d1 also discloses that after the RRC connection reestablishment on the selected cell is successfully completed, the UE sends an RRC connection re-establishment complete message and also sends a resume indication to the suspended SCG for resuming all SCG DRBs and SCG transmission for split to the secondary node (see d1 Fig. 8 step S817 para. 0108).
d1 does not appear to explicitly disclose “first indication information”, although the disclosure of d1 is particularly may disclosure the limitation implicitly, under a broadest reasonable interpretation. In order to provide the most complete and effective examination, attention is directed to d2 which, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d2 para. 0001), teaches methods, devices, systems and computer readable medium embodiments directed to SCG/SCell activation/deactivation (see d2 para. 0205) d2 discloses a plurality of indication information (see d2 Tables 4-5) as well as first indication which includes SCG suspend preference or SCG release preference, and second indication information which includes SCG resume preference or SCG addition preference (see d2 Figs. 17-20 para. 0437-0449).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least increased efficiency and improved performance (see d2 paras. 0214-0219). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (SCG) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
As to the limitation “waiting to receive a network response message after sending the first indication information, wherein the network response message corresponds to the first indication information and the network response message comprises at least one of the following: an SCG suspend message; or an SCG release message” d1 in view of d2 disclose waiting to receive a network response message, wherein the network response message corresponds to the first indication information (see d2 para. 0541), and SCG suspend message; an SCG release message (see d2 para. 0437-0449). D1 in view of d2 may render the limitation obvious in light of the disclosures highlighted, however, in order to provide the most complete examination, the Examiner adds d3 which also clearly discloses waiting to receive a network response message, wherein the network response message corresponds to the first indication information (see d3 para. 0024, 0142-0143, 0203), and SCG suspend message (see d3 para. 0024, 0043, 0089, 0121, 0124, 0160); an SCG release messages (see d3 para. 0029, 0043, 0091, 0143-0144, 0208, 0222, 0331).
Furthermore, One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify d1 in view of d2 with the prior art reference of d3 or to combine prior art reference teachings of d1, d2 and d3 to arrive at the claimed invention. Motivation includes at least increased efficiency and improved performance (see d3 paras. 0021). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (SCG) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d3 to the implementation of d1 in view of d2 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d3 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 is considered as a whole and not individually.
As to the limitation “wherein the terminal is a multi-SIM terminal comprising a first user equipment (UE) and a second UE” and “for a multi-SIM purpose” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 disclose techniques in the field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d1 para. 0001), in connection with SCG (see d1 para. 0097) implemented as a method in system (see d1 Fig. 8) with at least terminal devices (see d1 Fig. 11, para. 0125-0129) which execute the method via a processor, memory and program stored in the memory and executed by the processor cause the devices to perform a method (see d1 para. 0133-0134); controlling a secondary cell group (SCG) (see d1 Fig. 8 as described in para. 0094-0109); d1 discloses a UE initiating an RRC connection reestablishment procedure, the UE selects a cell which is to be a PCell on a new master node (MN) (see d1 Fig. 8 step S807 para. 0102); d1 discloses that if the selected cell is one of cells belonging to a cell list, the UE suspends all SCG radio bearer configuration without releasing the SCG radio bearer configuration (see d1 Fig. 8 step S809; para. 0103), and the UE sends a suspend indication message to a secondary node (SN) (see d1 Fig. 8 step S811 para. 0103); d1 also discloses that after the RRC connection reestablishment on the selected cell is successfully completed, the UE sends an RRC connection re-establishment complete message and also sends a resume indication to the suspended SCG for resuming all SCG DRBs and SCG transmission for split to the secondary node (see d1 Fig. 8 step S817 para. 0108); SCG/SCell activation/deactivation (see d2 para. 0205) d2 discloses a plurality of indication information (see d2 Tables 4-5) as well as first indication which includes SCG suspend preference or SCG release preference, and second indication information which includes SCG resume preference or SCG addition preference (see d2 Figs. 17-20 para. 0437-0449); waiting to receive a network response message, wherein the network response message corresponds to the first indication information (see d2 para. 0541), and SCG suspend message; an SCG release message (see d2 para. 0437-0449); a network response message corresponds to the first indication information (see d3 para. 0024, 0142-0143, 0203), and SCG suspend message (see d3 para. 0024, 0043, 0089, 0121, 0124, 0160); an SCG release messages (see d3 para. 0029, 0043, 0091, 0143-0144, 0208, 0222, 0331). Therefore, all the remains to be taught is a multi-SIM terminal comprising a first UE and a second UE and teaching of a multi-SIM purpose. It is noted that d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses a wireless terminal operating in Multi- Radio Dual Connectivity (MR-DC)(see d2 para. 0217), however it may not be disclosed that the indication is transmitted for a multi-SIM purpose, nor does d2 describe any multi-SIM architecture comprising a first UE and a second UE within the same terminal. For such teaching Examiner turns to US-20210022209 to Singh et al (hereafter d4) which discloses in the field of wireless communication (see d4 para. 0001) a multi-SIM architecture comprising a first UE and a second UE within the same terminal (see d4 Figs. 2, 5, 6) wherein the multiple SIMs constitute the UEs of the terminal, and transmitting for a multi SIM purpose (see d4 Fig. 8, para. 0094-0105) to a network side device (see d4 para. 0043).
