DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to the communication filed on June 26, 2023. Claims 1-19 were originally received for consideration. No preliminary amendments for the claims have been received.
2. Claims 1-19 are currently pending consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. Initialed and dated copies of Applicant’s IDS (form 1449), received on 10/27/2023 and 12/26/2024, are attached to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (“IOS: Inter-Operator Scheduler for CNN Acceleration) in view of Fang et al. (“Optimizing DNN Computation Graph using Graph Substitutions”).
Regarding claim 1, Ding discloses:
A node fusion method for a computational graph (page 4, Figure 3) (Page 7, section 5), comprising:
converting a first neural network into a first computational graph (page 4, Figure 3(1));
extracting one or more parallelizable branch groups from the first computational graph, wherein the parallelizable branch group indicates that a plurality of sub-branches belonging to a parallelizable branch group support parallel execution, the parallelizable branch group comprises a first parallelizable branch group (Figure 3(1), Figure 3(2), page 4: one parallelizable branch group is extracted from the exemplary first computation graph; the first parallelizable branch group comprises two sub-branches including a first sub-branch and a second sub-branch, wherein the first sub-branch starts at the input node (Figure 3(1)) and goes through the nodes Conv[a] and Conv[b] and ends at node Conv [d]; the second sub-branch starts at the input node and goes through the node Conv[b] and ends at the node Matmu [e]), and the first parallelizable branch group meets at least one of the following conditions: input for all sub-branches in the first parallelizable branch group comes from a same node and output of at least two sub-branches in the first parallelizable branch group is directed to different nodes, output of all sub-branches in the first parallelizable branch group is directed to a same node and input for at least two sub-branches in the first parallelizable branch group comes from different nodes, none of 1.sup.st nodes of sub-branches in the first parallelizable branch group has a parent node, or none of last nodes of sub-branches in the first parallelizable branch group has a child node (Figure 3, page 4: the two sub-branches meet the condition of “none of the 1st nodes of sub-branches in the first parallelizable branch group has a parent node); and
fusing a plurality of nodes in each of the one or more parallelizable branch groups to obtain a second computational graph based on the first computational graph, wherein a sub-branch to which each of the plurality of nodes belongs is different from a sub-branch to which any other one of the plurality of nodes belongs (Figure 3(2), page 4: Merged Conv [a&b]).
Claim 2 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 1. Furthermore, Ding discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein when there are a plurality of parallelizable branch groups, the parallelizable branch groups further comprise a second parallelizable branch group, and the second parallelizable branch group meets the following conditions: input for all sub-branches in the second parallelizable branch group comes from a same node, output of at least two sub-branches in the second parallelizable branch group is directed to a same node, and each sub-branch in the second parallelizable branch group comprises at least two nodes (page 4, Figure 3(1): node represents a multiplication operation).
Claim 3 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 1. Furthermore, Ding discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the fusing a plurality of nodes in each of the one or more parallelizable branch groups to obtain a second computational graph based on the first computational graph comprises: removing a node that does not support fusion from a target sub-branch in each parallelizable branch group, to obtain a third parallelizable branch group, wherein the target sub-branch is any sub-branch in each parallelizable branch group, the node that does not support fusion comprises a node indicating a specific operation, and the specific operation comprises at least one of the following operations: a matrix multiplication operation and a convolution operation; and fusing a plurality of nodes in the third parallelizable branch group to obtain a fusion node, wherein the second computational graph comprises the fusion node and an unfused node in the first computational graph, and a sub-branch to which each of the plurality of nodes in the third parallelizable branch group belongs is different from a sub-branch to which any other one of the plurality of nodes belongs (page 4, Figure 3(1): node represents a multiplication operation).
Claim 4 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 3. Furthermore, Ding discloses:
The method according to claim 3, further comprising: repeatedly performing the operation of fusing a plurality of nodes in the third parallelizable branch group to obtain a fusion node, until a quantity of unfused nodes in the third parallelizable branch group is less than 2 (page 4, Figure 3(1): nodes are fused together until a criteria is met).
Claim 5 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 3. Furthermore, Ding discloses:
The method according to claim 3, wherein the fusing a plurality of nodes in the third parallelizable branch group to obtain a fusion node comprises: obtaining m node combinations based on n nodes in the third parallelizable branch group, wherein the n nodes respectively belong to n branches that constitute the third parallelizable branch group, each of the m node combinations comprises at least two nodes, m≥1, n≥2, and 2m≤n; assessing, by using a computing power assessment model, computing power required by each of the m node combinations, to obtain m assessment results, wherein each of the m assessment results represents one of the following cases: computing power resources to be consumed by each of the m node combinations, or computing power resources to be saved by each of the m node combinations; and when a first assessment result meets a preset condition, fusing nodes in a first node combination corresponding to the first assessment result, to obtain one or more first fusion nodes, wherein the first assessment result is one of the m assessment results, and the first node combination is one of the m node combinations (page 4, Figure 3(1): nodes are fused together until a criteria is met).
