DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of the Applicant’s claim of foreign priority to foreign application EP22181216.7 filed 27 June 2022.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 in the reply filed on 7 October 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The Applicant further provided a response to the species election in an interview on 18 November 2025. The Applicant has elected N-alkyl dimethyl benzyl ammonium chloride (biocidal agent), polyimide of claim 1 wherein R is ethyl and R2 is ethanol, and amine oxide (surfactant). Claims 2, 10-11, and 14-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 2, 10-11, 14-15, and 19-20 are withdrawn.
Claims 1, 3-9, 12-13, and 16-18 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 6, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The Applicant recites, in claims 3, 6, and 17, language using the indefinite term, “preferably.” The use of the word “preferably” renders the metes and bounds of the claim as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stella et al. (US 2022/0401322).
Stella teaches leave on hair care treatment composition VV comprising polyquaternium-6 (a quaternary ammonium compound) in 0.6 wt%, polyimide-1 (aka AQUAFLEX XL-30) in 4.0 wt%, and water (q.s.) (Table 8). Polyimide-1 is identified in the instant specification at (pg 8, lns 8-10) as a suitable polyimide of the invention, and is thus presumed to comprise the required weight percentages and composition of instant claims 3-6. Accordingly, Stella anticipates instant claims 1, 3-6, and 8-9.
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hartwich et al. (US 2019/0159998).
Hartwich teaches a hair care composition comprising AQUAFLEX XL-30 (polyimide) in 0.7 wt%, CRODAZOSOFT DBQ (quaternary ammonium compound) in 0.2 wt%, and water (q.s.) [0082]. AQUAFLEX XL-30 is identified in the instant specification at (pg 8, lns 8-10) as a suitable polyimide of the invention, and is thus presumed to comprise the required weight percentages and composition of instant claims 3-6. Accordingly, Stella anticipates instant claims 1 and 3-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 12-13, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stella et al. (US 2022/0401322) in view of Murad (US 2003/0007939) in view of Hawkins et al. (US 2011/0229430).
Stella teaches leave on hair care treatment composition VV comprising polyquaternium-6 (a quaternary ammonium compound) in 0.6 wt%, polyimide-1 (aka AQUAFLEX XL-30) in 4.0 wt%, and water (q.s.) (Table 8). Polyimide-1 is identified in the instant specification at (pg 8, lns 8-10) as a suitable polyimide of the invention, and is thus presumed to comprise the required weight percentages and composition of instant claims 3-6. The composition may comprise additional surfactants such as nonionic surfactants like alkyl polyglucoside or alkylamine oxides [0064, 0066] which may be included in amounts of from about 5% to about 50% [0014]. The polyquaternium, which is a QAC and thus considered a biocidal agent, can be included in the range of 0.01-10% [0156, 0160]. The pH of the composition can preferably range from 4.5-7 [0202]. Additional components, like pH adjusting agents, can be included in amounts of from 0.0001-10 wt% [0080-0081]. The composition of Stella can further comprise an anti-microbial agent, such as ketoconazole, in 0.01-5 wt% [0182].
Stella does not teach the elected species of biocidal agent or polyimide.
Murad teaches a composition that can be used in the hair [0032] and can comprise an antimicrobial agent selected from benzalkonium chloride or ketoconazole [0035].
Hawkins teaches personal care composition useful in the hair (abstract) which comprise styling/fixative aids to contribute a desired balance of flexibility/rigidity to the product [0070]. Suitable styling/fixative aids include AQUAFLEX XL-30 and AQUAFLEX FX-64 [0070].
It would have been prima facie obvious to prepare the composition of Stella comprising polyquaternium-6 (0.6 wt%), polyimide-1 (0.01-10 wt%), alkylamine oxides surfactants (5-50 wt%), pH adjusting agents (0.0001-10 wt%), an anti-microbial agent (0.01-5 wt%), and water wherein the pH is in the range of from 4.5-7. That being said, however, it must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious,” the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1741. The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742. Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been obvious to have selected various combinations of actives, surfactants, pH adjusting agents, and other hair care components from within the disclosure of Stella, to arrive at compositions “yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.”
Furthermore, it would have been prima facie obvious to replace the ketoconazole of Stela with benzalkonium chloride as the antimicrobial agent, which reads on the elected species of biocidal agent. Similarly, it would have been obvious to replace AQUAFLEX XL-30 with AQUAFLEX FX-64, which also reads on the elected species of polyimide, as both agents are taught as being useful for the same purpose in hair care compositions. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to substitute one equivalent component or process for another, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding the concentrations and the pH, In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05 (I).
The resulting composition accordingly renders obvious instant claims 1, 3-9, 12-13, and 16-18.
Conclusion
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613