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 with d4 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least improved performance (see d4 paras. 0057, 0067). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (wireless communication coordination) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d4 to the implementation of d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d4 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 2, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 1, wherein when the network-side device comprises a master node (MN) or a secondary node (SN), sending the first indication information comprises at least one of the following: sending the first indication information to the MN; or sending the first indication information to the SN” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 discloses implementations including MN and/or SN (see d2 para. 0206) including sending information thereto in various configurations (see d2 para. 0460).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least increased efficiency and improved performance (see d2 paras. 0214-0219). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (SCG) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 3, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 1, wherein the first indication information carries SCG suspend reason information, and the SCG suspend reason information comprises at least one of the following: performing a first specified service, wherein the first specified service is sensitive to a latency; a non-3GPP purpose; performing a specified signaling process; or performing a second specified service” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 discloses at least performing a specified signaling process (see d4 para. 0094-0105).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least increased efficiency and improved performance (see d2 paras. 0214-0219). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (SCG) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 4, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 1, wherein: the first indication information is transmitted through UE assistance information; or the first indication information is transmitted through a leaving message, the leaving message further comprises an SCG leaving notification or an SCG release notification” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 discloses at least the first indication information is transmitted through UE assistance information (see d2 para. 0339).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least increased efficiency and improved performance (see d2 paras. 0214-0219). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (SCG) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 5, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 1, wherein after sending the first indication information, the method further comprises any one of the following: locally suspending the SCG; locally releasing the SCG” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 discloses waiting to receive a network response message, wherein the network response message corresponds to the first indication information (see d2 para. 0541).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least increased efficiency and improved performance (see d2 paras. 0214-0219). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (SCG) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 6, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 5, wherein the network response message comprises at least one of the following: a timing configuration message, wherein the timing configuration message is used for indicating the terminal to control a state of the SCG based on a target timer; or reconfiguration information, wherein the reconfiguration information comprises information used for indicating the terminal to reconfigure a bearer or SCG reconfiguration information” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 discloses at least SCG suspend message; an SCG release message (see d2 para. 0437-0449, Tables 4-5; d3 para. 0029-0032).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least increased efficiency and improved performance (see d2 paras. 0214-0219). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (SCG) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify d1 in view of d2 with the prior art reference of d3 or to combine prior art reference teachings of d1, d2 and d3 to arrive at the claimed invention. Motivation includes at least increased efficiency and improved performance (see d3 paras. 0021). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (SCG) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d3 to the implementation of d1 in view of d2 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d3 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 7, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 6, wherein controlling the state of the SCG based on the target timer comprises: suspending the SCG when the target timer does not expire; and deactivating the SCG or releasing the SCG when the target timer expires” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 discloses suspending the SCG when the target timer does not expire; and deactivating the SCG or releasing the SCG when the target timer expires (see d2 para. 0290, 0443-0447).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least increased efficiency and improved performance (see d2 paras. 0214-0219). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (SCG) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 8, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 1, wherein the SCG is suspended by performing at least one of the following: disabling the SCG; suspending a dual connectivity capability; disabling the dual connectivity capability; suspending an SCG resource; disabling the SCG resource; deactivating an SCG connection; or releasing the SCG connection” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 discloses at least one of disabling the SCG; suspending a dual connectivity capability; disabling the dual connectivity capability; suspending an SCG resource; disabling the SCG resource; deactivating an SCG connection; or releasing the SCG connection (see d2 para. 0437-0449).