Claim 6 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 5. Furthermore, Ding discloses:
The method according to claim 5, wherein that the first assessment result meets the preset condition comprises at least one of the following cases: when each of the m assessment results represents computing power resources to be consumed by each of the m node combinations, the first assessment result meets a computing power requirement of a module (device) that is in acceleration hardware and that specifically performs a computational task; when each of the m assessment results represents computing power resources to be saved by each of the m node combinations, the first assessment result is optimal among the m assessment results; or when each of the m assessment results represents computing power resources to be saved by each of the m node combinations, the first assessment result is optimal among x assessment results, wherein the x assessment results are at least two of the m assessment results (page 4, Figure 3(1): nodes are fused together until a criteria is met).
Claim 7 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 1. Furthermore, Ding discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the extracting one or more parallelizable branch groups from the first computational graph comprises: searching the first computational graph for a plurality of first branches that have a common first parent node, and obtaining a parallelizable branch group based on the plurality of first branches, wherein the first parent node is any parent node in the first computational graph; or searching the first computational graph for a plurality of second branches that have a common first child node, and obtaining a parallelizable branch group based on the plurality of second branches, wherein the first child node is any child node in the first computational graph (page 4, Figure 3(1): nodes are fused together until a criteria is met).
Claim 8 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 7. Furthermore, Ding discloses:
The method according to claim 7, wherein the obtaining a parallelizable branch group based on the plurality of first branches comprises: searching each first branch downward by using the first parent node as a start point, until a common second parent node or a common second child node is found during downward searching, to obtain a parallelizable branch group corresponding to the plurality of first branches, wherein the parallelizable branch group comprises first sub-branches respectively corresponding to the plurality of first branches, and a node comprised in each first sub-branch is a node obtained during downward searching of each first sub-branch (page 4, Figure 3(1): nodes are fused together until a criteria is met).
Claim 9 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 7. Furthermore, Ding discloses:
The method according to claim 7, wherein the obtaining a parallelizable branch group based on the plurality of second branches comprises: searching each second branch upward by using the first child node as a start point, until a common third parent node or a common third child node is found during upward searching, to obtain a parallelizable branch group corresponding to the plurality of second branches, wherein the parallelizable branch group comprises second sub-branches respectively corresponding to the plurality of second branches, and a node comprised in each second sub-branch is a node obtained during upward searching of each second sub-branch (page 4, Figure 3(1): nodes are fused together until a criteria is met).
Claim 10 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 1. Furthermore, Ding discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the extracting one or more parallelizable branch groups from the first computational graph further comprises: searching the first computational graph for a plurality of third branches, and obtaining a parallelizable branch group based on the plurality of third branches, wherein a first node in each of the plurality of third branches has no parent node; or searching the first computational graph for a plurality of fourth branches, and obtaining a parallelizable branch group based on the plurality of fourth branches, wherein a last node in each of the fourth branches has no child node (page 4, Figure 3(1): nodes are fused together until a criteria is met).
Claim 11 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 10. Furthermore, Ding discloses:
The method according to claim 10, wherein the obtaining a parallelizable branch group based on the plurality of third branches comprises: searching each third branch downward by using the first node in each third branch as a start point, until a same parent node or a same child node is found during downward searching, to obtain a parallelizable branch group corresponding to the plurality of third branches, wherein the parallelizable branch group comprises third sub-branches respectively corresponding to the plurality of third branches, and anode comprised in each third sub-branch is a node obtained during downward searching of each third sub-branch (page 4, Figure 3(1): nodes are fused together until a criteria is met).
Claim 12 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 10. Furthermore, Ding discloses:
The method according to claim 10, wherein the obtaining a parallelizable branch group based on the plurality of fourth branches comprises: searching each fourth branch upward by using the last node in each fourth branch as a start point, until a same parent node or a same child node is found during upward searching, to obtain a parallelizable branch group corresponding to the plurality of fourth branches, wherein the parallelizable branch group comprises fourth sub-branches respectively corresponding to the plurality of fourth branches, and a node comprised in each fourth sub-branch is a node obtained during upward searching of each fourth sub-branch (page 4, Figure 3(1): nodes are fused together until a criteria is met).
Claim 13 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 1. Furthermore, Ding discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the extracting one or more parallelizable branch groups from the first computational graph further comprises: when a target node is not a node that does not support fusion, simplifying a local structure around the target node to obtain a fifth branch, wherein the target node is a node that is in the first computational graph and that does not belong to any parallelizable branch group; and when there are a plurality of fifth branches, obtaining a parallelizable branch group based on the plurality of fifth branches (page 4, Figure 3(1): nodes are fused together until a criteria is met).
Claim 14 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 1. Furthermore, Ding discloses:
The method according to claim 1, further comprising: compiling a fusion node in the second computational graph to obtain an operator kernel corresponding to the fusion node (page 4, Figure 3(1): nodes are fused together until a criteria is met).
