DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jinno et al. (US 2016/0375660) in view of Ng et al. (US 2013/0193063) and Ueda et al. (US 2021/0039028).
Regarding claim 1, Jinno teaches a resin film provided on a surface of a fabric material (Paragraph [0037]). The resin film includes a melt-adhesion layer, an intermediate layer, and a functional layer wherein the melt-adhesion layer is next to the fabric layer and the functional layer provides glossiness to the resin film (“a laminate comprising a decorative layer, a first adhesive layer, and a support layer laminated in this order”) (Fig. 1A, 1B, 2; Paragraphs [0037]; [0048]).
Jinno is silent with respect to the fabric layer being formed from two or more kinds of materials having different melting points including a material having a low melting point and a material having a high melting point which is higher than the melting point of the material having the low melting point, and wherein the low melting point is copolymerized polyester and the high melting point is polyethylene terephthalate.
Ng teaches felt fabric materials which have excellent hardness, stiffness and moldability to the point where the fabric is capable or retaining its shape when molded into any shape or configuration (Paragraph [0056]). The fabric includes at least one low-melting point short fiber and one high melting point short fiber such that the fibers are heated to a temperature above the low melting point and below the high melting point in order to interlock the two types of fibers (Paragraphs [0010]; [0012]; [0060]-[0061]). The two types of fibers may be polyester fibers (Paragraph [0015]).
Ueda teaches a filter reinforcing material (Paragraph [0001]). The material includes a bonding layer which is formed from a thermal bonded nonwoven material which comprises two or more different kinds of thermal bondable short fibers (Paragraph [0032]). The fibers include low melting point fibers of copolyester which bonds and solidifies the fibers of the nonwoven and high melting point fibers of PET which provide high stiffness to the layer (Paragraphs [0043]-[0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the fabric layer of Jinno from the fabrics of Ng which have excellent hardness, stiffness, moldability to the point where the fabric is capable or retaining its shape when molded into any shape or configuration and are formed from low-melting point fibers and high-melting point fibers which are interlocked after a heating treatment. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to form the low melting point fibers of the fabrics of Ng as copolyester which bonds and solidifies the fibers and the high melting point fibers as PET which provides high stiffness as taught by Ueda.
Regarding claim 2, Jinno teaches the laminates as discussed above with respect to claim 1. As discussed above, Ng teaches the low and high melting point fibers being interlocked after a heat treatment.
Regarding claim 3, Jinno teaches the laminates as discussed above with respect to claim 1. As discussed above, the laminate includes a melt-adhesion layer adjacent to the fabric layer. The melt-adhesion filling layer is bonded to the fabric layer through thermocompression by penetrating the fabric material to deep parts and firmly anchoring the two layers (Paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 4, Jinno teaches the laminates as discussed above with respect to claim 1. As discussed above, an intermediate layer (“base material layer”) is located between the functional layer and the melt-adhesion layer.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jinno et al. (US 2016/0375660) in view of Ng et al. (US 2013/0193063) and Ueda et al. (US 2021/0039028).
Regarding claim 5, Jinno teaches a resin film provided on a surface of a fabric material (Paragraph [0037]). The resin film includes a melt-adhesion layer, an intermediate layer, and a functional layer wherein the melt-adhesion layer is next to the fabric layer and the functional layer provides glossiness to the resin film (“a laminate comprising a decorative layer, a first adhesive layer, and a support layer laminated in this order”) (Fig. 1A, 1B, 2; Paragraphs [0037]; [0048]).
Jinno is silent with respect to the fabric layer being formed from two or more kinds of materials having different melting points including a material having a low melting point and a material having a high melting point which is higher than the melting point of the material having the low melting point, and wherein the low melting point is copolymerized polyester and the high melting point is polyethylene terephthalate.
Ng teaches felt fabric materials which have excellent hardness, stiffness and moldability to the point where the fabric is capable or retaining its shape when molded into any shape or configuration (Paragraph [0056]). The fabric includes at least one low-melting point short fiber and one high melting point short fiber such that the fibers are heated to a temperature above the low melting point and below the high melting point in order to interlock the two types of fibers (Paragraphs [0010]; [0012]; [0060]-[0061]).