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least increased efficiency and improved performance (see d2 paras. 0214-0219). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (SCG) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 11, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises any one of the following: receiving an SCG resume indication sent by the network-side device, wherein the SCG resume indication is used for indicating the terminal to perform SCG resume; or when a received network response message comprises reconfiguration information, performing a reconfiguration operation according to the reconfiguration information” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 discloses at least receiving an SCG resume indication sent by the network-side device, wherein the SCG resume indication is used for indicating the terminal to perform SCG resume (see d2 para. 0258, 0263, 0287, 0345, 0362; Fig. 20 para. 0388-0390).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least increased efficiency and improved performance (see d2 paras. 0214-0219). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (SCG) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 12, as to the limitation “The method according to claim 1, wherein the SCG is resumed by performing at least one of the following: enabling the SCG resume; resuming a dual connectivity capability; enabling the dual connectivity capability; resuming an SCG resource; enabling the SCG resource; activating an SCG connection; or resuming the SCG connection” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 discloses at least one of the following: enabling the SCG resume; resuming a dual connectivity capability; enabling the dual connectivity capability; resuming an SCG resource; enabling the SCG resource; activating an SCG connection; or resuming the SCG connection (see d2 para. 0258, 0263, 0287, 0345, 0362; Fig. 20 para. 0388-0390).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least increased efficiency and improved performance (see d2 paras. 0214-0219). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (SCG) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 13, as to the limitations “A terminal, comprising: a memory storing a computer program; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to perform operations for controlling a secondary cell group (SCG), the operations comprising:” d1 discloses techniques in the field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d1 para. 0001), in connection with SCG (see d1 para. 0097) implemented as a method in system (see d1 Fig. 8) with at least terminal devices (see d1 Fig. 11, para. 0125-0129) which execute the method via a memory storing a computer program; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to perform operations for controlling a secondary cell group (SCG) and executed by the processor cause the devices to perform a method (see d1 para. 0133-0134);
as to the limitation “sending first indication information to a network-side device, wherein the first indication information comprises SCG suspend preference or SCG release preference” d1 discloses controlling a secondary cell group (SCG) (see d1 Fig. 8 as described in para. 0094-0109); d1 discloses a UE initiating an RRC connection reestablishment procedure, the UE selects a cell which is to be a PCell on a new master node (MN) (see d1 Fig. 8 step S807 para. 0102); d1 discloses that if the selected cell is one of cells belonging to a cell list, the UE suspends all SCG radio bearer configuration without releasing the SCG radio bearer configuration (see d1 Fig. 8 step S809; para. 0103), and the UE sends a suspend indication message to a secondary node (SN) (see d1 Fig. 8 step S811 para. 0103); d1 also discloses that after the RRC connection reestablishment on the selected cell is successfully completed, the UE sends an RRC connection re-establishment complete message and also sends a resume indication to the suspended SCG for resuming all SCG DRBs and SCG transmission for split to the secondary node (see d1 Fig. 8 step S817 para. 0108).
d1 does not appear to explicitly disclose “first indication information or second indication information”, although the disclosure of d1 is particularly may disclosure the limitation implicitly, under a broadest reasonable interpretation. In order to provide the most complete and effective examination, attention is directed to d2 which, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d2 para. 0001), teaches methods, devices, systems and computer readable medium embodiments directed to SCG/SCell activation/deactivation (see d2 para. 0205) d2 discloses a plurality of indication information (see d2 Tables 4-5) as well as first indication which includes SCG suspend preference or SCG release preference, and second indication information which includes SCG resume preference or SCG addition preference (see d2 Figs. 17-20 para. 0437-0449).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least increased efficiency and improved performance (see d2 paras. 0214-0219). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (SCG) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
As to the limitation “waiting to receive a network response message after sending the first indication information, wherein the network response message corresponds to the first indication information and the network response message comprises at least one of the following: an SCG suspend message; or an SCG release message” d1 in view of d2 disclose waiting to receive a network response message, wherein the network response message corresponds to the first indication information (see d2 para. 0541), and SCG suspend message; an SCG release message (see d2 para. 0437-0449). D1 in view of d2 may render the limitation obvious in light of the disclosures highlighted, however, in order to provide the most complete examination, the Examiner adds d3 which also clearly discloses waiting to receive a network response message, wherein the network response message corresponds to the first indication information (see d3 para. 0024, 0142-0143, 0203), and SCG suspend message (see d3 para. 0024, 0043, 0089, 0121, 0124, 0160); an SCG release messages (see d3 para. 0029, 0043, 0091, 0143-0144, 0208, 0222, 0331).