Claim 15 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 14. Furthermore, Ding discloses:
The method according to claim 14, wherein the fusion node is obtained by fusing p nodes, and the compiling the fusion node in the second computational graph to obtain an operator kernel corresponding to the fusion node comprises: separately scheduling the p nodes to obtain p sub-intermediate-representations (IRs) respectively corresponding to the p nodes; fusing the p sub-IRs to obtain a total IR; and compiling the total IR to obtain the operator kernel corresponding to the fusion node (page 4, Figure 3(1): nodes are fused together until a criteria is met).
Claim 16 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 1. Furthermore, Ding discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the deep learning framework is one of: MindSpore, TensorFlow, TensorNetwork, PyTorch, MXNet, Caffe, or Theano (Section 2: TensorFlow).
Regarding claim 17, Ding discloses:
A node fusion system for a computational graph, comprising:
at least one processor (Section 6.3: processor); and
at least one processor memory coupled to the at least one processor to store program instructions (Section 6.3: each thread block on a SM is partitioned and executes in a single instruction multiple thread fashion), which when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
convert a first neural network into a first computational graph (page 4, Figure 3(1));
extract one or more parallelizable branch groups from the first computational graph, wherein a parallelizable branch group indicates that a plurality of sub-branches belonging to a parallelizable branch group support parallel execution, the parallelizable branch group comprises a first parallelizable branch group (Figure 3(1), Figure 3(2), page 4: one parallelizable branch group is extracted from the exemplary first computation graph; the first parallelizable branch group comprises two sub-branches including a first sub-branch and a second sub-branch, wherein the first sub-branch starts at the input node (Figure 3(1)) and goes through the nodes Conv[a] and Conv[b] and ends at node Conv [d]; the second sub-branch starts at the input node and goes through the node Conv[b] and ends at the node Matmu [e]), and the first parallelizable branch group meets at least one of the following conditions: input for all sub-branches in the first parallelizable branch group comes from a same node and output of at least two sub-branches in the first parallelizable branch group is directed to different nodes, output of all sub-branches in the first parallelizable branch group is directed to a same node and input for at least two sub-branches in the first parallelizable branch group comes from different nodes, none of 1.sup.st nodes of sub-branches in the first parallelizable branch group has a parent node, or none of last nodes of sub-branches in the first parallelizable branch group has a child node (Figure 3, page 4: the two sub-branches meet the condition of “none of the 1st nodes of sub-branches in the first parallelizable branch group has a parent node); and
fuse a plurality of nodes in each of the one or more parallelizable branch groups to obtain a second computational graph based on the first computational graph, wherein a sub-branch to which each of the plurality of nodes belongs is different from a sub-branch to which any other one of the plurality of nodes belongs (Figure 3(2), page 4: Merged Conv [a&b]).
Claim 18 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 17. Furthermore, Ding discloses:
The system according to claim 17, wherein when there are a plurality of parallelizable branch groups, the parallelizable branch groups further comprise a second parallelizable branch group, and the second parallelizable branch group meets the following conditions: input for all sub-branches in the second parallelizable branch group comes from a same node, output of at least two sub-branches in the second parallelizable branch group is directed to a same node, and each sub-branch in the second parallelizable branch group comprises at least two nodes (page 4, Figure 3(1): node represents a multiplication operation).
Regarding claim 19, Ding discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing one or more instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
convert a first neural network into a first computational graph (page 4, Figure 3(1));
extract one or more parallelizable branch groups from the first computational graph, wherein a parallelizable branch group indicates that a plurality of sub-branches belonging to a parallelizable branch group support parallel execution, the parallelizable branch group comprises a first parallelizable branch group (Figure 3(1), Figure 3(2), page 4: one parallelizable branch group is extracted from the exemplary first computation graph; the first parallelizable branch group comprises two sub-branches including a first sub-branch and a second sub-branch, wherein the first sub-branch starts at the input node (Figure 3(1)) and goes through the nodes Conv[a] and Conv[b] and ends at node Conv [d]; the second sub-branch starts at the input node and goes through the node Conv[b] and ends at the node Matmu [e]), and the first parallelizable branch group meets at least one of the following conditions:
input for all sub-branches in the first parallelizable branch group comes from a same node and output of at least two sub-branches in the first parallelizable branch group is directed to different nodes, output of all sub-branches in the first parallelizable branch group is directed to a same node and input for at least two sub-branches in the first parallelizable branch group comes from different nodes, none of 1.sup.st nodes of sub-branches in the first parallelizable branch group has a parent node, or none of last nodes of sub-branches in the first parallelizable branch group has a child node (Figure 3(2), page 4: Merged Conv [a&b]); and
fuse a plurality of nodes in each of the one or more parallelizable branch groups to obtain a second computational graph based on the first computational graph, wherein a sub-branch to which each of the plurality of nodes belongs is different from a sub-branch to which any other one of the plurality of nodes belongs (Figure 3(2), page 4: Merged Conv [a&b]).
Conclusion
/KAVEH ABRISHAMKAR/
01/28/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494