Ueda teaches a filter reinforcing material (Paragraph [0001]). The material includes a bonding layer which is formed from a thermal bonded nonwoven material which comprises two or more different kinds of thermal bondable short fibers (Paragraph [0032]). The fibers include low melting point fibers of copolyester which bonds and solidifies the fibers of the nonwoven and high melting point fibers of PET which provide high stiffness to the layer (Paragraphs [0043]-[0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the fabric layer of Jinno from the fabrics of Ng which have excellent hardness, stiffness, moldability to the point where the fabric is capable or retaining its shape when molded into any shape or configuration and are formed from low-melting point fibers and high-melting point fibers which are interlocked after a heating treatment. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to form the low melting point fibers of the fabrics of Ng as copolyester which bonds and solidifies the fibers and the high melting point fibers as PET which provides high stiffness as taught by Ueda. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the resin film and fabric layer would have a film shape meeting the limitation of a shaped article.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jinno et al. (US 2016/0375660) in view of Ng et al. (US 2013/0193063) and Ueda et al. (US 2021/0039028).
Regarding claim 6, Jinno teaches a resin film provided on a surface of a fabric material (Paragraph [0037]). The resin film includes a melt-adhesion layer, an intermediate layer, and a functional layer wherein the melt-adhesion layer is next to the fabric layer and the functional layer provides glossiness to the resin film (“a laminate comprising a decorative layer, a first adhesive layer, and a support layer laminated in this order”) (Fig. 1A, 1B, 2; Paragraphs [0037]; [0048]).
Jinno is silent with respect to the fabric layer being formed from two or more kinds of materials having different melting points including a material having a low melting point and a material having a high melting point which is higher than the melting point of the material having the low melting point, and wherein the low melting point is copolymerized polyester and the high melting point is polyethylene terephthalate.
Ng teaches felt fabric materials which have excellent hardness, stiffness and moldability to the point where the fabric is capable or retaining its shape when molded into any shape or configuration (Paragraph [0056]). The fabric includes at least one low-melting point short fiber and one high melting point short fiber such that the fibers are heated to a temperature above the low melting point and below the high melting point in order to interlock the two types of fibers (Paragraphs [0010]; [0012]; [0060]-[0061]).
Ueda teaches a filter reinforcing material (Paragraph [0001]). The material includes a bonding layer which is formed from a thermal bonded nonwoven material which comprises two or more different kinds of thermal bondable short fibers (Paragraph [0032]). The fibers include low melting point fibers of copolyester which bonds and solidifies the fibers of the nonwoven and high melting point fibers of PET which provide high stiffness to the layer (Paragraphs [0043]-[0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the fabric layer of Jinno from the fabrics of Ng which have excellent hardness, stiffness, moldability to the point where the fabric is capable or retaining its shape when molded into any shape or configuration and are formed from low-melting point fibers and high-melting point fibers which are interlocked after a heating treatment. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to form the low melting point fibers of the fabrics of Ng as copolyester which bonds and solidifies the fibers and the high melting point fibers as PET which provides high stiffness as taught by Ueda. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the resin film and fabric layer would have a film shape meeting the limitation of a shaped article.
Jinno further teaches injection molding the laminates with a thermoplastic base resin material to form a molded article (“injection molding resin integrates with the shaped article”) (Paragraphs [0059]-[0062]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jinno et al. (US 2016/0375660) in view of Ng et al. (US 2013/0193063) and Ueda et al. (US 2021/0039028).
Regarding claim 7, Jinno teaches a resin film provided on a surface of a fabric material (Paragraph [0037]). The resin film includes a melt-adhesion layer, an intermediate layer, and a functional layer wherein the melt-adhesion layer is next to the fabric layer and the functional layer provides glossiness to the resin film (“a laminate comprising a decorative layer, a first adhesive layer, and a support layer laminated in this order”) (Fig. 1A, 1B, 2; Paragraphs [0037]; [0048]).