Furthermore, One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify d1 in view of d2 with the prior art reference of d3 or to combine prior art reference teachings of d1, d2 and d3 to arrive at the claimed invention. Motivation includes at least increased efficiency and improved performance (see d3 paras. 0021). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (SCG) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d3 to the implementation of d1 in view of d2 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d3 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 is considered as a whole and not individually.
As to the limitation “wherein the terminal is a multi-SIM terminal comprising a first user equipment (UE) and a second UE” and “for a multi-SIM purpose” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 disclose techniques in the field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d1 para. 0001), in connection with SCG (see d1 para. 0097) implemented as a method in system (see d1 Fig. 8) with at least terminal devices (see d1 Fig. 11, para. 0125-0129) which execute the method via a processor, memory and program stored in the memory and executed by the processor cause the devices to perform a method (see d1 para. 0133-0134); controlling a secondary cell group (SCG) (see d1 Fig. 8 as described in para. 0094-0109); d1 discloses a UE initiating an RRC connection reestablishment procedure, the UE selects a cell which is to be a PCell on a new master node (MN) (see d1 Fig. 8 step S807 para. 0102); d1 discloses that if the selected cell is one of cells belonging to a cell list, the UE suspends all SCG radio bearer configuration without releasing the SCG radio bearer configuration (see d1 Fig. 8 step S809; para. 0103), and the UE sends a suspend indication message to a secondary node (SN) (see d1 Fig. 8 step S811 para. 0103); d1 also discloses that after the RRC connection reestablishment on the selected cell is successfully completed, the UE sends an RRC connection re-establishment complete message and also sends a resume indication to the suspended SCG for resuming all SCG DRBs and SCG transmission for split to the secondary node (see d1 Fig. 8 step S817 para. 0108); SCG/SCell activation/deactivation (see d2 para. 0205) d2 discloses a plurality of indication information (see d2 Tables 4-5) as well as first indication which includes SCG suspend preference or SCG release preference, and second indication information which includes SCG resume preference or SCG addition preference (see d2 Figs. 17-20 para. 0437-0449); waiting to receive a network response message, wherein the network response message corresponds to the first indication information (see d2 para. 0541), and SCG suspend message; an SCG release message (see d2 para. 0437-0449); a network response message corresponds to the first indication information (see d3 para. 0024, 0142-0143, 0203), and SCG suspend message (see d3 para. 0024, 0043, 0089, 0121, 0124, 0160); an SCG release messages (see d3 para. 0029, 0043, 0091, 0143-0144, 0208, 0222, 0331). Therefore, all the remains to be taught is a multi-SIM terminal comprising a first UE and a second UE and teaching of a multi-SIM purpose. It is noted that d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses a wireless terminal operating in Multi- Radio Dual Connectivity (MR-DC)(see d2 para. 0217), however it may not be disclosed that the indication is transmitted for a multi-SIM purpose, nor does d2 describe any multi-SIM architecture comprising a first UE and a second UE within the same terminal. For such teaching Examiner turns to US-20210022209 to Singh et al (hereafter d4) which discloses in the field of wireless communication (see d4 para. 0001) a multi-SIM architecture comprising a first UE and a second UE within the same terminal (see d4 Figs. 2, 5, 6) wherein the multiple SIMs constitute the UEs of the terminal, and transmitting for a multi SIM purpose (see d4 Fig. 8, para. 0094-0105) to a network side device (see d4 para. 0043).
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 with d4 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least improved performance (see d4 paras. 0057, 0067). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (wireless communication coordination) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d4 to the implementation of d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d4 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 14, as to the limitation “The terminal according to claim 13, wherein when the network-side device comprises a master node (MN) and a secondary node (SN), sending the first indication information comprises at least one of the following: sending the first indication information to the MN; or sending the first indication information to the SN” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 discloses implementations including MN and/or SN (see d2 para. 0206) including sending information thereto in various configurations (see d2 para. 0460).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least increased efficiency and improved performance (see d2 paras. 0214-0219). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (SCG) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 15, as to the limitation “The terminal according to claim 13, wherein the first indication information carries SCG suspend reason information, and the SCG suspend reason information comprises at least one of the following: performing a first specified service, wherein the first specified service is sensitive to a latency; a non-3GPP purpose; performing a specified signaling process; or performing a second specified service” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 discloses at least performing a specified signaling process (see d4 para. 0094-0105).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least increased efficiency and improved performance (see d2 paras. 0214-0219). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (SCG) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 16, as to the limitation “The terminal according to claim 13, wherein: the first indication information is transmitted through UE information; or the first indication information is transmitted through a leaving message, the leaving message further comprises an SCG leaving notification or an SCG release notification” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 discloses at least the first indication information is transmitted through UE assistance information (see d2 para. 0339).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least increased efficiency and improved performance (see d2 paras. 0214-0219). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (SCG) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 17, as to the limitation “The terminal according to claim 13, wherein after sending the first indication information, the operations further comprise any one of the following: locally suspending the SCG; locally releasing the SCG” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 discloses waiting to receive a network response message, wherein the network response message corresponds to the first indication information (see d2 para. 0541; d3 para. 0029-0032).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify d1 in view of d2 with the prior art reference of d3 or to combine prior art reference teachings of d1, d2 and d3 to arrive at the claimed invention. Motivation includes at least increased efficiency and improved performance (see d3 paras. 0021). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (SCG) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d3 to the implementation of d1 in view of d2 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d3 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 18, as to the limitations “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor of a terminal, causes the processor to perform operations comprising:” d1 discloses techniques in the field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d1 para. 0001), in connection with SCG (see d1 para. 0097) implemented as a method in system (see d1 Fig. 8) with at least terminal devices (see d1 Fig. 11, para. 0125-0129) which execute the method via a memory storing a computer program; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to perform operations for controlling a secondary cell group (SCG) and executed by the processor cause the devices to perform a method (see d1 para. 0133-0134);
as to the limitation “sending first indication information to a network- side device, wherein the first indication information comprises SCG suspend preference or SCG release preference,” d1 discloses controlling a secondary cell group (SCG) (see d1 Fig. 8 as described in para. 0094-0109); d1 discloses a UE initiating an RRC connection reestablishment procedure, the UE selects a cell which is to be a PCell on a new master node (MN) (see d1 Fig. 8 step S807 para. 0102); d1 discloses that if the selected cell is one of cells belonging to a cell list, the UE suspends all SCG radio bearer configuration without releasing the SCG radio bearer configuration (see d1 Fig. 8 step S809; para. 0103), and the UE sends a suspend indication message to a secondary node (SN) (see d1 Fig. 8 step S811 para. 0103); d1 also discloses that after the RRC connection reestablishment on the selected cell is successfully completed, the UE sends an RRC connection re-establishment complete message and also sends a resume indication to the suspended SCG for resuming all SCG DRBs and SCG transmission for split to the secondary node (see d1 Fig. 8 step S817 para. 0108).
d1 does not appear to explicitly disclose “first indication information”, although the disclosure of d1 is particularly may disclosure the limitation implicitly, under a broadest reasonable interpretation. In order to provide the most complete and effective examination, attention is directed to d2 which, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d2 para. 0001), teaches methods, devices, systems and computer readable medium embodiments directed to SCG/SCell activation/deactivation (see d2 para. 0205) d2 discloses a plurality of indication information (see d2 Tables 4-5) as well as first indication which includes SCG suspend preference or SCG release preference, and second indication information which includes SCG resume preference or SCG addition preference (see d2 Figs. 17-20 para. 0437-0449).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least increased efficiency and improved performance (see d2 paras. 0214-0219). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (SCG) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
As to the limitation “waiting to receive a network response message after sending the first indication information, wherein the network response message corresponds to the first indication information and the network response message comprises at least one of the following: an SCG suspend message; or an SCG release message” d1 in view of d2 disclose waiting to receive a network response message, wherein the network response message corresponds to the first indication information (see d2 para. 0541), and SCG suspend message; an SCG release message (see d2 para. 0437-0449). D1 in view of d2 may render the limitation obvious in light of the disclosures highlighted, however, in order to provide the most complete examination, the Examiner adds d3 which also clearly discloses waiting to receive a network response message, wherein the network response message corresponds to the first indication information (see d3 para. 0024, 0142-0143, 0203), and SCG suspend message (see d3 para. 0024, 0043, 0089, 0121, 0124, 0160); an SCG release messages (see d3 para. 0029, 0043, 0091, 0143-0144, 0208, 0222, 0331).