Jinno is silent with respect to the fabric layer being formed from two or more kinds of materials having different melting points including a material having a low melting point and a material having a high melting point which is higher than the melting point of the material having the low melting point, and wherein the low melting point is copolymerized polyester and the high melting point is polyethylene terephthalate.
Ng teaches felt fabric materials which have excellent hardness, stiffness and moldability to the point where the fabric is capable or retaining its shape when molded into any shape or configuration (Paragraph [0056]). The fabric includes at least one low-melting point short fiber and one high melting point short fiber such that the fibers are heated to a temperature above the low melting point and below the high melting point in order to interlock the two types of fibers (Paragraphs [0010]; [0012]; [0060]-[0061]).
Ueda teaches a filter reinforcing material (Paragraph [0001]). The material includes a bonding layer which is formed from a thermal bonded nonwoven material which comprises two or more different kinds of thermal bondable short fibers (Paragraph [0032]). The fibers include low melting point fibers of copolyester which bonds and solidifies the fibers of the nonwoven and high melting point fibers of PET which provide high stiffness to the layer (Paragraphs [0043]-[0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the fabric layer of Jinno from the fabrics of Ng which have excellent hardness, stiffness, moldability to the point where the fabric is capable or retaining its shape when molded into any shape or configuration and are formed from low-melting point fibers and high-melting point fibers which are interlocked after a heating treatment. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to form the low melting point fibers of the fabrics of Ng as copolyester which bonds and solidifies the fibers and the high melting point fibers as PET which provides high stiffness as taught by Ueda. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the resin film and fabric layer would have a film shape meeting the limitation of a shaped article.
Jinno further teaches injection molding the laminates with a thermoplastic base resin material to form a molded article (“one member to be selected from a group of a resin member…the shaped article according to claim 5 bonded to a surface of the member”) (Paragraphs [0059]-[0062]).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jinno et al. (US 2016/0375660) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2022/0096977).
Regarding claim 12, Jinno teaches a resin film provided on a surface of a fabric material (Paragraph [0037]). The resin film includes a melt-adhesion layer, an intermediate layer, and a functional layer wherein the melt-adhesion layer is next to the fabric layer and the functional layer provides glossiness to the resin film (“a laminate comprising a decorative layer, a first adhesive layer, and a support layer laminated in this order”) (Fig. 1A, 1B, 2; Paragraphs [0037]; [0048]).
Jinno is silent with respect to the fabric layer being formed from two or more kinds of materials having different melting points including a material having a low melting point and a material having a high melting point which is higher than the melting point of the material having the low melting point, and wherein the material having the low melting point and the material having the high melting point form a core-sheath structure in which a core portion is made of the material having the high melting point and a sheath portion is made of the material having the low melting point.
Zhang teaches a composite with a first nonwoven we layer which is formed from bi-component fibers (Paragraph [0032]). The fibers are formed as a core-sheath structure with the sheath being a low-melting point polyester which melts to bind with other fibers and a core being a high-melting point polyester which allows the fibers to maintain their shape (Paragraphs [0041]-[0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the fabric layer of Jinno with the bi-component fibers of Zhang which are formed as a core-sheath structure with the sheath being a low-melting point polyester which melts to bind with other fibers and a core being a high-melting point polyester which allows the fibers to maintain their shape.
Regarding claim 13, Jinno teaches the laminates as discussed above with respect to claim 12. As discussed above, the bi-component fibers of Zhang are taught to have sheaths formed from low-melting point polyesters which melt to bind with other fibers (“cross-linked structure”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments, see page 5, filed 09/11/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C 112 rejection of claims 1 and 5 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of 06/11/2025 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-6, filed 09/11/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 5 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
On pages 5-6, applicant argues that neither Jinno nor Ng teach the low melting point being copolymerized polyester and the high melting point being polyethylene terephthalate.
The examiner concedes such that Jinno only teaches a fabric layer and Ng only teaches the low and high melting points being polyesters, but not the specific polyesters required by claims 1 and 5. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made further in view of Ueda as discussed above.
Additionally, claim 12 has been rejected as discussed above in view of the teachings of Jinno and newly cited reference Zhang.
The current rejection is made FINAL in view of the amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P DILLON/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783