Furthermore, One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify d1 in view of d2 with the prior art reference of d3 or to combine prior art reference teachings of d1, d2 and d3 to arrive at the claimed invention. Motivation includes at least increased efficiency and improved performance (see d3 paras. 0021). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (SCG) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d3 to the implementation of d1 in view of d2 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d3 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 is considered as a whole and not individually.
As to the limitation “wherein the terminal is a multi-SIM terminal comprising a first user equipment (UE) and a second UE” and “for a multi-SIM purpose” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 disclose techniques in the field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d1 para. 0001), in connection with SCG (see d1 para. 0097) implemented as a method in system (see d1 Fig. 8) with at least terminal devices (see d1 Fig. 11, para. 0125-0129) which execute the method via a processor, memory and program stored in the memory and executed by the processor cause the devices to perform a method (see d1 para. 0133-0134); controlling a secondary cell group (SCG) (see d1 Fig. 8 as described in para. 0094-0109); d1 discloses a UE initiating an RRC connection reestablishment procedure, the UE selects a cell which is to be a PCell on a new master node (MN) (see d1 Fig. 8 step S807 para. 0102); d1 discloses that if the selected cell is one of cells belonging to a cell list, the UE suspends all SCG radio bearer configuration without releasing the SCG radio bearer configuration (see d1 Fig. 8 step S809; para. 0103), and the UE sends a suspend indication message to a secondary node (SN) (see d1 Fig. 8 step S811 para. 0103); d1 also discloses that after the RRC connection reestablishment on the selected cell is successfully completed, the UE sends an RRC connection re-establishment complete message and also sends a resume indication to the suspended SCG for resuming all SCG DRBs and SCG transmission for split to the secondary node (see d1 Fig. 8 step S817 para. 0108); SCG/SCell activation/deactivation (see d2 para. 0205) d2 discloses a plurality of indication information (see d2 Tables 4-5) as well as first indication which includes SCG suspend preference or SCG release preference, and second indication information which includes SCG resume preference or SCG addition preference (see d2 Figs. 17-20 para. 0437-0449); waiting to receive a network response message, wherein the network response message corresponds to the first indication information (see d2 para. 0541), and SCG suspend message; an SCG release message (see d2 para. 0437-0449); a network response message corresponds to the first indication information (see d3 para. 0024, 0142-0143, 0203), and SCG suspend message (see d3 para. 0024, 0043, 0089, 0121, 0124, 0160); an SCG release messages (see d3 para. 0029, 0043, 0091, 0143-0144, 0208, 0222, 0331). Therefore, all the remains to be taught is a multi-SIM terminal comprising a first UE and a second UE and teaching of a multi-SIM purpose. It is noted that d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses a wireless terminal operating in Multi- Radio Dual Connectivity (MR-DC)(see d2 para. 0217), however it may not be disclosed that the indication is transmitted for a multi-SIM purpose, nor does d2 describe any multi-SIM architecture comprising a first UE and a second UE within the same terminal. For such teaching Examiner turns to US-20210022209 to Singh et al (hereafter d4) which discloses in the field of wireless communication (see d4 para. 0001) a multi-SIM architecture comprising a first UE and a second UE within the same terminal (see d4 Figs. 2, 5, 6) wherein the multiple SIMs constitute the UEs of the terminal, and transmitting for a multi SIM purpose (see d4 Fig. 8, para. 0094-0105) to a network side device (see d4 para. 0043).
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 with d4 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least improved performance (see d4 paras. 0057, 0067). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (wireless communication coordination) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d4 to the implementation of d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d4 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 19, as to the limitation “The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 18, wherein when the network-side device comprises a master node (MN) and a secondary node (SN), sending the first indication information comprises at least one of the following: sending the first indication information to the MN; or sending the first indication information to the SN” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 discloses implementations including MN and/or SN (see d2 para. 0206) including sending information thereto in various configurations (see d2 para. 0460).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least increased efficiency and improved performance (see d2 paras. 0214-0219). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (SCG) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Regarding claim 20, as to the limitation “The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 18, wherein the first indication information carries SCG suspend reason information, and the SCG suspend reason information comprises at least one of the following: a multi-SIM purpose; performing a first specified service, wherein the first specified service is sensitive to a latency; a non-3GPP purpose; performing a specified signaling process; or performing a second specified service” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in view of d4 discloses at performing a specified signaling process (see d4 para. 0094-0105).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least increased efficiency and improved performance (see d2 paras. 0214-0219). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (SCG) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of increased efficiency and improved performance with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Contact Information
/NATHAN S TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643